(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
Originally Posted by k_ajay
(Post 3312063)
The Yeti does seem to come with DSG transmission. |
I don’t think the international specs will really matter. Even the existing model had DSG variants available but never made into India.
UK variants, prices and specifications
here
Originally Posted by sidparekh
(Post 3160005)
A little help needed from the Yetians: please:
The Yeti had been lying dormant for a week as we were out of station. I started it up yesterday and after a few minutes of running noticed a small tak-tak sound coming from the engine apart from the diesel thrum and clatter. It appears only in neutral and disappears as soon as you slot it in 1st and start moving even a little. |
Hi Sid
Has the problem of the "tak-tak" sound been resolved? Can you please share some more details about the issue. I have recently started observing a similar "tak-tak" sound coming from the engine. Typically, the sound is noticeable after a longish drive and only when the car is stationary, but there are no warning lights to suggest any abnormal behavior. Our Yeti has completed 18000 km over a full year of ownership. Very happy with the car.
We renewed the Yeti's insurance, but chose to move to ICICI Lombard from Bajaj Allianz. The total premium worked out to Rs 24582 (Zero Dep. Copper Plan) with a 20% NCB from a claim-free first year.
Hrishi
(Post 3312063)
If you notice the button i've highlighted with the blue ring, there is a feature that is missing in the MT model. Hill hold or something like that, Yeti owners? Looks like those who prefer the DSG, will also get to enjoy electric powered seats (at least driver seat) |
My 2 year old Yeti 4x4 MT Elegance has the HHC (hill hold control) feature along with the off road button as well. I would love to have had the electric seats too but sadly, that's not an available or even optional feature as of now on this variant.
Originally Posted by hrishik
(Post 3313520)
Hi Sid Has the problem of the "tak-tak" sound been resolved? Can you please share some more details about the issue. I have recently started observing a similar "tak-tak" sound coming from the engine. Typically, the sound is noticeable after a longish drive and only when the car is stationary, but there are no warning lights to suggest any abnormal behavior. |
The sound problem took a while to resolve.
The service guys first refused to believe the problem exists. Had to go there thrice to convince them of the issue and get them to make a job card for the car. After agonising 6 days of follow up with them, during which they kept claiming they are talking with the engineers over a portal, they finally came to the diagnosis they had first made i.e. A problem with one of the the injectors. But then they refused to replace the injector even after diagnosis citing they needed to be sure first.
The next day I got a call saying that they have found out the root cause behind this problem and it is that I have filled adulterated fuel and that's what caused a problem with the injector. I felt this is a ploy to push the blame on my head and not replace the part under warranty. So I escalated the matter further through a person I know in the JMD Bhandup workshop. He assured me that if the Charkop guys were unable to solve the issue he would transfer the car there and I wouldn't have to pay a single penny come what may. After much pushing and prodding they call in 2 days saying that the problem has been resolved by an ECU flash. So I go to check. After a trial the problem still persists. But after the trial the Diagnostic software started throwing up another error for the Engine coolant pump. Now they wanted to replace that under warranty. After 3 days the part approval took place and they replaced the part. Now honestly I don't know even today what was causing the problem. But after replacing the part it sure has stopped. How a Engine coolant pump can cause a noise near the cylinder head in JUST one of the injectors I have no clue.
So Hrishik you should definitely get it checked. Just bear in mind that you need to be very clear about the circumstances the sound can be heard and you should be able to recreate it at the service centre otherwise they will refuse to acknowledge the existence of the sound. All the best.
Sid
Originally Posted by sidparekh
(Post 3313527)
The sound problem took a while to resolve.
The service guys first refused to believe the problem exists. Had to go there thrice to convince them of the issue and get them to make a job card for the car. After agonising 6 days of follow up with them, during which they kept claiming they are talking with the engineers over a portal, they finally came to the diagnosis they had first made i.e. A problem with one of the the injectors. But then they refused to replace the injector even after diagnosis citing they needed to be sure first.
