Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On owning a car

Old 26th October 2014, 13:01   #646

Re: Swap Optra Magnum for City/Ciaz?

My 2 cents on your current situation would be:

1. Retain the Optra for the weekend and long family drives. It is a car you love. Do not think of the resale value now. The next AT car that you might be owning may face a similar resale value problem at the end of 3 years. If the Optra is not giving you any mechanical problem, there is no point in changing it now.

2. For the city drives and stuff where changing gears is having a toll on your health, you can get yourself a hatchback AT - like the Brio AT, Celerio AMT, Grand i10 AT, i20 AT. Based on the amount of money you are willing to invest, you can get yourself a good quality B2 segment hatch which may be a solution to your current array of problems. Plus points of hatch: Easy to drive, easy to park, manoeuvring in city traffic is easier, better FE.
CountMe91 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th October 2014, 13:03   #647

If you don't ever see yourself bucking against the trend and getting that life you want, given the amount of city driving you do and your current shoulder predicament, you are a worthy candidate for an automatic car.

The City would be the better choice since its 1.5L V-TEC and CVT make for a better drivetrain than the K-Series motor accompanied by the 4 speed torque converter that the Ciaz comes equipped with. If A.S.S. isn't an issue in your nick of the woods, then the 1.2 tsi + DSG Vento, is the car for you.

If a used car is not out of the contest, and you are happy with Chevy A.S.S., then why not consider an Automatic Cruze for that little bit more fun (granted it is a diesel and doesn't make much economic sense if you dont drive that miuch) A used Corolla would also make for a sensible buy and if you are willing to let go of all pre-conceived notions, an automatic Kizashi, would be the perfect buy The car sells for peanuts in the used market, has a creamy big normally aspirated motor with a sweet soundtrack post 4k revs, paddle shifters with specific gear ratios to liven up the driving experience when needed, great features, class-leading safety, comfy interiors, and astonishing braking power. You get the best of both worlds that way So shoot me a pm if it interests you and you want to get to know more about the car. I own a manual, but have also extensively driven the automatic too

Last edited by IshaanIan : 26th October 2014 at 13:04.
IshaanIan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th October 2014, 06:32   #648

Just another perspective.. if it is JUST the pain of driving a manual that is leading you to consider changing cars, how about you you think of employing a driver for your daily office runs?

You could make the most of the Optra's best days (drive it yourself when you're on the highways) and then get an automatic.

Again, this might make sense only if the manual is bothering you.

Back to the main point.. I personally don't see any point in pumping money (on non-necessary/urgent repairs) on a car that you are already considering selling. Optra would depreciate heavily so it wouldn't make financial sense.
libranof1987 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th October 2014, 09:05   #649

I think you would be getting around 5 lakhs and putting down another 7 lakhs approx of your hard earned money.

And what does the additional few lakhs get you?

1. A 1.4L/ 1.5L petrol with modest figures compared to that 2L torque monster under the hood of your Optra.

2. Almost the same space, but not quite the same comfort. Optra had a brilliant ride in the city.

3. Tinny Japanese build quality compared to the solid Korean build of the Optra. I don't think either of these new generation budget C segment cars would age well.

I wouldn't consider this swap if I were in your place. The same budget could get an automatic hatch/ compact sedan for the office commute while retaining the Optra for the weekends.

PS- Why do I get the feeling that it's your lifestyle and not the car that needs to change?
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th October 2014, 09:43   #650

The Optra unfortunately will fetch a terrible resale!

I'd recommend a smaller AT car if parking is not an issue or hire a driver for the wkly city commutes.
AirWind is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th October 2014, 09:58   #651

If driving is such a pain in Optra, what don't you hire a driver. You will get comfort of Optra with out any pain of driving.
The 10 Lacks of money you are ready to spend on CITY CVT, put it in Banks' FD and use the interest to pay off driver's salary.
anshul26 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th October 2014, 09:59   #652

If it is just the manual transmission thats bothering you then you really have only two options:
1. If the car is in good shape and you overall feel it will serve you well for next few years, then hire a driver as suggested above.

2. If you are not in favour of a driver ( they generally abuse your car one way or the other) then opt for an AT car. Both the City and the Ciaz will serve you well although I would pick the City over the Ciaz. You can also check the Ford Ecosport AT.

