Old 8th May 2024, 17:58   #106

Re: 2024 Mahindra XUV 3XO Review

Saw the car in person, and it immediately strikes as a good looking one. The new front and rear both look handsome, but the side profile looks a little off. It was a MX5 model which does not have all the features but the space inside is just brilliant - 5 full size adults? No problem for this car. It’s wide with plenty of leg room and the seats are supremely comfortable. All other sub-4 meter cars look really cramped in comparison (perhaps the MS Brezza as an exception). The boot space, while it is less on paper, looks quite accommodating and should do okay for a small family's weekend trip. Real life test will provide more insights.

But more than anything else or the looks or the feature list which this car has many as segment first (looking at you - EPB and Auto Hold which are a must have in an AT car), I'm particularly looking forward to driving that powerful turbo engine and TC combo. I think it's a commendable move to have a TC amidst a sea of DCTs with reliability concerns and jerky AMTs. It will prove to be a better option for many who want a reliable, smooth, no-nonsense city petrol car which is equally good for those occasional highway trips. I hear the interior of the top trim can put cars from the next segment to shame. Can't wait to experience that.

The only concerns are the wonky electronics with Mahindra and their after-sales service where the Koreans shine. Additionally, the limited boot space (on paper) could be a deal breaker for those who need extra luggage space.

Will post our TD experience once done.
2024 Mahindra XUV 3XO Review-img_3241.jpeg  

2024 Mahindra XUV 3XO Review-img_3242.jpeg  

2024 Mahindra XUV 3XO Review-img_3245.jpeg  

Col Mehta is online now   (15) Thanks
Old 9th May 2024, 22:28   #107

I was quite impressed by the similarity between the basic concept of faces of the Mahindra 3XO and the Tata Nexon facelift! The upper DRL region in the Mahindra is a bit wider and the lights are positioned higher and there is not separation between the headling area and the grill portion. In the Nexon the DRL and grille area are separated from the headlights. If you join the two regions you basically get very similar sections. The geometrical cuts and sections are otherwise quite similar. We definitely needs much more diverse design talent in our desi car manufacturers!

Attaching two pictures from the team-bhp posts.

2024 Mahindra XUV 3XO Review-3ox.jpeg

2024 Mahindra XUV 3XO Review-nexon.jpeg

Drive on,
Shibu
shibujp is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 11th May 2024, 20:47   #108

I have been driving a XUV 700 Petrol automatic since last 2 years. It is one of the best car in its segment and it's really fun to drive. One of the best things about it is how it controls, the dynamics and the power delivery. It's such a perfect symphony. I think no other car even comes close to it in it's price range.

So, we were on the hunt for a 2nd car in our home and we had checked out all the automatic options in the 8 - 14 lakh range. Including Nissan Magnite, Tata Altroz, Hyundai i20, Honda Amaze, MS Brezza, MS Baleno, Citroen C3, Tata Punch.

All of these lacked something or the other, they felt really disconnected from the road. Only the Altroz DCA felt that it had a little feedback from the road. After driving all these cars it left me wanting for more, I was addicted to how the 700 sprints and every car felt like a let down from there.

Now, today I went to the nearby Koncept Mahindra showroom in Noida to check out the new XUV 3XO.

The build quality, fit and finish, the feature distribution, price is spot on. It was better than any of the cars I had checked out and even far better than the Nexon and Brezza. In my view, MS Brezza has one of the most boring interiors. The back seats were really spacious and there was very good headroom for all the passengers. The boot space was less, but I think with nice management skills it can be managed. I mean I would rather carry less clothes than be really cramped up in the 2nd row in a 700 KM drive, but the boot space is decent to say the least, its not as low as it is being commented.

