Old 23rd September 2024, 06:37   #601

Infractions: 0/3 (13)
Re: Mahindra Thar Roxx Review

Originally Posted by coldice4u View Post
I really find it incredible that the Roxx does not have under bonnet insulation and yet everyone has been going gaga about the fantastic NVH levels. Speaks sheer volumes of the quality of the new generation engines from Mahindra. Truly world class!
s.
Actually ever since their collaboration with AVL of Austria and the advent of their Mhawk 2.2 Mahindra’s Diesel Engines have been pretty silent and no longer ‘tractor-like’.

With time, this has only become better.

Their MStallion Petrol engine is absolutely silent even though it is super powerful. There were times when Ive re-cranked the starter of my Thar literally having forgotten that the engine was already ‘ticking over’ because I simply could not hear it over the general ambient noise that we live with in India.

It is true that they have invested a lot of money in engineering and testing their Engines and it is paying off.

Last edited by shankar.balan : 23rd September 2024 at 06:38.
shankar.balan is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 11:56   #602

Yesterday I took a 2nd test drive of the Thar Roxx. In the 1st test drive I was too enamored to notice anything except I didn't feel any inconvenience or discomfort.

After my 1st test drive, I went through this thread and noted various issues discussed and few other points which I also wanted to check for myself.

I am 5'9'' in height. There were 3 persons (avg weight 80KG) sitting in the Roxx when I took the test drive again. I drove AX7L Petrol AT 2WD.

• Break and accelerator pedal distance - For me it was not a problem, but I move the whole foot rather keeping the heel stationary and only move the toes.
  • Ventilated seats - They are quite effective.
  • Auto-hold feature - I find this feature very useful. If the AC is on then it seems the engine stops and then start again, maybe to give power to the AC. If AC is off, then it works silently and seamlessly.
  • Driver seat thigh support - I noticed this only after reading about the issue. Yes, the thigh support could be better but i didn't feel any discomfort. Not sure how it's going to be during a long drive.
  • Music system - Not the best but pretty decent.

Near the completion of the test drive the MID and infotainment screen became dim. I restarted the car, the screens started to work for a second and then become dim again. The sales person couldn't explain what the issue was. As the next in queue were waiting for the car so I couldn't look into this further.

Currently I drive Renault Triber MT(sub 4m) car, still I didn't feel that I was driving a much larger vehicle. Overall, I had a great experience.
ashesh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 12:32   #603

Had a look at the Thar Roxx. Couldn't get a test drive due to Eid, but spent a considerable amount of time checking it out.

- As soon as I got (climbed) into the car, which was a manual, I noticed that once the seat was set to my driving position (5'10", I tend to sit a bit low), the center console fouled with my knee, to an extent where operating the clutch was impossible. To solve this I had to move the seat further back, which meant I had to lean slightly forward and fully stretch my hand to adjust the IRVM and the visor. Did not face this ergonomic issue in the automatic.

- The interior is very luxurious, but also overdone with light tones. The seats on the display vehicle already had a few stains. Doesn't go in line with the intended use case for the car.

- It is quite feature-rich. Auto-dimming IRVM, Ventilated seats, a great sound system, EPB, a mirror on both visors, front parking sensors. I'm just a bit confused and annoyed that my XUV does not get a few of these things.

- Rear seat is a good place to be in. Has a healthy amount of room, good underthigh support, and well-cushioned seats.

- Boot is generously sized. Should fit a couple of medium-sized suitcases laid flat side-by-side.
CapKoura is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 12:36   #604

Any update if the dealers have started taking offline bookings? Came across a few videos wherein the dealers were seen accepting post dated cheques.

Can the dealer alter or set the que for delivery if these unofficial bookings are done?
Old 23rd September 2024, 12:41   #605

My Test Drive of the Roxx today - Petrol AT 2WD. AX7L.
Thank you very much Shankar for the detailed review, this is helpful. I'm considering MX3 AT Petrol by early next year, as my running is low. So, can you please share your observations on mileage/fuel efficiency and footwell comfort? Thanks.
ramki.grandhi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 12:58   #606

Originally Posted by daf23 View Post
Any update if the dealers have started taking offline bookings? Came across a few videos wherein the dealers were seen accepting post dated cheques.

