Old 11th September 2024, 13:41   #10816

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Hi, I own a 2023 Ax7 diesel AT.
I turned off auto breaking which also turns off adaptive cruise control but now i dont see any way to use normal cruise control.
Is this the case Auto Breaking off = no cruise control or am i missing something?
Old 11th September 2024, 21:24   #10817

Originally Posted by sudhirjaipur View Post
Regarding the Fastag, you mean the passenger side upper left corner?
Can you please also let me know the routing of the camera to Fuse Box and camera to Rear Camera wiring. Thanks

Please check this video from ChrisFix on how to route the wires if you have a car with side curtain airbags.

Key takeaways are :

- Make sure the wires do not block or hinder the deployment of airbags.
- Be mindful on how the route the wire on the A-pillar.
- Route the rear camera wire close to the floor.

Is the A510 camera rear wire long enough to route like he shows in the video?

Last edited by rroy92 : 11th September 2024 at 21:27.
rroy92 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 23:29   #10818

Originally Posted by rroy92 View Post
Please check this video from ChrisFix on how to route the wires if you have a car with side curtain airbags.

https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=lQtZF0g51Ak&t=1198s

Key takeaways are :

- Make sure the wires do not block or hinder the deployment of airbags.
- Be mindful on how the route the wire on the A-pillar.
- Route the rear camera wire close to the floor.

Is the A510 camera rear wire long enough to route like he shows in the video?
Hi Roy. This was one of the videos I referenced when planning my dashcam installation.

I can confirm that the A510 wire is plenty long for the XUV700.

I have documented my dashcam installation experience in a new thread over in the DIY section.
OrthodocX is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th September 2024, 23:31   #10819

Originally Posted by OrthodocX View Post
Yes Sudhir, passenger side upper corner.

As for the installation, I'm getting so many DMs and personal messages, i thin I'll just pen down a tutorial (or at least my DIY experience). Will add all the details there.
Here you go Sudhir: https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-d...ml#post5840293
OrthodocX is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th September 2024, 18:03   #10820

Originally Posted by automash View Post
Hi, I own a 2023 Ax7 diesel AT.
I turned off auto breaking which also turns off adaptive cruise control but now i dont see any way to use normal cruise control.
Is this the case Auto Breaking off = no cruise control or am i missing something?
Yes, if you turn off AEBS you cannot use adaptive cruise control and there is no normal cruise control option.
rs_cockpit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th September 2024, 19:26   #10821

Originally Posted by rs_cockpit View Post
Yes, if you turn off AEBS you cannot use adaptive cruise control and there is no normal cruise control option.
Is ACC usable if AEBS is kept in warning mode on highway? My guess this is not possible.
Does XUV have any button which can be used to turn AEBS on/off with single click?
Does infotainment have custom user profile to save ADAS settings and switch to those profiles?
kgt.v8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th September 2024, 22:31   #10822

Originally Posted by himanshu_trikha View Post
I raised this with Mahindra and got a reply to use 95 RON only and Minimum (yes minimum ) 10% Ethanol and Max 20% Ethanol.
Finally I got a reply for different Min Octane rating requires for Manual and AT Petrol Variants

We had implemented a high compression ratio engine with injectors from a different supplier in AT XUV 7OO Gasoline. This is the reason for recommending Min RON as 95. These injectors are capable of working with E20 fuel. This was done to improve fuel economy of AT vehicles. It may be noted the performance characteristics of MT and AT Engines are pretty much similar and they were officially certified by ARAI.

As MT engine’s compression ratio is lower it can work with Min RON of 91.

Just for your information, as part of legislation that is effective from 1st April 2025, all gasoline engines need to have compatibility with E20 fuel. So we would be implementing engines that would have same fuel specifications of Min RON of 95 and E20. To achieve this, we would be standardising the fuel injection equipment between MT and AT engines

Unquote

Any observations from fellow members !!!

Last edited by himanshu_trikha : 12th September 2024 at 22:32. Reason: Added a line
himanshu_trikha is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 13th September 2024, 10:16   #10823

Originally Posted by kgt.v8 View Post
Is ACC usable if AEBS is kept in warning mode on highway? My guess this is not possible.
Does XUV have any button which can be used to turn AEBS on/off with single click?
Does infotainment have custom user profile to save ADAS settings and switch to those profiles?
I don't think any of this is possible/available.

Why do you want to turn off AEBS? Unlike other cars, XUV700 has probably the best calibrated AEBS. It hardly ever interferes with your driving; most of the times it warns of impending collision and breaks only when really necessary. This again can be fine tuned to warn you late (as opposed to normal and early)

There could be a few false warnings, but I would take that any day if it meant avoiding a minor/major collision when it really matters.

In the 1.5 years of owning the car, I have had about 70-80 collision warnings (Level 1&2) and braked automatically only couple of times.

Is ACC usable if AEBS is kept in warning mode on highway?
I would kind of understand if you want to turn it off in city driving conditions but I don't know why you would want to turn it off in highways?

