Old 30th December 2024, 15:08   #151

Re: 2024 Maruti Swift Review

Its been close to a month of me owning the 2024 Swift VXI AGS. Lack of time to pen down an ownership report, here are some observations post an ownership month.

Since its a new car I read through a lot of posts, discussions, debates on Swift vs Tata Punch vs Hyundai Exter vs Baleno vs Fronx. My first car was a Hyundai I10 Magna 1.2 which was driven for 7 years and 75000 kms. My second car was a Tata Zest 1.3 Quadrajet Diesel which was driven for 8 years and 1.30,000 kms, and with the Swift have clocked close to 2000 kms on the odo. With all the criticism thrown at the Swift I still consider its a good buy, not because I am an owner now, but because of factors like drive feel, features, handling dynamics, nature of the engine, etc.

I think the 3 cylinder engine has been criticized the most. Whether one is driving within city limits or majority of highways, expressways, most have a fixed speed limit of 100 kmph. There are folks who do not heed the same and probably have higher cruising speeds. But curbs have become smarter now. The speed detectors send a challan when you zoom past by even 5 kmph, I paid a total pending challan amount of 10000 when I exchanged my car, all for overspeeding. So let us consider the max speed will be 100 kmph on highways and 20-80 kmph in cities. Across this range the 1.2 Z series is completely at pace with oodles of torque and driveability. The engine feels peppy and smooth even considering I own the AMT, where head nods, lag is minimal as per competition. I had taken test drive of AMT versions of Triber, Kiger, Grand I10 Nios. Renault felts even sluggish, Hyundai felt boring, whereas the Swift feels lively and eager to move. The creep function is better with the Hill hold functional. There are hardly any noise/vibes felt in the cabin, unless someone is nitpicky. Suspension is new and tuned a bit stiff to ease out the undulations. The steering feedback is light, and the car is eager to change direction with minimal input. I have never been a Maruti/Tata/Hyundai fanboy but have spent enough time driving vehicles from them. Frankly Tata does not have anything exciting in their stable barring the 1.5 Diesel and upwards. Hyundai has turbo engines on offer at compromises of mileage.

"Kitna deti hai" adage is something a lot have moved ahead of considering rising disposable incomes. But for a common middle class person like me a mileage of 24 kmpl extracted from a 2000 kms run Swift is more than what I would want, coming from a 1.3 MJD and used to Diesel mileage figures. Generally majority of one's time spent behind the wheel is in bumper to bumper traffic, or densely populated highways. Where in gods name will you enjoy the thrill of power from the engine considering the highway speeds are capped to 100 kmph. Aspirational features, sun roof, etc are good but on the road 100% concentration is trying to save yourself from the mayhem offered and to reach the destination in one piece. If half of my life behind the wheels is spent dealing with these conditions, I might save money on fuel costs to invest in my family's future.

The SUV look alike craze, I still do not get it. GC is sometimes a myth. Drive in Himachal and an Alto will blow all misconceptions to smithereens. I have driven extensively pan India and have no two thoughts about how the highways throw a mix at you, but do you actually need a 15 lakhs car when a 8 lakh car can do the same job. Yes comfort might be better, but not by gigantic standards. The Pseudo SUV segment provides seating space equivalent to 5 seaters with blown out body proportions, body roll in some cases, and probably better visibility but at an exorbitant price tag. Kiger AMT and Nissan Magnite AMT are selling at the correct price point contrary to Venue, Nexon, Brezza. Also footprint is equivalent to a hatchback.

A low slung traditional hatchback offers a drive experience which is unmatched. My experience stems from driving Polo GTI, Punto Abarth, 2 generations of Swift's, Altroz Diesel, and Hyundai I20 N-Line. I never experienced the same fun in bigger traditional SUV's or even the sub 4 meter sedans. The traditional sedans are almost passe now. Gone are the days when you could push the pedals of a low slung remapped Civic and listen to the aural pleasure of the engine thrum.

Also matter of fact a consumer with a less than 10 lakhs budget is forced to look at the CSUV segment, there are not many choices available apart from them. Hence in the entire context if someone is looking for a family car, with sporty looking exteriors, and interiors, and is mileage conscious Swift can be definitely considered. The AMT is actually good in contrast to the entire criticism throw at it.

