Old 5th January 2022, 14:37   #4021

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Originally Posted by quantobigboot View Post
Hey folks! Planning to take delivery of our XUV soon. Has anyone got the BH registration for their XUV yet? I don't think it has rolled out in Haryana yet. Is their any way to get the BH registration from another state like UP? Will there be any complications?
Should not be issue if state has approved rollout, you can catch-up on latest discussion here - https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...e-another.html (New "BH" series registration | For cars getting transferred from one state to another)
Old 5th January 2022, 20:37   #4022

Originally Posted by mahesh.alse View Post
3) I feel the gear changes are not optimal in Automatic. You need to be over 75 KPH to slot to 5th Gear and over 90 KPH to slot into 6th gear.
M&M generally tune their powertrains for responsiveness over fuel efficiency. . Since traditionally the Scorpio and XUV were the flagship SUV of the group, and Scorpio/XUV drivers demanded.power on tap at any time. They tended to be aggressive with overtaking and sort of wanting to dominate the road. This meant the vehicle had to ready to move fast, and cannot afford to be a slouch due to turbo lag and the time needed to spool up the engine from low revs. It is sort of the personality of the majority of buyers of these vehicles - even today, I find many Scorpios muscling their way into the traffic using their size and agility to full advantage! M&M had to respect the needs of such buyers and their SUVs typically are running at a higher RPM at any given speed than comparative models from other stables.

This is especially noticeable in the way the Aisin TC Auto box is tuned in all their SUVs. I have the new Thar AT and it behaves exactly this way. Where a typical car or SUV would slot into the highest gear at 70 KPH or so, my Thar will not do it unless I cross 90. So if I am going at 80, the engine is spinning faster that most other cars going down the highway at the same speed This is because my car is in 5th gear only when they are in their top gear. If I wanted a quick overtake, I just have to put.my foot down and the RPM needle quickly climbs from 1800 to 2200.rpm and whoosh! I am ahead in moments, no time needed for the gear box to downshift and torque to come in. Same applies to slower city driving as well due to lower hearing than normal.

Where this can get irritating is when you are going downhill say in your return from a hill station. You really do not want to use the accelerator at all most of the time and want to rely on the gravity forces to set a reasonable pace. Now the auto box wants to play police and will restrict how high a gear it will use. So when you expect to be using 4th gear with an average speed of 45 kmph, the car will only go up to 3rd gear even with the downward slope and no load on the engine. This will make the whole experience more strained as you can feel the car pulling you back, as the natural speed on 3rd gear for the slope is closer to say 35-30 kph. You will actually have to intervene a lot with the accelerator to try and force it into a higher gear, so that the drive is less strained, but then you will have to go faster than you actually want to.

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 5th January 2022 at 20:59.
84.monsoon is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 5th January 2022, 21:28   #4023

Hi fellow bhpians
Can anyone shed light on the performance petrol manual version of the xuv 700 because I feel this version has not been talked about.

I feel 200hp with a manual is a very good set up for petrol heads!

Any drive review would be appreciated
kamath93suraj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th January 2022, 22:18   #4024

Took delivery of our XUV 700 AX7 Midnight Black today, but ending the day with a bittersweet feeling. So much happened today that it will surely be one of the most eventful day of my life, including the future.
We had reached the dealership at 11 and had informed our dealer about it too. He assured that PDI would hardly take any time and we could take delivery today itself. Upon reaching the showroom, we had to wait for 45 - 50 minutes as the car was being washed before taking PDI. Upon inspection, here is what we see - a clearly visible dent on the fender.
We spoke up to them about it and they tried to convince us to take the delivery today and bring back the car tomorrow for fender replacement. We weren't ready at all to take a damaged vehicle even after paying 20 Lakhs. We asked for a vehicle replacement. They were still asking us to agree upon a changed fender. After many discussions they agreed to give us another AX7 Petrol MT they had in stock.

There was another round of washing and cleaning and rubbing and all that in store for us but the clock had ticked past 1:30 and it was lunch time already. So we sat their waiting passing our time however we could and continuously asking for updates on the car. They also informed us that they wil need an approval from company's end for a change in vehicle and even a verbal approval would suffice; and it wouldn't take long. We had to visit the warehouse/stockyard 2-3 times and coordinate between the sales reps and the workers ourselves to get the car cleaned and more importantly, to remove some marks that looked like scratches. The muhurat had passed long back but we decided to stay put.