So, now sadly they didn't have the automatic car for the test drive so I drove the XUV 3XO AX5 Manual with the 1.2 L TCMPFi engine. I kid you not when I say this, but it felt like I was driving a mini version of the XUV 700. The turning dynamics, the braking and acceleration were spot on. The gears seemed pretty long to me personally and not needing to shift too much, the gearbox was really slick and butter smooth. The brakes had a sharp bite and the bite was very similar to that of the XUV 700. The stability was also really good and it masked speed and potholes very well. The suspension setup is the best in the segment, I think of all the cars I had taken a test drive of I found the 3XO has the best ride quality compared to all of them, it's really similar to that of the XUV 700.

Suprisingly the back camera quality of the 3XO is better than the 700.

One of the weak links I felt was that the music system in the AX5, could have been a little better, but anyhow when you see the price tag of 12.50 OTR Noida for the AX5 manual it doesn't make you feel that it is a deal breaker. I also wish it had a reach function in the steering but nevertheless the driving position for me was comfortable. Also, I think in the lower variants instead of giving a sunroof they should have focused more on giving other features such as a reverse camera, EPB & auto hold, front parking camera, front parking sensors etc. Also, ventilated seats could have been a boon in north Indian summer.

The variant which made most sense for us was the MX 2 Pro AT. I mean 11.20 OTR Noida for a Turbo petrol engine mated to a torque converter gearbox is like a steal deal and the fact that it has all the necessary features like 4 speakers, a good infotainment system etc and even a sunroof (which will be used only in winters). I mean there is no need for us to go any variant above that. I think the MX 2 pro and AX5 are the best Variants to buy. The MX3 and MX3 pro variants don't really make any sense above the MX2 pro variant. Also, even if you think the features are less you just need one drive around the block to forget what things were missing in them.

Also, many people were very questioning about its Design and personally I liked it, the pictures don't do justice to it. Nebula blue and white really looked good on it. The front is tacky but it isn't something ugly to look. It's quirky to say the least.

THE GOOD-
  • Its very fun to drive
  • Really great spread of variants and each variant is priced aggressively and screams VFM
  • Very good suspension setup and it masks up speed and potholes very well
  • All the necessary features like power windows etc are right there from the base variant.
  • Rear seat legroom and headroom is very good as compared to others in its segment
  • The touch screen is very responsive and the rear view camera is better than the XUV 700.

THE OKAY-
  • Boot space is okayish. Not great nor bad. Just okay
  • The music system just does it work, nothing else.
  • F.E will be just around 13 - 15 KM/L, which is okay if you see the performance output.

THE BAD-
  • No torque converter in Diesel
  • Instead of offering a sunroof, money could have been invested in giving other useful features such as rear view camera in lower variants.
  • No ventilated seats in any variant
  • No reach adjustment for the steering wheel

I felt that the XUV 3XO is just a downsized XUV 700 in driving dynamics and it is a well rounded and priced car. It really shows how Mahindra has infused the DNA of its bigger offering into the 3XO.

Last edited by Axe77 : 13th May 2024 at 19:00. Reason: Multiple formatting edits.
Hawk is offline   (47) Thanks
Old 12th May 2024, 12:48   #109

Originally Posted by Hattrick View Post
Mahindra 3X0 looks good mechanically and also on features, however, where does it stand for the overall quality and after-sales when compared with the Hyundais or the KIAs? Is it worth considering 3XO (AX5 variant) over Venue (S Optional Turbo) for the hassle-free ownership experience?

Any thoughts?
I have owned the 300 diesel for the last three and half years and Mahindra have never given me a reason to complain. The car is top notch and without any rattle. The quality is very very good. I have done all sorts of things like a rear bumper fix, front bumper replacement and fixing a check engine light once. The SC has been prompt with immediate parts availability, help with insurance claims, pickup and drop given, good diagnosis of the problems and fixing the issues. I have owned a Hyundai before, and do not find a difference.

