Old 17th August 2024, 19:00   #3541

Re: Maruti Jimny Review

Originally Posted by Vinod_nair View Post
Looking at the price of Thar 5 D, 4×2, Jimny is a much better deal?
If you don't have the need for 4x4, and budget is not a constraint then RWD Roxx makes sense. Since it has better engine,power,looks,more space etc.

On the other hand, pricing wise, while the 5D Thar RWD starts from 13L exshowroom, you can get a Jimny 4x4 for 13L onroad(discounted pricing)

If one needs a 4x4,compact, practical, allrounder,easy maintainance,niche vehicle then their is no option below 15L other than Jimny.
So basically it depends on one's requirement.

PS:
Just incase you are planning to buy Jimny, then please do multiple test drives and decide well before taking a plunge. Jimny has its own strengths and shortcomings, which has been discussed multiple times within this thread.

Chandan

Last edited by DLC5005 : 17th August 2024 at 19:07.
DLC5005 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th August 2024, 23:16   #3542

Originally Posted by DLC5005 View Post
If one needs a 4x4,compact, practical, allrounder,easy maintainance,niche vehicle then their is no option below 15L other than Jimny.
So basically it depends on one's requirement.

Chandan
With my limited knowledge, I can say that you will get a true Global product within 15L which is there for more than 4 decades. You cannot go wrong with Jimny the mountain Goat.
No offense to all Thar owners, but I see many of them drive like goon with all tinted glass and horrendous modification. Sometime they are threat to public in city roads.

Last edited by DDIS_RE650 : 17th August 2024 at 23:19.
DDIS_RE650 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 18th August 2024, 00:25   #3543

Originally Posted by rahul4321 View Post
I ended up booking and buying a Jimny Zeta Manual - all in 8 hours. It was a completely head over heart purchase.
I completed my first major service (10 thousand kilometer one) today so thought it would be a good idea to write a short ownership review of the Jimny and what exactly do I think of it after lusting over the Thar but deciding to take the plunge with the Jimny (courtesy the discounts) and if I still lust over the Thar now or have I accepted the Jimny as a part of my life.

I wanted a vehicle for touring to complement my Himalayan 411. I have taken the Himalayan to a lot of places without the motorcycle breaking a sweat and always felt that I should also have a car which could do the same. I do not offroad in the usual sense of the word which is to go looking for obstacles. Instead my preference is to tour, work from various places in India and visit places which may or may not require me to venture off the beaten path but I should not have to turn back because of the terrain. In essence - I required a vehicle which can take anything and everything in its stride and get me to my intended destination IF I am venturing off the road on broken ruts, trails, washed out roads or mountains. That for me was the ultimate purpose.

I am single; plan to stay single, have 2-3 close friends so for me the Thar 3 door is more than enough. In any case, I usually travel alone so I am never confined by the luggage capacity of any vehicle whatsoever. All of this led me to lusting after the Thar Diesel 4x4 MT. However at almost 19.50 Lakhs onroad, it was out of my budget so I was passively looking for pre-owned examples and not having much luck finding them (not at the price point I was looking at anyway)

Come December 2023, the discounts led me to take a test drive of the Jimny and I booked it straight away. My rationale was very simple; at a price difference of almost 8 lakhs (and no struggles of BS6 DPF), it made the Jimny very tempting. I liked the car but did not fall in love with it. Atleast not at first – maybe not even right now.

At almost 9500 kilometers as it stands today, I have now driven the Jimny extensively enough to write a detailed review about it. First things first; the engine – It is competent for the job it has to perform. My touring on the Himalayan 411 – has led me to understand that I love low end torque and am happy sitting at a cruising speed of 90 km/hr. The Jimny is almost the same. The Low end torque is not that great in 1st gear but it is enough – especially in 2nd gear and 3rd gear. The cruising speed is exactly the same as the Himalayan. Enough for me. I would have loved the extra horses of the Thar but for me it would have been a “nice to have”. I would still probably tour at 90 km/hr with my elbow hanging out of the window taking in the cool breeze.

