Old 2nd September 2024, 14:09   #406

Re: Mahindra Thar Roxx Review

Here is a comparison which might clear some cobwebs or maybe create new ones.

autobahnjpr is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2024, 14:22   #407

Having read the review and watched the videos there is something which I am unable to decipher and need the experts to chime in. Putting them here in form simple questions

1. Can this be a family car for 5 (3 Adults + 2 kids) in terms of comfort levels for city driving and long distance travels ?

2. Given the bread box design (lack of aerodynamics) can this be used for long distance travels or will the drag effect be a deal breaker ?

3. Can this be considered in place of a creta which has become a household name for anybody aspiring for an upgrade ?

Last edited by Abhi_abarth : 2nd September 2024 at 14:24.
Abhi_abarth is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2024, 14:29   #408

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Mahindra shares info. on Thar Roxx:

- Thar Roxx production capacity is at 9,500 units/month

- Roxx test rides will open in mid-September & bookings in October 2024

Link:

I think Jejurikar mentioned earlier that total THAR including THAR ROXX was 9500 per month. Even if THAR ROXX alone is 9500, waiting period will surpass Scorpio.
Old 2nd September 2024, 15:02   #409

This is my first-ever post on Team-BHP!
I would like to thank the moderators and admins for approving my membership request. I am currently a 19-year-old college undergrad and my love for automobiles dates back to when I was just 6 years old.

Ever since Mahindra launched the new-gen Thar in 2020, it has made my head turn every time one drove past me on the road. In 2023, when I heard that Mahindra would launch the 5-Door Thar, I was excited since the two additional doors meant added practicality. Plus, I have seen multiple posts where people mention the challenges of ingress and egress in the 3-Door Thar, particularly for senior citizens. However, when Mahindra officially launched the 5-Door Thar on August 15th, the side profile immediately grabbed my attention for all the wrong reasons. It was really weird, and honestly, quite ugly (my humble opinion). As someone who loves adding a personal touch to things, I couldn’t resist photoshop-ing the side profile, giving it a cleaner look, just how I believe it should have been. Here’s how it turned out:

This is how I would have liked the side profile of the vehicle to look like.
Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-1.jpeg

And this is the rear-quarter view of the vehicle.
Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-2.jpeg

If prospective owners would like to go for an aftermarket solution, I think they could simply apply a matte or satin black wrap to that specific portion of the panel on the vehicle.

AdityaRWD is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2024, 15:08   #410

MX 5 variant for value buyers

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-img_2236.jpeg

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-img_2237.jpeg

Source Instagram
https://www.instagram.com/reel/C--uo...loOXd2MmRvenJy
hydraulicsteer is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2024, 18:12   #411
sgm

Originally Posted by manishk83 View Post
Petrol is no doubt more fun, but that's at the cost of minimum INR 60k/ year in additional fuel costs.

EDIT: And yes, I am a confused soul. In previous comments, I have recommended the Petrol for the additional fun - especially in NCR. But, maths shows what it does.
My usage will be quite low and I love the refinement of Petrol.

Unfortunately, there is no Petrol 4x4 for now, so those who want a 4x4, there is only one choice, i.e. Diesel
sgm is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2024, 22:07   #412

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
I disagree, reality is apart from folks who want to offroad with a shorter wheelbase vehicle, rest of the 3 door potentials now will flock to 5 door 4x2 especially with such a competitive pricing. If you drive both back to back then 3 door would be a No no to almost everyone.
I am with you there. That's why the sarcastic "Yeah right" in my post. I was reacting to the text by Mahindra in that article, which said Thar 3D won't be cannibalised.
sanemate is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2024, 23:43   #413

Hi all
I have seen some videos in youtube where they fitted CNG in Thar petrol AT.
Views please as if that is successful then we can go for petrol instead of diesel.
Old 2nd September 2024, 23:49   #414

Originally Posted by sgm View Post
My usage will be quite low and I love the refinement of Petrol.

Unfortunately, there is no Petrol 4x4 for now, so those who want a 4x4, there is only one choice, i.e. Diesel
It will come - possibly after the first 1 lakh bookings and 50k deliveries are done. Mahindra is competing with Creta/ Seltos on this one. Approx 50% of the Korean twins’ sales are petrol.

I am guessing Mahindra doesn’t want to create an initial negative feedback about Roxx petrol’s mileage and also a sticker price shock - hence the delay in launching the 4X4 Petrol AT.

Last edited by manishk83 : 2nd September 2024 at 23:50.
manishk83 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2024, 23:51   #415
SLK

Maybe I am doing something wrong. But, diesel makes better sense depite the 10-year ban from a cost perspective. Petrol is no doubt more fun, but that's at the cost of minimum INR 60k/ year in additional fuel costs.
Different assumptions result in different answers, my calculation doesn't show the same answer as yours at least till about 12k kms per year, Petrol still works out cheaper. However, I would still consider Diesel, because petrol @ 7kmpl will almost cause electric car range anxiety + Diesel has the potential to giving out much better FE during highway cruise.

