Old 3rd December 2024, 11:21   #376

Re: Skoda Kylaq Pre-Production Camouflaged Car First Drive & Preview

Mahindra crossed 50000 bookings in 60 mins for 3XO. Most Skoda dealers have barely managed to touch 100 bookings on day 1 which is less than 10% of overall bookings (33000) for so called introductory price. Considering ~250 dealers. The only price I see changing later is that of classic trim.

Potential buyers please evaluate existing offers of VAG cars before buying Kylaq. The differential is quite minimal and the bigger ones have better value and kit across variants.
dipen is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2024, 11:24   #377

Originally Posted by lightfootdriver View Post
To quote my own analysis, Skoda has clearly overpriced this car's top variant.
Thanks for the analysis.

Cars of Kylaq's category will be levied a 1% compensation cess too, so the net GST rate would be 29%.
Calculating the same, the ex-factory price of the the Kylaq Prestige MT is Rs. 10,34,884 (100/129 of the ex-showroom price of 13,35,000).

That makes it only Rs. 74,771 rupees cheaper than the Kushaq's ex-factory price you've calculated.

Goes on to show how overpriced the top variants of Kylaq are. I don't know why Petr is harping about the "right price" when it clearly isn't. He seems to be portraying tax benefits as Skoda's benevolence.
Staraptor is online now   (9) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2024, 11:36   #378

Hi, I have a question here. Hope community members can throw some light on it.
Is the 6 speed triptonic AT gearbox same as the one which was there on the Rapid Petrol AT?
Old 3rd December 2024, 12:21   #379

Looking at the visualizer earlier, I was sure that Signature + suited me best. But there are some features I can't do without, and upgrading to the Prestige doesn't make sense just for these features.

- Paddle shifters
- LED projector headlamps
- Rear wiper and washer
- Fog lamps

I am in no hurry, and I hope Skoda adds a variant with these features between Signature + and Prestige.
ashutoshb is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2024, 12:28   #380

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
Base Classic trim is limited to 10% of the production run.

Petr Janeba, brand director Skoda Auto India, said:

Classic is the only variant which is expected to sell in reasonable volumes and is VFM variant.
These marketing gimmicks will not sell.
Old 3rd December 2024, 12:48   #381

Originally Posted by Pkumarblore View Post
Hi, I have a question here. Hope community members can throw some light on it.
Is the 6 speed triptonic AT gearbox same as the one which was there on the Rapid Petrol AT?
I think it should be the same. The same AT has been used in the Polo, Vento, Rapid, Taigun, Kushaq, Virtus and Slavia. It doesn't make sense to source a new gearbox for the Kylaq

Old 3rd December 2024, 13:03   #382

Originally Posted by Tanu3000 View Post
I think it should be the same. The same AT has been used in the Polo, Vento, Rapid, Taigun, Kushaq, Virtus and Slavia. It doesn't make sense to source a new gearbox for the Kylaq

Thanks for the clarification. The reason why I asked is because the AT on my 2012 Petrol Rapid was a very lousy one, one of the most boring AT's to drive, maybe because it was mated to a very dull petrol engine. I dont know if VW/Skoda changed it later.
Old 3rd December 2024, 13:22   #383

Skoda has unfortunately messed it up badly with the pricing. The base variants are bare bones and the top variants are priced absurdly. I was earlier looking at 3XO AX7 MT as an option for me. Compared to that, only the Prestige MT was close, in terms of features. Prestige is still short of many features that 3XO provides at the AX7 level. Still the Prestige costs significantly more than the AX7. Kylaq is possibly not going to sell in the volumes expected by Skoda unless they drastically change their pricing.

Also, it is clear the Skoda hasn't taken the on-ground feedback by reviewers with respect to features. The release of the vehicle seems more gimmicky than an actual attempt at getting feedback from the ground. 360 camera, rear camera, rear wiper are all basic features offered at this level and they have conveniently chosen to ignore it. Deeply saddened by this. My search for my next car continues.
harishvr9 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2024, 13:54   #384

Sorry if it has been mentioned before, but when does the media drive happen and when does the review drop?
Old 3rd December 2024, 14:00   #385

The pricing is absolutely spot-on for a car that is 95% Kushaq 1.0 with even better looks. Skoda has held back only on the sound package of sub woofer and amplifier as compared to the premium products for now.