Second is the suspension and the ride quality. Now I’ve not driven the Thar that much to genuinely compare but everybody and their uncle states that the Jimny’s ride quality is much more sorted than the Thar. I genuinely believe that. In isolation – the Jimny’s ride quality is very very good. It does not crash into deep potholes but rather jumps around softly like a rubber dinghy on a fast ride in a water park. Yes if you do run over a unscientific bump, the rear crashes with a loud thud but I have come to accept that. Also my previous Bolero DI (with leaf spring suspension on all 4 wheels) did the same. Coming from the Bolero, the Jimny’s suspension and ride quality feels like a Rolls-Royce. In relative terms ofcourse.

I love to drive the Jimny on B-roads. It feels like it is in its element there. Small ruts, potholes, small bumps; it will just cruise along without noticing them. The stock tyres do their duty well and as I have the Zeta- I know the Steel rims can take a lot of abuse if the situation demands it. On the Highways, it is slow, no doubt about it. However, I am usually in no hurry to get anywhere.

Today was the 3rd service of the Jimny. In both of the earlier services, I softly insisted that the Jimny go through a preventive oil change but the service advisor was adamant that there is no need for it. He told me that Maruti is completely confident of the 10 thousand kilometre service interval and with the new processes they employ at the factory – the engine does not need the preventive oil change to flush out the metal shavings as there are no shavings in the engine due to the new processes. I didn’t really believe him but I did not push him either. Today at the 10k kilometres service, I was watching the old engine oil like a hawk. It was dark brown – almost black in colour but I really did not see any metal shavings in the oil gunk. The cost of the service came up to 1900 rupees which is pretty reasonable. The oil used was Suzuki Ecstar OW16

I also wanted to take a look at the propeller shaft for the infamous markings but there were none in my car. Considering the fact that I do not use the car for offroading (read as hunting for obstacles), I am not really surprised. In comparision to most Jimny owners, I must have used no more than 40% of the Jimny’s offroad capabilities uptill now. Additionally, as I travel light (and its mostly just me in the car), the suspension and the frame is not under a heavy sag.

I have taken it to a nearby river bed three or four times – but that is just to ensure the 4x4 Hardware is being used and it does not fail when I really need it. In my experience, Lack of usage always tends to deteriorate things faster than Over-usage. I have done a few modifications; have got the grill blacked out with the exception of 1 slot which I have painted to red. I also got the Suzuki “S” blacked out. In addition, there is a Bimbra roof rack, a Bimbra rear ladder and a Bimbra Armrest.

All in all- I don’t think I am there yet where I can say that I love the Jimny. I still turn my head to look at a Thar everytime one passes by (and there are a lot of them so my neck is always twisting and turning). There is just something about the 3 door Thar which makes it so butch to look at. My heart still pines for one. But in my head; I have now accepted the fact that I have made a better choice. (a) (a) Less money, (b)No BS6 DPF worries, (c) Better ride quality, (d) better mileage, (e) better offroad capability due to low weight (debatable), (f) more robust and hard wearing interiors (g) 2 extra doors but most of all a (h) fill it, shut it, forget it functionality which I never got even in my basic Bolero DI – it was always plagued with issues. All these positives; against 2 negatives – (a) less power (b) lesser butch looks.

I am happy. I think I ended up making the right choice. Not by choice but maybe by compulsion. I still lust after the Thar and may just pick up one someday (or I will fear I will come back to haunt Mr. Mahindra) but in my head – I think I have finally found a vehicle which is perfect for the kind of usage I do.
Maruti Jimny Review-20240817_113936.jpg  

Maruti Jimny Review-20240817_113954.jpg  

Maruti Jimny Review-front.jpg  

Maruti Jimny Review-rear.jpg  

Maruti Jimny Review-20240817_231853.jpg  

Last edited by rahul4321 : 18th August 2024 at 00:40.
rahul4321 is offline   (33) Thanks
Old 18th August 2024, 10:22   #3544

I rented a Thar for three days in Panjim and it was so different an experience from our Jimny that I was left puzzled by all the comparisons that we have been making. The Jimny is a “one-ton” vehicle, easy to control, throw around corners, slip through gaps and park in congested places. A jeep, in short, albeit a Japanese one. The Thar is a two-ton beast, a truck, if you will, that looks like a jeep. The Thar’s ride quality was, to us, just not workeable except for short trips. But the road presence made for a relaxing and charismatic drive, especially in the face of oncoming traffic. While it is true that the Thar 5-door will partly bridge the ride quality gap, the fact remains that one is a jeep and the other a truck, and it isn’t the one that actually looks like a jeep!
Vikram9193 is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 15:09   #3545
RDS

