Old 14th February 2025, 14:53   #91

Re: 2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review

Originally Posted by androdev View Post
2. I guess air suspension won't be given to avoid overlap with the S Class. Generally, scraping over speed humps is harmless. Next time you visit the service, you can look at the underbody of some old Mercedes sedans and you will see that not much damage can be caused by speed humps. Projections on the road (like a stone, or deep crater) and flooded streets can be dangerous and one should be extra careful on such bad roads. Buy engine+gearbox protection insurance add-on as long as it's offered. Speed breakers are totally harmless as long as speeds are low - there is simply nothing between the wheels that can't take a bit of abuse.
A friend of mine overseas had this problem and chose to just hammer away till the cover literally fell off. Can't say I have the courage to do the same. I've taken whatever extra cover there was an offer. Need to check if it covers this. I really would like to talk to MB India about the possibility getting the car raised an inch or so.

3. I agree rear wheel steering would be great but there are few techniques you can learn from Youtube, etc. to manage LWB sedans. To park in malls, etc. you need to turn into the next slot, reverse and then drive into your slot. To take a U-turn, do what buses and temp travellers do - be in the left lanes to take the U-turn. You will be blocking the traffic but being in the right most lane for the U-turn will cause more traffic blockage.
This is a huge miss IMO. This car's length needs rear wheel steering as standard. The bright minds at MB behind bringing the LWB option to the market should have included this as standard.

The reward for all this headache comes on the highways - so hopefully you will have decent amount of highway use for this car.
I am leaving for Mumbai in a couple of hours. I really wanted to take the car for this trip but haven't got the licence plates and Fastag yet. Bangalore might be a better option though in terms of road condition. The Hyderabad Mumbai road has a bad stretch before Solapur which is a bit of concern.

Last edited by nikhil.nayak : 14th February 2025 at 14:55.
nikhil.nayak is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 16th February 2025, 09:42   #92

Firstly many congratulations on your new car.

Originally Posted by nikhil.nayak View Post
Perhaps I can check with Mercedes, but honest question to others, where does one place the Fastag sticker on these cars given that the center is taken by the mirror and camera. Asking because toll gate cameras are most likely to be pointed at the center of the windscreen.
To answer your question, I think the best place, if not center, would be to the drivers side on the right, keeping in mind the usual camera placement at toll nakas are to the right-hand side.
Maky is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th February 2025, 11:14   #93

The LWB E class used to come with a tablet in the back armrest. I wonder if it's possible to retro fit this via Mercedes OEM parts.

Besides the functional controls, the tablet added a plush touch to the back seat experience. IMO this is much more valuable than the super screen.
L8ButV8 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th February 2025, 13:28   #94

Did you consider GLE before buying this ? Should have solved most of your problems as I guess.
Old 16th February 2025, 16:39   #95

Originally Posted by nikhil.nayak View Post
But honest question to others, where does one place the Fastag sticker on these cars given that the center is taken by the mirror and camera.
We have placed the FASTag on the top right corner of the windshield, and it has worked flawlessly at all toll gates so far.

To make installation and replacement easier, we purchased a FASTag holder from Amazon. It keeps the tag secure, gives a clean look, and allows for hassle-free replacement if needed.
Sohail_91 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th February 2025, 17:14   #96

Originally Posted by quattroa4 View Post
Did you consider GLE before buying this ? Should have solved most of your problems as I guess.
Yes. Unfortunately the GLE was a little too lackluster to drive and the back seat was not as good as the E Class. My usage is 75% chauffer drive. The GLE was also a little wider (2157mm) than the E (1860mm) which would have made parking a problem in my situation. The E Class LWB is not low but rather it's the length that causes the occasional scrape.

2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-pxl_20250213_0520129462.jpg

Originally Posted by L8ButV8 View Post
The LWB E class used to come with a tablet in the back armrest. I wonder if it's possible to retro fit this via Mercedes OEM parts.

Besides the functional controls, the tablet added a plush touch to the back seat experience. IMO this is much more valuable than the super screen.
+1 ... the super screen is probably one screen too many in the front. A tablet screen at the back should be included as standard.