The next day I got a call saying that they have found out the root cause behind this problem and it is that I have filled adulterated fuel and that's what caused a problem with the injector. I felt this is a ploy to push the blame on my head and not replace the part under warranty. So I escalated the matter further through a person I know in the JMD Bhandup workshop. He assured me that if the Charkop guys were unable to solve the issue he would transfer the car there and I wouldn't have to pay a single penny come what may. After much pushing and prodding they call in 2 days saying that the problem has been resolved by an ECU flash. So I go to check. After a trial the problem still persists. But after the trial the Diagnostic software started throwing up another error for the Engine coolant pump. Now they wanted to replace that under warranty. After 3 days the part approval took place and they replaced the part. Now honestly I don't know even today what was causing the problem. But after replacing the part it sure has stopped. How a Engine coolant pump can cause a noise near the cylinder head in JUST one of the injectors I have no clue.
So Hrishik you should definitely get it checked. Just bear in mind that you need to be very clear about the circumstances the sound can be heard and you should be able to recreate it at the service centre otherwise they will refuse to acknowledge the existence of the sound. All the best.
Sid |
Thanks a lot Sid. The sound can be heard fairly consistently now. A visit to the service centre is due, I guess. Will keep this thread posted with developments.
The Yeti was in its elements on a ~ 1,700 kms round trip, with 800+ driven on a single day. The car, in one word is brilliant. No rattles, squeaks, nothing. And after constant whipping and being staying close to 3,000 revs, you couldn't make out if the engine is on. It gently purred after all that driving.
On those horrible stretch at Gopalgunj, where the Innova scraped & scraped, it was flying over various diversions, climbing one and descending another. I couldn't be driving a better car. A+
Originally Posted by Sheel
(Post 3319931)
The Yeti was in its elements on a ~ 1,700 kms round trip, with 800+ driven on a single day. The car, in one word is brilliant. I couldn't be driving a better car. A+ |
Does this mean that you are now considering it along with the Storme?
(Post 3319931)
The Yeti was in its elements on a ~ 1,700 kms round trip, with 800+ driven on a single day. The car, in one word is brilliant. No rattles, squeaks, nothing. And after constant whipping and being staying close to 3,000 revs, you couldn't make out if the engine is on. It gently purred after all that driving.
On those horrible stretch at Gopalgunj, where the Innova scraped & scraped, it was flying over various diversions, climbing one and descending another. I couldn't be driving a better car. A+ |
And how were the Michelins on this trip? Do you find any negative point of having the Michelins?
Also guys my Yeti seems to have got some resonance between 1500-2000rpm, its not irritatingly loud but I know its there everytime. Am I the only one? The sound is from the engine bay, I think something may be a bit lose and rattling.
Originally Posted by akshay1234
(Post 3320183)
And how were the Michelins on this trip? Do you find any negative point of having the Michelins?
Also guys my Yeti seems to have got some resonance between 1500-2000rpm, its not irritatingly loud but I know its there everytime. Am I the only one? The sound is from the engine bay, I think something may be a bit lose and rattling. |
Check air filter enclosure if its closed properly. Its a problem i have regularly on the Getz where in the lid is not aligned properly although all clips are locked. Hope your problem of resonance is as simple as mine.
(Post 3320183)
And how were the Michelins on this trip? Do you find any negative point of having the Michelins? |
Bud, I already posted 'em
here for you to read. I thought you are checking this thread more often :)
Not negative, but I was expecting the tire to have more grip, considering its a Michelin, has low life & maybe soft rubber (compared to its counterparts) and is expensive.
(Post 3320267)
Bud, I already posted 'em here for you to read. I thought you are checking this thread more often :)
Not negative, but I was expecting the tire to have more grip, considering its a Michelin, has low life & maybe soft rubber (compared to its counterparts) and is expensive. |
Haha seems I'm not checking it often enough :p
That's great. More grip in what sense? What kind of speeds were you doing buddy lol? Because even with the Goodyears the grip is just fine because of the brilliant Haldex 4WD.