They committed to bring the car for delivery in 10 minutes. The 10 minutes turned into 20 and then into 30. Meanwhile, after being satisfied by PDI of the new car, we paid a major chunk of the cost after discussing with the sales rep. And then they informed us that they are still awaiting for an approval. After receiving 75% of the payment.
So they huffed and puffed and by 5:15 car was at the delivery area. Formalities were done and there were some more delays not worth mentioning, we finally took off from the dealership at around 6.

This will probably be one of the very few times I will need to visit them and I hope today was the only one. I am totally happy with the car, it's an excellent package. But I have also realised the reason for the failure of Alturas G4, etc. Why would anyone buy a 35 Lakh product from Mahindra when they take 7 hours (11am - 6pm) for a 2-3 hours job. And their government office attitude is the icing on the cake.
World Class Product, Third Class Sales and Service

Now coming to an incident which almost led to me breaking down -
We practiced utmost care while bringing the beast home, and getting used to the dimensions vis a vis the Quanto. I even got off the car and became its bodyguard when it was parked at a shop. So we did a Puja at the Mandir and entered the society parking lot.

Long story short, someone had occupied our parking space and they handed over the keys to the security guard to park it correctly. We asked the security guard if he could drive their Alto and park it; he said yes. He was clearly clueless about the vehicle when he entered it and we were going to just stop him . But he suddenly shifted the gear to reverse and slammed the accelerator. I screamed and asked him to stop, and now he pressed the A pedal even harder and the Alto was wheelspining like crazy. It was inevitable and it hit the rear of our XUV. Thankfully my father realised quickly and moved the car forward which surely prevented what could have been much worse. The bumper took most of the hit but will check for damages tomorrow. It was almost like I knew this was going to happen yet I couldn't stop it and that is what makes me sad.

That was the story of how we got our XUV700 home after waiting the whole day, babied the car around in the city and then got it smacked for a dent in a 1-out-of-i-don't-know-how-much chance. Planning to explore the car more in the coming days and post an initial report. Thank you for your patience in reading through this.
quantobigboot is offline   (34) Thanks
Old 6th January 2022, 00:57   #4025

As per the daily ritual, went to check the booking status .

And it seems like the dealer has deliberately cancelled my booking without my consent ?

This is happening after months of waiting anxiously.

Thank You Mahindra for everything!!

"Adrenaline rush like never before"
Mahindra XUV700 Review-screenshot_202201060024383.jpg  

D_Security_Guy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th January 2022, 01:10   #4026

Originally Posted by D_Security_Guy View Post

And it seems like the dealer has deliberately cancelled my booking without my consent
Oh boy!! This is crazy! Did this come out of nowhere? Were you in touch with dealer/customer care about your booking and did they initiate this in error?
Old 6th January 2022, 01:21   #4027

Originally Posted by quantobigboot View Post
Took delivery of our XUV 700 AX7 Midnight Black today

That was the story of how we got our XUV700 home after waiting the whole day, babied the car around in the city and then got it smacked for a dent in a 1-out-of-i-don't-know-how-much chance. Planning to explore the car more in the coming days and post an initial report. Thank you for your patience in reading through this.
So sorry to read about this

I think there are the two positives to take out from your ordeal.

1. You got yourself a fabulous product which will give you years and miles of good driving

2. Maybe its God's way of getting you out of a bigger problem. A minor dent can be viewed as an escape from a major possible accident.

It's team BHP, let's all stay positive

Last edited by Aditya : 7th January 2022 at 05:07. Reason: Typo
sudanmohit is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 6th January 2022, 08:49   #4028

And it seems like the dealer has deliberately cancelled my booking without my consent ?

For my Thar booking I was asked to send an email to the dealership in addition to the online cancellation request. Ask them for that email/manual cancellation request from your end. They should be able to reverse this.
Pancham is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th January 2022, 11:35   #4029

Omg, this is such a bummer. I think for cancellation it can only be done via online if we initiate on our own or offline if we email the dealership. If you are sure you have not done it then ask dealer for proof and involve Mahindra customer care.