Can the dealer alter or set the que for delivery if these unofficial bookings are done?
I know of 2 dealerships taking offline bookings for Roxx via post dated cheques (PDC) in Hyderabad. OTF will be generated when bookings open on 2nd-Oct and each has about 150+ bookings already.
kgt.v8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 13:26   #607

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

Originally Posted by ramki.grandhi View Post
Thank you very much Shankar for the detailed review, this is helpful. I'm considering MX3 AT Petrol by early next year, as my running is low. So, can you please share your observations on mileage/fuel efficiency and footwell comfort? Thanks.
If you would look at my post No 521 on this thread, you’ll find some information. I found the footwell comfortable compared to my 3 Door Thar. Fuel efficiency in the Petrol variant is not going to be good based on my experience of the 3 Door Thar.
The best variant to buy, as per the needs and wants and usage patterns of the larger majority and therefore the greater number, is the AX7 L Diesel AT 2WD. That is the best of all.
shankar.balan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 17:30   #608

Why so much of Mystery around the pricing of 4x4's? The media test drives were of 4x4's but there is no pricing announced. The other variants whose pricing is announced are nowhere to be seen.
kaps1311 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 18:21   #609

Originally Posted by kaps1311 View Post
Why so much of Mystery around the pricing of 4x4's? The media test drives were of 4x4's but there is no pricing announced. The other variants whose pricing is announced are nowhere to be seen.
My guess is the price premium for the 4X4 is going to be quite high, possibly 2.5 to 3 lakhs above the 2WD equivalents. M&M have thrown a lot of additional gadgetry in the 4X4s including differential locks etc. and there will be a level of sticker shock when 4X4 pricing is announced. The top end AX7L 4X4 AT could be priced north of 23 lakhs in my reckoning and M&M does not want the Thar Roxx to be seen as a 30 lakh on-road car.
Old 23rd September 2024, 18:25   #610

Went to see Thar ROXX yesterday in Kochi, the test drives have not started yet. So can only see the vehicle at this point. The showroom staff mentioned that the dealer decided not to have test drives till the vehicle is registered and as the test drive vehicles are all 4x4 they can't register as price is not announced. Not really sure what trick Mahindra is planning with this drama.

One thing I noticed is that it is not easy to get in the car unless you use the side step. I am 177 cms and while getting out it was even difficult as the step is again too high. One of the main reason to check Thar ROXX is so that parents can also travel with us occasionally but it looks like it might be really difficult. My be replacing the side steps with one of those automatically folding ones might help with this.

Another thing is AX7L has ventilated Seats but AX5L doesn't have it, so for all those who are worried about white interiors can atleast put in seat covers. The staff did mention that seat covers will soon come as official accessories but date is not known at the moment. AX5L seems to be better option than AX7L at this point. The staff mentioned that intelliturn, smart crawl etc will be there in AX5L but don't recollect seeing it when they introduced.
Old 23rd September 2024, 18:27   #611

Originally Posted by kgt.v8 View Post
I know of 2 dealerships taking offline bookings for Roxx via post dated cheques (PDC) in Hyderabad. OTF will be generated when bookings open on 2nd-Oct and each has about 150+ bookings already.
Sireesh auto in bangalore is collecting PDCs. Their Sarjapur dealership apparently has 70+ bookings already, the max being the Diesel Top Model.
Old 23rd September 2024, 19:27   #612

