Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 26th September 2010, 22:51   #31

Hi Fazal,

This is a time capsule which we very much like to see once in a while. Though some knew about this car, many like me did not and this is eye candy.
Since the car is right hand, she is a Canadian built car, all American Chevys were left hand. It would have been great if she had V8 power, but now that she is pillarless and has the panorama rear screen she is as good as you can get.
The 1959 Chey Impala or Biscayne is one of the nicest icon cars. I myself am extremely lucky to have a convertible, also 6 cylinder, but left hand drive. But being a convertible she is great, I know of only 3 or 4 other convertibles in India. And my car came from Hyderabad, and was not used for weddings. Now even Sedans are collectable.
You may try to take the car out on trollys, or even a forklift. Please be careful. And do buy new tyres.
You have mentioned that your uncle repaired automatic gear boxes. Well, in the 1960's there were many automatics in India, and there were mechanics to repair them. But as time went by, spares became difficult to get, and the mechanical skill also got lost. Many automatics were ruined, many blown up in movies. Even getting a beetle engine repaired in Goa can be tough today.
There was another genius mechanic in Hyderabad, his name was Ali, unfortunately no more. He worked on my Packard engine under the previous owner.
Many of us would like to see this car on the road, please do the needful.

Cheers harit
Old 27th September 2010, 07:08   #32

Originally Posted by harit View Post
Hi Fazal,

This is a time capsule which we very much like to see once in a while. Though some knew about this car, many like me did not and this is eye candy.
Since the car is right hand, she is a Canadian built car, all American Chevys were left hand. It would have been great if she had V8 power, but now that she is pillarless and has the panorama rear screen she is as good as you can get.
The 1959 Chey Impala or Biscayne is one of the nicest icon cars. I myself am extremely lucky to have a convertible, also 6 cylinder, but left hand drive. But being a convertible she is great, I know of only 3 or 4 other convertibles in India. And my car came from Hyderabad, and was not used for weddings. Now even Sedans are collectable.
You may try to take the car out on trollys, or even a forklift. Please be careful. And do buy new tyres.
You have mentioned that your uncle repaired automatic gear boxes. Well, in the 1960's there were many automatics in India, and there were mechanics to repair them. But as time went by, spares became difficult to get, and the mechanical skill also got lost. Many automatics were ruined, many blown up in movies. Even getting a beetle engine repaired in Goa can be tough today.
There was another genius mechanic in Hyderabad, his name was Ali, unfortunately no more. He worked on my Packard engine under the previous owner.
Many of us would like to see this car on the road, please do the needful.

Cheers harit
Hi Harit,
Nice to know that you too own one. Yes it is very rare that we come across vintages so well preserved. The wrap around screen, bat wings at rear and so many things make this model such a flamboyant car.

Like you said, as the 50's progressed into 60's... there were many who could work on automatics all over India, but before this (early 50's) was a real crunch time where quite a few automatics had to be parked due to faulty gearboxes.

Four trolley jacks will do the job as stated by you and others here. Yes, Ali Bhai was a professional mechanic, a known name.
Originally Posted by SuperSelect View Post
Hi Fazal,
Just saw this thread.. My God, what a magnificient piece of Automotive Art !!! Hats off to your family for having kept her in this condition - and you sure are one lucky guy, to have her in the family.

Please do have her taken out on the road, and indulge in some photography - we're all hungry for more photos !
SuperSelect,
Shortly I will upload a pic. of her just out of the garage which was taken long back.
Old 27th September 2010, 08:31   #33

An older pic. outside the present garage, notice the pronounced absence of B pillar and gloss of the factory paint job.
Hyderabad, 1959 Chevrolet Impala-img_8844.jpg

Last edited by fazalaliadil : 27th September 2010 at 08:33.
fazalaliadil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th September 2010, 12:34   #34

Wow!! jaw dropping beauty, nothing can beat this, so pure and full of life. I am astonished to see such a beautiful car after witnessing the heartlessness act carried upon these angels and converting them into the marriage procession vehicles. I appreciate and hats off for your uncle and his family in having this icon in Hyderabad in prestine condition and I salute you for sharing this beauty with us once again. So when can we see this beauty moving on roads and stealing hearts of Hyderabadis Fazal saab.
Old 29th September 2010, 07:25   #35

Wow, what a great specimen and in such great shape!!! even the steering is on the so called "wrong side". haha. I've seen old Impala's in older bolllywood films however figured they'd have long disappeared over there. a canadian car to boot (thumbs up). I still can't get over what great shape that car is in.....

I'm currently working on 1962 convertible but am doing mine with a pro touring flare with a bit of cali lowrider thrown in. i've got it down the the frame and am building it up from there. i have a great love for these cars.

Also helped a friend with a 1964 coupe done in a lowrider style. We did a frame off restoration on his car and basically had to take 2 seperate cars to create one hence why i'm so enamored with yours.