Last edited by SansGT : 12th May 2024 at 12:50.
SansGT is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 13th May 2024, 11:23   #110

Originally Posted by SansGT View Post
I have owned the 300 diesel for the last three and half years and Mahindra have never given me a reason to complain. The car is top notch and without any rattle. The quality is very very good. I have done all sorts of things like a rear bumper fix, front bumper replacement and fixing a check engine light once. The SC has been prompt with immediate parts availability, help with insurance claims, pickup and drop given, good diagnosis of the problems and fixing the issues. I have owned a Hyundai before, and do not find a difference.
When we were in the market for a mini SUV 5 years ago, we were really interested in the XUV 300. Unfortunately the AMT gearbox was very uninspiring, other than that the car ticked all the boxes for us. Due to this we ended up buying the Hyundai Venue DCT. The new XUV 300 looks great, and I hope it has success.
Old 13th May 2024, 11:29   #111

Originally Posted by Hawk View Post
So , now sadly they didn't have the automatic car for the test drive so i drove the XUV 3XO AX5 Manual with the 1.2 L TCMPFi engine. I kid you not when i say this , but it felt like i was driving a mini version of the XUV 700.
Thanks for your review !

Can you provide more details on the driveability of this 1.2 engine ?
Pick up, effect of 200NM torque in slow speed etc .

Thanks again !
Old 13th May 2024, 11:37   #112

Originally Posted by vaibhav_one View Post
Am now confused whether to go for XUV 3xo MX2 Pro AT or Brezza VXI AT (relative cost between the two not being a factor). For a new driver with 95% running in Delhi NCR itself, the NA engine of the Brezza with linear power delivery looks like a better option on paper. Plan is to keep the car for more than 10 years.
If you want a fuss free experience with an average mileage above ~ 15Kmpl, then Brezza would be the first on top of the list. The 1.5l NA engine coupled with TC transmission is tried and tested and works without any surprises.

In case you want a peppy engine with all bells and whistles (ADAS) then 3XO is the car for you. But I am pretty sure the average mileage would be ~ 10-12kmpl.

The transmission is the same Asin sourced six speed TC in both cases which is pretty good. Mahindra is claiming 3rd gen. Not sure about the Suzuki one.
OpenRoads is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th May 2024, 13:16   #113

Has anyone driven, or know some review of the TCMPFi , specifically with the Torque Convertor ?

All the reviews I see are of the TGDi, but I am very interested to see how the TCMPFi behaves, specially the in-city driveability part where the TGDi lags a bit because of the pronounced turbo lag. And also the NVH levels of this engine compared to the TGDi.

How does the TCMPFI compare to say, the 1.2 Turbo on the Nexon or the 1.0 Turbo on the Sonet, purely in terms of engine characterstics ?

TIA

Last edited by DCEite : 13th May 2024 at 13:17.
Old 13th May 2024, 15:05   #114

Originally Posted by DCEite View Post

Has anyone driven, or know some review of the TCMPFi , specifically with the Torque Convertor ?
Its decent and can hold its own. Its just that the tuning is focussed to not hamper the FE too much. So it wont downshift aggressively. Its trackable and livable.

All the reviews I see are of the TGDi, but I am very interested to see how the TCMPFi behaves, specially the in-city driveability part where the TGDi lags a bit because of the pronounced turbo lag. And also the NVH levels of this engine compared to the TGDi.

How does the TCMPFI compare to say, the 1.2 Turbo on the Nexon or the 1.0 Turbo on the Sonet, purely in terms of engine characterstics ?

TIA
The 1.2 110 power engine is the same like earlier. Older reviews of XUV300 would help. Its a likable motor.

The engine is more refined than the Nexon and on par with the Sonet. Sound insulation is best in class. Turbo lag is minimal.

0-100 is the slowest at around 12.xx whereas Nexon would be in 11.xx and Sonet with iMT would be same as 3XO. In a drag, the Kushaq 1.0 definitely
leaps forward much better (better shift quality, lower weight and a gem of free revving motor). Part of the problem in the 3XO is super super long clutch which impacts the shift timing and quality. AT is tuned to avoid customers complaining of FE and play safe with transmission life.