Last edited by SidharthaN : 30th December 2024 at 15:24.
SidharthaN is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2025, 12:32   #152

Originally Posted by SidharthaN View Post
... with the Swift have clocked close to 2000 kms on the odo. With all the criticism thrown at the Swift I still consider its a good buy, not because I am an owner now, but because of factors like drive feel, features, handling dynamics, nature of the engine, etc.
Thanks for sharing. Looks like Vikrant of Carwale agrees with you and others who have penned similar thoughts. Check the latest video from Carwale Driver's Cars Season 3 Episode 1

Last edited by aah78 : 20th March 2025 at 16:51. Reason: Quote trimmed.
FAIAAA is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd January 2025, 16:40   #153

Originally Posted by fhdowntheline View Post
Yes, I did get the ECU updated.
I took the delivery of my 4th Gen Swift VXi AGS in October 2024. When I sent it for first service, asked SA about ECU update but he said there is no update available. Can you share details about ECU update, if it is affecting previously manufactured cars.

As discussed by many members in the forum, the shifting in gear 1 & 2 is more jerky, rest it is decent for an AMT gearbox.

Combined mileage from 60% Highway and 40% City is coming around 17 kmpl (Tank to Tank) method. The current ODO at the time of writing is 1500 KM.
Old 24th January 2025, 08:18   #154

2024 Swift Road Trip- Some Insights
So me and wife made a weekend trip to Mahabaleshwar. Nothing special, just a quick break from " Sus-Chande/Nande-Hinjawadi routine, that's all. But from my perspective, it was a bit different because we took the Swift AGS instead of our regular highway queen (Verna 1.5 DCT). There were two reasons
1) I wanted to see how the Swift performed on such journeys involving a mix of highway (if you can call it that) and hills.
2) Mahabaleshwar is increasingly getting crowded and its better to take small cars instead of large SUVs if you want to visit places.

In respect of pt-2, the car was quite the boon. Getting in and out of tight parking spots was a breeze because of its tight turning radius aided by reverse camera( which is not too bad actually). The car also offers decent luggage capacity for a short weekend trip.
In respect of pt-1, my experience is as follows: With 2 people and weekend luggage, the car is a smooth performer on open roads. You almost never feel the lack of grunt and thanks to MH, you never get an opportunity to exceed 80-90 kph frequently either. So you are always in the sweet spot, and the mileage on such roads was phenomenal. While going up and around the hills, it is a bit of a mixed bag because you always feel that you wont beat the oncoming traffic while trying to out-gun the slow bus/truck up ahead. Its not impossible, but every overtake is a major calculation effort and can be demanding (unlike the Verna 1.5 DCT). While heading back from Pratapgadh on Ambenali ghat (a rare smooth tarmac), I was literally hamstrung by a slow moving MSRTC up ahead, and the continuous blind curves of the ghat did not give the comfort to overtake quickly, lest there be an oncoming vehicle. Thats where I really felt the lack of comfort, if not lack of outright grunt.
But all in all it was a pleasant driving experience. As far as the overall trip efficiency goes, well, here it is for a 303 km trip. Maruti should really rechristen the vehicle as Maruti Efficient.

2024 Maruti Swift Review-img_2025.jpg

Last edited by aah78 : 20th March 2025 at 16:51. Reason: Image inserted in-line.
fhdowntheline is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 28th January 2025, 13:27   #155

Suzuki Swift selected as the TOP10 finalist of the 2025 World Car of the Year and the TOP5 finalist of the 2025 World Urban Car presented by the World Car Awards (WCA).

2024 Maruti Swift Review-screenshot-20250128-132640.jpg

Link:
volkman10 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st March 2025, 18:50   #156

The new swift costs 22Lakh INR in the UK. Wowww!

rroy92 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st March 2025, 19:31   #157

Originally Posted by rroy92 View Post
The new swift costs 22Lakh INR in the UK. Wowww!
In the UK, it offers features like ADAS and a mild hybrid powertrain, but a price of 21 lakh still seems a bit too expensive.
Old 1st March 2025, 19:36   #158

Test drove the Baleno since the Nexa showroom is nearby. Although, personally the Swift appeals to me more.

My wife absolutely hated the AMT, while I felt it was reasonable and definitely manageable for Bangalore traffic.

The fact that the shift changes are so evident robes away from a sophisticated experience. But, it’s cost effectiveness did appeal to me.

We also drove the Amaze CVT, which both of us decided strongly against because of the lethargic power delivery and noise.

