Old 18th April 2025, 09:50   #46

Re: 2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review

This car is begging for an ACC retrofit. Even the lower grill has a blank plate where the radar would be. I don't know why Skoda would skip on ADAS features especially when other markets are getting it and even CSUV much less pricier than the Kodiaq have a full suite of ADAS features.

Last edited by vaibhavyagnik : 18th April 2025 at 09:51.
Old 18th April 2025, 10:10   #47

Originally Posted by Fib Only View Post
What the above, the lack of buzz on the ground, a near absence of a push from Skoda ( apart from paid social media inserts), despondency in their sales outlets…tells me a lot of the lack of seriousness of Skoda in India specially for Kodiaq.
I totally agree with this. All the media houses reviewing this on Youtube seem to have been given a standard script (including mentioning stupid accessories like the screen cleaning bar and the umbrella as being 'simply clever'). No one is really talking about the missed features in a negative manner (probably again on the warning of Skoda) and are just harping on the mild positives.

Expect this to be around 50L on road before the end of the year. Skoda seems to be having the mentality of a small shopkeeper who knows people like a bargain and discounts. So price it mental and then offer a discount seems to be the mantra.

Last edited by praveen789 : 18th April 2025 at 10:13.
praveen789 is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 18th April 2025, 10:23   #48

Originally Posted by Fib Only View Post
No, I was not expecting the new bride, as Skoda had indicated that they will give a peep of Kodiaq only after few weeks. But not a single customer. No banners, standies, etc, which let alone declare, but not even whisper that yes, today, few hours back we have launched our most prestigious product. The salesguys, don’t have any brochures, don’t know the actual road price, don’t know the applicable accessories. They sheepishly try to help you by referring the same whatsapp forwards that is with the rest of the population. Only the pall bearers were missing.

I empathise with you but also sympathise with the poor Sales Advisors (SAs).

Why?
  • These days, customers for premium vehicles walk in researched to the gills with both India and global specs of fresh launches.
  • They have access to the same browser-based 'secret' screens that earlier a SA would conspiratorially turn towards them to show some 'Sir, don't-tell-anyone' feature.
  • Now, customers know the exact combination of all features, trims and ex-showroom prices across every global market the vehicle is sold in.
  • Those snazzy brochures are rarely printed any more. WA PDF forwards are so passe and difficult to read on mobiles with their useless pagination.
  • To add to the ignominy, blessed RTOs take a few days to incorporate the price-list into their system so as to arrive at a definitive on-road price.
  • Even display and test drive cars are usually allocated a few days later aligned to the RTO approvals.
If I were a SA, I would feel faint every time an obviously well-researched exuberant customer strides into my showroom enquiring about a brand new launch. This would be especially true for CKD/CBUs where (figuratively and literally), the unveil happens concurrently for dealers and retail customers.

Last edited by itwasntme : 18th April 2025 at 10:25.
itwasntme is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 18th April 2025, 10:43   #49

I don't quite subscribe to the notion that the car being a tad overpriced was unexpected. I did not share the same optimism that many of folks here had that Skoda might price the new Kodiaq under 45 Ex showroom.The scale at which this car will supposedly sell around 300 units a month mean that economics of scale cannot be achieved with the supposed investments in assembly re-configuring.
It's important to note that even in UK and the Ireland this version was a good 8K more expensive than the outgoing model. So we are more or less in line with it. Infact , we lost a couple of features I believe just to get the car under 50 Ex Showroom.
Because, the L&K version was available at a very handsome discount of upto 5-7 lakhs for the better part of last year is perhaps the reason why so many of us were expecting a premium over the discounted price and not the original facelift price of L&K pre 2024. The less degree of localization with no part sharing across other models just cannot allow price to go down further . In case, Skoda was confident of selling 1K units of these they would have worked more on localization and got this under 45L
Its important to remember that this heavy discounting started happening only when all other right hand drive markets stopped selling the earlier version , so this was more of a clearance of old LKD units. I remember seeing 3-4 months old LKD units being used for assembly when I went for booking last October. I finally did not go ahead with the booking but that is a story for some other day.
twincharger_gt is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th April 2025, 11:23   #50

The way this whole marketing system is working in the case of this car is no less than a SCAM.

They are raving over the 'value' offering of this vehicle which will not cost anything less than 55~60 Lacs on-road. Does Skoda think it has become a Beemer, Mercedes or Audi?? No highlighting of major misses (No hybrid, No DCC, No ADAS) in today's day and age and highlighting the 50 bucks 'screen cleaner' as something revolutionary, is nothing less than pure hypocrisy!

Have you been to a Skoda service center recently? I have. They don't have even basic technicians in a place in a place like Meerut (20 Lacs+ population). Skoda's main selling point was always 'value luxury' because of which we tolerated their pathetic service network. More cars came out spoiled from their service stations than before what they went in for, unless you were well versed yourself.

So much noise for so little value! It really feels like that Skoda takes the Indian Customers for a bunch of fools that they will lap anything they offer in the name of luxury. Have they seen the screens on the XUV700 or XEV9 and the price they are being offered at?

Really hoping for Skoda's sake that they course correct themselves, because I really loved the brand for what it stood for, not anymore!

Cheers...

Last edited by dkaile : 18th April 2025 at 11:25.
dkaile is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 18th April 2025, 11:30   #51

I do really like what I am seeing and reading about the new Kodiaq.
Personally though my preferences are peace of mind/maintenance and reliability. So for now Kodiaq is not for me.

