Old 17th April 2025, 14:45   #31

Re: 2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review

The Speed cruise control stalk has the distance button and markings. This shows that Skoda skipped the ACC( Adaptive cruise control) feature of ADAS as cost cutting measure but used the common stalk.

This car is overpriced.
rst89 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th April 2025, 15:05   #32

Originally Posted by Traveler View Post
In the review the following is mentioned.

"The Kodiaq gets six driving modes to choose from – Eco, Normal, Sport, Offroad, Snow and Individual, which can be selected through the touchscreen. Each mode changes the engine's characteristics, suspension settings, gearbox shift points, air-con operation, steering weight etc."

I would like to know how are the suspension settings being changed given that DCC with adaptive dampers are missing on this model.
Added by mistake. Taken off during proofreading.
Aditya is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 17th April 2025, 15:28   #33

I don’t think how many would agree with me on this but suddenly Jeep Meridian seems to be a real Value For Money SUV. If you need more features go for the Overland and try and squeeze the dealer to best of your ability. A diesel engine in this size of vehicle and in the era of EVs where we are comparing running cost, cannot be missed. Somehow that ‘kitna deti hai’ itch in me just does not die, which might be cliche for some!
akshaysawant is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th April 2025, 15:51   #34

Having gone through the brochure, I think that the Sportline is the variant which got the most step motherly treatment in terms of variant revision. Omissions include auto park, LED light strip in the grille (a signature of the new Kodiaq), Hill start assist and descent control (latter was not present in outgoing variant as well), 360º cameras, drive mode select (Not so important but changing to Sport now means you must go through the gear knob only.

What's added are all the jazzy features of the L&K and more paint options. The position of the gear lever, in my opinion, its a bit unintuitive. Why? Unlike Mercs with steering mounted gear selectors, you can't just flick it with your finger while holding the wheel. You need the right hand to leave the steering, give it a twist in either direction and back on the steering. I speak for myself but for right handed users like me, the gear lever in the centre console was just fine while I park the car using right hand only and keep my hand on the gear lever to quickly toggle between R and D. I just don't like this. Also what's with the ADAS hardware being present and not being activated as a feature? It'll be updated later to work once homologation is complete? why Homologation isn't complete before launch?

If Skoda cared even 10% for customer feedback, they would have reserved DCC for Sport line and go head to head with the Tiguan R-Line, which offers many more features such as a bigger screen, HUD and 19" wheels to name a few. But removing DCC altogether from the line up, sounds very weird to me. I am sure DCC will be standard in the upcoming Superb diesel and of course the Octavia and Kodiaq RS variants.

I just feel more happy to own a 2022 Sportline with auto park, drive modes and proper intuitive gear lever, better looking alloy wheels all for just under 39L at the time. Yes I bought in the first wave before all the discounts started to rally in.

Last edited by adi_petrolhead : 17th April 2025 at 15:59.
adi_petrolhead is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 17th April 2025, 15:55   #35

I feel that Skoda has missed the opportunity to continue being seen as a luxury value prop. Overall product beyond better interiors is pretty similar with DCC knocked off and no introduction of ADAS in this time and age.

When I was looking for a car, KOdiaq was certainly the best quality product but seemed to fall short on features for the money, now with increased price it still seems so. I am glad I didnt decide to wait out for newer model.
supertinu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th April 2025, 16:13   #36

Had been looking forward to 17th April as I was to book the Kodiaq today at launch. Even with those ugly wheels I had decided will go ahead and buy the Kodiaq.

Had been following all the updates on the Kodiaq since a while since the Euro launch in fact. Two things I wasn't expecting to happen today, one was the OTR price crossing 50L for me and the other was Skoda omitting DCC and ADAS.

Now I have some serious thinking to do if I still want to get the Kodiaq for about 7-8L above my expected pricing. Budget aside is it even worth it at the price. If the L&K costs as much now then what will the RS cost when it launches? I hope the folks at Skoda India can control their greed and not price it as much as an Urus.
vvb8530 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 17th April 2025, 16:20   #37

As previous gen Kodiaq 2.0 TSI L&K, super happy with my purchase back in time - more so now.
Positives I see in current gen:

1. Tan interiors.

2. 14 BHP bump.

3. Massage seats.

4. Minor length gain.

Negatives:

1. Dash look less classy - too much busy.

2. Stick-on screen - just hate it. Should have been merged into dash.

3. Main console setting & plastic is cheap.

4. No DCC - it's actually functional.

5. No future proofing with ethanol blending.

6. Overall design has become more of a wagon like.

7. Wheels.
SilverSmoke is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 17th April 2025, 17:12   #38

The vRS has its own flaws too. While it has adaptive suspension, the 20” wheels are going to be overkill for our roads.

https://www.autocar.co.uk/car-review/skoda/kodiaq-vrs
Old 17th April 2025, 18:03   #39

Well well. Skoda found a way to shoot themselves in the foot. I was anticipating this car with much eager, and it basically having the same specs as last gen, I was expecting the L&K to be priced at a good 10 lakhs cheaper, considering the last gen’s pricing. Beautiful car, everything seems satisfactory to me except the pricing. Hope the discounts start rolling in soon xD. I consider the gentlemen who picked up the last gen Kodiaq towards the end at the discounted price to be very lucky indeed. A beautiful car at a rightful price that was, contrary to this.

