Old 19th November 2023, 18:06   #631

Re: 2023 Hyundai Verna Review

Just came back from a short Mahabaleshwar trip. The Verna proved its worth all along, with effortless performance on the highways and hills. Unfortunately the sheer volume of cars, and the highly inefficient Panchgani municipal tax collection ensured that there were long queues stretching over a km into the Pasarni ghat. So that put paid to whatever efficiency the car showed in thru the majority of the outbound trip, but it thankfully redeemed itself in the Panchgani- Mahabaleshwar area. On the way back, inspite of moderate traffic ( everyone rushing back to their homes for the WC final) , the car showed great fuel efficiency:
2023 Hyundai Verna Review-20231119_121215.jpg

See the indicated efficiency shown at the end of the trip. Mind you, I wasn't exactly light on the pedal. These are almost diesel like numbers!
With this trip, my Verna also completed its first 1000 km. This is a proper mile muncher, a highway car that you can just throw your 2 day backpack and camera bag into and head out on the open roads.

Last edited by manson : 29th December 2023 at 08:51. Reason: Rearranged attachment. Please use the insert picture tab below the test you intend to have the picture.
fhdowntheline is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 19th November 2023, 19:27   #632

Originally Posted by fhdowntheline View Post
Just came back from a short Mahabaleshwar. On the way back, despite moderate traffic ( everyone rushing back to their homes for the WC final), the car showed great fuel efficiency.
What was the drive mode? Normal or Eco? Yesterday I tried eco for Delhi -Noida- Delhi during a peak traffic trip and got 14.5 Km/l on the odometer
Old 19th November 2023, 20:35   #633

Originally Posted by greyhound82 View Post
What was the drive mode? Normal or Eco? Yesterday I tried eco for Delhi -Noida- Delhi during a peak traffic trip and got 14.5 Km/l on the odometer
Normal all the way. Never tried Eco thus far, Sports mode only momentarily a few days ago to demo it to my wife who promptly protested to revert back to Normal.
fhdowntheline is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 19th November 2023, 21:45   #634

After 1 week of contemplating what add ons to do on my car, finally gave the car for the foll:

1. Full car ceramic coating (3 coats on bonnet and roof, 2 elsewhere. Every 6 months a compound will be used for coating. Its not the same ceramic coat top up)
2. 10 pc PPF (Garware 200 micron)
3. Alloy wheels ceramic coat (complimentary)
4. Some hydro treatment for windshield (complimentary)
5. Underbody 3M anti rust with 5yr warranty
6. 3M Silencer coating with 2 yr warranty

All for 28000 + GST under some Diwali offer
Old 20th November 2023, 06:29   #635

I will be taking delivery of my 1.5 TGDI Verna DCT on 2nd December and will be immediately embarking on a road trip to Coorg-Murudeshwar-Goa from Mumbai post the delivery.

Therefore I will be completing the 1000 km run when I reach Bengaluru on the 3rd and will have to get the mandatory inspection done there. I have kept 4th free for this purpose since I am not sure how long they would take for this inspection. My travel from Bengaluru would be towards Mysuru on the 5th so I would likely be staying somewhere on the outskirts where I hopefully don't have to enter the city.

Since I am not familiar with the dealers / workshops in Bengaluru, I would appreciate if someone from Bengaluru could recommend a good Workshop and Advisor with whom I can connect and get the inspection done.

If I can get the details, I would like to fix the appointment before I leave from Mumbai.

Any help in this regard would be highly appreciated.

Old 20th November 2023, 20:00   #636

Greetings!

Wondering what fuel do you guys fill the car with? I drive a Turbo DCT and normally fill with normal petrol from IOCL and use XP95 for long trips. I don't notice a big difference at high speeds per say but can definitely notice the engine running smooth at city speeds especially in first and second gear. Regarding the mileage i seem to get a better efficiency out of normal fuel by 1-2 Km/L.

What about shell petrol? I have never tried it before. Does it yield in better drivability/ efficiency?

I know the fuel quality differs with different pumps and cities but I'm just curious.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 20th November 2023 at 20:46. Reason: spacing for improved readability
Old 20th November 2023, 22:53   #637

Normal all the way. Never tried Eco thus far, Sports mode only momentarily a few days ago to demo it to my wife who promptly protested to revert back to Normal.
I tried Eco mode on the Ghat section while returning from Mangalore to Bangalore and it definitely yields a better mileage than normal mode. I could get around 13 kmpl on the ghats which I feel is very good. While it limits quick overtakes and can get boring, it is still good enough to drive at a 100 kmph speed in a relaxed manner.
PeteKing75 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st November 2023, 05:51   #638

Originally Posted by amg5610 View Post
Greetings!

Wondering what fuel do you guys fill the car with? I drive a Turbo DCT and normally fill with normal petrol from IOCL and use XP95 for long trips.
I am using standard petrol from HP. I filled up Shell initially on the day of delivery since it was the closest to the dealership, but not since then. Another thing I have been told by Hyundai is that its more important to use the same source consistently, rather than the grade of fuel, that helps the engine stay smoother.

