Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 10th April 2010, 08:01   #406

There must be two possibilities, either Ram bhai has stated a 95 model as 93 one or its a mix and match car which comprises of some old and new model parts of padmini and S1.
Many features are from S1 such as the air vents, closed type radiator with degass tank, 4X2 exhaust manifold with twin pipe setup, new model meter etc. Guess only Ram bhai can clear our doubts after inquiring about these things from the previous owner of car.

Edit: Remember the post of Mr Dhabhar Pierburg carburettors were not engineered for use on S1 engine cars, they were engineered for use on normal engine cars only. So its indeed a non S1 model.

Last edited by samsag12 : 10th April 2010 at 08:05.
Old 10th April 2010, 09:04   #407

Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
new model meter etc.
Mine is a dec 1993 PP delux Be with the same meter. My car is fully stock and no modifications done enroute
Old 10th April 2010, 09:33   #408

Originally Posted by Cyberdoctorind View Post
Mine is a dec 1993 PP delux Be with the same meter. My car is fully stock and no modifications done enroute
Strange. Then why a downgrade by PAL on the newer models?? My S1 has old type speedo with a addition of handbrake warning/fluid reservoir level light. Have a look.
Fiat Classic Club - Hyderabad (FCCH)-07022010217.jpg  

Old 10th April 2010, 09:36   #409

Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
Strange. Then why a downgrade by PAL on the newer models?? My S1 has old type speedo with a addition of handbrake warning/fluid reservoir level light.
Only the Deluxe models had the latest meters i guess. The Economy and Standard models had ordinary meters.

Your S1 too is base model. So PAL put the old type meter.
Old 10th April 2010, 09:46   #410

Originally Posted by arun1100 View Post
Only the Deluxe models had the latest meters i guess. The Economy and Standard models had ordinary meters.

Your S1 too is base model. So PAL put the old type meter.
Yes that's correct, when we purchased the car, the delux had the new meter console and the other models (incl 137 D) had the old meters. One s1 in my locality has the old meters but the car when new, the beat was just awesome
Old 10th April 2010, 09:47   #411

Yes that's correct, when we purchased the car, the delux had the new meter console and the other models (incl 137 D) had the old meters.
Shiva, please post some pics of your Padmini!
Old 10th April 2010, 09:58   #412

OK got it so a strange cost cutting here. Guess at that time there was not much of a thing to differentiate base models with the deluxe models. BTW Arun bhai how are your cars doing. Hope 331(guess thats the reg no.) is running fine.
Old 10th April 2010, 09:59   #413

Shiva, please post some pics of your Padmini!
Here you go sir My good old PP
Fiat Classic Club - Hyderabad (FCCH)-img_3231.jpg  

Fiat Classic Club - Hyderabad (FCCH)-img_3262.jpg  

Fiat Classic Club - Hyderabad (FCCH)-img_3263.jpg  

Old 10th April 2010, 11:14   #414

To clear few things:
- This car is a 1993 Deluxe BE as per the RC book.
- Weber carburattor is fitted as I have removed the air filter and seen it myself.
- AC is an after fitment and not company fitted.
- am not sure of the NE gear box,but will have it checked soon.Though the gear shifts have been extremely smooth,which is possible with only a NE gear box.
Old 10th April 2010, 13:29   #415

Good buy RamKiran! Please post pics of it being restored.
Old 10th April 2010, 13:31   #416

Shiva, your PP looks good man.

Is it first owner? How many kms on the ODO?
Old 10th April 2010, 13:46   #417

Shiva, your PP looks good man.

Is it first owner? How many kms on the ODO?
Yes arun, single owner (my dad) believe it or not, I have not been allowed to drive this car till 2002, it was driven exclusively by my father. My PP has done innumerable number of trips to bangy as well .. 1.6 Lakh kms done till now and even today we use the car on long drives if my father feels like driving
Old 10th April 2010, 13:49   #418

Yes arun, single owner (my dad) believe it or not, I have not been allowed to drive this car till 2002, it was driven exclusively by my father. My PP has done innumerable number of trips to bangy as well .. 1.6 Lakh kms done till now and even today we use the car on long drives if my father feels like driving
Cool buddy! Nothing like such Family owned car!
Hope your PP too will be present at the FCCH Grand meet.
Old 10th April 2010, 13:54   #419

Cool buddy! Nothing like such Family owned car!
Hope your PP too will be present at the FCCH Grand meet.
Lets see whether we have the elegant or the PP in the FCCH grand meet. From 1983 till date we have only fiats in the family and I intend to carry this tradition forward
Old 10th April 2010, 17:00   #420

Originally Posted by hillram View Post
To clear few things:
- This car is a 1993 Deluxe BE as per the RC book.
- Weber carburattor is fitted as I have removed the air filter and seen it myself.
- AC is an after fitment and not company fitted.
- am not sure of the NE gear box,but will have it checked soon.Though the gear shifts have been extremely smooth,which is possible with only a NE gear box.
Ram Garu,

Your car has got nostrils in the front (aire inlet vents which were introduced in S1), giving rise to confusion.