I've done my fair share of research on these cars as far as hunting down parts etc. if i can be of any assistance please don't hesitate to send me a pm. I'd love to offer any sort of help that i can perhaps for one day seeing the car in person. there's always a catch isn't there? hahha. Keep up posted on the progress!
Old 29th September 2010, 15:11   #36

It is a very original car and one of the most original ones i have come across recently. Please try and get this car out as soon as poossible and get it on the road.

Originally Posted by Fantasy View Post

I'm currently working on 1962 convertible but am doing mine with a pro touring flare with a bit of cali lowrider thrown in. i've got it down the the frame and am building it up from there. i have a great love for these cars.

Also helped a friend with a 1964 coupe done in a lowrider style. We did a frame off restoration on his car and basically had to take 2 seperate cars to create one hence why i'm so enamored with yours.
Now that's interesting. Why don't you put up pics of the car which you are restoreing & start a new thread. Also put pics of your friends car which you worked on.
Old 29th September 2010, 15:55   #37

Originally Posted by IndrojitSircar View Post
Now that's interesting. Why don't you put up pics of the car which you are restoreing & start a new thread. Also put pics of your friends car which you worked on.
i'll be sure to take some of what i have going on with mine and post them. although considering our cold and rainy weather is starting most of the car has been packed away in parts. i'm down to the frame at this stage and the exciting stuff won't start till next year. i have yet to do a proper introduction in the introduction section but i'll put them there for sure. i'll also swing by my friends place and snap a few of his car. thanks for the interest.

i will post a pic of the style i'm hoping to follow...different colors and of course convertible than this one....

my apologies for diluting the thread but hopefully this pic can show the potential these cars have for modifying even though beautiful in their original state.
Hyderabad, 1959 Chevrolet Impala-morrison_image00002.jpg  

Old 29th September 2010, 16:26   #38

Originally Posted by fazalaliadil View Post
An older pic. outside the present garage, notice the pronounced absence of B pillar and gloss of the factory paint job.
Attachment 430341
Fazal,

A fantastic peice. It would be a site to see her glide again.

You mentioned about a missing carb. Hope you have manged to source the same.

As you mentioned your cousin deserve a round of aplause as well.

Best Regards & Drive/Ride Safe

Ram
Old 29th September 2010, 19:45   #39

Originally Posted by r_nairtvm View Post
fantastic peice. It would be a site to see her glide again.
You mentioned about a missing carb. Hope you have manged to source the same.
Ram
Ram,
Yes, the feel in the ride is glide, so smooth and the suspension is really superb. Moreover the batwing rear like in pic. below, gives the impression of a lazy, unhurried gliding motion.
Hyderabad, 1959 Chevrolet Impala-sucp_0705_02_z1959_chevrolet_impalarear_view.jpg
[quote=IndrojitSircar;2088143]It is a very original car and one of the most original ones i have come across recently. Please try and get this car out as soon as poossible and get it on the road.
quote]
Indrojit,
Thank you.The day is not far when it will be running again.

[quote=Fantasy;2087514]Wow, what a great specimen and in such great shape!!! even the steering is on the so called "wrong side".
We did a frame off restoration on his car and basically had to take 2 seperate cars to create one hence why i'm so enamored with yours.

I've done my fair share of research on these cars as far as hunting down parts etc. if i can be of any assistance please don't hesitate to send me a pm.quote]
Fantasy,
Cannibalism, is what you have to indulge in when you need two to complete one., like in your case.
Thank you so much for your offer, I will keep this in mind in time of need.

Originally Posted by chanu View Post
Wow!! jaw dropping beauty, nothing can beat this, so pure and full of life. I am astonished to see such a beautiful car ...I appreciate and hats off for your uncle and his family in having this icon in Hyderabad in prestine condition and I salute you for sharing this beauty with us once again. So when can we see this beauty moving on roads and stealing hearts of Hyderabadis Fazal saab.
Chanu,
I will call you this week. Seeing it in real life is another thing, just its size makes your jaw drop, really. It is my pleasure as much as you all, on the forum.
Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
The 'missing' B-pillar on the left also appears interesting! Are the B-pillars removable in this model?
Stanher,
The pictures will explain it better, the B pillar you see in steel is nothing but a steel casing/ beading around the front and rear door glass, the moment you roll down the glass it vanishes along with the glass. The beauty of it is the mechanism where the rear glass slants as it rolls down or up..so as to avoid impacting with the front glass while going up or down and how it fits back in its own groove is a pleasure to see.

Oh! the small glass right in front has its own handle to rotate it 270 degeres for adjustable/ custom, air intake (notice the smaller handle for it).