I would suggest and highly recommend to keep the AEB 'on' all the time both in city and highways.
amahale is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 13th September 2024, 12:02   #10824

Originally Posted by HillMan View Post
Mine is a Diesel MT
I like to use Zip mode within city usually I switch over in traffic and stay in that mode. It is able to move the vehicle easily in 1 & 2nd gear without pressing the accelerator and that's a boon in slow moving stop and go traffic. Only clutch and brake.
Do you own AX7 manual? If yes, then can you provide any feedback on Emergency Brake working in manual. My assumption is that if AEBS stops the car and if the car has manual transmission, the car will most likely stall.

Originally Posted by amahale View Post
Why do you want to turn off AEBS? Unlike other cars, XUV700 has probably the best calibrated AEBS. It hardly ever interferes with your driving; most of the times it warns of impending collision and breaks only when really necessary.

In the 1.5 years of owning the car, I have had about 70-80 collision warnings (Level 1&2) and braked automatically only couple of times.
I would like to keep AEBS switched on during highway drives. Your feedback on AEBS is reassuring and I would prefer to keep AEBS always on if does not interfere in city conditions. I got AEBS beeping once in my test drive when a scooter suddenly crossed from left to right, AEBS did not brake as I applied brakes as soon as I heard the beep and saw the scooter.

I am in the finalizing between AX7 Diesel automatic (₹21.59 lakh ex-showroom) or AX7L Diesel Manual (₹22.49 lakh ex-showroom) as I cannot extend beyond ₹23lakh due to external limitations.
Heart says go for AX7 Diesel automatic and enjoy convenience of smart pilot, lane keep assist, ACC on highways and automatic in city drives and get aftermarket 360 degree camera if needed in future.
Head says go for AX7L Diesel manual and use 360 degree camera, blind view monitor and ventilated seats while losing on convenience of an automatic. I plan to retain the car for at least 10 years, so I will be taking one more test drive of both manual and automatic and test drive in city bumper to bumper traffic and highway (if possible).
kgt.v8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th September 2024, 13:59   #10825

Do you own AX7 manual? If yes, then can you provide any feedback on Emergency Brake working in manual. My assumption is that if AEBS stops the car and if the car has manual transmission, the car will most likely stall.
Mine is a AX5 without the ADAS bells and whistles.
Even in mine there are a few features where the computer controls the braking. Like hill descent control is one. It does use brakes to slow down if engine is unable to hold back the speed. It also works like a cruise control on downhill.

So I assume in AEBS on AX7 will work best on highway and will slow down with the vehicle ahead. It would be best for someone with AX7 manual to try in a safe way and provide a review. Ideally it should slow down and add braking force when the driver is already pressing the brakes. It is safer to stall then hit someone.
HillMan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th September 2024, 16:37   #10826

Jojo wheels has explained the ADAS features in Manual. Jump to 4:15s about AEBS.

Last edited by HillMan : 13th September 2024 at 16:39.
HillMan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2024, 11:00   #10827

Originally Posted by blackdiesel View Post

Did you have a "rat mesh' in your XUV earlier? or did you get it installed later on? Rat mesh would block all entries so that rats cannot enter the car from the bottom.
Brother… were you able to find any accessory shop/ dealer who can fit Rat mesh in XUV 700 in bangalore? If yes, can you please share your experience about it?
I have heard that it will void the warranty However I am not sure about it as it is an external accessory.
Old 14th September 2024, 14:46   #10828

Originally Posted by rs_cockpit View Post
Is ACC usable if AEBS is kept in warning mode on highway? My guess this is not possible. - Answer is a big NO.
Does XUV have any button which can be used to turn AEBS on/off with single click? - Answer is again NO.
Does infotainment have custom user profile to save ADAS settings and switch to those profiles? - Probably NO, but I am not sure.

I don't understand why anybody would like to switch off the AEBS in such a big and powerful car. Please note that it is a safety feature and you have paid for it - so use it to the fullest to avoid any untoward situation. Any sane person would obviously like to avaoid a collision on the road with a pedestrian or even an animal by applying the brakes. On such extreme and rare situations where the driver does not have the reaction time to apply the brakes, the AEBS saves the situation - at the cost of slight discomfort to the persons sitting inside the car.

Manual Transmission XUV700 does not have AEBS - it comes only in the AT version.
Sommos is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th September 2024, 17:53   #10829

A bit disturbing news involving an XUV700. https://www.hindustantimes.com/india...294334571.html

The hdfc bank manager and cashier drowned inside their car, XUV700 when they entered a flooded underpass last night in Faridabad.

Here in Hindi version of news (and elsewhere in social media posts) it's mentioned the car doors got locked so they couldn't get out. https://www.timesnowhindi.com/cities...icle-113342758

The horrible tragedy aside, reason am putting this out here is, is it normal for doors to get locked when vehicle is flooding? Is this common to all vehicles or something to do with make/model.

Mods may kindly move this to a more appropriate thread if needed..

thank you

Last edited by vaibhav_a_a : 14th September 2024 at 17:58.
Old 14th September 2024, 18:54   #10830

Originally Posted by vaibhav_a_a View Post
is it normal for doors to get locked when vehicle is flooding? Is this common to all vehicles or something to do with make/model.
In case a car gets submerged in water, the doors become difficult to open due to the water pressure outside the vehicle. In such situations, it’s generally recommended to try to escape through the windows rather than the doors. This applies to all cars, irrespective of make and model.
It's Magic is offline   (1) Thanks