Old 22nd October 2024, 08:31   #526

Re: Maruti Fronx Review

Originally Posted by VRSriram View Post
Can you give breakup of 142660 discount?
The dealer didn't really break it down and I didn't ask, so I don't really know the exact breakup.
What I know is I was offered ~50k discount in my first visit, another ~40k at the time of booking, and another ~50k while upgrading the varient from 1.2NA to Turbo.
sagkag is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 08:36   #527

As promised, the dealership experience review has been posted here (Nexa Dealership Review: Buying Maruti Fronx from Nanda Automobiles, Ahmedabad).
Old 29th October 2024, 16:44   #528

Can any Fronx Turbo owner confirm if they practice the '30-seconds idling rule' when starting and ending their trip? I couldn't find anything in the user manual recommending any kind of idling.

Regardless of whether it's recommended in the manual or not, I practice idling at the START of the trip. I take this time to wear the seat belt, tune-in music, start navigation etc.

However while ending the trip, as soon as I reach my parking spot and the car comes to a halt, the engine cuts off automatically due to the 'Auto Start-Stop' system. Is the turbo being lubricated during this time?
Old 29th October 2024, 18:53   #529

Originally Posted by sagkag View Post
Can any Fronx Turbo owner confirm if they practice the '30-seconds idling rule' when starting and ending their trip? I couldn't find anything in the user manual recommending any kind of idling...
Some 'time-tested wisdom' deserves to be left behind in time.

There may be a little benefit in idling a turbo engine after a high-revs run to let the turbo spin down and stay lubricated instead of abruptly shutting it down, but at startup, it's best to drive away immediately.

It helps far more to drive a bit conservatively for the initial few kms while the engine and fluids get up to operating temp, rather than letting it idle and cause more wear & tear because fluids will take longer to warm up at idle, and lack of lubrication means more wear & tear, not less.
Chetan_Rao is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th October 2024, 19:22   #530

Originally Posted by sagkag View Post
Can any Fronx Turbo owner confirm if they practice the '30-seconds idling rule' when starting and ending their trip?
IMHO, idling engine revv when starting a car is always a good practice irrespective of its turbo or regular engine. I practice this even on my 2018 Swift every morning although its a regular NA engine.
rohitkm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2024, 09:38   #531

Do the AMT versions get cruise control? I can see only for the booster jet engine version gets cruise control in the brochure. I think the Baleno AMT gets cruise control. Can anyone confirm?

Old 3rd November 2024, 16:48   #532

Hi all Fronx owners,

After one year I am seeing rust on both the front wheel hubs holding component. I have not seen this kind of rust in my 15 year old Alto. Is this normal or some issue with the Maruti Suzuki suppliers of this component?

I have used Meguiar's Rim and Wheel cleaner 3 to 4 times to clean the painted alloys wheels. I hope this will not cause this kind of rusting.

Please see the photos below:

Right side
Maruti Fronx Review-img20241103162536.jpg
Maruti Fronx Review-img20241103162738.jpg

Left side
Maruti Fronx Review-img20241103162606.jpg
Maruti Fronx Review-img20241103162751.jpg

Mods: Please move this to a different thread with relevant title if necessary.
Old 16th November 2024, 15:19   #533

Yesterday Fronx Turbo did her first long-distance outing. Delhi-Khatu Shyam Ji mandir, Rajasthan - Agra - Delhi (800+ km round trip).

Pros.
  • Excellent Mileage
  • Excellent bottom and mid-range power output.
  • Good straight-line stability in triple-digit speeds.
  • Short-throw gearshifts with light clutch.
  • Excellent Cruise Control calibration—80% of the trip was in Cruise Control set speed. (My first drive with Cruise Control, and I'm sold on it.)
  • Neutral ride and handling
  • Good brakes.
Cons.
  • Pathetic headlights Only good for city driving and dark roads. With oncoming traffic, it's a nightmare.
  • Steering is light and weighs well through high speeds. But the steering has an overweight feeling, and it's a bit too hard compared to my Figo EPS.
  • Quick lane changes and high-speed corners reveal the rear bulk and heaviness.
  • A speedy and functional car but not an enthusiast's delight like the Figo.
90% of the drive was through excellent to good roads. I am so amazed and surprised by Cruise Control functionality and the mileage it provides. The right leg function was to brake and some acceleration input if required (rarely). Just tap the CC button, voila! car is back into the set speed. After driving 800+ km, there was no fatigue at all. The entire Yamuna Expressway was done with 100% CC. First set the speed at 80 kmph, and mileage gradually jumped to 26 KMPL, but 80 kmph was too slow for the expressway. After a few km, I increased it to 99 kmph, and mileage was hovering around 21 KMPL. (Expressway speed cameras were flashing 95 kmph on my 99 kmph CC.)