Originally Posted by rahul4321 View Post
I completed my first major service (10 thousand kilometer one) today so thought it would be a good idea to write a short ownership review of the Jimny and what exactly do I think of it after lusting over the Thar but deciding to take the plunge with the Jimny (courtesy the discounts) and if I still lust over the Thar now or have I accepted the Jimny as a part of my life.
Great review, thanks.
I had similar needs as yours. I needed reliability first, and then everything else, and eventually bought Jimny. I also find 90KMPH as sweet spot for Jimny.

I especially love what Mahindra team has done with Roxx but traveling in Himalayas, the narrow roads, I again find Jimny way more practical because I drive significant distances at very low speeds enjoying the air on mountains, say 4-5 hour journey taking 8+ hours!!!
Cannot let the fun go for DPF issues in case of Diesel or mileage issues in case of Petrol.

But I do wish Jimny could turn into Roxx during plain highways . That vehicle is harmonious with what my heart wants because I have usually driven powerful vehicles, say pocket rockets mostly.

I just returned from another 1000 KM trip from Himalayas yesterday. The place I had to go was accessible via 4WD only - last 500-700 metres.

The no-road was very steep, loose rocks, and the light weight combined with small dimensions and 4x4 capability of Jimny made it look easy. I didn't see any other vehicle venturing that road - even local drivers.

Eventually, now that I have driven more than 6000 KMs, and engine run-in is completed to my satisfaction, I will use evcx and see the change it brings.

As far as service centers are concerned, I don't trust them. I got my second service done early this month and insisted on oil change and got it done. I had gotten Oil change done after first 1000 Kms as well.

This one is a very famous Nexa center, and I was with Jimny the whole time. The mechanic was going to start the vehicle without air filter on - what can just 1 minute do to engine?? - I firmly said "NO", and complained to advisor as well.

Trust your instincts and go with what you feel is right for your vehicle.

Last edited by RDS : 19th August 2024 at 15:14.
RDS is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 20th August 2024, 12:41   #3546

Originally Posted by abhi_tjet View Post
I took the delivery last Friday and enjoying every moment with Jimny.
Kudos to you for saving those puppies. You will certainly remember that day for more reasons than one now.
Red Liner is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th August 2024, 18:04   #3547

Originally Posted by trance_nut View Post
Facing this weird noise from the roof on the driver side. Its started all of a sudden today. Its a tak-tak sound and comes even after the car os at standstill.
Any suggestions on how to rectify this?
I face the same issue as well. I haven't figured out the cause/source of the sound yet. what is the manufacturing month/year?
Old 21st August 2024, 10:22   #3548

Originally Posted by ShivC View Post
Jimny Grille - the way I think it should have been in my humble opinion. Let me take you through my "Grille Journey" and explain.
Very interesting to see your journey where you come back to the OEM grille which I think has been taken off and painted with your choice of colour.

I see others too who have done this and I think this is the most effective and friendly way (otherwise the OEM grille just lies around in some storage ).

I've been sitting on the fence and almost bought one of the Chinese grilles but got lazy since it is not available locally in Dehradun. Then seeing some DIY videos bought a spray can of matte black and a 400 grit sand-paper to work on just the chrome inserts. I then tried to pry open the grille from my Jimny but wasn't able to do so. I had heard that it requires some force but was scared I might break it.

How did you get it painted? Must be a pro job where they were able to extract the grille and fix it back. If you have some photographs or a video of the process it would be very helpful.

Old 21st August 2024, 11:11   #3549

Originally Posted by anilupadhya View Post
I face the same issue as well. I haven't figured out the cause/source of the sound yet. what is the manufacturing month/year?
Have you by any chance installed any roof rack or any extra outside fittings, claddings?
Old 21st August 2024, 13:04   #3550

Originally Posted by murlidar View Post
Have you by any chance installed any roof rack or any extra outside fittings, claddings?
No accessories added to the car yet. The sound comes only when the car is sitting out in direct sunlight.
Old 21st August 2024, 15:18   #3551

Need some information.