For reference, a Baleno MT delivers 22.xx FE whereas the 3XO delivers 18.xx in ARAI tests. Consider that 3XO is 13xx kg and Baleno is 9xx kg. So 3XO will deliver nearly 20 % lesser FE in real life scenario.
dipen is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th May 2024, 15:40   #115

I am Confused between Virtus, Nexon, 3XO, Taigun

I'll be mainly driving it on Bangalore roads. I'll travel out of city once in 3 months, might go to hill stations, nearby cities, Goa, etc. with 4 other friends (so 5 people should be able to comfortably sit). I took a test drive for Nexon, Virtus, Aster, Sonet, still waiting for 3xo (all automatics) within a budget of 18 lakhs on road and:

Nexon is good. Great features, comfortable - just worried about Tata service and quality issues.

Virtus - I never thought I'd enjoy driving a sedan. Felt closer to SUV in terms of power, handling, visibility. It's just that the mid variant lacks 360 camera and ADAS. I enjoyed it the most.

Aster - Felt very underpowered and AC was also weak.

Sonet - Sonet was good, but felt a bit more compact and safety ratings are an issue.

3xO - Enjoyed the drive the most, loved the looks in dark colors

Taigun - Suspension felt a bit stiff, engine noise. Interiors on the highline variant are not that good.
signal_beat16 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th May 2024, 18:29   #116

Originally Posted by signal_beat16 View Post
Virtus - I never thought I'd enjoy driving a sedan. Felt closer to SUV in terms of power, handling, visibility. It's just that the mid variant lacks 360 camera and ADAS. I enjoyed it the most.
Just a quick info, no variant of Virtus provides 360 camera and ADAS, but if you enjoyed the drive of the Virtus most, you have your answer!
yesyeswe is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th May 2024, 19:56   #117

Originally Posted by yesyeswe View Post
Just a quick info, no variant of Virtus provides 360 camera and ADAS, but if you enjoyed the drive of the Virtus most, you have your answer!

Sorry, I didn't update the Virtus review after driving 3XO. I enjoyed 3XO the most, it was so silent and powerful. I mean it felt like an electric car to me.
Old 14th May 2024, 09:12   #118

Originally Posted by signal_beat16 View Post
Both Taigun and Virtus are a segment above considering you have driven the 1.5l TSI engine which is a different animal. However these VW animals are high maintenance in both short and long runs but definitely fun to drive.

In sub four metre segment, the 3XO TGDi turbo engine coupled with the TC transmission will put a smile for the enthusiasts and a frown for mileage concious folks. If you are not bothered about the mileage and want a peppy engine then this variant ticks all boxes except ventilated seats (which I feel is a big miss)

Nexon reminds me of the car from Tarzan. It had a good run while the others were catching up but now it's fairly outdated. When I say outdated I mean engine refinement, DCA transmission glitches (reported by users in this forum), fit and finish and QC issues and sub par after sales service.

Hope it helps. At the end of day pick the one which puts a smile ☺️
Old 14th May 2024, 09:35   #119

Originally Posted by yesyeswe View Post
Originally Posted by OpenRoads View Post
Both Taigun and Virtus are a segment above considering you have driven the 1.5l TSI engine which is a different animal. However these VW animals are high maintenance in both short and long runs but definitely fun to drive.

In sub four metre segment, the 3XO TGDi turbo engine coupled with the TC transmission will put a smile for the enthusiasts and a frown for mileage concious folks. If you are not bothered about the mileage and want a peppy engine then this variant ticks all boxes except ventilated seats (which I feel is a big miss)

Nexon reminds me of the car from Tarzan. It had a good run while the others were catching up but now it's fairly outdated. When I say outdated I mean engine refinement, DCA transmission glitches (reported by users in this forum), fit and finish and QC issues and sub par after sales service.

Hope it helps. At the end of day pick the one which puts a smile ☺️
Thanks for the input. I drove the 1.0 L TSI in Taigun and Virtus.
Old 14th May 2024, 09:46   #120

I read in many reviews that steering feedback is disappointing in 3XO TGDi automatic. If anyone here has driven it, please share your feedback

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com