Maruti Fronx Review-img_20241115_192723.jpg

Maruti Fronx Review-img_20241115_194459.jpg

The final mileage figure stands at 21 kmpl while turning the car off back home. Me and my cousin were looking at each other in disbelief.

I had already put Taisor on my wishlist for my Beat replacement next year. I hope C3 gets a 360-degree camera by then.

myavu is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 19th November 2024, 15:55   #534

Originally Posted by myavu View Post
Yesterday Fronx Turbo did her first long-distance outing. Delhi-Khatu Shyam Ji mandir, Rajasthan - Agra - Delhi (800+ km round trip).
20+ mileage with the turbo engine seems absolutely fantastic.

Last edited by vb-saan : 19th November 2024 at 16:00. Reason: Please avoid quoting a full long post. Thank you!
Rajeshkumark82 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st November 2024, 14:43   #535

Originally Posted by myavu View Post
...But the steering has an overweight feeling...

...The final mileage figure stands at 21 kmpl while turning the car off back home..
I can confirm these.

I took my Fronx Turbo on a 250+ km highway drive during the first month of purchase. It wasn't an expressway, just the usual 4-lane highway and I managed to get 21 kmpl. However the MID are a bit optimistic and full tank-to-tank method would usually show a lower figure.

Can also confirm the steering being on a heavier side. I thought I was the only one having this feeling. I found my old Hyundai Accent steering to be lighter and more comfortable than this.
sagkag is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st November 2024, 15:43   #536

Originally Posted by bobbyblr View Post
Hi all Fronx owners,

After one year I am seeing rust on both the front wheel hubs holding component. I have not seen this kind of rust in my 15 year old Alto. Is this normal or some issue with the Maruti Suzuki suppliers of this component?
That looks like surface rust. Most driveline components are made from cast iron and rust away. It is not of great concern. Most cars have rusted drive shafts. Even freshly rolled off cars.
blogslogger is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 21st November 2024, 16:45   #537

Originally Posted by blogslogger View Post
That looks like surface rust. Most driveline components are made from cast iron and rust away. It is not of great concern. Most cars have rusted drive shafts. Even freshly rolled off cars.
Thanks for the reply.

I sent an email to the service center earlier this month where I have been getting my Fronx serviced from. They too called me and also replied to my email saying its a surface rust.
We have noted your concern regarding the rusting on the steering knuckle. Please be assured that the steering knuckle is made from cast iron, and this type of surface rust is normal. It will not affect the performance or safety of your vehicle while driving.
So I don't know if the cast iron steering knuckles are coated with some protection like zinc and if the Meguiar's Rim and Wheel cleaner might have removed the protection coating.
Old 23rd November 2024, 19:10   #538

Took a test drive of Turbo AT today. When I started the car, I could feel the engine vibrations inside including the steering. The vibrations didn't settle down until I moved the car. And I felt noise too. SA said that this is an issue only with the TD vehicle as it has not been serviced for months.

Can Fronx Turbo AT confirm whether the vibrations are felt inside when starting/idling the car?
gopalnt is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 22:12   #539

Originally Posted by bobbyblr View Post

[*]Pathetic headlights Only good for city driving and dark roads. With oncoming traffic, it's a nightmare.
Unfortunately, there is currently no upgrade option available for LED multi reflector headlamps, making the experience especially difficult on rainy days on the highway, where visibility suffers the most.
Old 4th December 2024, 18:06   #540

To all car lovers and driving aficionados, this one's for you.

introduction

Ever since I got my drivers license, my zippy little Honda brio (nicknamed Lola) had been the heart and soul of driving for me, its peppy 1.2L I-vtec offering simplicity, reliability, and a linear power delivery that I as an enthusiast cherished dearly.

