Old 6th November 2024, 20:27   #166

Re: Skoda Kylaq Pre-Production Camouflaged Car First Drive & Preview

It seems that Skoda was planning to add ADAS to the Kylaq but has decided to put it on hold for now.

Images which were previously on the Skoda India website but have now been removed,

But these features/images are still present on Skoda Global site (Might be removed soon):

https://www.skoda-auto.com/models/la...ilLayerSlide=3

https://www.skoda-auto.com/models/la...afety-features

First image is for Adaptive cruise control (ACC) with description confirming the same and Second is probably for Collision Alert / Collision mitigation with no description.

Skoda Kylaq Pre-Production Camouflaged Car First Drive & Preview-screenshot-20241106-20.14.10.png

Skoda Kylaq Pre-Production Camouflaged Car First Drive & Preview-screenshot-20241106-20.14.32.png

Last edited by suhaas307 : 6th November 2024 at 22:41. Reason: Spacing and formatting
chavanshashankc is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 20:32   #167

I'm switching to this, Have driven Nexon AMT for 3 years and finally found the car to switch. Had planned Kushaq but was baffled at price and segment choice at that time . All the best, and hope Polo-esce driving is the USP that pushes sales for Skoda.
ABGWD is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 20:36   #168

Probably the only first look impression video which is in daylight by overdrive.

Link :

XRoader_001 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 20:37   #169

The entry model is competitively priced, but the top end is over priced (needs 2 lakhs cut, and it will be within a year). Nexon, 3XO and Sonet top end have much better features (Panaromic sunroof, 360 surround camera, ADAS, Branded audio system with subwoofer, Electronic parking brake, all disc breaks, etc) and more value.

The Kylaq specific elements in the design looks ugly (due to excess black cladding). Look from far and it's mostly black in the front. Rest was copied from other Skoda cars and is okeyish.

The rear design is horrible. Such tiny lights and ugly black strip. Lifted from the Hyundai Exter and Suzuki S Presso.

Just ride, handling and safety won't sell, cause some of the other competitors (3XO and Nexon) are also on par.

They should have done something (ex: 1.5 TSI engine, better design, interior space, features, etc) to stand out and capture the attention.

Only if you want Skoda badge for less than 10 lakhs then you can consider. Else, Kushaq is still better looking, with a powerful 1.5 TSI engine.
comprakash is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 20:43   #170

The Kylaq Story:

Originally Posted by PrasannaDhana View Post
Seems like the Kylaq carries the trademark disadvantage of Polo,- Cramped rear seats. That legroom looks scary.
For the rear seat space, checkout this video at 07:32 mark

Last edited by sharmanova : 6th November 2024 at 20:45.
sharmanova is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 21:03   #171

It feels like one of the most compact cabins, if not the MOST compact in the segment. The dark cabin further accentuates it.
Old 6th November 2024, 21:27   #172

I am glad that now people with less budget can get the taste of the TSI. 1 Litre engine is a bonkers of an engine. I was skeptical about Kylaq cannibalising the Kushaq's 1.0. Now, looking at the features, engine spec, boot space comparison, Kylaq is VFM in comparison to Kushaq's 1.0 and it will devour the elder cousin now. At this point who'd buy Kushaq 1.0, maybe for a slightly bigger boot space, fog lamps or design? Good yet late strategy by Skoda. May it gets the desired numbers. Godspeed.
tofudriver is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 21:55   #173

I have a couple of questions with respect to the 1.0L 3-cylinder turbocharged TSI engine (especially if someone has driven it sufficiently in Kushaq/ Slavia or the respective VW cousins). My reference point is the 1.0L turbo-GDi DCT in the new i20 that I (along with my family) have driven for ~65k kms so far (in 3.5 years).

- 3-cylinder engines are a bit infamous for the harshness/ vibration at idle and slow speeds. How pronounced is it in the VW/ Skoda cars, also when compared to the 4-cyl 1.5L engine?

