Search this Thread
Old 13th September 2024, 08:52   #271
BHPian

Re: The Safe Riding thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefpk View Post
Hi adi,

Hope this would help
Wow! I have been riding 2 wheelers for over 4 decades now and this video perhaps ranks among the top for concisely explaining the dynamics of braking in 8 minutes. Shumi is mind-blowing when it comes to motorcycles. Thanks for the video.

I ride a KTM Duke 390 (First Gen 2013 model) and as a practice, I always use front brake 100% upto say 60 Kmph - 70 Kmph speed which is the max one can use in most of the riding time in India barring the highway rides where one can do higher speeds. Technically speaking, I don't use rear brakes during city rides..

So, to me, it's full front brakes only within city limits during the slow city commutes with no use of rear brakes at all. And as Shumi says in the video, you need to keep 2 things in mind. Squeeze the brakes, do not grab them and Practice, as much as possible on a desolate road.

We, are hesitant to use the Front brakes due to an inbuilt fear that we might topple the bike. This fear comes from our cycling days. In cycles (earlier cycles like Atlas or Hercules etc) didn't come with any front (or rear) suspensions / dampers and when we learn with a cycle, we are taught to use both the front and rear brakes and never to use the front brakes alone. That's because in a cycle without front suspension, if you use only front brakes that's a recipe for disaster. So we were mentally conditioned and trained not to use front brake on a 2 wheeler. If you noticed around, even today people will advise you not to use the front brakes on a 2 wheeler and instead use the rear brakes which is actually an incorrect advice and now you know from where or why that advice is coming from our earlier generation riders.

Times have changed, from no suspension bicycle to very good suspension motorcycle.