Last edited by nikhil.nayak : 16th February 2025 at 17:32.
nikhil.nayak is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th February 2025, 13:49   #97

Mercedes Benz E450 Review

2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_01.jpg

Introduction

Mercedes has introduced the E450 variant of the V214 E-Class sedan for chauffer-driven owners who occasionally enjoy driving as well. It’s a good balance between luxury and performance. Powering the E450 is a 3.0-litre, inline 6-cylinder turbo-petrol M256 engine that makes 375 BHP and 500 Nm torque. It’s mated to a 9-speed torque converter automatic transmission that sends power to all four wheels and it can do the 0-100 km/h sprint in 4.5 seconds. It’s priced at Rs. 92.50 lakh (ex-showroom) and is available in the AMG Line trim. We got to spend some time with the car, so let’s get into the details.
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_02.jpg

Since the Mercedes E-Class has already been reviewed by Team-BHP, this report will only focus on differences in the E450. To read the full official review, click here.

At the front, the big differentiating factor is the AMG Line bumper:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_17.jpg

The same goes for the rear. Nothing different apart from the rear bumper:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_18.jpg

On the sides, you get a different set of wheels:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_03.jpg

AMG Line bumper looks more aggressive than the E200 and also gets air curtains to direct the airflow towards the wheels. Also note that you get projector LED Digital lights instead of reflectors:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_04.jpg

The front brake discs are larger in size compared to the E200 and the E220d:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_05.jpg

AMG Line 18-inch alloy wheels look okay, but nothing special. The regular set of alloys on the E200 looks better IMO. The wheels are shod with 225/55 R18 Nexen N’Fera Sport tyres:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_06.jpg

Chrome treatment on the rear bumper feels unnecessary:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_07.jpg

Dual exhaust tips are fake. You get twin exhausts that are tucked under the bumper:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_08.jpg

E450 badge on the left of the boot lid:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_09.jpg

Interior design is almost identical to the lower variants:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_10.jpg

Given that this is the AMG Line trim, Mercedes should’ve provided the AMG steering wheel:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_11.jpg

While the E200 & E220d get the open pore black wood-like finish on the center console, the E450 gets piano black:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_12.jpg

Rear seats set a benchmark in this segment for comfort:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_14.jpg

Driving the Mercedes E450 3.0L Turbo Petrol AT

3.0-litre, inline 6-cylinder engine puts out 375 BHP @ 5,800-6,100 rpm and 500 Nm @ 1,800-5,000 rpm. It is mated to a 9-speed torque converter AT:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_15.jpg

The previous generation was available with a V6 internationally which was essentially a V8 with 2 cylinders chopped off. In this generation of the E-Class, Mercedes has brought back the inline 6-cylinder engine. This M256 engine is an extended inline 4-cylinder engine (M254) that we saw in the E200. It’s basically the same engine with 2 extra cylinders. They share the same cubic capacity per cylinder (500 cc) and also have the same bore & stroke. In fact, we drove this engine last year in the GLE 53 AMG, but it was in a higher state of tune (429 BHP and 560 Nm). The M256 engine gets a 48V onboard electrical system with an integrated starter alternator which provides additional power and torque at low speeds and low rpms. It is mated to a 9-speed AMG Speedshift TCT 9G torque converter AT.

Fire up the engine and there’s no AMG-like drama. The engine purrs silently at idle. You can just slot it into D and drive off. The throttle response is good, but you might feel that it’s a bit too sharp at low speeds. Once you get used to it, you can modulate it easily. The highlight of this engine, when we drove it in the GLE 53 AMG, was its smoothness. Even in the E450, despite all the power and torque available, the engine is smooth and you don’t feel any spike in power delivery. Driving around in Comfort mode in the city, the E-Class feels at home. The gearbox goes through the gears without letting you know. There’s enough power on tap to just roll comfortably and make those quick overtakes if needed. Once you get used to the dimensions of the car, you won’t have any trouble manoeuvring the E-Class even on the busiest streets with ease.

But this engine is all about performance. So, once on the highway, you can really get to experience its potential. Thanks to the integrated starter alternator (ISG), the engine has good power at the low end which means the turbo feels very seamless. You will get up to highway speeds very quickly. Cruising is a comfortable affair and overtakes on the highway are also done with ease. The engine never feels strained and just keeps delivering more power. Given the 6 cylinders and the 4MATIC all-wheel drive tech, I had to try out some acceleration runs and the E450 didn’t disappoint. The car's claimed 0-100 km/h time is 4.5 seconds which is very much believable. The all-wheel drive offers excellent grip during launch and prevents any wheel spin. There’s so much torque and power that keeps the car pulling strongly until you get off the throttle.