I would not suggest buying a second car in form of a hatch and keeping the Optra too. Keeping one car parked for most of the week doesn't make sense to me as firstly I feel the car starts ageing faster when not run regularly and second it is only standing there and depreciating.

Final advice: If finances are not an issue then opt for a new car. The feeling and excitement are unparalleled. If not then hire a driver and enjoy the rear seat.
drmohitg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th October 2014, 13:40   #653

I completely agree that the Optra is a damn fine car, but the sad truth is that when you go out to sell it in the market, you would not get a great resale value. thats why I still keep my optra with me.

With City or Ciaz petrol, you would not get the awesome kick you feel in your magnum once you are past the 2k rpm. The ciaz will is slightly underpowered, and city, though has a great high revving Vtec, still has a CVT, which does not do justice to the engine.

I would suggest you give a thought to Vento TSI. It would be a great replacement for your magnum and would fit in your budget too.
lalittalwar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th October 2014, 15:17   #654

In terms of the DRIVE, Ciaz & City would be disappointing after Magnum.
Your best bet would be to search for a pre-worshipped Cruze AT.
kpzen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2014, 12:40   #655

Re: ARTICLE: YOUR 5 year old car : Keep, Upgrade or Swap?

Originally Posted by drsingh View Post
15-20 k estimate must have been for a full suspension overhaul.

You can reduce the noises to some extent by changing all the suspension bushings.
But if you want to keep the car over the next few years and want the "new car comfort" go for the suspension overhaul and put some nice rubber on the wheels.
Thank you @drsingh

Any suggestions on where to get the tyres replaced in bangalore?

Just want to know if i can get tyres at good price, apart from hyundai service centres.

Need tubeless tyres for my i10

Avinash
Old 2nd November 2014, 14:22   #656
NPV

Originally Posted by avinfine View Post
Any suggestions on where to get the tyres replaced in bangalore?

Just want to know if i can get tyres at good price, apart from hyundai service centres.

Need tubeless tyres for my i10
Several shops all over Bangalore.
You can try Madhus near double Road/st.Josephs commerce college.
Regarding the pricing do your due diligence and ask around with few dealers and check how much they will give for the old ones.
Old 3rd November 2014, 11:49   #657

If I haven't thanked anyone yet, here you go.

I guess what I'm looking for is a bit of a contradiction: a somewhat smaller auto-transmission car that's easier to live with in the city, but still gives me close to the space and pleasure/comfort I got from my Optra. It's a puzzling question: hang on to a car that's generally good, but won't get much resale value (and which means you will have to spend money from scratch again once your current car starts giving up), or swallow the expense now, and get more peace of mind (plus the excitement of a new car) for the next few years. And, heh, this time round perhaps one could buy a car that's more likely to hold its value after the next three years.

Unlike the scenario in the first post on this thread, I'm not looking to 'upgrade', exactly. I have all the luxury I could really want in my Optra, and if it weren't for the facts that long-term I'll need an automatic, and that I don't want to be stuck running to the garage every few days after another three years go by, I would hold on to the Optra and not even bother posting.

I do have a chauffeur, and I thank the gods for giving me the Optra, because during the very painful year with my shoulder injury and surgery, I couldn't have asked for a better car to be driven around in. And a chauffeur is amazingly convenient for the "Stop here, stop there, go for a meeting" days I usually have, so I will probably hang on to him. However, I love driving, and I hate the idea of feeling stuck if the chauffeur isn't available.

Which is sort of what's started this thought process: does it make more sense to hang on to the Optra, or go for something more nimble and avoid the three years when the car starts to give trouble. I tend to be obsessive over my baby, and rush it to the workshop every time I detect the slightest tremor, and I can see this happening more and more as actual problems start to develop. I'm very careful with maintenance, but three years on Mumbai's roads have taken their toll.

The options that people have come up with (just summing up, almost thinking aloud - apologies if this is tedious):
1) Keep the Optra with a chauffeur, worry about the next car in another few years - Yes, possible. Just means I have to be more careful, use the car a little less and take the train instead a couple of days a week (hooray, says the environment). Cons: maintenance costs, further drop in resale value, not a long-term solution.

