Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 5th October 2012, 21:06   #1021

Re: Classic Volkswagens in India

Another Beetle from the Bangalore Beetle club came in for a regular service to me for the first time, history of this car is very simple, A Goa car came to Bangalore in the late 80's and is owned by my friend Karthik Prabhu, its a 1962 Right hand drive. The car was a fantastic runner, but had developed a little run-time issues due to bad tuning.

A simple change of lubricants, a complete brake overhaul, Engine valve adjustments and tuning has now made this car run sooper smooth.
Classic Volkswagens in India-imag_0699.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-imag_0704.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-imag_0700.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-imag_0698.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-imag_0789.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-imag_0790.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-imag_0801.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-imag_0797.jpg  

PAVAN KADAM is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th October 2012, 10:28   #1022

Yesterday the Beetle Club of Bombay had a sprint down to Lonavala for breakfast. I couldn't join them, but made it a point to see them off. Some more cars and a bus was still to come when I left.

Classic Volkswagens in India-01.jpg

Classic Volkswagens in India-03.jpg

Classic Volkswagens in India-04.jpg

Classic Volkswagens in India-05.jpg

Classic Volkswagens in India-06.jpg

Classic Volkswagens in India-07.jpg

Classic Volkswagens in India-08.jpg
karlosdeville is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd December 2012, 13:04   #1023

Yet another 1968 VW Beetle lands in Bangalore, Did a quick clutch replacement,brake service, electrical check up and some minor preventive maintenance. And now the Bug is running trouble free.

Belongs to my friend Ravichandran, he and his wife adores the Bug and treats it like their Child.

Some minor work needed, but it will be a running restoration.
Classic Volkswagens in India-imag_1788.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-imag_1789.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-imag_1794.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-imag_1795.jpg  

PAVAN KADAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd December 2012, 18:21   #1024

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Yet another 1968 VW Beetle lands in Bangalore, Did a quick clutch replacement,brake service, electrical check up and some minor preventive maintenance. And now the Bug is running trouble free.

Belongs to my friend Ravichandran, he and his wife adores the Bug and treats it like their Child.

Has this car come from Quilon in Kerala,because a white TMX beetle has been sold from that place recently?
ajay99 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd December 2012, 23:36   #1025

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
Has this car come from Quilon in Kerala,because a white TMX beetle has been sold from that place recently?
Yes Ajay, its come from Kollam, few days ago.
Old 25th December 2012, 12:22   #1026

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post

Are you sure it is a 68? the dash,knobs(including gear lever) ashtray etc makes it a pre66 model.the bumpers and headlights are post 68.The taillights are post74.All in all seems to be a case of mix and match.
Hope the price paid was not the premium one the owner was quoting -5.5 lakhs
Old 25th December 2012, 13:36   #1027

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
Are you sure it is a 68? the dash,knobs(including gear lever) ashtray etc makes it a pre66 model.the bumpers and headlights are post 68.The taillights are post74.All in all seems to be a case of mix and match.
Hope the price paid was not the premium one the owner was quoting -5.5 lakhs
Chassis number + Engine number combo says its a 1968 Model, There are some cosmetical goof-ups, which will be corrected in the due course of time and the price is in the 4 lac bracket
Old 1st January 2013, 20:39   #1028

Friends immaculately restored 69.
Classic Volkswagens in India-bug.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-bug1.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-bug2.jpg  

dominator is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2013, 18:51   #1029

Originally Posted by dominator View Post
Friends immaculately restored 69.
Kersi, i remember seeing this ex-Kerala car last year when i visited Hyderabad , i was amazed by its originality, Glad they have retained the original seats.

Nice to see it in the new Refreshed status
Classic Volkswagens in India-dsc01549.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-dsc01550.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-dsc01551.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-dsc01554.jpg  

Old 3rd January 2013, 15:29   #1030

Would like to believe this is the only authentic,original, one of its kind Beach Buggy in the country.
Classic Volkswagens in India-bb.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-bb1.jpg  

Classic Volkswagens in India-bb2.jpg  

dominator is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2013, 15:47   #1031

Would like to believe this is the only authentic,original, one of its kind Beach Buggy in the country.

Long time i haven't seen it ... is it still around ?? its the same Cedric,s car .. still with him ??

Prashanth
Old 3rd January 2013, 15:56   #1032

Originally Posted by Voyager View Post
Long time i haven't seen it ... is it still around ?? its the same Cedric,s car .. still with him ??

Prashanth
I mentioned - the only original/authentic car in the country. This is not Cedric's car and not in Bangalore.
dominator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2013, 15:57   #1033

Have not seen this since 1988. I was given it to use for a morning. It was fun
Old 3rd January 2013, 16:37   #1034

Is this an original Meyers Manx?
By any chance, is this an ex-Goa car? I remember seeing a similar looking buggy in 2006 or 07 (?). Was very frequently seen at the Club Cabana premises.

Originally Posted by Voyager View Post
Cedric's buggy, I believe is still owned by him, but in long-term parking at a garage in Lingrajpuram. Is his a Manx? Or a custom build?
thebulletboy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2013, 16:48   #1035

Cedric's buggy, I believe is still owned by him, but in long-term parking at a garage in Lingrajpuram. Is his a Manx? Or a custom build?[/quote]

I think its a custom build , if i remember right its a right hand drive