- One pain point in my i20 is the fuel economy in city which comes out ~8-9 kmpl for us (we get ~15-20% higher mileage in our other cars, 1.2L NA petrol and 2.0L diesel). I have often read that turbo-petrols have very poor city mileage. Is it also the case for VW/ Skoda 1.0L engine? Fuel economy makes a difference for us given a running of ~15-20k kms a year.

Because of the above two reasons, I am planning to replace my i20 sometime next year and Kylaq has certainly piqued my interest.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 6th November 2024 at 22:28. Reason: Spacing and formatting
AnkitShroff is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 21:58   #174

Ravi is 6 ft 4 inches. After setting the driver's seat as per his height, he sat in the rear. The knees aren't touching the front seat. Translation, 99% of us won't have an issue with legroom.

Image source:
Skoda Kylaq Pre-Production Camouflaged Car First Drive & Preview-1000046216.png  

ashutoshb is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 22:04   #175

Originally Posted by comprakash View Post
The entry model is competitively priced, but the top end is over priced (needs 2 lakhs cut, and it will be within a year). Nexon, 3XO and Sonet top end have much better features (Panaromic sunroof, 360 surround camera, ADAS, Branded audio system with subwoofer, Electronic parking brake, all disc breaks, etc) and more value.
I believe the pricing isn’t out yet for non base variants yet. Am I missing something?

Regarding features, tbh I absolutely hate the other vehicles which force me to pay for features like panoramic sunroof and ADAS just because I want the top end turbo engine, or top audio or even adaptive cruise control.

I’m quite sure the top end variant of Kylaq will cost lesser than the rivals with ADAS and pano sunroof, which is great. Sunroof is useless in tropical country like India and adaptive cruise control is enough for 99% of scenarios anyway.

They should have done something (ex: 1.5 TSI engine, better design, interior space, features, etc) to stand out and capture the attention.

Only if you want Skoda badge for less than 10 lakhs then you can consider. Else, Kushaq is still better looking, with a powerful 1.5 TSI engine.
1.5L engine would be a waste on this car. The entire point of a sub-4m (3.995m) car is to avoid GST cess which is 15-20% extra cost. That cess reduction only works for cars <4m and <1.2L petrol engine.

Due to tax reduction alone this car will cost much much less than 1.0 Kushaq, with smaller size and more localization leading to further cost savings.

I think this car will be a hit. Definitely a much better product than Kushaq which isn’t bigger than sub-4m cars but was paying lots of extra tax (cess) due to being a few cm bigger than 4 metres
darkgamer is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 22:33   #176

The front and rear overhangs have also been cleverly redesigned(shortened by 64 and 80 mm respectively) apart from the wheelbase (shortened by 85 mm). The boot space seems not compromising may be owing to the increase in the height and it has to be seen if VW can fit the 1.5 TSI into the engine bay with the reduction in the front overhangs.

As it is priced low and has got all the necessary features, it should sell well. However, it has to be seen if it really sells without the bling features. They may also add these bling features depending on the sales figures.
Old 6th November 2024, 22:46   #177

Originally Posted by GoBabyGo View Post
While the base variant appears to be just for low entry price, I feel that Skoda should launch AT variant at 10.99 lacs ex showroom to attract customers in the showroom.
I think an automatic under 10 Lakhs ex showroom would have been fantastic. But it is probably wishful thinking on my part!

Originally Posted by lightfootdriver View Post
Is it just me who's expecting atleast 1 Automatic variant below 10L?
I'm looking for it too . I've been on the lookout for a proper automatic under 10 lakhs with good performance and the only proper ones that come to mind are:

1. Citroen C3 Automatic (Shine) (excellent performance)
2. Nissan Magnite Turbo CVT (Acenta) (decent performance)
3. Amaze Elite Edition CVT (very slow engine and CVT combo)
4. Hyundai i20 iVT (Sportz) (poor performance).

