Old 8th October 2023, 22:15   #2056

Re: Maruti Jimny Review

Originally Posted by omar View Post
I think we will have more discounts and a price reduction happening.
On the contrary, prices are almost certainly going to be hiked once the Thar 5 door is launched. The comparison will be between Jimny 5 door and Thar 5 door - and the pricing will reflect that. I expect prices to go up by 2 to 3 lakhs, with a few extra features added.

People who think Jimny is overpriced are the ones who have never experienced it.

Most Thar owners in my circle have already sold their Thar and bought a Jimny. They were Jimny haters and Thar fans until they experienced the Jimny. Then there was no going back.

I won't be surprised if Jimny makes a sales comeback once more people experience it. Right now the views of car buyers are coloured by the smaller size of Jimny. We need to keep in mind that Jimny has a 12 to 18 months waiting period in almost every market where it is sold, in spite of its small dimensions. Many of those markets are playgrounds of much larger cars and SUVs than what are typically sold in India. So there must be some magic to Jimny. That magic will slowly become known to the Indian car buyer too - perhaps only a matter of time. Patience!

The best brand ambassadors of Jimny are it's owners. I already know a few hundred Jimny owners through social networking platforms, and yet to meet even a single Jimny owner who doesn't have a big smile on his face. Something I have never seen happen with any car ever. That enthusiasm will spread - I have no doubts on that.

Last edited by PYSO : 8th October 2023 at 22:24.
PYSO is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 9th October 2023, 07:44   #2057

Has anyone installed a winch on The Jimny yet?
I tried searching on the forums, but was unable to find anything.
I am considering installing the Warning Axon 45S
Old 9th October 2023, 09:54   #2058

Originally Posted by King Condor View Post
Has anyone installed a winch on The Jimny yet?
I tried searching on the forums, but was unable to find anything.
I am considering installing the Warning Axon 45S
That should read WARN not warning
Old 9th October 2023, 18:17   #2059

Does the Jimny require MLD retrofitment ?
If YES, is the Eaton MLD compatible with Jimny ?
Old 9th October 2023, 20:06   #2060

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
For those looking at Jimny sale figures, here is the data. Internal set figures were 2500-3000/month.

Attachment 2514032
So i just casually walked into Nexa East of Kailash yesterday enquiring about the Jimny (Alpha MT to be specific). What i could gauge from a very short conversation I had with the sales guy is that they are now very eager to move jimnys. Although no discounts as such on the table (didn't negotiate hard) but he said that delivery will happen within 1 month from the date of booking. IMO sales will go down even further in the coming months and there might be some discounts on offer also.
TB16 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th October 2023, 20:31   #2061

I booked a Jimny in Kinetic Yellow DT Alpha Manual today. I had the opportunity to test drive the Alpha automatic.

I got to drive the car around for more than an hour, and got to experience some broken roads as well. The car feels secure over even badly broken roads and I wasn't afraid to smash the front bumper on the ground in declines. This will definitely take me to places my other car (an i20 automatic) won't.

I hated the auto transmission. In the dark, the gear level doesn't show gear it's in, whether N or D or R. Since those letters aren't illuminated in any way. That feels like such a pain point. I also wasn't very comfortable with doing overtakes with the slow auto transmissions, so for 2 lane highways, I felt that it would be a problem.

Booked the manual transmission in Kinetic Yellow, Alpha variant. I was shocked to hear that the yellow wasn't available in the Zeta model. I guess the company knows what people want, so pricing that higher makes sense.

Overall, I'm excited to take the delivery. Will plan to take it on my birthday next month. Even though car is readily available at the showroom, I'll be traveling for work later this month, so I don't want the car to just collect dust at home. Maybe that's better than it collecting dust at the showroom? Not sure.

EMIs work out to around 36k for a 3 year loan, with 25% down-payment. Really excited now!
pepega is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th October 2023, 21:26   #2062

Originally Posted by TB16 View Post
So i just casually walked into Nexa East of Kailash yesterday enquiring about the Jimny (Alpha MT to be specific). What i could gauge from a very short conversation I had with the sales guy is that they are now very eager to move jimnys...
Similar situation in TN, in a dealership that is in the known at Trichy and Tanjore. They have around 15 or so unsold units in stock as per last conversation, 2 weeks back. The next two months sales figures will be closer to the actual trend as most YOLO / enthusiast buyers would have been covered.
HappyWheels is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 08:49   #2063

When is a right time to sell and buy movable and immovable assets as per the changes in Govt policy

In life , we have come across many situations when we wanted to buy some major item, we are always short of one Dollar and when we want to sell something, people give us very unreasonable low prices.

Pls narrate your life experiences both positive and negative if you ever regretted your decisions in buying or selling assets due to drastic changes in Government policies.

In this context, let me give my life experience that happened now.

