Old 27th September 2022, 10:06   #166

Re: Maruti Grand Vitara Review

Bangalore on-road price. Received from my SA.
Maruti Grand Vitara Review-bangalore.png  

skumar is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 27th September 2022, 11:07   #167

HyRyder prices were out a few weeks ago. Baleno doesn't undercut the Glanza, does it? Were we really expecting GV to be priced below the HyRyder?

They have priced it to ensure less bookings for mild hybrid variants. They would love to celebrate and market their success in strong hybrids and the coveted cutting-edge status. Remember they are lagging in the EV space.

I quite like the strong hybrid tech:

1. Range of 1000+ km on a single tank. Return from Nagpur while the green neighbour finds the charging point.

2. Petrol Engine is decoupled from inefficient drivers. Father-in-Law you are most welcome, take the key!

3. Engine better shielded from my 800m cafe rides, from stop-go city traffic or from coolant-leaked kind of scary conditions. Resale value boosted. Longevity/Reliability could be 2x or even 20x (Toyota-insiders please tell us the MTBF statistics).

3. Always working at maximum efficiency. Beat that dear RTOs.

4. Green-ish swag.
Old 27th September 2022, 11:42   #168

Dear BHPians, please share the OTR price list for Delhi. Thank you.
Old 27th September 2022, 13:57   #169

Originally Posted by AnujKapur View Post
I am too pissed with the pricing and i thing it's 2 lakh over priced for Zeta but have no other choice if someone wants car of this size with safety rating of 4 and 6 airbags
I perfectly understand your reasoning and although personally speaking I will be cancelling my booking, the car would fit the bill for a small family of 4 who are not looking to burn the tyres on the road but would rather prefer a fuss free ownership that is economical to run as well. However, my gripe is for someene with the above requirements, a Nexon or xuv300 would be a worthy contender too.
You end up saving quite a bit, plus you get 5* rating with much better performance (xuv300 mainly, Nexon would be decent) and wider rear cabin (Nexon). Yes, you would miss out on 6 air bags (I think xuv300 and Nexon have 4).
But I just dont see the VFM equation that one would normally associate with a Maruti. Looks are subjective, so wont go there.

Last edited by Sheel : 27th September 2022 at 17:04. Reason: Broken quote tag fixed. Thanks.
akannath is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th September 2022, 14:16   #170

Originally Posted by Carzilla View Post
Hence the comments like “if only XL6 was on Global C platform”, ignoring that well it’s not on global C and that does add costs or that XL6 (based on Ertiga) is a MPV and not a true SUV like GV.
Pardon my ignorance but please help me understand how is Grand Vitara mild hybrid without AWD a "true SUV"?
T.S. is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th September 2022, 15:58   #171

Would it make any sense to buy S-cross now?
Anupkumar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th September 2022, 15:59   #172

Looks like Maruti will find it really hard to sell the Strong hybrid with that atrocious pricing. Perhaps their strategy was to price the strong hybrid high to make the regular petrol Vitara as a value deal(which too seems high considering the average specs)

Koreans will be laughing there as there is no real challenge to Creta/Seltos and they are even left with additional room in case they plan to offer their hybrid offerings.

I guess it is better to wait for hybrid to become a mainstream and then the price will start coming down.

I would rather go up a segment than spend 25lakhs on a Maruti (Bangalore OTR)
rajshenoy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th September 2022, 16:03   #173

Yet another launch with absolutely no direct impact on Creta. The sheer number of cars that have been released in and around Creta and still not able to take on them directly is astounding. I mean Hyundai Management should be given the highest of rewards for bringing Creta to India.

Also, the response in Team-Bhp is a clear indication of who MSIL has as the target for Grand Vitara. Ever since the price reveal yesterday, we hardly have had 5 pages of comments. Compare this to the S-Cross launch when we had 5 pages added every 3-4 hours! MSIL is fully aware of the target audience who would want a decent SUV which is safe and a marginal competitor to Creta/Seltos.