This puts us in conundrum and we’re not sure If we should stretch our budget for a TC or DCT equipped car.
Old 2nd March 2025, 11:06   #159

Infractions: 0/2 (19)

Originally Posted by trinity_rider View Post
Test drove the Baleno since the Nexa showroom is nearby. Although, personally the Swift appeals to me more.
The AMT will feel like an absolute pain for some drivers, but some can live with it, if you have the budget, it is better to go for a CVT, DCT or a TC, they offer more refined performance no head nods. Now among AMTs, Hyundai AMTs are much better and can be given a shot, since your considerations are among the Baleno and the Swift, the Swift would be a better choice for ride and handling, while the Baleno is longer, wider and more spacious.

If you want to look at a better calibrated AMT at around 10 lakhs, the Exter is a good choice, if you wish to go for a DCT, the Altroz DCA is available at around 10.5 to 11 lakhs for the base and one above base automatic trims,if a CVT is what's on your mind, then the i20 is available although a bit pricey at around 11.5 lakhs.

Ideally, if you want an all-rounder car and can tolerate the AMT, the Swift or the Baleno are all the cars you need.

Last edited by aah78 : 20th March 2025 at 16:52. Reason: Quote trimmed. Please quote relevant sections of posts only. Thanks.
bijims is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2025, 11:13   #160

Originally Posted by bijims View Post
The AMT will feel like an absolute pain for some drivers, but some can live with it, if you have the budget, it is better to go for a CVT, DCT or a TC, they offer more refined performance no head nods. Now among AMTs, Hyundai AMTs are much better and can be given a shot, since your considerations are among the Baleno and the Swift, the Swift would be a better choice for ride and handling, while the Baleno is longer, wider and more spacious.
Yes, the i20 IVT is next on our list to try out. I like how the Altroz looks but a DCT equipped Tata just gives me nightmares.

Last edited by ampere : 2nd March 2025 at 11:22.
Old 2nd March 2025, 11:26   #161

Infractions: 0/2 (19)

Originally Posted by trinity_rider View Post
Yes, the i20 IVT is next on our list to try out. I like how the Altroz looks but a DCT equipped Tata just gives me nightmares.
The Altroz DCA has been more or so reliable as compared to other DCTs just so you know, but if Tata scares you, then don't bother
bijims is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 14:35   #162

Swift vs Baleno in 2025 ? Seeking genuine advice.

Greetings to all,
This is my first long posed format thread on the forum, and it's a genuine ask for help, so please bear with me throughout.

So, for the past 5 months, I'm using the Innova Crysta 2.4Z in diesel manual which was purchased new on Dussehra'2024 and I have already driven it close to 9000kms. (City+Highway combined) With some great weekend road trips as well.

The traffic conditions in the city are getting worse day by day, and managing to drive such a large MPV in manual guise has left me feeling frustrated and cumbersome lately.

I absolutely love owning the Crysta, and plan to keep the car with me for the entire life of it, along side I do own a 2023 Superb Sportline as well as a 2023 Hyundai i20 N Line Turbo DCT, which are used by my Dad and my sister respectively.

Recently, I had been going through the forums and watching all YouTube reviews about the new Swift/Dzire and a thought came to mind, why not buy a budgeted small car (beater) with an Automatic transmission to take care of the city drives, while I can use my Crysta for the longer routes out on the highway, I suppose that would make sense, won't it ?

So I then started setting up my mind on a compact automatic beater car, only to fulfill the city needs with the basic priorities being safety, decently kitted (as a Toyota owner, I don't expect much in this regard ) but the higher priorities being the fuel efficiency and the resale value (as this would be an impulse purchase decision, and just in case if I end up not liking the experience and change my mind later to sell it, I don't want to take a huge depreciation hit)

So naturally, I considered Suzuki to be one of the best contenders to go for, that fit the aforementioned criterias and also fit my budget requirements (10L, stretched to 12L on-road, Mumbai)
P.S - I only consider the top of the line variants of cars while making a purchase decision or I start feeling as if I missed out on the best that could have been offered (just a quirk of mine, I apologise)

Coming down to the options shortlisted, I found the new 2024 Swift ZXI+ and the Baleno Alpha AGS, both in their automatic (AMT) versions to be the best suited cars for me, for the requirements.