Last edited by RROD : 18th April 2025 at 11:32.
Old 18th April 2025, 11:41   #52

Was so eagerly waiting for the new Kodiaq launch, 100% certain I'd book it on launch day.

1. No DCC
2. No ADAS
3. No Matrix lights
4. No hybrid/diesel

Ah well, the search continues.
Xtreme Torque is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 18th April 2025, 12:02   #53

Hi, is there any concrete information about the launch timing of the new Skoda Superb? And about the diesel engine? What will be the state of tune of diesel in Kodiaq and Superb?
Old 18th April 2025, 12:46   #54

Originally Posted by DonHyd View Post
Hi, is there any concrete information about the launch timing of the new Skoda Superb? And about the diesel engine? What will be the state of tune of diesel in Kodiaq and Superb?
Skoda India halts plans to launch imported cars

LINK TO NEWS

Last edited by pratyaksh : 18th April 2025 at 12:47. Reason: Fixed the link
pratyaksh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th April 2025, 13:07   #55

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post

I empathise with you but also sympathise with the poor Sales Advisors (SAs).

Why?
  • These days, customers for premium vehicles walk in researched to the gills with both India and global specs of fresh launches.

If I were a SA, I would feel faint every time an obviously well-researched exuberant customer strides into my showroom enquiring about a brand new launch. This would be especially true for CKD/CBUs where (figuratively and literally), the unveil happens concurrently for dealers and retail customers.
I get your point but I also feel atleast for premium showrooms, being a SA is not for everyone. One needs to be into cars and be an enthusiast and then only one can be a good salesman. This is true for most industries other than say selling soap or cigarettes.

The most hospitable experience I’ve had was at Lexus Gurguram when I just went inside the showroom to check out the cars. The best SA I’ve ever seen is Mr Abhishek Galley, SA at Bird Automotive Mini Cooper showroom in Delhi. He’s a real enthusiast and knows ins and outs of the car. Also, knows the history of the brand and the various models in previous years. He was confident about every feature the car has and made the test drive experience the best test drive of my life. All this after I told him, we have already bought a car and we’re here just to check out the new Mini models.

My earlier test drives for Skoda Octavia and Skoda Superb have been good too. Last test drive with Skoda was for Kodiaq where the SA only allowed me to drive 2 km and was in a hurry to get back to the showroom and also gave me a feeling that he feels I cannot afford the car.

In stark constrast, SA’s with zero knowledge about cars and zero interest in cars and who see cars as objects who just transport people from Point A to Point B and are on their phone while customers drive the cars.

Also, for example, I sell financial products this I need to read financial news everyday and also keep myself updated with what is new in the industry and what regulatory changes are there. You need talking points to convert customers.
beemer5499 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th April 2025, 13:14   #56

Closer look at how the second-gen Kodiaq compares to its predecessor.

2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review-20250418_131115.jpg

2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review-20250418_131156.jpg

2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review-20250418_131208.jpg

2025 Skoda Kodiaq Review-20250418_131255.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 18th April 2025 at 13:16.
Venkatesh is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 18th April 2025, 13:19   #57

Originally Posted by sunikkat View Post
A 200+ would be the numbers that’s Skoda is targeting too and the fact is there are no enough cars in that price range which has a mix of performance, quality and luxury. If I am looking for a well built premium SUV which is fun to drive too, under 60 lakhs OTR, my only choice would be Kodiaq.
BMW Ix1 and BYD Sealion 7 are cars available for lesser. Audi Q5 and BMW 3 series can be had at just a little more with the discounts both of these models are currently offering.
beemer5499 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 18th April 2025, 13:38   #58

I was not considering EVs when I made the comparison. Even after discounted pricing there will be minimun 20 lakhs difference between Q5 and Kodiaq in cities like Bangalore. 3 GL, though a sedan, would still be ~15 lakhs more.

Last edited by sunikkat : 18th April 2025 at 13:51.
Old 18th April 2025, 15:35   #59

Yet another brilliant review of a beautiful car, thank you!

I dont think Skoda ever had an idea of sales chartbuster with the Kodiaq. Even during the last 6-8 months of good discounts, the monthly sales figures moved onto only 200's from the earlier normal of 130's per month.

If they learned something from the past, Skoda is more likely to adjust the kit assembly volume based on market requirement than doing the overambitious volume targeting. This is what they did with first gen first batch, which got sold off (before getting excited and making too many kits which finally proved way too many )

And the reason why Kodiaq is very difficult to move off shelf is neither due to the product by itself nor its price. Its got to do with our market mindset.
A majority of buyers in this 50 lacs price point are going to value brand image, than the quality of the product those 50 lacs are gonna give them. People wont bother adding another 10 more lacs and buy the entry level BMW or Audi or Benz vehicles than getting the Kodiaq.

Side note: Those who are serious about the Kodiaq, do take a detailed Test Drive. Its an amazing crossover which is practical, luxurious and more important, immensely fun to drive.
sarathlal is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 18th April 2025, 16:51   #60

Originally Posted by sarathlal View Post
If they learned something from the past, Skoda is more likely to adjust the kit assembly volume based on market requirement than doing the overambitious volume targeting.
I suspect they will triumphantly add DCC and maybe ADAS / 360 camera to the second or third CKD batches.
itwasntme is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com