Old 9th April 2024, 19:01   #2101

Re: Skoda Slavia Review

Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
From my initial research, it looks like the 1.5L versions get larger discs(300mm vs 276mm), Brake pads which are almost twice as expensive perhaps bigger(5.7k vs 3.7k) and different calipers. I never faced the brake noise that many were complaining. And the discs in my car look quite huge. Even in pictures, the difference is sort of visible between the two. The 1.5 has a squarish and large caliper while the 1.0 has a more round design. And notice the distance between the caliper to rim. So indeed, the braking hardware between 1.0 and 1.5L cars are different
1.0L engine - Picture courtesy EVO India

Attachment 2331757

1.5L engine - My own car
Attachment 2331758
Could someone please provide guidance regarding the brake pad wear for my 1.5 DSG? My Skoda Slavia has covered 22,000 km over the past 2 years, primarily driven in the city by a chauffeur. My service advisor recommended replacing the front brake pads within the next 1000 km, as only 4.5 mm of depth remains. Is this level of wear normal for VAG DSG cars? Typically, based on my understanding, OEM brake pads should last at least 40-50,000 km.

Last edited by KarthikK : 9th April 2024 at 19:06. Reason: Minor typo correction
Old 9th April 2024, 20:09   #2102

Originally Posted by TechNGearGeek View Post
My Skoda Slavia has covered 22,000 km over the past 2 years, primarily driven in the city by a chauffeur. My service advisor recommended replacing the front brake pads…Typically, based on my understanding, OEM brake pads should last at least 40-50,000 km.
Not a Skoda owner but can confirm that 22-25k life for brake pads is within normal range if the car is driven inside the city.

City driving and a bit enthusiastic acceleration and braking significantly reduce brake pad life.
Old 9th April 2024, 21:51   #2103

Originally Posted by TechNGearGeek View Post
Could someone please provide guidance regarding the brake pad wear for my 1.5 DSG? My Skoda Slavia has covered 22,000 km over the past 2 years, primarily driven in the city by a chauffeur. My service advisor recommended replacing the front brake pads within the next 1000 km, as only 4.5 mm of depth remains. Is this level of wear normal for VAG DSG cars? Typically, based on my understanding, OEM brake pads should last at least 40-50,000 km.
This kind of wear is normal for an AT car in India. You have actually extracted quite a bit of life for a 1.5 L Slavia. I see mine needing replacement at the 15k mark.
Old 10th April 2024, 17:39   #2104

Hello Team BHP Community, I have been reading on this platform from years & I have nothing but appreciation for the motor heads on this platform. My father worked in Daewoo Motors & DCM Toyota for 16 years before I was born & he is the reason I'm fascinated by anything that moves & have an engine. My first car was a 2011 Magna i10 Petrol that honed my driving skills as a novice.

As of Today I own
1.) Skoda Slavia 1.5 MT Ambition 2023 (Brilliant Silver)
2.) Royal Enfield Classic 350 2019 (Stealth Black + Shiny Ceramic Coat)
3.) Mahindra KUV Trip CNG 2019 (Silver)
4.) Mahindra KUV Trip CNG 2018 (White)

I would like to go over the basic accesories & upgrades I've done to my Slavia.

1.) OEM Rubber Floor Mats 2600₹ (8/10)
2.) OEM Sill Plates 900₹ (9/10)
3.) OEM Magnetic Shades 2000₹ (Waste of Money)
4.) OEM Hood Lining 785₹ (8/10)
5.) Autoform Perforated Seat Covers 10,600₹ (9/10) (Bucket Installation & Perforated ones come in a better material)
6.) Autoform Steering Cover 600₹ (10/10)
7.) Dr Artex Damping 4 Sheets 850₹/Sheet (10/10) (Boot & Wheel well)
8.) Avery Dennison Wrap 6,500₹ (7/10) (Roof & ORVM)
9.) 70mai Pro Plus+ A500s Dash Cam 7,800₹ (9/10) (Front Only)
10.) Silaai Ashoka Pillar Sculpture 900₹ (8/10)
11.) Skyvik Truehold Magnetic Phone Holder 800₹ (5/10) (Way too Expensive)
12.) House of Quirk Car Storage 800₹ (10/10)
13.) GFX Bootmat 1700₹ (10/10)
14.) Garware Industrial Window Tint 35% 1400₹ (8/10) (100% UV Rejection & 20-25% IR Rejection)

I also plan to upgrade
1.) Ambition Halogen Headlamps+Halogen Fog Lights to Style LED Headlights+ iPH Fog Lamps M617
2.) 4 Door Double Layer Car Damping & Bonet Single Layer Damping
3.) Continental UC 6 Tires with Lenso Yager Dyna 17 Inch
4.) Interior Controllable Lighting
5.) Lowering Springs
6.) BMW M Style Carbon Fibre Lip Spoiler

I will keep the page posted when complete the remaining things on the list.

I would also appreciate input regarding my upgrade plan. Adding some existing pictures for the time being.

Signing Off, Young Motor Head
- Anmol Singh
Skoda Slavia Review-pxl_20240401_0939391181.jpg  

Skoda Slavia Review-pxl_20240401_142142848.jpg  

Skoda Slavia Review-pxl_20240401_1052271661.jpg  

Skoda Slavia Review-pxl_20240401_105227166.jpg  

Skoda Slavia Review-pxl_20240401_104737882.jpg  

Skoda Slavia Review-pxl_20240322_073813044.jpg  

Skoda Slavia Review-pxl_20240322_073806016.jpg  

Skoda Slavia Review-pxl_20240322_073625566.jpg  

Skoda Slavia Review-pxl_20240322_073612044.jpg  

SinghAnmol2911 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 13th April 2024, 01:03   #2105

Originally Posted by Live.Love.Drive View Post

2. AC effectiveness:

What has worked for me is to not put it in Auto mode.