Unnecessary thoughts , but to me, the Kodiaq was always an Underdog, especially compared to the entry level offerings from the big-3. Being overlooked by many, but actually being a near to perfect family car. One of the main criteria to being an UnderDog, is to have an “under price”. With this costing this much, might as well be just a “Dog”? xD

Last edited by SNOWY227 : 17th April 2025 at 18:17.
SNOWY227 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th April 2025, 18:36   #40

Originally Posted by sharmanova View Post
Now the question is who will offer discounts during Diwali? VW or Skoda
Let me rephrase that.

Now the question is who will offer greater discounts during Diwali? VW or Skoda
07CR is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 17th April 2025, 20:10   #41

For a long time, Skoda and Volkswagen each had only one non-mass market cars each (Tiguan, and Kodiaq) in India. Though these cars do not have much sales, I feel that their purpose was not only to be a halo car, but to be an upgrade to Octavia/Jetta owners, or even Rapid/Vento owners. This would help them get a brand trust and make them stay within the VAG family.

My take on the latest Kodiaq: Same formula, but more muscular, and more 2025-ish.

My take on the Tiguan 'R-Line' that is coming to India: Beautiful car, Beautiful engine, True German build quality, but not so beautiful engine tune, atleast for that R-Line badge it will come with.

I feel that they should bring back all of their higher end cars. These VAGs stand for understated elegance, not just build quality, performance, exclusivity, etc. Overall, they are on their way to go.
Old 17th April 2025, 21:54   #42

Well the pricing is definitely on a higher side and at this level people tend to go for premium brands.

But contrary to most views here, I feel Kodiaq will find buyers and will have demand. Kia is selling 200+ units of new Carnival at that pricing. A 200+ would be the numbers that’s Skoda is targeting too and the fact is there are no enough cars in that price range which has a mix of performance, quality and luxury. If I am looking for a well built premium SUV which is fun to drive too, under 60 lakhs OTR, my only choice would be Kodiaq.

On another note, just love the Sportsline interiors and equally hate L&K alloys.
sunikkat is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 18th April 2025, 00:53   #43

1st Gen Kodiaq will continue to be my favorite in terms of the design. Not quite sure if I like the familiar looking front between Kushaq-Slavia-Kodiaq. When did Skoda become Tata of cars now with same/similar looking fascia? Quite disappointed in design department, but, I do like the interiors!

Last edited by Aditya : 19th April 2025 at 15:46. Reason: Typo
Old 18th April 2025, 07:02   #44

With a near consensus that Skoda missed a golden opportunity with the Kodiaq, I felt that I need to check a Skoda showroom to see the buzz of a launch of a flagship product. Maybe we are missing something and the ones who midwifed the future of Skoda, have something up in sleeve.

Time : late afternoon. Location : TAFE Access in St. Marks Road, Blr.

It’s an old world building. You enter the lounge and spy a couple of Kylaqs, a snazzy red Kushaq Monte Carlo, a demure Slavia and a big table with 8-9 white shirted listless sales reps. No, I was not expecting the new bride, as Skoda had indicated that they will give a peep of Kodiaq only after few weeks. But not a single customer. No banners, standies, etc, which let alone declare, but not even whisper that yes, today, few hours back we have launched our most prestigious product. The salesguys, don’t have any brochures, don’t know the actual road price, don’t know the applicable accessories. They sheepishly try to help you by referring the same whatsapp forwards that is with the rest of the population. Only the pall bearers were missing.

Much has been said about’s Kodiaq’s mispricing. Do we need to be baffled that with a CKD instead of CBU and pared down features from the exiting gen model, it’s 8-10L more on road?

How did Skoda price this in other countries? The attached table below gives an indicative glimpse.
2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review-kodiaq-price-comparisons.png

So India is almost 20% more expensive than the rest.

What the above, the lack of buzz on the ground, a near absence of a push from Skoda ( apart from paid social media inserts), despondency in their sales outlets…tells me a lot of the lack of seriousness of Skoda in India specially for Kodiaq.

I was in the market for a Kodiaq. I will not buy it. I will not even buy the arguably better looking and speced previous gen in 2nd hand market. As I’m not sure about Kodiaq in India.
Story of Skoda as a footnote in Indian market continues.
Fib Only is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 18th April 2025, 08:06   #45

Škoda Kodiaq - A recap!

2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review-screenshot-20250418-075741.jpg

2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review-screenshot-20250418-075807.jpg

2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review-screenshot-20250418-075854.jpg

2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review-screenshot-20250418-075916.jpg

2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review-screenshot-20250418-075933.jpg

2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review-screenshot-20250418-075952.jpg

2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review-screenshot-20250418-080019.jpg