This wasn’t just a switch in engine types; it was a transformation in the way I experienced driving.

My intent of sharing this story is to share my personal journey, the factors that influenced my decision and the lessons I learned along the way. With this in mind, let’s start with as to why I made the shift.

What I loved about my Honda Brio: Being a Honda, its user friendly design, ergonomics and the sheer ease of using it in a traffic infested city is what led me to choose that as my first car.

Maruti Fronx Review-brio-1.jpg

The youthful spirit within me quickly swapped the OEM air filter with a performance BMC unit, HKS free flow exhaust and blacked out the rims and chrome bits for a sportier look. The unique design of the Brio, now with the rumble and roar of the exhaust made me stand out from the common traffic in our college parking lot.

Having a NA, high revving manual with a lightweight structure to it, as my first car, helped me hone my driving technique, to a point where I could be one with the car and understand its boundaries and mine. Everything from a heel and toe, to a j-turn and controlling oversteer on a loose surface, and what’s better than a Honda to do this on?

Maruti Fronx Review-brio-2.jpg

The challenges I faced?

Like Jeremy Clarkson says, for a car to be great, it has to have a flaw. Unfortunately, while I loved my Brio, my needs of travel gradually changed

- The space constraint : though it had a quirky design, the Brio’s restricted bootspace (175ltrs) made my frequent travel from Goa to Belgaum felt like travelling with my clothes and food in a handbag
- Being a student who’s from Goa, but studies in Belgaum, I travel quite frequently to my home (3-4 times a month, 130 km commute one way). The condition of the roads was dismal and hurting to the car, every journey I took had been tainted with rubbing and scraping the underbody, and the chin of my bumper
- The suspension: though it was quite compliant over small uneven surfaces, it was incredibly brittle and broke components quite easily
- Safety: the Brio being Honda's take on a budget car, had a very moderate safety rating the absence of some Modern day features like 6 airbags and traction control might have helped in some instances during rainy travel

Maruti Fronx Review-brio-3.jpg

The continuous pain of the car and the financial burden of fixing it was the turning point for me to consider switching cars.

I scourged through auto-retail shops, online platforms and even considering buying 0 odometer cars with the following criteria’s
- A powerful engine
- Good handling
- Reliable
- Safe
- A good ride height and good/complaint suspension

With these in mind, I short listed multiple cars which included the Ford EcoSport, the Honda WR-V, the Korean siblings (Venue and Sonet) and the Suzuki Jimny and the Suzuki Fronx

The car I chose and why?

I ended up purchasing a 2nd hand Suzuki Fronx with only 7000kms on the odometer. Equipped with the 1.0 Boosterjet engine paired to a 5 speed MT, it ticked off all of my boxes.

The decision making process: The Koreans equipped with the diesel engines were too expensive of a purchase and the petrol engines, though blessed with power were not economical from a fuel perspective, the Ford had me concerned about the availability of parts and the WR-V simply didn’t have enough 'oomph' under the hood, all these niggles led me straight to the Suzuki Fronx . The comfort and ease of bumper to bumper driving in heavy traffic added with its practically in day to day use had me stunned.

Though the sale of my beloved Brio had me shattered and made letting it go a very emotional roller coaster, my Fronx has managed to not only replicate what the Brio meant for me, but also elevate it to a level where it’s giving me incredible driving thrill, pleasure and satisfaction.

I have owned the Fronx for 2 months and I’ve been able to immediately highlight the benefits of it. Yes the fuel efficiency took a small hit, having dropped from the consistent mileage of 12-14 in the Brio to a fluctuating 9-13 in the Fronx. The added ground clearance has been a huge boon to my travels and relived my mind off the stress of scraping my bumpers.

Maruti Fronx Review-fronx-2.jpg

Conclusion

Reflecting on my decision, there are moments where the juvenile motorhead in me wants a sedan or a hatchback in a world of SUVs and crossovers, getting into a modern car with its coupe like styling and a stonker of an engine under the hood every morning gets the rpms of my *heart*racing*.

Maruti Fronx Review-fronx-1.jpg

Last edited by Aditya : 5th December 2024 at 18:47. Reason: Post formatting
Vtechkickinyo! is offline   (36) Thanks