These were nick named eyebrows, above the headlamps which is the air intake and front indicator. Notice the reflection on the hood of the wire on the right even in such low light, quality of the factory paint still intact.
Hyderabad, 1959 Chevrolet Impala-img_8682.jpg
The other air intake and front grille. Front grille, watch out for a write up on it here soon, with pics. very interesting.
Hyderabad, 1959 Chevrolet Impala-img_8665.jpg
The rear tail fins, very flamboyant and iconic. Also the panoramic wrap-around rear glass.
Hyderabad, 1959 Chevrolet Impala-img_8655.jpg
A wide sweeping dash. Wait for what is inside the glove compartment.
Hyderabad, 1959 Chevrolet Impala-img_8483.jpg
An illusionary...B pillar visible when glasses are up.
Hyderabad, 1959 Chevrolet Impala-img_8492.jpg
Gone, with the glass rolled down.
Hyderabad, 1959 Chevrolet Impala-img_8493.jpg
Front rotating glass with its own handle.
Hyderabad, 1959 Chevrolet Impala-img_8497.jpg
These two glasses are major load bearers of the huge top in the absence of the B pillar. Notice in above 3 pics. the steel (exterior and interior) casing which is a actually a load distrubutor, very smartly concealed in cosmetics.
Hyderabad, 1959 Chevrolet Impala-img_8514.jpg
fazalaliadil is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th September 2010, 21:27   #40

Fazal,

Man...! you are keep us on our toes.

All of us are waiting to see this "BEAUTY" glide on roads ASAP.

Do let me know if you need me to Volunteer for ANY work on the car,(even if i have to connect the battery wires/ push the car/ anything)

Would be glad to come over there for Help.
Old 30th September 2010, 14:38   #41

Re: I was there when the car was being used

Dear Fazal

I used to be Alamdar uncles neighbor and was there when the car was being moved to the far end of his garage with the floor oiled and tyres changes et all.

His garage is by far the largest in Deccan Towers but its entrance did not permit a second car to be parked inside.

It was after he purchased a new car that he decided to oil the floor and push this beauty on the side.

Great to see the beauty well after such a long time, it still takes my breath away.

AQ

Originally Posted by fazalaliadil View Post
Thanks Kadam,
Wish my uncle was alive to see his efforts being this appreciated.

KPS,
Sitting in the rear and the side view sweep is amazing and specially as karlosdeville points out...the rear panoramic glass is a work of art considering it was mass manufactured more than 5 decades ago.

karlosdeville,
This confidence I derive is from, what I have seen my uncle do. Seen it done with such ease and least effort. He could move it effortlessly anytime.

Should I go on about him most would not believe me.

He was the only person in India who could open and fix an automatic gearbox back in the mid 50's. Many automatics would come from the royalty of Rajasthan, Patiala, Bhopal, and other states in trucks and go back driven.

Apart from this he was a master shot, a marksman par excellence, one of the best hunter of his time with a collection of the best precession weapons and the knowledge to dismantle, repair them completely to the bare. Hyderabad had many good marksmen and shikari's though, many used to come to him for zeroing their rifles before commencing on a shikar.

His collection of watches and pocket watches is unparalleled.
His expertise in repairing Triple Complicated Watches.
On the catalogs/ manuals of Triple complicated Watches... is clearly printed..."Do not attempt to open the watch until you have an experience of over 40 years".

He had a priceless collection of antiques, which are very rare dating back to the Ming Dynasty and so many more.

His venture into astronomy started in his late 50's, but there was nothing he missed in the night sky.

Very handsome, standing at 6'-4", with a massive frame and the biggest hands, that I and most have ever seen.

Guess what? He never underwent any formal training for anything mentioned above, he was a 100% self educated man. and much more.

Anand,
What would you value it at, in this condition?

Anjan,
Don't forget the numerous parked at Bombay Bakery, looked like Detroit.

Thanks Ajay,
Old 30th September 2010, 16:20   #42

Fazal bhai - going through this thread, looking at the pics - one of those moments where words fail me.

Amazing automobile there - but most important are uncles efforts to have kept it in the way it is. Hats off to him and also to you to carry on with the legacy.

The oiling floor/changing tyres/sliding sideways is an interesting concept. WOW
Old 30th September 2010, 16:36   #43

OOOHHH AAAAHHHHH......
Can't have words to describe this BEAUTY. PHEW!!!
Thanks a lot for the detailed pics, and the way you plan to get out the car is unique,but the car must weigh a lot(pls post a video of it)
And also please do a full fledged TD or video of the landyacht when she comes out,i badly want to hear that gulu gulu sound of those era cars.
Chevrolet mexill-11-58.htm.
Here is TD of the beast.
Old 30th September 2010, 18:15   #44

its a perfect stunner sir...... wishing it a very speedy recovery to run on the roads at the earliest......... waiting to see more pictures of the beauty
Old 30th September 2010, 21:36   #45

Originally Posted by SuperSelect View Post
Hi Fazal,
Just saw this thread.. My God, what a magnificient piece of Automotive Art !!! Hats off to your family for having kept her in this condition - and you sure are one lucky guy, to have her in the family.

Please do have her taken out on the road, and indulge in some photography - we're all hungry for more photos !

Agree: Thats a piece of art I dont think any car company makes artistic cars today (Well Jermey Clarkson keeps saying Alfa Romeos as art but I find them downright ugly), condition of this car speaks volumes about the taste of its owner.

Give some hotrod treatment to this baby and smoke some fake modded cars on road.

I just love the sight of an understated powerhouse against some blingy-blingy crap.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com