Originally Posted by ashpkd View Post
Went to see Thar ROXX yesterday in Kochi, the test drives have not started yet.
The showroom staff mentioned that the dealer decided not to have test drives till the vehicle is registered and as the test drive vehicles are all 4x4 they can't register as price is not announced. Not really sure what trick Mahindra is planning with this drama.
Hyderabad dealer also has AX7L 4x4 AT and they are giving test drives of the same car for past 5 days in 3-4 kms around the dealership. This will be unregistered test drive car.
Almost all dealerships in Hyderabad have an MX5 AT display car. The dealer should be able to register MX5 and provide test drive on MX5 rather than waiting for AX7L 4x4 AT price announcement and then registering. They might lose sale to some other dealership or city which has a test drive car available.
kgt.v8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 20:28   #613

Originally Posted by ashpkd View Post
One of the main reason to check Thar ROXX is so that parents can also travel with us occasionally but it looks like it might be really difficult. My be replacing the side steps with one of those automatically folding ones might help with this.
I am on the same boat, mite consider the N or the XUV over the Roxx as i need to ferry my aged parents, who mostly travel with me during my Pune-Palakkad roadtrips.
rakesh_r is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th September 2024, 00:18   #614

Originally Posted by ashesh View Post

Near the completion of the test drive the MID and infotainment screen became dim. I restarted the car, the screens started to work for a second and then become dim again. The sales person couldn't explain what the issue was. As the next in queue were waiting for the car so I couldn't look into this further.
If the Thar Roxx has automatic headlights, they might have been triggered by the vehicle being under shade of a tree or a building which in turn would dim the infotainment system and MID. I remember reading a vehicle review (not sure if it was Roxx) which stated that most vehicles these days have very sensitive auto headlights, which might be the case here too.
Doonite is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th September 2024, 02:22   #615

Went to PPS Mahindra (Hosur Road) a while ago during my lunch break in college *wink wink* and here’s some quick notes I took while sitting.

PS:- I’m facing issues attaching images, will do the needful in the next post.

Quick notes:-

1) Ingress/egress is high. Definitely would recommend some upper body exercises to haul self up.

2) Commanding position from drivers seat. Very much ego-inflating.

3) Ergonomically a car that’s for people with compensatory preferences but it does feel good, key touchpoints are well laid.

4) Centre console seems large but I’ve seen worse.

5) White interiors got stained fast. And the car was there for a week at max.

6) The model on display was an AX5L so it had differing rims. I loved them.

7) Rear seat ingress/egress would be troublesome for thicker individuals. Same goes for those with elders in family.

8) Bench seat can comfortably seat 3 “norm” sized adults. Plus sizers would struggle mildly. But it isn’t a squeezer.

9) Sense of space hampered by triangle rear window, could have easily gone larger.

10) Boot opening will be annoying when backed against a wall.

When I asked about pricing and details, I was given a list. Then was told that bookings open up on October 3 and further. Next week is when the 4WD prices come.

Oh and a point to note is that a researcher from the Research Valley was there to collect data on how to improve the Thar Roxx further. I don’t know if my data and inputs can help but I did convey the points made on this forum and my thoughts as well.

Hope this helped someone out there

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-img_6621.jpeg
Front of the Thar “Roxx”. Mahindra has done enough in this space to avoid a lawsuit from Stellantis so good job to them.

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-img_6627.jpeg
Rear section “looks like a biscuit delivery van” according to Father dearest.

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-img_6622.jpeg
You sit high and that translates into a high-set view. Always check for small people and objects upfront.

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-img_6623.jpeg
A decent view from here but as I said, keep an eye out for low size projectiles, humans and other objects.

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-img_6624.jpeg
Good bench seat. I’m not so sure about the reliability of the all whites.

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-img_6626.jpeg
Legroom was okay, headroom in a bit but for someone my size, thighs was supported but then it could be a sorepoint for others.

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-fc2a906d02db488d8a94c1be2d9c6cc1.jpeg
Here’s a sample of the headroom in the rear. I’m 5’8 and I have a large few inches of clearance before my head knocks on the roof. So that’s commendable.

Last edited by Jaggu : 24th September 2024 at 13:37.
funnysaltbrick is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com