The engineering package is far too superior compared to any other car in its segment, including the 3XO. The turning radius is the best to make an excellent city run about. When I test drove 3XO, it just didn't turn in one of our most scientific Bangalore U turns. No such issues in Skoda VW twins.

The only issue with Skoda as of now is the over-crowded and over-worked service centers. Their location is either too far off from the city or extremely small and congested on slum roads where one dreads to take even their two wheeler, forget a premium car.

I hope Kylaq would see good sales numbers to make Skoda realize this blunder and add more spacious sales and service points that justify their premium image.
v.anand is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2024, 14:02   #386

Originally Posted by Staraptor View Post
Goes on to show how overpriced the top variants of Kylaq are. I don't know why Petr is harping about the "right price" when it clearly isn't. He seems to be portraying tax benefits as Skoda's benevolence.
Thank you for the correction. I missed it.

Yes, still the difference is significant. Doesn't make much sense going for it unless budget is strong constraint. Kushaq & Taigun offer far better VFM and space. It was all just words when they tried to get limelight by saying repeatedly that they'll price it right and all the other buzzwords. In reality, maths suggests they went greedy with higher variants and didn't want to pass the cost benefits from lower GST and smaller size to the consumer.

Last edited by lightfootdriver : 3rd December 2024 at 14:04.
lightfootdriver is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2024, 14:03   #387

Originally Posted by ramki.grandhi View Post
While pricing seems decent enough, I truly wish Skoda to offer steel wheels in Signature AT variant and price it below 10L, which can save 50-60k taxes in states like KA where road taxes are high and roads do not exist. For people who do not know, this is because of slab change after 10Lacs mark.

Maruti also wasn't particularly considerate towards high tax paying states with the new Dzire pricing, and now this . I understand that its sad to see people like me are expecting corporations to be considerate instead of asking Government to fix the tax system. But deep down, we know that's never going to happen.
This is why I have cancelled 3X0 MX2 At booking, They've increased Ex showrrom from 9.99 to 10.25 which shot up the TN state Tax from 10 - 15% and exceeded budget of 12L.

Now the Kylaq Signature AT is priced at 10.59. Should've priced 9.99 without Cooled glovebox and Alloys as John316_WRC pointed out.

I thought of going for Signature Manual then again it is 2L more from Classic just for few features.

Only Classic looks VFM for my budget, much more VFM than 3X0 MX1

Last edited by suhaas307 : 3rd December 2024 at 15:03. Reason: Please restrict emoticon usage to TWO per post. Please read the announcements carefully before proceeding!
MBAGrad120 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2024, 20:54   #388

Originally Posted by Pkumarblore View Post
Thanks for the clarification. The reason why I asked is because the AT on my 2012 Petrol Rapid was a very lousy one, one of the most boring AT's to drive, maybe because it was mated to a very dull petrol engine. I dont know if VW/Skoda changed it later.
Yeh, you should compare it with 1.0AT models of Slavia/Kushaq/Virtus/Taigun which is the exact combo that is driving Kylaq as well. I felt it is one of the best Gearboxes out there in its class - Even their own superior DSG felt better than it only past 3-digit speeds. Moreover, 6AT TC is far more reliable than their DSGs
VinsWagen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2024, 21:43   #389

Sorry but I feel that Kylaq is a jacked up Fabia. Now a days, companies are selling hatchback sized cars in the name of Suvs. We are now paying more money for almost the same car. I may be wrong but this is how I feel upon seeing this car in pictures.
Lovecars is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2024, 21:58   #390

No brainer for European car lovers like me. Being a Skoda ride and handling, fun to drive and safety will be sorted. Would have joined the bandwagon and booked it immediately if I was in the market with a budget of 15 lakhs.

Originally Posted by Lovecars View Post
Sorry but I feel that Kylaq is a jacked up Fabia. Now a days, companies are selling hatchback sized cars in the name of Suvs. We are now paying more money for almost the same car. I may be wrong but this is how I feel upon seeing this car in pictures.
If it’s a jacked up Fabia, then it’s a positive thing.

Last edited by sunikkat : 3rd December 2024 at 22:03.
sunikkat is online now   (3) Thanks