I intended to post on this thread today. Yesterday I posted a brief comparison of Tiguan to Kodiaq which can be accessed here
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post5236807 (Scoop! Skoda Kodiaq Facelift prices leaked. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 34.99 lakh)
I currently own Vento 1.2 TSI from 2016 and in the market to buy an SUV for the family of 4 adults and 1 child. This would be in addition to Vento.
Jeep Compass was a serious contender, but when I read and experienced rattles, it was off the list. I really get annoyed by the rattles in my car, call me silly but for this reason, I don't even keep those thermos bottles in the bottle holder.
Coming to Tiguan, while I wont go out of my way and say it was a great experience and I love the car, but to sum up, it was what I was expecting. Pictures and videos somehow seriously does not justify the ambience / interiors of Tiguan, you really have to see it in person, it definitely looks and feel premium.
The drive - It wasn't as much fun like an Octavia, nor I was expecting it to, but still very impressive. The engine and gearbox combination is a gem and felt very composed at 3 digit speed. Undulation did not make its way into the cabin. Steering lacks the feel but weighs up nicely when you speed. North of 30km/hr, suspension behaves beautifully dealing with bumps and pot holes, and at slow speeds, its acceptable. Coming from Vento, I really cant tell much difference on speed bumps. Also, I asked the Sales person to drive slow on a bad stretch of road so I can feel the suspension from the back seat, must say I thought I would be tossed around, and to my surprise, I was comfortable. Nutshell, very impressive and expected drive experience.
Interiors - Post watching ton of videos on YouTube, me and the missus were disappointed. But when we saw it in person, were pleasantly surprised. We are looking for a darker interiors in our next car, and this one looks nice. In terms of dashboard layout, I love the way Jeep compass model S looks, but I could see Tiguan interiors growing on me. In my comparison post, I have listed that I will thoroughly miss the wireless carplay, but I heard Belkin will launch the dongle soon that will take care of this issue. Cabin felt really spacious for our needs, from the headroom, to the shoulder room, and the leg space, no concerns at all, infact very happy with it. Jeep compass felt cramped from the back seat. In the entire test drive, my daughter kept staring at the sky and the skyscrapers is when I realized I need panoramic sunroof. Overall, I like it.
Infotainment, Digital cockpit, Speakers - These days I like the floating infotainment vs the integrated. Infotainment was atleast 2 inch smaller than the market standards, even for cars under 20lacs, hence was disappointed. Infotainment is very slick and quick to respond. I experienced the wired Apple carplay and it was ok, no complains, but wont match the look and feel of Jeep Compass infotainment.
Digital cockpit was easy to operate with the steering mounted controls, screen resolution was amazing, tons of information available, I will go out of my way to say that this cockpit is the best one I have experienced for cars under 50lacs.
8 speaker sound system is loud, does not distort, has a nice bass. If I rate Jeep Compass model S 9 speaker Alpine sound system 9/10, this one is for sure is 8/10 (and I felt it is same for the Kodiaq). My personal favorite in this segment is the one in Jeep Compass model S. At first, I was not impressed, but when I set up the equalizer to my liking, viola! I played various genres and all sounded well.
Practicality - From the driver's seat, ergonomics is good, seats were comfortable, enough storage compartments. As I stated in my other post, I like the front passenger folding backrest function.
Things I will miss if I were to buy - Ventilated seats - I first experienced it in Seltos couple years back and I loved it. But I'm ready to live without it
Wireless Apple carplay and Android music - Sad part is, if I were to buy now, and they launch the 9 inch infotainment next year with this feature, I will really regret it. VW - You have this tech in the outgoing model outside India since last few years, why would you not bring it?
Rear Window blinds - Since the magnetic ones are part of Essential accessory that will come with the car, I'm ok with it. Though I would have loved to not carry that, I guess I will keep them on the rear parcel tray (hope it does not rattle
else it's a waste)
Physical knob for Climate control - Calling it out, but not a dealbreaker for me
The looks of Kodiaq - Boy it (Kodiaq) looks handsome. I smile everytime I look at it.
Now the decision making - Though I can stretch for X1 or GLA, I really struggle to what it has to offer more than Kodiaq and Tiguan except for that image. There are no real deal breaker for me with Tiguan and it feels like a right upgrade from my Vento. What I'm stuck with is - between the Kodiaq and the Tiguan. Mind out rightly suggest Tiguan, though I really love the styling of Kodiaq. But is it worth 9lacs more, probably not. I will keep you all posted.