The 9-speed torque converter automatic is fairly quick. This is not an AMG performance version, so you don’t need aggressive shifts like the 7-speed dual clutch. You can barely feel the shifts while driving around. It also always seems to find the right gear and is never confused. There’s also a manual mode that can be activated from the touchscreen which allows you to take full control of the shifts. All in all, the 9-speed torque converter gearbox suits the engine and the character of the E-Class very well.

The E450 has a total of 4 drive modes: Eco, Comfort, Sport and Individual. These modes alter the throttle and steering response:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_13.jpg

In Eco mode, the throttle response is dull and the gearbox upshifts earlier to maximise fuel efficiency. This mode provides the smoothest ride and honestly, with the power and torque that the engine produces, it is good enough to be used in the city as well as on the highway.

The Comfort mode is the default mode which is in between the Eco and Sport modes. It works well in town and on the highway and offers a good balance between efficiency and performance.

In Sport mode, the engine becomes more responsive and eager to react to throttle inputs. The transmission holds a gear for a longer time and the steering firms up too. Unlike most other cars, the Sport mode in the E450 is not very aggressive. The engine’s inherent smoothness means that the power delivery does not feel very spiky even in the city.

Individual mode gives you the option to customise your driving experience to your requirements.

Noise, Vibration & Harshness (NVH)

You can barely hear the engine in the cabin at idle and while driving around in the city. The engine note at high revs is nice and sounds sporty. It’s not too loud nor is it forcibly muted and the engine doesn’t sound strained. It’s not the usual AMG-loud with pops and bangs, but a note that most people will enjoy.

Wind noise and road noise are well controlled at 100-120 km/h.

The bonnet gets insulation and the a heat shield on the right. This is because the exhaust manifold, turbocharger and catalytic converter, which are all hot components, are placed on the right side of the engine:
2024 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (V214) Review-2025_mercedes_e450_edited_16.jpg

Suspension

Ride Comfort

When we drove the E200, the ride comfort was very good, especially for Indian road conditions. We are glad to report that the E450 retains the comfortable suspension. At slow speeds, the suspension feels absorbent and small bumps and potholes are soaked up well. You do have to be mindful of the fact that it’s a German sedan, but other than that, you won’t find any issues with the suspension at slow speeds. However, you hear the bumps or potholes inside the cabin if taken at speed. As the speed increases, the ride gets flatter. There is a bit of vertical movement over road undulations, but it’s not excessive.

Handling & Dynamics

Straight-line stability is good and you or the passengers won’t realise that you are cruising at triple-digit speeds. The car masks speed quite nicely. The downside of this comfort-oriented setup is that you’re not really encouraged to attack corners. The all-wheel drive setup provides that extra grip in corners, but you do feel some body roll. The E450 rides on the same 225/55 R18 Nexen N'Fera Sport tyres as the E200 and they provide decent grip. The important thing to remember is that this is not an out-and-out performance version of the E-Class. This is a luxury sedan with a more powerful engine. So it focuses on a comfortable ride quality. While the E200 is primarily for chauffeur-driven customers, the E450 is for people who occasionally like to get behind the wheel.

Steering

The E-Class has a very light steering that is easy to use in the city and on highways. It is fairly direct which makes the car very easy to drive. Manoeuvring this long car through the city and even taking 3-point turns doesn’t feel very cumbersome due to the user-friendly nature of the steering. It weighs up a fair amount on the highway and makes cruising quite comfortable. From an enthusiast's point of view, however, it is still light (even in Sport mode) and although direct, it doesn’t feel very confidence-inspiring in corners.

Braking

Given that the E450 is heavier due to the engine and all-wheel drive setup, the front brake discs are larger in size than the E200 or E220d. When you are driving within the limits, the brakes work perfectly and more importantly they are very predictable. Under hard braking, the car stops without much drama. The E-Class is also equipped with Active Brake Assist.

Last edited by Omkar : 21st February 2025 at 11:25.
Omkar is online now   (43) Thanks
Old 21st February 2025, 08:30   #98

Sigh! Part of me still wishes I had gone for the E450!

