Old 24th September 2021, 12:09   #616

Re: Volkswagen Taigun Review

Originally Posted by pannags View Post
Here are the prices for Bangalore. Extended warranty & care packages to be separately bought.
Thanks - Would encourage people to share the dealer pricelists across cities.

1. Road Tax workings are incorrect. For eg. 14% of 17.49 is 2.44 and not 3.30

2. Lets compare apples (insurance cost) with Skoda Kushaq 1.5DSG Style, insurance in Mumbai 57K (pls see the attachment)

Why is the insurance cost for Taigun 1.5DSG GT+ higher in both Bangalore (80K) and Chennai (66K) quotation shared earlier? In fact at 80K, one can even buy a TROC insurance online.

Dealers are being cute. Beware of costs being shamelessly padded up
Volkswagen Taigun Review-ins.png  

Last edited by vinitbarve : 24th September 2021 at 12:12.
vinitbarve is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th September 2021, 12:12   #617

The SA at Autobahn VW Navi Mumbai insisted the Performance 1.5 AT had dual zone AC in front, I’m not seeing a mention of this anywhere. Anyone with knowledge on this
Old 24th September 2021, 12:18   #618

Originally Posted by mandarpotdar View Post
I was going through the review once again and noticed this.. why is a significantly smaller tyre given as spare?
Will come with the standard disclaimer in the owner's manual as in the case of the Kushaq - "A substitute spare wheel or emergency wheel is only used to reach the nearest specialist garage."

Originally Posted by nks81 View Post
Isnt Volkswagen Taigun better than the Hyundai Creta in everything?
There isn't a single car in the market which is better than another in "everything". While I personally almost bought the Taigun (if not for the need to wait out the EPC issues), I see a LOT of things which the Creta is good at!
  • Competent Diesel and diesel automatic options
  • Reliable NA petrol + CVT option
  • Size and road presence.
  • Big car feel from inside.
  • More spacious for three at the rear
  • Cabin looks and feels better quality for the price.
  • Feature loaded - Panoramic sunroof itself sells cars in families with small kids
  • Resale (Creta is a brand in itself in this segment)
  • Better service coverage

Personally - I see only two main advantages for the Taigun -
  • It's more fun to drive, especially the GT DSG (though Creta 1.4 DCT isn't bad in itself) and
  • Could possibly be the safer option (going by the Polo crash test history against that of Seltos)

The rest is all about each person's priorities. In an enthusiast forum - the two advantages are enough to consider the Taigun as "better", whereas out in the general market - it will likely be overlooked at this price.

Either ways - Is this pricing enough to bring in the claimed target of 6000 cars a month? Guess we all know that answer.

Originally Posted by armumbai View Post
The SA at Autobahn VW Navi Mumbai insisted the Performance 1.5 AT had dual zone AC in front, I’m not seeing a mention of this anywhere. Anyone with knowledge on this
No. Both GT performance variants have the same single zone climate control unit. Also both miss out on ventilated seats too.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 24th September 2021 at 12:20.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 24th September 2021, 12:19   #619

Here are the prices for Bangalore. Extended warranty & care packages to be separately bought.

Attachment 2211248
How is this Road Tax calculated? Isn't it supposed to be 14% of ex-showroom price as mentioned?
In which case, the figure should be Rs 1,46,986 for the Comfortline variant, not Rs 1,98,116 as mentioned above.
All the Road tax figures in this list are 18.87% of ex-showroom price for respective variants.
Can anyone clarify?
Old 24th September 2021, 12:28   #620

Originally Posted by armumbai View Post
Got this pricing from a Mumbai dealer.
Can you please share a clear image. This one is not visible at all. Thanks
Old 24th September 2021, 12:32   #621

Originally Posted by TheGearBox View Post
How is this Road Tax calculated? Isn't it supposed to be 14% of ex-showroom price as mentioned?
In which case, the figure should be Rs 1,46,986 for the Comfortline variant, not Rs 1,98,116 as mentioned above.
All the Road tax figures in this list are 18.87% of ex-showroom price for respective variants.
Can anyone clarify?
In Karnataka for Ex.sh above 10 lakhs the road tax is supposedly 17% and there is another 11% infra cess on the 17%, bringing it to 18.87%

Ref: https://transport.karnataka.gov.in/s...20Schedule.pdf

Last edited by anthusiast : 24th September 2021 at 13:02. Reason: correction
anthusiast is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th September 2021, 12:58   #622

The highline variant seems the most VFM of the Taigun 1L TSI, it is in Telugu but can be seen. I was also not able to understand anything but good to know the features and cabin layout.

Old 24th September 2021, 13:36   #623

Originally Posted by DImPo View Post
And.... Off she goes from my shortlist. Had the base variant been priced just below 10.00 Lacs, the on road price would have been lower by further 0.50 lacs in my state. Not so keen on the 1.0 Turbo anyway. Had the price been aggressive, would have definitely given a second thought.

Now, hoping that the MG Astor would come up with a competitive price.
I really do think VW missed a trick in not launching a Trendline variant at 9.99 Lacs ex-showroom. With the intense competition in the segment now, given the launch of the MG Astor, VW needs to play to the gallery and price the base variant below 10 lacs, to pull customers into the showroom. This is only way they will be able to get 5000+ units a month in sales.

There is still time left for the launch of a festival special variant - remove rear AC vents and the infotainments system, and launch the Trendline below 10 lacs, it would still probably be the safest SUV one can buy at that price point.

If there is indeed a corporate mandate to not launch cars without ESC, as one of the members commented,
there is still no problem with such a Trendline variant, as none of the safety features would be compromised.

VW may be planning to launch such a variant in 2022. However, the first mover advantage will be lost forever. There are no other products in the VW kitty to make a splash!