Last edited by manson : 29th December 2023 at 08:52. Reason: Trimmed quote.
fhdowntheline is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 21st November 2023, 06:52   #639

I am using standard petrol from HP.
I have been using XP95 from day 1 and theoretically as the engine is tuned for 91 octane, it seems I am not getting much advantage on using a higher octane in fuel efficiency. I felt XP95 was a tad better in terms of smoothness.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 24th November 2023 at 16:18. Reason: Punctuation.
greyhound82 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2023, 11:14   #640

The Verna price range is so tightly packed that only a lac or two separates the mid and top variants. If you can stretch slightly, go for the DCT. If your heart is yearning for it, and you compromise on the IVT, you will regret it. Most of us have been there. I am getting decent mileage in moderate traffic approx 11-13 kmpl. On highways it is a fantastic mile muncher if you keep it at sane speeds( 17kmpl plus is often observed). All that extra power is not for outright maniacal driving but using it when you need to, effortlessly, as in quick overtakes under various conditions. The sheer confidence of doing that safely is worth the money.
Originally Posted by amitmk View Post
I also bought the DCT and would recommend it. Mileage in Mumbai traffic is 6.5-7.5 kmpl when I do like 11 kms in 40 mins. Same thing without traffic is 13 kmpl over 20 mins. This in Normal mode. I guess Eco will give a better mileage. I’m waiting to finish the run-in of 1200 kms to rev it harder on the highways and also use Eco mode. First 1200 kms I’m only doing Normal mode.

Take the ADAS - some of the features are quite useful. And some which are intrusive can be switched off.

I donno if the Hyundai DCT is going to give problems like the VW DSG (I have the Polo and just spent 45k yest on a DSG related issue after 8 yrs of ownership and 30k kms travel) but after driving a DCT the IVT will seem like a downgrade. If you don’t feel that downgrade even the IVT will be a good option.

The Verna was not in my options at all - just took a TD for the heck of it after it got the 5 star NCAP rating and then just found this to be the best package vs the City, Virtus and Slavia.
Thanks for the input guys. I sometimes feel that IVT would make sense as this car will be driven by mom, who will be using this car for her daily commute to her office and her daily usage is 20 Kms a day. And, sometimes, I feel DCT would be an overkill considering her daily usage but still I'd like to have one due to the performance it offers.

My next option apart from the Verna is Virtus 1.0 AT or Honda City CVT (not too keen on getting one as we already own one albeit in Diesel guise and 4th gen) or Seltos IVT/D AT though as I said before, the purchase would happen sometime next year. I guess I'd be expecting better discounts on Verna next year by the time we are in the market for a new car.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 24th November 2023 at 16:23. Reason: Quoted post edited.
Old 22nd November 2023, 11:51   #641

Originally Posted by car_guy1998 View Post
I guess I'd be expecting better discounts on Verna next year by the time we are in the market for a new car.
I would not be optimistic about that, as Hyundai is already selling this as "initial introductory price". If the sales figures are low, then there may be discounts, but I would not bet on it. The top end N Line I20 itself costs almost 16 Lakhs on Road in Bangalore! At its current price point, Verna is great VFM with no big compromises in this segment. All cars are really pricey nowadays or are we getting older?

Last edited by PeteKing75 : 22nd November 2023 at 11:52. Reason: replaced discounted with introductory
PeteKing75 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2023, 11:57   #642

Originally Posted by car_guy1998 View Post

My next option apart from the Verna is Virtus 1.0 AT or Honda City CVT (not too keen on getting one as we already own one albeit in Diesel guise and 4th gen) or Seltos IVT/D AT though as I said before, the purchase would happen sometime next year. I guess I'd be expecting better discounts on Verna next year by the time we are in the market for a new car.
IVT is not a bad option by itself, it has good practical value.You get almost the same specs as a DCT Verna minus the rear discs(the logic of which is beyond me) . But as I said there isnt a huge 4 lac price difference either. And between Seltos and Verna, really you are probably going to pay more for just 20mm ground clearance, otherwise the Verna is equal or better ( esp boot space and rear legroom).

Last edited by fhdowntheline : 22nd November 2023 at 11:59.
fhdowntheline is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2023, 12:11   #643

But as I said there isnt a huge 4 lac price difference either. And between Seltos and Verna, really you are probably going to pay more for just 20mm ground clearance, otherwise the Verna is equal or better ( esp boot space and rear legroom).
I was in the same boat before picking Verna IVT. Compared to Seltos IVT, Verna is definitely from VFM with all the features at a lower price.
TJ02 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2023, 12:44   #644

My car is currently at almost 900 kms.
The drive modes and mileage on my home-office commute.

Normal gets me about 14.5 and Sports returns almost 14. I tried ECO for the first time today and got less than 10. I will stick to Normal as it is comfortable to drive and gives good mileage as well.

I had ordered for a boot mat via my dealership thru the https://hyundaimobisin.com/products/...23/3d-boot-mat

The quality is quite good. When laid out on a sofa, we can truly appreciate the humongous size of this cars boot.

2023 Hyundai Verna Review-ccc1.jpg

2023 Hyundai Verna Review-ccc2.jpg

I also picked up a boot organizer from Amazon:
https://www.amazon.in/gp/product/B08GSNVFGV
2023 Hyundai Verna Review-ccc3.jpg

I park my bike next to the car and prefer keeping my helmets in the boot for easy access.

Last edited by manson : 29th December 2023 at 08:53. Reason: Typo.
bblost is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2023, 15:31   #645

Originally Posted by gpagedar View Post

If I can get the details, I would like to fix the appointment before I leave from Mumbai.
Congrats for your new car!!!

Trident Hyundai & Advaith Hyundai have multiple service centers across the city, both are good. Look for a nearest service center & book the appointment. Trident Service 9844889990 & Advaith Service 9902099944.

Easiest option is book from “My Hyundai India” app.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 24th November 2023 at 16:12. Reason: Typos.
MathanK is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com