Name:  Screenshot 20240902 234525.png
Views: 292
Size:  48.4 KB

BTW, I'm uploading the excel as well, just in case you'd like to change the data and try. This is a present value comparison, just to see the PV cost of owning the car over its lifetime. (there can't be a perfect calculation, but this is the closest I could make).

Thar vs Thar.xlsx
SLK is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2024, 00:07   #416

Originally Posted by SLK View Post
Different assumptions result in different answers, my calculation doesn't show the same answer as yours at least till about 12k kms per year, Petrol still works out cheaper. However, I would still consider Diesel, because petrol @ 7kmpl will almost cause electric car range anxiety + Diesel has the potential to giving out much better FE during highway cruise.
Both very valid points and I agree. Especially the 2nd point - redline a Turbo petrol and you get to 4 Kmpl very quickly. Redline a turbo diesel and it will still return 8 kmpl. Plus, driving the turbo petrol at 120 kmph seriously saps mileage.

++ I also did a PV calculation of the fuel costs (which I didn’t originally) and the Petrol did indeed turn out cheaper overall.

Where I differ now is the resale value. My neighbour recently sold his 9.x year Diesel AT Fortuner for 12L at Cars24. Most of these HR26 vehicles go to RJ, PB, UP, KL. And I have a sense that at the 8-9 year mark, Thar or Scorpio-N diesel will still fetch a better price compared to the petrol, because potential buyers would have heard of the horror stories of the petrol’s mileage. Would like to hear other experiences!

Overall, remains a difficult decision for NCR. But I am leaning more towards the Diesel for the reasons above and also the ones you highlighted. Plus, it’s somehow satisfying to know that you’ve bought the most fuel efficient variant of your choice of car. Just one less thing at the back of your mind when planning long trips.

I just hope the babus at Road Transport realise that with BS6’s reduced diesel emissions- almost at par with BS6 petrol and overall lesser fuel consumption; mile for mile - a Diesel will emit lesser pollutants. And not come up with another silly new ban And as long as I am wishing, let’s hope BS7 doesn’t get implemented before 2030.

Last edited by manishk83 : 3rd September 2024 at 00:30.
manishk83 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2024, 10:06   #417
SLK

Where I differ now is the resale value. My neighbour recently sold his 9.x year Diesel AT Fortuner for 12L at Cars24. Most of these HR26 vehicles go to RJ, PB, UP, KL. And I have a sense that at the 8-9 year mark, Thar or Scorpio-N diesel will still fetch a better price compared to the petrol, because potential buyers would have heard of the horror stories of the petrol’s mileage. Would like to hear other experiences!
While Toyotas command an excellent resale value and could be better than Gizmo'd 9 year old Thar, I just assumed that the 10 year ban will be country-wide before 2030 (say a very possible scenario!).
SLK is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2024, 10:18   #418

In my opinion, prices of the 4x4 models will be (Ex. Showroom price):

MX5 4x4 manual : 20.5 Lakhs
AX7L 4x4 manual : 22.5 Lakhs
AX5L 4x4 Automatic : 23.0 Lakhs
AX7L 4x4 Automatic : 24.5 Lakhs

Friends, your views are welcome.
Old 3rd September 2024, 10:54   #419

Originally Posted by Abhi_abarth View Post
1. Can this be a family car for 5 (3 Adults + 2 kids) in terms of comfort levels for city driving and long distance travels ?
Ofcourse yes. For a young family this should not be an issue at all.

2. Given the bread box design (lack of aerodynamics) can this be used for long distance travels or will the drag effect be a deal breaker ?
Works fine the NVH levels are pretty good for a bread box, there is sound creeping in but nothing more than music at low volume can't take care off. As long as you and passengers are ok with real world SUV seating (tall), you should be fine.

3. Can this be considered in place of a creta which has become a household name for anybody aspiring for an upgrade ?
Definite yes, especially for folks who prefer the tall and brute SUV feel in their cars.

Originally Posted by 1968chensaro View Post
In my opinion, prices of the 4x4 models will be (Ex. Showroom price):
Delta seems to be on the higher side, with this even the mid variant will cross 30 Lakhs OTR price in a city like Bangalore and that would be a sales bummer if numbers are being chased. I firmly believe, just like I believe for Jimny, pricing is the key and there are clear thresholds for potential buyer when they look at a vehicle. However new or cool it maybe, and for Thar upper 20 Lakhs is danger zone with regard to volume sales numbers month on month.
Jaggu is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2024, 10:57   #420

This is how I would have liked the side profile of the vehicle to look like.
Attachment 2649563

Nice. For me this was the ugliest part. With this modification looks good.