Keep us posted here
Old 6th January 2022, 12:17   #4030

Yikes. The booking was also done on the 7th of October. So if you book it again, the price protection won't apply either!
Old 6th January 2022, 13:56   #4031

Originally Posted by Sandegov View Post
Oh boy!! This is crazy! Did this come out of nowhere? Were you in touch with dealer/customer care about your booking and did they initiate this in error?
Yes this came out as I was routinely checking the online status (secretly hoping for preponed month of delievery) . The booking was done through dealer after submitting the KYC documents(proactively ) + cheque . I was in touch with the SA (with exchange of forwarded wishes) and contacted him raising this issue.

Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
For my Thar booking I was asked to send an email to the dealership in addition to the online cancellation request. Ask them for that email/manual cancellation request from your end. They should be able to reverse this.
Originally Posted by sam_10 View Post
Omg, this is such a bummer. I think for cancellation it can only be done via online if we initiate on our own or offline if we email the dealership. If you are sure you have not done it then ask dealer for proof and involve Mahindra customer care.

Keep us posted here
I wrote a mail to Customer Care, General Manager of the dealership and Area Sales Manager- Mahindra, with adequate information and asked them to provide a proof if the cancellation is initiated from my end or if I allowed dealership to cancel my booking.

I haven't received any response in the mail.

Though, I was contacted by the customer care manager and was told that "This status is due to a system glitch as they are moving their bookings from one allotment batch and branch to another branch" (I am not sure what does this even mean). As per the SA and CCM , the status should revert to the prior one once they fix the "Technical Issue" at their end .

Originally Posted by ashwin.terminat View Post
Yikes. The booking was also done on the 7th of October. So if you book it again, the price protection won't apply either!
This exactly was the biggest point of concern . If we are made to book afresh, we'll not only loose the price protection of 7th Oct but we'll also be pushed miles at the end of the Queue
D_Security_Guy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th January 2022, 14:28   #4032

Yes this came out as I was routinely checking the online status (secretly hoping for preponed month of delievery) . The booking was done through dealer after submitting the KYC documents(proactively ) + cheque . I was in touch with the SA (with exchange of forwarded wishes) and contacted him raising this issue.

Though, I was contacted by the customer care manager and was told that "This status is due to a system glitch as they are moving their bookings from one allotment batch and branch to another branch" (I am not sure what does this even mean). As per the SA and CCM , the status should revert to the prior one once they fix the "Technical Issue" at their end .
Oh, this is surprising. even i keep checking the status Daily and it hasn't changed from many days.
Keep us posted on any updates you get.

What was your Expected Delivery Date?
Old 7th January 2022, 08:29   #4033

Took delivery of my XUV700 AX5 MT Gasoline yesterday. I couldn’t drive a lot because there’s a night curfew imposed in TN from yesterday. Straight from the showroom, I went to the temple and then came back home.

The initial mileage reads 7.1 kmpl but I will wait for clear figures until the first service is done. Also, I had to drive through heavy traffic last night.

I am planning to go and fit some accessories today. Will be driving for the whole day I guess. So I shall post my thoughts on the vehicle by the EOD.
Mahindra XUV700 Review-bb38e730d917405bbe36085a5f0f64f7.png  

Enthusiast81 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th January 2022, 08:51   #4034

Though, I was contacted by the customer care manager and was told that "This status is due to a system glitch as they are moving their bookings from one allotment batch and branch to another branch" (I am not sure what does this even mean).
I suspect and hope it’s just a case of dealer moving the booking from one branch to another, my case is similar with my online booking showing it against the branch nearest to my address and the financials and booking being handled by the sales rep in their central/main branch. The sales rep keeps mentioning me to ignore it and confirms that my file is with them and the delivery will happen from their main branch (this may require my booking to be transferred to main branch at time of delivery)
Old 7th January 2022, 09:15   #4035

Originally Posted by Enthusiast81 View Post
Took delivery of my XUV700 AX5 MT Gasoline yesterday. I couldn’t drive a lot because there’s a night curfew imposed in TN from yesterday. Straight from the showroom, I went to the temple and then came back home.

The initial mileage reads 7.1 kmpl but I will wait for clear figures until the first service is done. Also, I had to drive through heavy traffic last night.

I am planning to go and fit some accessories today. Will be driving for the whole day I guess. So I shall post my thoughts on the vehicle by the EOD.
Congratulations and welcome to the XUV 700 club.

How did you manage to see all these information for the trip on your Adrenox app? I just see the basic trip details.

Last edited by bill1182 : 7th January 2022 at 09:23.