Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Official New Car Reviews
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 20th September 2023, 01:40   #1951
Distinguished - BHPian

Re: Maruti Jimny Review

Got to drive an Alpha Manual for quite some distance.

Nexa sales staffs were courteous and pretty eager to show the car.

A small fun part to begin with.

The sales guy : Sir, four Team-Bhp members came and test drove this car few days back, & they certified this car, so you should not have any doubts regarding this car.

Me: What is Team-Bhp?

The sales guy : Sir, that's a very renowned automotive magazine.

Me : How can people be a member of a magazine?

The sales guy : Sir, you can Google about Team-Bhp. They are quite big, and popular. If a Team-Bhp member certifies a car, you can buy that car eyes closed.

Me : Great, let's go for the test drive then.

The sales guy : I can only give you a couple of kilometers test drive.

Me : But I am not an expert like the Team-Bhp members. So I need a longer TD to understand the car. Can I get a longer TD?

The sales guy- Okay Sir, let me take an approval then.

Me : Thank you.

The TD car-

Maruti Jimny Review-img_7201.jpg

Everything has been shared about the Jimny umpteen number of times, but still am sharing my bit.
The drive was with three people on board.

Few on-road observations-

The gear lever vibrates while starting the car.

The clutch is light and the clutch travel is perfect, it's not too long or too short.

Slotting the first gear was not seamless, had to push it a bit hard. Rest of the gears including the reverse were fine.

By no means it's a fast car. When pushed hard, the engine makes sound, but it takes it's own sweet time to build speed.

Best to drive it in a relaxed way. Give some time to reach 90-110 km/hr, then this car can cruise at this speed for the whole day.

The low end power delivery is good. The car climbed a small incline in 1st gear without touching the accelerator.