Bookings without final on-road price?

Fuel 95 Octane?

No AWD?

Will pass thanks.
sudev is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th July 2024, 09:42   #77

Re: 2024 Nissan X-Trail Review

This one will be going to be another nail in the coffin - CBU + no 4x4 + poor network. Not sure what Nissan India is upto.
Ashdel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th July 2024, 10:27   #78

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
They did evaluate the Y62 Patrol that was mooted to be brought under the then new 2500/year import quota. Guess they had cold feet to plonk the petrol only Patrol in the Indian market. One unit did come in via Nissan Digital Thiruvananthapuram having a KL-22 number plate, but that was it. Who knows. Maybe with the next gen Patrol months away, they may see it fit to bring in the left over stocks of Australian spec Patrol too. (though the people there may scramble to buy the last V8 Patrol like they did for the LC70 and LC300)

If it isn't against the Renault-Nissan India's no diesel strategy, they could very well bring the Terra to India.
Now that you mention it, they did bring a couple of Patrols from Dubai to show case at a media event in 2015 at the BIC. I was part of it and drove it there on an offr-road course. This is the same event where they got the Leaf to showcase and let the media take a quick spin.
Dippy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th July 2024, 11:10   #79

All those who are comparing the X-trail with Safari/700, keep in mind that Tata and Mahindra can even dream of making a variable compression engine technology, not even with their R&D from glorious acquisitions of JLR, Pininfarina, Ssangyong etc.

They are also many years behind in build quality and reliability. They will get there, but not anytime soon.

Everyone seems to be obsessed with flashy 'features' like ambient lighting, ventilated seats, touchscreen, leather seats etc. That's the cheap stuff. Variable Compression Engine is the premium stuff. Unfortunately we cant see it with our eyes.

Even ADAS is common place however many of us have actually found it impractical for India. My Verna has it and I'm tired of it slamming the brakes every now and then. ADAS doesn't work well in India. The blind spot monitoring is the only saving grace.

I however, do agree that this is a watered down variant and had Nissan been serious about its launch, it would at have launched the latest version with all these trinkets and would have assembled it here in India. I sense that Indian management at Nissan does not get the attention of their masters at HQ in Japan. This seems like a 'first sell this, then we will give you a full-spec model' message from them.

It does reflect on how we as a customer base think. Shiny and flashy is very important to us. We value it over real engineering that's under the hood. I feel for the salespersons in Nissan showroom who will have to sell variable compression technology over ambient lighting and 'seat mein AC hai'.
cityslicker86 is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 25th July 2024, 12:42   #80

Originally Posted by cityslicker86 View Post
All those who are comparing the X-trail with Safari/700, keep in mind that Tata and Mahindra can even dream of making a variable compression engine technology, not even with their R&D from glorious acquisitions of JLR, Pininfarina, Ssangyong etc.

They are also many years behind in build quality and reliability. They will get there, but not anytime soon.
Variable Compression Engine is, by definition, Over-Engineering. Indian conditions are perhaps the harshest—bad fuel and frequent start-stops. These engines are wreaking havoc in the US, with lots of investigations and recalls. One can only imagine how our ill-equipped and sparse service centers can handle it. If the engine gives up in Leh, I am pretty sure it will be a harrowing experience. Not to mention the JATCO CVT, which is a horror story by itself. And Nissan, in its infinite wisdom, chose to bring the marriage of both devils to India.

Everyone seems to be obsessed with flashy 'features' like ambient lighting, ventilated seats, touchscreen, leather seats etc. That's the cheap stuff. Variable Compression Engine is the premium stuff. Unfortunately we cant see it with our eyes.

Even ADAS is common place however many of us have actually found it impractical for India. My Verna has it and I'm tired of it slamming the brakes every now and then. ADAS doesn't work well in India. The blind spot monitoring is the only saving grace.
Most of the flashy features mentioned are, in fact, are features most of the population enjoys. Ventilated seats are a godsend in humid climate such as ours. The others are a preference, but in a value-conscious market such as ours, not launching with them is criminal. Infact cars from 3–4 segments down have them and there is no excuse for Nissan.

ADAS is a game changer for India and it actually helps us to recalibrate what defensive driving is. Tailgating has become a big problem and ADAS can help reduce it. Unless someone tries to 'Go-Kart' their way through traffic, it generally is pretty unintrusive. I've kept all my assists on, and in a year of driving, not once has it braked by itself.

It does reflect on how we as a customer base, think. Shiny and flashy is very important to us. We value it over real engineering that's under the hood. I feel for the salespersons in Nissan showroom who will have to sell variable compression technology over ambient lighting and 'seat mein AC hai'.
Well that is how free-markets generally work. Car makers are supposed to offer what the markets want, not the other way around. I agree that resulted in us getting a lot of watered down products, but Hyundai, Mahindra and Tata have shown that it is not difficult to get the product mix right. Just keep your ears to the ground. Heck, even Ford had a few super-hits by adopting India first strategy. It is only when they tried to apply 'Western' market logic, their products failed.

Indians always appreciated robust engineering designed for India. It is only when carmakers get a bit greedy, that they suffered. Tavera, Cruze, Corsa, Linea, EcoSport, Magnite, Pajero, Lancer are a few cars which were both appreciated and had a lot of engineering.