In the long run, I feel the MSIL/Toyota Siblings should be able to attract close to 10K units put together.
RaghuVis is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th September 2022, 17:04   #174

On road price received from my RM at Nexa.

Heartbreak pricing, Delta automatic variant I was eyeing for at 16.3 Lacs on road. Suddenly overpriced Seltos and Creta have started looking like VFM options.

I am definitely canceling my booking.

It seems only variant they would sell is Sigma in manual which has everything except Alloys and Music System but as I wanted an Automatic hence its not on my cards.

Look at insurance prices... They make u laugh
Maruti Grand Vitara Review-screenshot_20220927165553_onedrive.jpg  

Old 27th September 2022, 17:14   #175

With the pricing it’s clear Maruti & Toyota aren’t competing with the Koreans they are banking on subsidy or tax benefits which govt may bring in 2023 budget.
XRoader_001 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th September 2022, 18:23   #176

To me it looks like people looking at mid variants of Grand Vitara will simply opt for Brezza. Whereas people looking at higher variants have an option to either choose extremely high fuel efficiency or opt for Creta/Seltos and get powerful engines with much better interior quality. One even has the option to go for something from the above segment altogether at that price.

They could have atleast standardized 6 airbags in all their models for the price they are asking
Silent Buddha is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th September 2022, 22:05   #177

I am going to cancel the AWD variant that I had booked in July.

I'll rather go for Scorpio N or XUV 700 AX5(with a budget bit streched)

Strangely, I am not seeing any booking under my account when I logged into nexa website to cancel it(not sure if it was ever there in first place as I never cared to check).

I have dropped a mail to customer care for the same. Let's see.

Is anyone able to cancel their online booking?
Old 28th September 2022, 00:43   #178

The pricing seems commensurate within Maruti's own frame of Reference. , i.e. as compared to the recently launched Brezza (built on the same platform).

Outside their bubble though, this pricing might put a lot of people in dillema. Definitely not a hands down value proposition.

I was particularly interested in the AllGrip variant and was willing to overlook the lacklustre powertrain it comes with. I genuinely thought this would be the least expensive car that can be had with AWD/4WD. But suppose that's not the case anymore.
Maruti Grand Vitara Review-screenshot_20220928001025_chrome.jpg

Now analyze this-

A- Should one accept the Grand vitara AllGrip with all its flaws and virtues
B- Should one attempt to live with the ScorpioN MT 4WD with that big lumpy Diesel
Or C- Should one embrace that stonker 1.5 TSI in the Taigun GT and make peace with it

Disclaimer: Hardcore offroading enthusiasts-chill. My interest in AWD/4WD is limited to getting out of a few tricky situations here and there. So please don't bash me for comparing the ScorpioN with the Grand Vitara

P.S.: Even though it might not be suitable for my particular use case; couldn't help notice the sheer value the ScorpioN Z4 Diesel MT 4WD brings to the table at that price

Last edited by Romeo_Mike : 28th September 2022 at 00:51.
Romeo_Mike is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 28th September 2022, 00:50   #179

Yes, definitely the prices are on higher side of the spectrum. But, for a person like me who doesn't want to fall into the BS6 diesel issues like DPF and all, the AWD version fits the bill as a tourer. I am a sedate driver and the peace of mind and reliability which MSIL brings to the table, I can't ignore it. Now, the wait begins for the Jimny as there are no petrol AWD available currently in this side of 40 lacs.( I can not opt for a Thar due to practicality issues). I hope Maruti prices the Jimny well and doesn't compromise on the safety features.

Last edited by DrivingNirvana : 28th September 2022 at 00:51. Reason: Added a line more.
Old 28th September 2022, 01:36   #180

Originally Posted by XRoader_001 View Post
With the pricing it’s clear Maruti & Toyota aren’t competing with the Koreans they are banking on subsidy or tax benefits which govt may bring in 2023 budget.
Not sure how the union budget can help. What is needed for lower pricing is a reduction in the GST. That can happen in any council meeting. The union budget's only lever is extending the EV tax break which is anyway not much.