Omkar, you missed mentioning that the E450 comes with Digital Headlights.
I really wish this had been made standard for the entire range.
nikhil.nayak is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 21st February 2025, 10:04   #99

Nice review.

I am a bit confused on the positioning if this car though. It has a better engine but same suspension set up. The wheel size and specs are standard too, also they have given Nexen tyres (I have no personal experience with this though) - even 330Li comes with Michelin PS4 and better spec wheels for performance.

Understand E is a luxury car than sporty, but I feel they should have given a better suspension, wheels / tyres and brake options. Whom will it appeal really? If it’s chauffeur driven owners why would they spend this additional money? An E200 or E220D will give all creature comfort at a lesser price. And in most of the driving conditions they would hardly find a difference and the lower specs will give a better efficiency too.

Last edited by sunikkat : 21st February 2025 at 10:05.
sunikkat is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 21st February 2025, 12:33   #100

Rated 5* for the review.

Just wanted to know whether, this vehicle is OBD2B engine complaint or not, as same is mandatory from 1 April 2025.

I would request support team to kindly include the same in new car reviews.

Created a separate thread for the same also (below is the link).

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...ars-india.html (List of OBD2B engine compliant cars in India)
Guddu_Bhaiya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st February 2025, 14:38   #101

Originally Posted by sunikkat View Post
Nice review.

I am a bit confused on the positioning if this car though. It has a better engine but same suspension set up. The wheel size and specs are standard too, also they have given Nexen tyres (I have no personal experience with this though) - even 330Li comes with Michelin PS4 and better spec wheels for performance.

Understand E is a luxury car than sporty, but I feel they should have given a better suspension, wheels / tyres and brake options. Whom will it appeal really? If it’s chauffeur driven owners why would they spend this additional money? An E200 or E220D will give all creature comfort at a lesser price. And in most of the driving conditions they would hardly find a difference and the lower specs will give a better efficiency too.
I am the buyer for this kind of car (budget constraints aside )

When I was a teenager, I believed the old-school BMW way was the correct way. Hydraulic steering for maximum feedback, a chassis that connects me to the road, firm suspension so that I can attack corners at high speed.

Now I am 33 years old, and I have come to accept something. I DO NOT want to be connected to the road. Our roads are terrible.

I want all the horsepower available so that I can cruise and accelerate with ease in a straight line, while the suspension keeps me insulated from all the potholes, khaddas and broken sections.

I'm not going to be racing on our narrow ghats where oncoming drivers might be overtaking on a blind corner, and my passengers will be crying for dear life.

There is great value in a car which has enough horsepower to make overtaking effortless on a dual carriageway, while allowing me to go full-speed no matter what the road condition is.

Just my 2 cents.
kadanaJ is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 21st February 2025, 18:15   #102

The E Class is quite possibly the best car that Mercedes sells in India. Great pricing and features makes the E hard to beat.
Old 21st February 2025, 20:53   #103

Originally Posted by M9000 View Post
The E Class is quite possibly the best car that Mercedes sells in India. Great pricing and features makes the E hard to beat.
The Price of an E-Class has almost doubled in the last 10 years. comparing an E-350 W212 facelift with an E450 V214.
Old 21st February 2025, 21:55   #104

Originally Posted by sunikkat View Post
I am a bit confused on the positioning if this car though.
Oh I think I am also part of the target audience. E450 is "jekyll and hyde" with max-comfort and max-performance in a typical Benz's pampering way.

M340i is much more geared towards performance (as it should be!) but if one wants a car that does dual business of catering to your family in utmost comfort and also caters to the thrill seeking enthusiast in you, this E does that effortlessly.

Unless 540i lands here, this E doesn't even have any competition.
Tutenkhamen is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2025, 19:09   #105

Beautiful car. An enthusiast will spot the E450 badging and the digital lights which signify that this is an altogether different beast. But for the average buyer, who is not the target audience for this particular variant, it is an E-class which looks the exact same, especially on the inside and will not see value in shelling out the extra cash for the exceptional bit of engineering that lies hidden under the well proportioned bonnet. Hopefully Mercedes India can offer a few more AMG goodies on this variant to attract that enthusiast owner who will buy this variant for thrill of driving. Peace

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com