Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Pre-War

Old 15th August 2010, 16:35   #151

Lovely, lovely, lovely, with the complete trim it looks amazing. Congratulations on a 10/10 restoration job. Simply the best I've seen so far.

Spike
Old 15th August 2010, 17:08   #152
DKG

SS-Traveller, MileCruncher, SPIKE

Thanks, am glad you liked it.

Car will head over to Chennai sometime next week so do drop in Anirudh. You may be referring to the 1954 Hillman I have
Old 15th August 2010, 18:11   #153

Chevy looking great in natural surrounding (Lumbini Park).
Thanks for sharing your Team management skills, very impressive.
I wish TVS open up new avenues of Classic Car Restoration business.

BTW DKG, did you see any other Chevy in 1990's in Banjara Hills my uncle used to have one, it is yellow golden colour with black mudguard APX.. I will try to find its pic.

Old 15th August 2010, 21:50   #154
DKG

Originally Posted by vintagepoint5 View Post
did you see any other Chevy in 1990's in Banjara Hills my uncle used to have one, it is yellow golden colour with black mudguard APX.. I will try to find its pic.
Don't recall an APX registered Chevy in this colour combo
Old 15th August 2010, 22:26   #155

Originally Posted by DKG View Post
MDR 200 makes her first public appearance at a independence day car show in Hyderabad. With huge trees providing shade the car looked even more gorgeous outdoors
Deepak,

The Car looks great!

Pity its heading over to Chennai next week. I really wish it would have been there until 27th/28th Aug 2010.

By the which of the brothers does this car belong to ? Or is it a common property

Best Regards & Drive/Ride Safe

Ram
Old 15th August 2010, 23:43   #156

DKG, I find the old pics of Chevy belongs to my uncle in 90's. Don't know where this Chevy now, we miss a very nice car. Also may be you can eloborate more whether it is 8 Cyl or 6 Cyl. but it is big car. Sorry posting in your thread.

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-chevy_la1.jpg  

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-chevy_la2.jpg  

Old 16th August 2010, 09:32   #157
DKG

Originally Posted by r_nairtvm View Post
By the which of the brothers does this car belong to ? Or is it a common property
The car is owned by TVS Sundaram Motors

Originally Posted by vintagepoint5 View Post
I find the old pics of Chevy belongs to my uncle in 90's
Nice car. This would be a 34 or 35 Chevy. It would be a six cylinder. Does your uncle still have this car? A friend of mine has a similar Chevy but don't remember the number
Old 16th August 2010, 10:18   #158

Deepak Sir..It was a treat to see MDR 200 at the Deccan Heritage Rally yesterday.Thanks for bringing it to the Rally.
Old 16th August 2010, 13:53   #159
DKG

Originally Posted by hillram View Post
Deepak Sir..It was a treat to see MDR 200 at the Deccan Heritage Rally yesterday.Thanks for bringing it to the Rally.
It was a pleasure. But you know if it were my car I wouldn't have been as much on tenterhooks making sure no one fiddled too much with it.

I wonder why in India people love to touch things , they just have to touch everything. I remember when they reopened the Salar Jung Museum painting section done up to International standards I was horrified to see visitors touching the paintings !! What works abroad simply cannot be applied here.

Next time we need to cordon the cars off so that visitors can view as they pass by. I know it sounds rude but people simply do not understand that when 500 people feel the canvas top as they pass by it goes from beige to black in no time !!

My Packards are old and weathered and I don't mind it as much when people come close, but with this car it was too stressful for me making sure everyone enjoyed her from a distance

Pity is I couldn't do my usual walkaround meeting up fellow owners and chatting with them and admiring their beauties. I missed the opportunity to admire all those awesome bikes that turn up for this event

Last edited by DKG : 16th August 2010 at 13:56.
Old 16th August 2010, 14:50   #160

Nice car. This would be a 34 or 35 Chevy. It would be a six cylinder. Does your uncle

No my uncle sold this beautiful Chevy, probably around 1992, he passed away in May 1994. May be your friend have the same car, curious to know or meet the present owner. Another Humber Hawk used to be in Punjagutta, primary school headmaster now found with Mr. Siraj @Jublee Hills, I think you know him.
Old 16th August 2010, 22:51   #161

Restoring Cheverolet Vintage Car

I have just acquired a Chevy which i plan to restore.
i think its a 1936 Master deluxe. Engine is 6 cylinder. Some Photos are attached.
Could you or anyone else, please help/ guide me to know the year of Mfg. and Model as the car papers are NOT yet traceable. I picked it up from a the owner's Garage where it was jacked up on bricks since last 42 years.

Pl call me at +91 93145 05337 or email at ravi@kapurs.net
Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-dsc00073.jpg  

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-dsc00075.jpg  

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-dsc00076.jpg  

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-dsc00083.jpg  

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-dsc00098.jpg  

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-dsc00107.jpg  

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-dsc00109.jpg  

Old 16th August 2010, 23:08   #162
DKG

I had requested a friend who is a professional photographer to document MDR 200 pictorially and he kindly agreed to take pictures today. While he set things up I kept myself busy taking some pictures of my own.

I am amazed how this car has become such an eyefull, and from every angle. My gaze seems to get arrested as it passes over every part of the car. There is so much detail and beauty in this simple design.

These cars represents a spectacular era in human history when design had so much character, so much of the individual, such a powerful magnetic aura.

Hope you guys enjoy this car in pictures as much as I do everytime I look at it.

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0003.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0016.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0027.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0030.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0099.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0104.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0121.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0123.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0125.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0126.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0127.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0128.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0158.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0169.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0172.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0174.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0178.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0184.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0188.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0194.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0198.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0210.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0225.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0227.jpg

Restoring a 1933 Chevrolet Master Phaeton-img_0231.jpg
DKG is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th August 2010, 10:17   #163

Hi Deepak,

Even in your efforts the car looks great with professional lighting

Will we get to see the results of the pro-shoot?

Getting ready for the next International-concours-d-elegance are you ?[]

You should bend the ears of the concerned to do so[/SIZE][/FONT]

Best Regards & Drive/Ride Safe

Ram
Old 17th August 2010, 10:53   #164

Originally Posted by Ravi Kapur View Post
I have just acquired a Chevy which i plan to restore.
i think its a 1936 Master deluxe. Engine is 6 cylinder. Some Photos are attached.
Could you or anyone else, please help/ guide me to know the year of Mfg. and Model as the car papers are NOT yet traceable. I picked it up from a the owner's Garage where it was jacked up on bricks since last 42 years.

Pl call me at +91 93145 05337 or email at ravi@kapurs.net
That is a very nice looking car and pretty complete and original by the looks of it.

It appears to be a 38 or 39 Master Deluxe.

Do post some pics of the engine bay and also some history on it from the previous owner would be great.
Old 17th August 2010, 10:58   #165

DKG, I love it. After it comes to Chennai is there a chance that it would be exhibited somewhere by TVS? I know it should be hard for you to let go of this beauty after outting si much effort into it.
On a lighter note, while at Lumbini park, did anyone ask you "kitna deta hai?"