Sadly, IMHO, 2024 or should I say 2021 X-Trail is not in that list.
blogslogger is online now   (11) Thanks
Old 25th July 2024, 14:00   #81

Originally Posted by Haze View Post
So much miss-information in this post, I don't even know where to start.

The Rogue does not have a RWD version.
They do have AWD, but it's front biased, like Audi's system.

The Rogue is the highest selling crossover in New York, arguably the richest state of USA.

And if it's poor people buying Nissan's why don't the Versa, the Sentra and the Kicks outsell it?

To me, this is the second best crossover in USA, after the RAV4, but Toyota demands an insane premium for their badge.

Also I'd love to your source for Nissan being unable to price it between 24-35.

Infact I'd put my money on this being at 26.99 L.

And I'm legit at the thought that Indian buyers are more well informed than Americans.
Well sir the joke's on you(just a casual pun)
Richest state of USA as per household income is New Jersey
https://www.usnews.com/news/best-sta...tes-in-america
See this thread on Reddit https://www.reddit.com/r/askcarsales...t=share_button
Basically Nissan is a lot more lenient in finance deals which leads to people with low credit score purchasing their cars as they are not able to get a good deal from any other brand.
So technically poor people of USA are a bit of Nissan customers.

Last edited by Chisels121 : 25th July 2024 at 14:05.
Chisels121 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th July 2024, 14:40   #82

Just a correction in the first post itself. Launch was in 2004. I bought my X-TRAIL in Aug 2004.

Was the launch customer in western India. Loved the machine. Been to Leh Lahaul spiti in 2005. Also to kolkata vizag etc. Never felt worried about servicing or lack thereof. Sold it in 2011. That time there was no comparative car in the market.

The review here leaves me a little underwhelmed about the new?? XTrail.

Maybe will take a test drive and see.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 1st August 2024 at 16:06. Reason: Spacing for readability
Amukherjea is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th July 2024, 15:20   #83

Deal breakers for me:
1. 3 cylinder engine (1.5 litre is an insult to injury)
2. Outdated Dashboard (sans the digital instrument)
3. Inferior seat options (nothing against fabric, however leather with ventilated seats would've been ideal at the estimated price range) - The global has ventilated seats for rear too)

The only Pro: The 20-inch alloys look slick. May not be practical.
Old 25th July 2024, 17:03   #84

In my opinion, Nissan India is diluting the image of the X-Trail by fitting in a 1.5 litre motor in a possibly ~30 lakh car since it is a CBU. Not to mention the lack of 4*4 or a Diesel option or the outdated Dashboard. It can not even retain the collectors image with such a puny image.

Still rooting for the legendary status of the OG X-Trail
2024 Nissan X-Trail Review-xtrail.jpg

Last edited by SideSwipe : 25th July 2024 at 17:13. Reason: Spelling correction
Old 25th July 2024, 18:48   #85

From Autocar India _ "Considering the SUV will be brought in as a CBU, the X-Trail's prices are expected to be in the Rs 40 lakh-45 lakh range. This would put it in direct contention with the Skoda Kodiaq (Rs 39.99 lakh) and the Jeep Meridian (Rs 29.49 lakh-39.83 lakh)."

https://www.autocarindia.com/car-new...july-26-432331
Old 25th July 2024, 21:12   #86

An interesting choice of product to launch!
Nissan India, as far as I can make out, is surviving mainly on the fortunes of the Magnite - a compact, mini SUV. While the model is only 4 years old, I think it would have been more prudent for Nissan to launch a product on the next rung, so to speak, up the ladder - an Duster-alike, or more accurately a Terrano-alike - to retain the Magnite customers who would start to look for upgrades! Why jump straight to the Fortuner segment?
Old 25th July 2024, 21:14   #87

This car unless priced very competitively would be dead on arrival. I feel that the car almost has an industrial quality to it, looks boring, rugged, built to last without an ounce of luxury feel.

Seeing this car reminded me of the the regular supporting cars in western movies that nobody takes notice of & ultimately gets blown to hell in a high octane chase.
Old 25th July 2024, 23:18   #88

This car will be dead on arrival even if they manage to launch this car at an ex-showroom price of 30 lacs which is almost impossible. Nissan India should have rather launched the Patrol and other large diesel SUVs as their Halo product which would have found decent number of buyers.
Old 26th July 2024, 07:32   #89

Originally Posted by sarathlal View Post
For those who are having doubt on why so much of a negative traction here, forget about the intricate details, but launching a three year old model of a global product, that too in only its base model, shows nothing but a callous attitude to the market.

In addition, the path being CBU, there is little excuse of not choosing the best model for the purpose. It's not hate towards Nissan, but the determined attitude of negligence that's hitting us hard. Our market is not a dumping yard.

Take a look at Volvo. They were very slow in launching the XC40 recharge, but by the time it launched eventually, they made sure our market is given the top variant of the latest iteration. That shows intent.
Pardon my ignorance, but do CBU cars have problematic after sales service as compared to those manufactured in India, or is it only the cost which is the disadvantage over natively manufactured cars?
OrthodocX is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th July 2024, 09:35   #90

Originally Posted by OrthodocX View Post
Pardon my ignorance, but do CBU cars have problematic after sales service as compared to those manufactured in India, or is it only the cost which is the disadvantage over natively manufactured cars?
The main issues that, service parts apart, other parts will have a long lead time, especially when it comes to accident repairs
ajmat is offline   (3) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com