Story of my Movable asset: I have been thinking of moving back to my native place Visakhapatnam after I have taken voluntary retirement from IT company in Bangalore few months back. I have a 2 year old KA registered Innova Crysta Diesel automatic top end Z model. The challenge now is how to get AP registration done for my Crysta without loosing too much money (getting life tax refund from KA Government is an uphill task after paying AP Government life tax). I did my research on team bhp and finally concluded of the best option is to sell vehicle in Bangalore and buy new vehicle in Visakhapatnam. I called Ravindu, Toyota dealer in Bangalore with whom I had a fantastic buying experience 2 years back. An expert from the dealer came on the same day to my home and inspected my car and said Ravindu Toyota U Trust would pay me 1 lakh more than the invoice price ( normally we have 30% depreciation but it is minimal because automatic Crysta is a prized possession now due to its discontinuity by Toyota). I was surprised on how easy it is for me to take decision. I gave the car keys and signed on a couple of papers and money deposited in my account in 1 hour.

Now, what is my next car.Toyota is no more manufacturing automatic Crystas and our Government random press releases of Diesel ban is scaring me to buy another Diesel vehicle. Another important requirement is that I need a 4X4 vehicle to travel to farm house in Araku which requires a bit of off roading ( hill station near to Visakhapatnam 3000 ft above sea level). Once , I got stuck on a bad patch of rural road in Crysta and concluded that 4X4 is a must and India has majority of roads especially rural with no proper tarmac.

As usual, I did my research on Teambhp and decided to buy top end Jimny automatic. I called on phone to my childhood friend in Visakhapatnam to go to nearest Nexa show room and check on how many days they would take to deliver Jimny top end automatic model and how much is the discount.

To my friend’ s surprise, the Nexa show room head in Visakhapatnam touched his feet in respect as he happens to be his beloved student long back. All staff in Nexa were surprised. My friend called me and assured that I will get the best deal possible with VIP treatment. I took a quick decision and the Jimny alpha automatic Petrol car was delivered to my friend in a matter of hours while I am sitting in Bangalore watching on video. I was warned not to move the car to Bangalore with Temporary registration of AP as I may face issues at border in Karnataka. I decided to wait for a couple of days until the number plates arrive.

Story of Immovable asset: Now the car issue is resolved, the next challenge is on how to sell my Bangalore villa and move to my ancestral home on beach road in Visakhapatnam. Karnataka Government increased guidance values by 50% from October 1 ,2023 and hence there is a mad rush of buyers queueing in at sub registrar office (with extended working hours due to huge rush) to buy homes. I own a villa in a walking distance from the first IT park in India called ITPL. I have put up a posting on No Broker portal that a villa is for sale with furniture and with in few hours, there were 50 calls from potential buyers ( may be they are attracted by the photos of my villa which has designer solid wood furniture brought from USA in a container on official and paid relocation by my employer ). The potential buyers are prepared to buy at 3 times what I paid ( The market value of Villa was almost 0 % appreciation one year back due to pandemic).

Meanwhile, my son who is one of the youngest PhD in CS and one of youngest faculty in top 5 universities in USA asked my advise if this is right time to buy his first car and a first multi million dollar home with long term loan commitment ( Audi A5 sports back and beach front home in San Diego). I advised him that there is no good or bad time to buy assets and asked him to go ahead in the way his heart is pointing. We all are aware that USA is on the sure path to recession after USA elections but this should not stop anyone from taking decisions now.
Maruti Jimny Review-2fd01695a6ae407baa6194f237117ec8.jpeg  

Maruti Jimny Review-img_1362.jpeg  

Last edited by Mystic : 11th October 2023 at 06:41. Reason: Photos
Mystic is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 10:07   #2064

Re: When is a right time to sell and buy movable and immovable assets as per the changes in Govt pol

Originally Posted by Mystic View Post

As usual, I did my research on Teambhp and decided to buy top end Jimny automatic. I called on phone to my childhood friend in Visakhapatnam to go to nearest Nexa show room and check on how many days they would take to deliver Jimny top end automatic model and how much is the discount.
My first accessory is Stepney cover with lock and key for Rs 13000 from the dealer. This is a major decision because I am freezing my opportunity not to make any changes to the stock HT tyres to AT tyres. The cover would go waste if in future I take a call to move to AT tyres.

The dealer advised that changing from HT to AT would void warranty and also it makes sense that the mountain goat attributes of Jimny is thin tyres which are a boon in muddy slippery roads. Also another major reason is Petrol in India is costly and we should extract the best mileage which happens only with HT tyres as they are less in weight. Many reviews also pointed that 90% travel on good roads and 10% travel on off roads is the most common user case for Jimny and there is not much of a help in AT from HT except for aesthetics.
Maruti Jimny Review-71430fa3b48941afa7aebeaa40bb234b.jpeg  

Last edited by Mystic : 10th October 2023 at 11:59.
Mystic is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 11:20   #2065