3XO MX2 Pro used to come under 10 lakhs ex-showroom which they hiked recently.

So it's a missed opportunity on Skoda's part to get in an automatic variant under 10 Lakhs. That kind of pricing would really turn tides for them.

As a product it does look like it has all the basics in place. I hope they don't do stupid cost cutting like removing rear wipers and washers from base variants.

One thing that hasn't been made clear is whether the steering wheel is adjustable for reach or just rake

Last edited by suhaas307 : 6th November 2024 at 22:57. Reason: Spacing and formatting
vamsi.vadrevu is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 23:03   #178

Having driven the Skoda Kushaq for almost a month since it was a loaner for our Kodiaq, I felt the Kushaq was so much closer in-terms of dynamics to the more expensive Octavia MK3 rather than the cheaper PQ25 cars such as Rapid/Vento. Knowing that the Kylaq is based on the same platform as Kushaq (MQB-A0IN), I believe this is going to be a treat for the enthusiast. I only wish the top model-manual is priced on-road 15 lakhs.

Venue 1.0 manual top model on-road

Skoda Kylaq Pre-Production Camouflaged Car First Drive & Preview-screenshot-20241106-9.52.078239am.png

Kushaq 1.0 manual base model on-road

Skoda Kylaq Pre-Production Camouflaged Car First Drive & Preview-screenshot-20241106-10.01.488239am.png

Kushaq 1.0 manual top model on-road

Skoda Kylaq Pre-Production Camouflaged Car First Drive & Preview-screenshot-20241106-9.55.368239am.png

Kylaq 1.0 manual base model on-road

Skoda Kylaq Pre-Production Camouflaged Car First Drive & Preview-screenshot-20241106-10.04.178239am.png

Difference between Kushaq base and top model 1.0 manual is around 6 Lakhs. Assuming the same difference between Kylaq base and top model for manual 1.0, I am guessing the pricing is going to be somwhere around 15.5 Lakhs which would still undercut Venue at 15.87 Lakhs. I think it's a steal at that price if you think about the kind of dynamically accomplished car that you will get that that price point along with that amazing 1.0 TSI engine.

Two of my friends who had replaced their Rapid/Vento with Virtus/Slavia complaint about how they miss certain things niche to the germans such as getting all windows down using the car keys and the inferior interior quality, but none of them complained about how solid the car feels and how much more dynamically sorted the MQB-A0IN (Virtus/Slavia) cars feels compared to the PQ25 (Vento/Rapid). So there is no denying that this is going to be the most dynamically sorted car in its segment.
athray9 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 23:22   #179

Originally Posted by athray9 View Post
Assuming the same difference between Kylaq base and top model for manual 1.0, I am guessing the pricing is going to be somewhere around 15.5 Lakhs which would still undercut Venue at 15.87 Lakhs.
The ex-showroom price of Kylaq Prestige 1.0 MT is ₹13.49L. Adding 1%TCS, 18% TN Road Tax, ~3.5% insurance and other charges the on-road prices comes to ~₹16.50L, which is ~60K more than Venue.

I feel the top variants of Kylaq are slightly over-priced.
sharmanova is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 23:33   #180

I'll be honest. We are too forgiving towards VW group. They might have a better pricing but the features, the interior, they are substandard.

Koreans are doing a much better job. Just because the car feels better to drive, I won't spend my money here. Especially when they keep saying India is an important market and then they reveal some car with features that get outdated in 3 months.

You see Tata and Mahindra with panaromic sun roofs, 8 speaker system, better infotainment and clusters. ADAS level 1 is now getting introduced in Venue, 3x0 and Sonnet.

Better interior quality by Hyundai, Mahindra and KIA.

There was a reason we wanted a Polo or a Vento, or an Laura. They were so good inside too.

Now it just feels like they don't want to even try.
aweracker is online now   (5) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com