Last week I took the delivery of my Jimny.
As part of documentation I received below documents:
1. RC/RTO payment challan
2. Invoice copy
3. Insurance copy
4. Advance and payment receipts
5. Fastag

What I wanted to know is :
1.Was I supposed to get any document related to standard 3 year warranty?(Haven't opted for extended warranty yet)
(Forgot to ask during vehicle delivery in hurry)

2. Any other documents that I am supposed to collect?

Thank you
Chandan

Last edited by DLC5005 : 21st August 2024 at 15:20.
Old 21st August 2024, 15:39   #3552

Originally Posted by dileep View Post
How did you get it painted? Must be a pro job where they were able to extract the grille and fix it back. If you have some photographs or a video of the process it would be very helpful.
I got this professionally painted by providing the Suzuki colour code for Kinetic Yellow for body colour match using a superior grade paint (I think it as Axalata).

The clamps circled in red are the ones that hold the chrome inserts and can be taken off again using a flat head screwdriver. The Logo is held by 2 screws which can again be taken off.
Maruti Jimny Review-grill-off-jimny.jpg

The chrome inserts and the logo were taken off and painted black and silver respectively.
Maruti Jimny Review-grille-painted.jpg

The process of taking off the grille is quite simple:

1) Remove the plastic pop out buttons that you will see once you open the bonnet with a flat head screw driver:
Maruti Jimny Review-screenshot-20240821-2.11.118239pm.png

2) Under the grill are these two turn clips. Turn them one quarter to unscrew:
Maruti Jimny Review-screenshot-20240821-2.11.208239pm.png

3) Gently start from the top and using a trim removal tool gently pry all the clips and you can pull the grille off the Jimny. Remove the indicator lights harness once done to free the grille completely.

Kindly refer to a video on this made by TBHPian @purohitanuj that would also be most helpful on the removal part:

Hope this helps.
ShivC is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2024, 12:36   #3553

Sharing my experience of first 3 weeks of my Jimny Alpha AT ownership. Have driven approx 1650 kms (including 1000 km outstation tour).

1. City commute in Delhi I am getting FE of 8-9 while outstation trip I managed 11-11.5 kmpl (90-120 kmph speeds with full load).

2. ⁠Adequate (not plush) space for 4 large-size adults. We didn’t feel cramped.

3. ⁠Have installed some accessories like Armrest, rear rack, bottle holders, bonnet struts which have added to utility and comfort.

3. ⁠Can accommodate 3-4 bags in trunk (we plan to install roof carrier before next outstation trip).

4. ⁠We didn’t find any lack of power, just need to understand the power-band and remain in 2500+ RPM range, it zips.

5. ⁠In city driving conditions I drive in OD Off mode (as per valuable recommendation from this forum), thus the car doesn’t feel sluggish and feels peppy as 3rd becomes the top gear and it doesn’t keep shifting between 3rd and 4th.

5. ⁠Suspension is bouncy (on highway speeds) and car feels like a boat. Planning suspension upgrade to tunable struts with OEM springs. No lift needed. Should run planted after that. Looking for options.

6. ⁠Steering is lazy, needs sharpening. Exploring upgrade options.

7. ⁠GAN GA+ is next performance upgrade that I may consider. Planning to test the same sometime next week.

Overall a very happy experience thus far. Lovely little car with amazing capabilities. All in my family share the same feedback. Cheers.
Maruti Jimny Review-whatsapp-image-20240820-14.45.11_279704a9.jpg  

Last edited by Ashish B : 22nd August 2024 at 12:42.
Ashish B is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2024, 13:38   #3554

Originally Posted by DLC5005 View Post
What I wanted to know is :
1.Was I supposed to get any document related to standard 3 year warranty?
No

2. Any other documents that I am supposed to collect?
I suppose TCS receipt as and when available with dealership.
abhi_tjet is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2024, 14:38   #3555

A small query:

Why is the water wading capacity of the Jimny just 300 mm, when the air intake is placed at about 3.5 ft from ground?