@Mods: Posting his in general interest of all members. Just like me, am sure, many members refer goa related thread before venturing to GoA. I could not locate similar thread on forum.
In Brief: Been to Goa recently for 4 days. Wherein on one of beach, i was approached by Royal Resorts Representative with their Anniverssary related schemes with heavy discounts for their 5 star property. He also offered my free pick and drop by car "Just to show their 5 star resort".
Well, i politely told him that i will think about it and walked away with his contact details and coupons (I was one of winner as per coupon - see attached.) and wasting my 10 mins - (He was not ready to let go.)
After returning back to hotel, just thought to explore more about this 5 star resort which i might be able to use in my next visit to goa.
And this is what i found !! It seems to be a total fraud. Most of you might think it is very common out there in tourist places and it will be very easy to dodge such people (I also think in same way :-)). However, just wanted to update all members. I have noticed their representative wearing a light blue shirt with royal written on it on almost every beach across goa.
Here are some references from other sites shared by people conned? by them Royal Resorts in Goa cheating the public - contact me to join the fight against them
==============================================
Hi Darshan,
I want to throw similar light on this Fraud company. They have created such a vicious plot for its customers and innocnent people, here's how they trick innocent people into this..
1. The sales persons roam around in Goa to catch new couples(which they found almost everywhere in Goa), give them some coupen or other lucrative scheme to lure, to claim that they have to come to the Royal Resorts club, which they will ride for free though.
2. There you will be marvelled with a rich and dreamy holiday resort, and will meet a sales Representative who will first ask you about your expenses for your current trip. And as a part of the calculation they will make bring into the equation of Roayal Resorts and somehow make you feel that it is actually cheaper than you current holiday, if you plan to holiday every year.(which as per Darshan above is proved not so cost effective).
3. Then comes the tough decision part for the couples, to choose the dream membership like this or not. The weaker ones like us choose for the memebership and think how much bad it could be. However beleive me its the worst financial mistake, I will prove it later.
4. Then comes there fool proof arrangement, the payment and loan, they have created a plot in such a way that the membership is given by the Royal Resorts and is financed by the company named Parshuram Finance Pvt.Ltd.
5. Although we expressed our concerns that we are not financially capapble the sales person enforced that its a better plan and will be light on pocket, although it was so light that it costed more than a Lac. Now here's the split, they membership is paid in full by the finance company to the Royal Resorts, and they finance you at a given rate of interest.
After all the maths it comes out to be 1,20,000(roughly) cost of membership, we swiped our CC worth 12,000, and the rest of the amount was financed to monthly EMI of around 3000\-.
Now here's the thing, if you want to plan for the holiday and want to save, try creating a RD of 3000 for say 2years and look at the amount you get, for this amount you can live in luxary in place like Goa\Kerala.
6. Also your membership is not yours for always, you will have to pay around 8-9000\-, every other year to renew your points so that you can use your membership.
And people... can you imagine what our visit to Goa actaully costed last year.. its unbelievable.. just 13000 - 15000, and this includes:
1. AC2 class travel to and from Delhi.
2. Stay at Panjim(Goa) - 6 days.
3. 2 Cruises
4. Two trips -one to South Goa, one to North Goa.
6. Hiing a bike for 4 days and being independent traveller in goa + its fuel
7. Enjoying Goan Food
+ many more all included for a couple.
7. So Upset from my recent experience in failure to book and resorts in given time and due to personal financial crysis, I asked them to cancel my membership and refund whatever amount we have paid so far, as neither we have been able to use their services nor have they been able to live upto their expectations the first year. We wanted to visit Goa this New Year, and as the Sales person told us that with this membership in hand, we will have to bear the same cost any time year around, but who knew that there won't be any availability, I called for the availability in the month of Nov(end), and got the response that the next available slot is in the end of jan onwards. Also I thought of planning holiday for one of my friends, for their Honeymoon, I was looking for Balli location, and I got the response that the next free slot for Balli is in June. What use is this kind of membership for. We are better off without such membership.
One note Darshan, I have browsed through this Forum, and I am amazed to see so many people are frustrated by this Fraud company, but I don't see any critical action being taken against this company and its functioning. We really need to pull with a lot of strength, I am even willing to go on a Public camapign against this comany.
==========================================
Complaint against royal resorts – goa (karma resorts intl)*
===================================
Dear Sir,
I am posting this mail to alert readers so that they should not be entrapped with these cheaters. Me and my wife were walking in Baga beach. One fellow came to me and gave a scratch card for lucky draw which had nothing. After that he gave another card to my wife, she won one of the 4 prizes (i-pad/ stay to international Royal resort/ DVD player etc.) that could be displayed only after scratching hidden code. All was so planned and acted in such a natural way that we thought it was really a lucky prize. When we visited to their resort, a series of drama started. A boring session started and they asked few hours to complete it. Within 30 min we realised that they are trying to make us fool, so we asked to display the hidden code. On scratching it, it was free stay to few of Indian Royal resort (Not free but charging Rs 6500.00 for maintenance charge). Same offers are frequently given by Club Mahindra/ country club totally free of cost without such a drama as these Royal persons were making.
We lost our 30 -45 min only but warning others not to be fooled with these ROYAL cheaters.
==================
cheated by royal goan holiday resorts private limited
=============================
my mother Dr D.Raja rajeswari, a member of sterling holiday resorts(vacation time share & owner).we r contacted on 5 may 2010 by sandra,marketing dept., royal goan holiday resorts pvt ltd,stating that they would rental my vacation time share (in sterling) to a waiting foreign delegates for INR RS.70,000 per 1 week.she stated that joining the royal holiday club is a necessary pre requisite,for which i had to pay RS.8000 for part time membership & a further RS.5332 on receipt of rental.(total RS 13332).she repeatedly called me 4-5 times a day stating she would courier me the draft of rental once i paid necessary amount for which ws have to give them authorization to use our vacation time share in sterling resorts for 1 week.this is the offer she made to us.accordingly we paid RS 8000 on 7 may 2010.they issued us part time membership(ovc 2818).there is no further follow up following registration.we contacted them for which the requisite members r not responding n not answering to our queries.we didnt get the rental.i feel that we were cheated by a cheap marketing tactic n lost RS.8000.i want to proceed legally.kindly councel me on how to proceed further in consumer court.i here by submit the adress:ROYAL HOLIDAY CLUB,G/5,JOALDA APTS,BISHOP ALEX DIAS ROAD,NAIKO VADDO,CALANGUTE,GOA 403516.tel:0832 6513158.email:travels@royalgoan.com.
=============================
================================
http://www.consumercourt.in/judgment...each-club.html
================================
Note: Please note, these are not my personal views and i have just shared whatever is available on internet with source links with clear intention for members to take their own call/decision. I have nothing against/towards Royal resorts.