I did briefly consider other options as well, but I personally believe that the Suzuki's rather straightforward and fuss-free ownership is something that no other brand would be able to offer (keeping in mind the high fuel efficiency and resale value)

I absolutely loved the new Dzire as well, but something about compact sub-4m sedans/SUV's just doesn't sit right in my mind since the beginning, (I know it's a very controversial/contrasting opinion in this day and age) I am a fan of conventional desgins - hatchbacks, sedans, SUV's, MPV's and basically everything else full-sized.

So, about the new Swift and the Baleno, I acknowledge the shortcomings of the new 3 pot motor, but after a short TD, I enjoyed it and it didn't seem far off from the legacy of MS' engine that's present in the Baleno. The sportier looks and the dynamic driving feel of the Swift were also something that I liked on this new-gen, whereas some additional features in the Baleno made it feel more premium as well. All in all, both options are pretty competent in their own regards.

P.S - I am personally of the opinion that the Swift in itself is a brand, which has a lot of aspirational value, something I'll be happy to have in my garage, and not to mention that helps with the resale quotient as well. (Just my thoughts)

I have listed down all the pros and cons of both the options for myself and tried to weigh them objectively, and I am pretty much convinced with either one of them, hence the question of choice remains; which one should I go for ? Kindly help.

Thankyou all for reading my post till the end.
Hope to seek some clarity in regards to my dilemma,
Any and all advices/suggestions are much appreciated. Cheers!
shubhgala9699 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 16:06   #163

Re: Swift vs Baleno in 2025 ? Seeking genuine advice.

Originally Posted by shubhgala9699 View Post
Recently, I had been going through the forums and watching all YouTube reviews about the new Swift/Dzire and a thought came to mind, why not buy a budgeted small car (beater) with an Automatic transmission to take care of the city drives, while I can use my Crysta for the longer routes out on the highway, I suppose that would make sense, won't it ?
Since you are looking to buy a car for city use, buy the smallest one-Swift. If you are looking for smooth 4 cylinder, check Ignis/Wagon R 1.2 as well.

Baleno makes sense if you need extra space, do bit more highway duty.
PrideRed is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 16:27   #164

Infractions: 0/3 (20)

Originally Posted by shubhgala9699 View Post
I have listed down all the pros and cons of both the options for myself and tried to weigh them objectively, and I am pretty much convinced with either one of them, hence the question of choice remains; which one should I go for ? Kindly help.

Thankyou all for reading my post till the end.
Hope to seek some clarity in regards to my dilemma,
Any and all advices/suggestions are much appreciated. Cheers!
Considering your requirements of getting the top-end variants under your budget of 12 lakhs with good fuel efficiency, the Swift ZXI Plus AMT and the Baleno Alpha AGS are perhaps your best choices. The Swift was recently facelifted (i.e. May 2024) and the Baleno seems to be getting one soon (around mid-2025) as the current generation is already 3 years old. Moreover, it is likely to receive the same 3-cylinder engine from the Swift on launch.

Considering your requirements and the price segment, the Swift seems to be the best choice for you, both from a nameplate perspective as well as mileage. Moreover, it is more sportier too.

Considering differences, I think you have done your research and have found out the differences, of course being the engine and a few features, along with the space. The Baleno would be the preferred choice for more space, but that isn't necessarily your requirement.

So with just a price difference of 50k between models on-road, I would opt for the Swift owing to its nameplate and better mileage.

However with the Baleno facelift coming pretty soon and with reports indicating that in the new Baleno, its engine could benefit from a hybrid setup as well which will improve fuel efficiency, so if you have time, it would be good to wait
yedukrishnan199 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2025, 16:28   #165

Originally Posted by PrideRed View Post
Since you are looking to buy a car for city use, buy the smallest one-Swift. If you are looking for smooth 4 cylinder, check Ignis/Wagon R 1.2 as well.

Baleno makes sense if you need extra space, do bit more highway duty.
Thank you for the suggestion!

I thought the same to myself as well, considering I already have an i20 as a premium hatch in my garage, I really just needed a beater, and the Wagon R has amazing the resale value and the fuel efficiency. I am not sure about the Ignis though, as I feel it's too claustrophobic on the Inside, and the exterior design doesn't look good to me, specifically the rear.

But I'd like to ask, in your honest opinion, which one should I go for between the Swift and the Wagon R? Is there a lot to be missed for the money saved ? The price difference is coming out at approximately ₹3L (on-road Mumbai) between the top of the line variants for both the cars.

I'm open to considering any options/suggestions. Thank you again!

Last edited by libranof1987 : 20th March 2025 at 16:42. Reason: Spacing

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com