2) Keep the Optra and get a smaller AT car as my runabout - Hmm. Not really. I don't want one car sitting around while the other gets used. And also, most Indian hatchbacks come with either airbags (often just one), or an AT, but not both. Chief culprits: Maruti, Hyundai, and shame on them. The ones in the fray are the Honda Brio (sweet car other than the blah dashboard), the Nissan Micra (adorable) and the VW Polo (excellent). The common factor is that none of these are cheap, and getting one second-hand would mean more maintenance issues.
3) Sell the Optra, get a Polo TSI: Tempting, very very tempting. Very good car, good for 90% of the things I do, and cheaper than bothering with a sedan, but does it work with a chauffeur? Just my opinion, but it feels a bit silly to have a chauffeur for a hatch that doesn't have vast amounts of space anyway. Thoughts?
4) Sell the Optra, get a C+ sedan: The Vento TSI is looking great for this. Other option: the Verna petrol AT. My original two have fallen out of favour a bit: the Ciaz is just too large, the City VX too expensive, the SV quite spartan. I'll write a bit about this in a What Car thread - interesting drives. Pros: The most long-term solution. Cons: The most expensive solution, with the extra cost of the sedan (about Rs 1.5-2 lakh over the Polo), and the chauffeur as well. Perhaps not necessary.
5) Get a cool used car, like a Kizashi: Sounds awesome, but no (sigh). Too big, same maintenance issues.
6) Get a sub-4 metre sedan: Hmm, no, again. Just a personal preference.
Old 3rd November 2014, 16:42   #658

Originally Posted by roadtrip View Post
If I haven't thanked anyone yet, here you go.

I guess what I'm looking for is a bit of a contradiction: a somewhat smaller auto-transmission car that's easier to live with in the city, but still gives me close to the space and pleasure/comfort I got from my Optra.

I do have a chauffeur, and I thank the gods for giving me the Optra, because during the very painful year with my shoulder injury and surgery, I couldn't have asked for a better car to be driven around in. And a chauffeur is amazingly convenient for the "Stop here, stop there, go for a meeting" days I usually have, so I will probably hang on to him. However, I love driving, and I hate the idea of feeling stuck if the chauffeur isn't available.
Why not get an automatic corolla if you're mostly chauffeured around? New or used..

Last edited by Technocrat : 4th November 2014 at 04:34. Reason: Please selectively quote as a large quoted post causes inconvenience to our mobile readers, thanks
drsingh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2015, 16:19   #659

Hi All

I tried looking for an up-to-date thread on Chevrolet Optra however couldn’t find one, so starting a new one:

I own a 2006 Chevrolet Optra 1.6 Elite. Mileage: 137000, KMs and it’s my primary vehicle to run around in the city, my daily drive is close to 80 kms.
The experience with the car so far has been very good and I find the drive absolutely satisfying. Aesthetically the car is in good shape (both interiors and exteriors) and there are no rattles anywhere. The car has been maintained with all original parts and at the authorized service stations only.

Off-late I have noticed that the clutch is getting weaker and will need a replacement in another 4-5K KMs (will be the first replacement), and the tyres will also need to be changed (this will be the fourth set).

My question is: What is the life of such mid-segments cars in India? Will it be advisable to spend on maintenance of this car or will I be better off if I replace it now, I am sure that these expenses will not have an incremental effect on the resale price of the car? Is it advisable to get the clutch overall from a FNG, if I source the quality parts from say Metro Spares?

Old 2nd April 2015, 17:09   #660

Originally Posted by aarcher View Post
My question is: What is the life of such mid-segments cars in India? Will it be advisable to spend on maintenance of this car or will I be better off if I replace it now, I am sure that these expenses will not have an incremental effect on the resale price of the car? Is it advisable to get the clutch overall from a FNG, if I source the quality parts from say Metro Spares?

9-10 years is a very good life for a well maintained car. The maintenance expenses will increase exponentially from here-on. Clutch replacement will be the first one in the line. Next will be the suspension, after that it could be engine related.

I recently sold off my 2004 Indica after using it for 10.5 years and 1.51 lac kms. It was still in very good condition when I sold, but badly needed suspension overhaul. Clutch was replaced at 110K kms and @ 135K kms I spent about 16K on FIP (Fuel Injection Pump) overhaul. Though it is not prudent to compare an Indica with an Optra, I thought of sharing it with you so that you can get some hints.

Last edited by AutoIndian : 2nd April 2015 at 17:10.
AutoIndian is offline   (1) Thanks