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 24th September 2021 at 13:44.
Old 24th September 2021, 14:12   #624

I am not holding out for this but I honestly hope that at some point over the next year or two, VW says, "Screw it!" and puts out a fully kitted interior with ventilated seats, dual zone climate control, a better roof line, 360 degree cameras, better quality soft touch materials on the inside, a bigger spare tyre with rear disc brakes, and just charge like 2-3 lakh more for it. While we're we at it, put the OG horn back in as well.

I would HAPPILY buy that over the top end Seltos GTX+ variant.
pranavsh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th September 2021, 14:13   #625

I checked out the car this morning at a showroom in Chennai. The car itself oozes quality both inside and out. Safe for some ungainly plastic that is all over the cabin I quite like what I saw. But there was one aspect that left me disappointed. The car on display was a Highline 1 L. The display car had steering controls for cruise control. The brochure very clearly says that cruise control is not available on the Highline.
I’m checking with the SA, he mentioned to me that those buttons are dummy. The highline indeed does not come with cruise control. Apparently there is an export version of this car which does have the cruise control enabled but VW are not removing the buttons for the locally sold models.
And I’ll have to find a new wall to bang my head against.
balajiisworking is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th September 2021, 14:28   #626

Originally Posted by jamminbobin View Post
So essentially the Taigun pricing is mirroring the Kushaq's, right?
I suppose there is a lot of difference in features between the Skoda Kushaq Style 1.5 MT and Taigun 1.5 MT. VW has omitted a lot of features that are available on the 1.5 DSG in the manual version. I suppose Skoda has kept the feature list intact between the Style 1.5 ltr Manual and Automatic.
Old 24th September 2021, 14:57   #627

Originally Posted by balajiisworking View Post
The display car had steering controls for cruise control

I’m checking with the SA, he mentioned to me that those buttons are dummy.
That is strange, because the configuration is very different for the top variants with cruise control. And it is not just dummy buttons for the lower variants.

The variants with cruise control have cruise buttons on the left side and two additional set of buttons on the silver portion for music track and volume controls.

Volkswagen Taigun Review-2021vwtaigun03-1.jpg

Whereas the versions without cruise control get music track controls on the left side. Steering also does not have provision for the additional buttons below.

Volkswagen Taigun Review-2021vwtaigun04.jpg

Was it the first steering with the separate music controls for the Highline as well? If not, those are music controls on the left, not cruise controls.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 24th September 2021 at 14:58.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th September 2021, 15:01   #628

That is strange, because the configuration is very different for the top variants with cruise control. And it is not just dummy buttons for the lower variants.

The variants with cruise control have cruise buttons on the left side and two additional set of buttons on the silver portion for music track and volume controls.

Attachment 2211302

Whereas the versions without cruise control get music track controls on the left side. Steering also does not have provision for the additional buttons below.

Attachment 2211303

Was it the first steering with the separate music controls for the Highline as well? If not, those are music controls on the left, not cruise controls.
This is why I went back and checked again. I know this was the Highline AT as it didn’t have the push button start and also no Sunroof. I asked the sales chap and he was a bit coy in accepting the dummy buttons.

Perhaps some kind of preproduction model that is on the shop floor? I found it very odd that a global brand would do something like this. Having blanks is pathetic as it is, but this was whole functioning pressable buttons that does nothing. TCH TCH.
balajiisworking is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th September 2021, 16:17   #629

Originally Posted by tsi_niks1989 View Post
The highline variant seems the most VFM of the Taigun 1L TSI, it is in Telugu but can be seen. I was also not able to understand anything but good to know the features and cabin layout.

https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=RpOfpoSYeP4
I checked out the car this morning at a showroom in Chennai. The car itself oozes quality both inside and out. Safe for some ungainly plastic that is all over the cabin I quite like what I saw. But there was one aspect that left me disappointed. The car on display was a Highline 1 L. The display car had steering controls for cruise control. The brochure very clearly says that cruise control is not available on the Highline.
I’m checking with the SA, he mentioned to me that those buttons are dummy. The highline indeed does not come with cruise control. Apparently there is an export version of this car which does have the cruise control enabled but VW are not removing the buttons for the locally sold models.
And I’ll have to find a new wall to bang my head against.
It is indeed strange then. The video posted ( at 9.25 ) is the highline AT and it does show cruise control buttons.
Volkswagen Taigun Review-acf8e16ab8f94e55a8bb02ec720dbe44.jpeg  

Volkswagen Taigun Review-52f63e13c0d043aeba0031c6664b976a.jpeg  

Last edited by Old_Salt : 24th September 2021 at 16:21. Reason: Brochure attachment
Old_Salt is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th September 2021, 16:31   #630

Originally Posted by Old_Salt View Post
The video posted ( at 9.25 ) is the highline AT and it does show cruise control buttons.
This is why I went back and checked again. I know this was the Highline AT as it didn’t have the push button start and also no Sunroof. I asked the sales chap and he was a bit coy in accepting the dummy buttons.
The Sales Advisor seems certain that all AT variants have Cruise Control. Therefore, either the brochure has a mistake or he is incorrect. Either way, this is shoddy work by VW

EDIT: The SA shared a pic of the Highline AT steering that clearly shows controls on the steering for cruise. He was right and the brochure shows it incorrectly
My SA sent pictures and confirmed that the Highline indeed has cruise control and that the brochure has a mistake.

Secondly, I don't think VW would send as many pre-production models to showrooms across the country with dummy buttons. It's ridiculously misleading and completely unacceptable if they actually did that!

Last edited by pannags : 24th September 2021 at 16:34.
pannags is offline   (1) Thanks