(Post 3320284)
Haha seems I'm not checking it often enough :p
That's great. More grip in what sense? What kind of speeds were you doing buddy lol? Because even with the Goodyears the grip is just fine because of the brilliant Haldex 4WD. |
Maybe my lack of grip points at steering not having enough feedback. The tires never squealed while cornering and it doesn't squeal when I am braking.
Yes, all the 4 tires grip and have never slipped or spun up. But maybe the reassuring feel is missing, but that maybe just me.
The car was over 3,000 revs in 6th a lot of times and for most part (whenever road presented) was over 2,000 revs in 6th.
Its fun driving a manual 140bhp car which isn't shy to hit the red-line & the best part is, it doesn't spin up. A Verna at a tollgate kind of dragged and it was spinning its wheels, whereas I was gone for good.
(Post 3311655)
Hi ItNerd, That's the kind of discount I'm expecting. Not trying to be greedy but probably even a little more, because when the new Yeti comes, I'm anticipating demand for the old one will go away (unless there are more people out there who'd prefer the existing build quality, MT and older stock, which, I hope doesn't happen :D). Sad thing is even after an assumptive 3 lakhs discount (which I highly doubt), in Bangalore, I'll have to pay more than 20.7 lakhs (all inclusive on-road, including something called Drive Assure). In B'lore, the 4x4 Elegance will mostly never be available at 17.5 even in anyone's dream. Road tax is high even there. |
You should have bought the Yeti when it was first launched. Those days (in end 2010), it used to cost about 19 on road. By the time I went along in end 2011 to buy it, the price had gone significantly up, but the discount that I was able to negotiate, offset things very nicely indeed. Now, two more years later, and three full years after this vehicle first debuted in the Indian market, the vehicle costs almost 24L on road Bangalore! Of course, one can still negotiate a discount, but there is no chance of achieving the advantage of the kind of prices that prevailed in 2010-2011.
Originally Posted by harishpr
(Post 3311680)
These deep discounts may be a thing of past. According to Steven (the person who does allocation of vehicles for South region across all dealers, employee of skoda), the Yeti or superb (both 100 percent ckd) are completely sold out, barring few pieces of specific colors or demo./test cars .
He was extremely confident with his statement and I quote '2012 was a bad year for skoda since they went with dealer forecasts, and ended up importing more than required. In 2013, skoda has pulled it's socks and importing based on demand and not forecasts'.
Maybe someone can still get one or two old baked models with huge discounts, but it won't be a norm anymore.
Steven further mentioned that any new booking for silver colored 4x4 Elegance will be delivered only in q1 of 2014.
As per him skoda India shall focus more on a.s.s in 14&15. |
Folks,
Just wanted to quickly check on if anyone (especially in Bangalore) was fishing around for deals on the 4x2 snowman? Anyone manage discounts worth mentioning? I'm unable to get these guys (both Vinayak and TAFE, JP Nagar) to move from the 1.5'ish (to around 1.9 on the not-so-desirable-for-me colors for March/April 2013 stock) discount that they are stuck with!
As was mentioned earlier here in this thread - does not look like Skoda are "stuck" with lots of stock that they wish to get rid of in a hurry. For the OTR price, snowman just moves past the value mark IMHO - especially on the "top-end" (Ambition) 4x2 that comes with no USB audio or even steering controls for audio.
The car is still a mouth-watering prospect after having test-driven her just twice on NICE road - he is just that good!!!
Poise at speed is phenomenal and he is so matured when accelerating that I could hardly make out any strain on the engine - response to the right foot is instantaneous!
Really excited about bringing one into the family!
As for Skoda India focusing on a.s.s. in 14/15 - they have a good opportunity to start on this initiative by providing a reasonable explanation to Catamaran about the problems he is facing with his Yeti that caused a 4.5 lakh repair bill!
How to activate the hill-hold function in the Yeti?
Its the perfect tool in the hills as well. Did Purnia - Gangtok in 6 hours flat and that too at night. The AWD works as a charm, engine pulls and pulls. The more I drive, the more I love the car.