4. Brake noise:
Again as pointed by many, there is this brake noise issue when we completely halt the car. I don't know the solution for this. Please let me know if I can get rid of this noise

5. Interior Quality:
  • Essentially Skoda has fixed 2 problems found in initial batches i.e the interior door squeaking noise by changing the rubber lining and the EPC error by upgrading the fuel pumps.
  • Other issues like brake noise, weak AC still persist even in the latest lot. Also, since disabling auto AC seems to have solved problem for many, Skoda VW should completely get rid of the Auto AC feature and reduce the price leading to happier end users.
  • Or in the mid lifecycle update, instead of adding ADAS, probably fix a better AC unit and upgrade 1.0 discs with 1.5 ones which don’t seem to have the brake noise issue. Remove those electric seats and reduce the prices a bit to make it even more competitive!
These small but practical changes can help Skoda VW get back the momentum till next product is launched.
sapien is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th April 2024, 09:21   #2106

On a 5,000+ kms trip. Currently at Mangalore. Will post a travelogue once we reach home towards the month end. The journey so far has been very comfortable!

Skoda Slavia Review-baa1c574e4894460a9da956ad615cad3.jpeg

Skoda Slavia Review-img_2309.jpeg

Skoda Slavia Review-img_2302.jpeg

Skoda Slavia Review-img_2293.jpeg

Skoda Slavia Review-img_2199.jpeg
sinharishi is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 16th April 2024, 16:46   #2107

Booked 1.5 DSG Style Candy White.

There are some good discounts going for MY23.

Got a cash discount of 2.4 Lacs, Extended Warranty and Service package free. That almost makes it 3 Lakhs of discount.

However, missing bits would be- Electric Seats, 10 Inch Infotainment and Subwoofer.
Old 17th April 2024, 08:50   #2108

Originally Posted by sudeep.pandya View Post

Got a cash discount of 2.4 Lacs, Extended Warranty and Service package free. That almost makes it 3 Lakhs of discount.

However, missing bits would be- Electric Seats, 10 Inch Infotainment and Subwoofer.
If you are really looking for the 10 inch system, they are now being made available for retrofit online. Apparently it is a straight swap and they will code the infotainment before the swap. I saw this on Insta lately for quite a few Kushaqs and Slavias.
StripleRider03 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th April 2024, 10:32   #2109

Can you share the break-up and final on-road price for your booking?
Old 17th April 2024, 10:36   #2110

Good to know of such high cash discounts. Congratulations.

As a note of caution, Be aware you are dealing with at least of 9 months old car as non-ES variant is of 1st half 2023 baked. Also, Skoda and VW are aggressively marketing Demo and Display cars currently. So, just be cautious while dealing with it.

Is the car already in dealership [yard or showroom] OR coming in from the plant?

Prem.
Old 17th April 2024, 11:43   #2111

Originally Posted by Love4Cars View Post
Can you share the break-up and final on-road price for your booking?
Ex showroom after discounts is coming to - 16.42 Lacs + TCS

Insurance and RTO will be done on my part.

Since, I will be getting the RTO done from GJ (For Tax Saving)

The on-road should come close to 18 Lacs.
Old 17th April 2024, 11:47   #2112

Originally Posted by kaviprem View Post
Good to know of such high cash discounts. Congratulations.

As a note of caution, Be aware you are dealing with at least of 9 months old car as non-ES variant is of 1st half 2023 baked. Also, Skoda and VW are aggressively marketing Demo and Display cars currently. So, just be cautious while dealing with it.

Is the car already in dealership [yard or showroom] OR coming in from the plant?

Prem.
What is ES? This is something new to me.

The car is in Chakan plant and will be dispatched shortly.

The dealership I am dealing with does not get a lot of 1.5 bookings. Therefore, they do not have any 1.5 in their stock. Once the customer is 100% sure about his delivery then only they order the 1.5.
Old 17th April 2024, 12:13   #2113

What is ES? This is something new to me.

The car is in Chakan plant and will be dispatched shortly.

The dealership I am dealing with does not get a lot of 1.5 bookings. Therefore, they do not have any 1.5 in their stock. Once the customer is 100% sure about his delivery then only they order the 1.5.
ES means electric seats

Make sure the dealership is capable of handling and servicing your car. If you can then get an opinion from someone who bought a 1.5 from the same dealer

Happy motoring, wish you enjoy your new ride
dieselteen is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th April 2024, 17:02   #2114

Got the same offer from the Skoda dealer in Ranchi. I bit the bullet and booked one in Carbon Steel which is in Stock at the dealer's end.

They also matched my offer for exchange of my 2017 Verna petrol manual. Awaiting delivery next week.
Old 21st April 2024, 11:15   #2115

Got the delivery last night. Went for a short drive early in the morning and loved it instantly. The engine gearbox is LOVE, I forgot all about the missing features.

Sharing some pictures below.
Skoda Slavia Review-img_5890.jpeg

Skoda Slavia Review-img_5889.jpeg
ashish2135 is offline   (3) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com