Originally Posted by PYSO View Post

The best brand ambassadors of Jimny are it's owners. I already know a few hundred Jimny owners through social networking platforms, and yet to meet even a single Jimny owner who doesn't have a big smile on his face. Something I have never seen happen with any car ever. That enthusiasm will spread - I have no doubts on that.
I’m completely onboard with this part of your assessment - the Jimny is an acquired taste for most in India. I’m not referring to the kind who’ve been trawling the web since 2018 when it was launched (Gen 4), but for the majority of the 4x4 buying crowd in India, it’s more about the brawn and brand than any real capabilities. The Thar-Jimny, Fortuner-Endeavour rivalry is worth noting. Both the Thar and the Fortuner are excellent but slightly compromised products in their arena. Yet, the Mahindra’s brawn and the Toyota’s brand will always engage more customers than their competition.
Having said that, the Jimny has the hallmarks of a cult classic with a slow start. Much like the Gypsy. It’s just that times are different now and Maruti have different tunes to march to. So, unless the order books pick up locally for the Jimny soon, or is helped by an Army order (unlikely) they may not have the appetite to block showroom space for a non-moving model, especially with their ambitious model launch plans till 2025. I won’t go as far as to say that the Jimny will flounder in the Indian market, but it did need to be seen a bit more VFM to give it the initial momentum. Most won’t be able to see past that sticker shock and convert by experience.

Last edited by SUVolens : 10th October 2023 at 11:21.
SUVolens is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 18:46   #2066

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Similar situation in TN, in a dealership that is in the known at Trichy and Tanjore. They have around 15 or so unsold units in stock as per last conversation, 2 weeks back. The next two months sales figures will be closer to the actual trend as most YOLO / enthusiast buyers would have been covered.
I for one would be happy with the low sales figures that Jimny is expected to get. I'm obviously disappointed that I could have waited and got a sweet year end discount or deal, but the truth is that most of the Maruti duds in India are proven products abroad. The SX4, S cross 1.6, Kizashi, Original Grand Vitara, Original Baleno and the Ignis. These are really very good products compared to the Tin cans that Maruti sells in India and yet our market rejected it. Hopefully, history will repeat itself and we will have that exclusivity and a good safe Maruti for a change. Fingers crossed that it doesn't sell too well.
Neil Roy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 20:35   #2067

Originally Posted by Neil Roy View Post
... The SX4, S cross 1.6, Kizashi, Original Grand Vitara, Original Baleno and the Ignis. These are really very good products compared to the Tin cans that Maruti sells in India and yet our market rejected it...
So true!

Originally Posted by Neil Roy View Post
...Hopefully, history will repeat itself and we will have that exclusivity and a good safe Maruti for a change. Fingers crossed that it doesn't sell too well.
Got a call from Bangalore dealer asking why I cancelled my booking and if I am still looking at buying the Jimny, which is now available immediate for selected models with exchange bonus of 25k.

I still say that this is a great product but I do not see value in the pricing.... but, someone above wrote about the EMI and I did a recalculation if taking a loan and the heart is trying to win over!!!
HappyWheels is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 20:57   #2068

Today, I finalized my loan and finished the documentation process for my Jimny order. Finalized a birthday delivery for next month, but will finish the registration/loan process ASAP. Visited stockyard to see my allocated Jimny, do a minimal inspection and get the VIN number.

This was the stockyard for the entire state of Goa, I believe, and they had about 10 Jimnys in stock in different colors. Two were Kinetic yelllow, and one of them was mine. I am absolutely floored by the look of it. It looks like such a toy. The yellow is the best color. Everything else looked fine with the car and I only gave it a customary once over. The ODO was at 14 km.

The guards had opened the boot of one Jimny and were napping with the rear seats down. I didn't realize that was even possible but now I see the potential of making the rear boot an actual seat to sit and watch nature, which will be possible thanks to the no-lip boot design. Put some cushions and it'll make a cute couch. I told the SA to inform the stockyard manager to not let them do that anymore, and he said he'll have a conversation with them.

Curious about which accessories to get from the Maruti catalog. Any help from current owners in this regard would be helpful. Are you finding the Maruti accessories useful/stylish?

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
I still say that this is a great product but I do not see value in the pricing.... but, someone above wrote about the EMI and I did a recalculation if taking a loan and the heart is trying to win over!!!

The EMI is surprisingly pocket friendly. Go for it! I'm planning to prepay also so should be able to wrap it up within 2 years, I think. After that, it's all mine .

Last edited by pepega : 10th October 2023 at 21:03. Reason: Added response to another post.
pepega is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 23:13   #2069

I have done 3700 kms and loving every bit of it. The narrow width makes it a true go anywhere vehicle. MT acceleration is not that bad at higher RPM for a sedate driver. Many strangers have questions - a common one being “is it diesel?”. Guy at a petrol pump helpfully added “Maruti ko aur kuch nahi mila to chota Thar bana diya”. I just smile back.

Point is, it will take some time for more people to appreciate a well engineered and capable small SUV. Size will continue to matter. But the vehicle isn’t that bad for the money spent. May be some dealers are trying to roatate the cash for more popular vehicles in festive season. Would be surprised if Maruti slash prices so soon. I hope they give existing owners some money back in that case
IB290 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th October 2023, 20:30   #2070

Originally Posted by INDIAN_VAGABOND View Post
Does the Jimny require MLD retrofitment ?
If YES, is the Eaton MLD compatible with Jimny ?
You don’t need MLD with the BLD present in any car - it is either/or not both. The Eaton is not compatible with any Suzuki cars with 26 splines axle. It may work with the Mahindra Thars though.

Last edited by Aditya : 12th October 2023 at 06:16. Reason: As requested