Old 4th December 2024, 18:01   #2236

Re: Volkswagen Taigun Review

Originally Posted by Tanu3000 View Post
So there you have it, my 2 cents.
Just happened to get redirected to your post from one of mine on Kylaq.

You have shared your 5 cents in such an engaging way!
I would have been happy to read more and more. The way you have expressed your last paragraph is really a feeling for many who just cannot write/express the connection when you drive the car. Now fan of your quote “It has to be lived/experienced for one to fall in love with it”. Spot On!

The VW/Skoda cousins are gem to drive and the engine is smoothly mated to the torque converter gearbox.

Last edited by aah78 : 4th December 2024 at 18:18. Reason: Quote trimmed.
ShreeUKale is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 18:40   #2237

Originally Posted by ShreeUKale View Post
Just happened to get redirected to your post from one of mine on Kylaq.
I have been a VW customer for 10 years now. My first car was a Polo. After that start, I can't seem to like driving anything else. By the way, this post got turned into an article by the moderators (https://www.team-bhp.com/news/replac...ould-be-better)

Happy to answer any queries, if you may have them.

Last edited by Tanu3000 : 4th December 2024 at 18:42.
Tanu3000 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th December 2024, 19:55   #2238

Originally Posted by Tanu3000 View Post
Happy to answer any queries, if you may have them.

Very interesting!
I am considering Skoda Slavia 1.5 MT, however I took a lot of time to come to a decision and unfortunately it is now discontinued. Thinking of Virtus as it is now the only 1.5 MT option left from VAG sedan!
Got a chance to drive my friend’s Taigun Topline 1.0 TC for good 100+ Km’s and the combination is impressive as well.
My confusion is increasing as I inch towards my final decision.
ShreeUKale is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th December 2024, 14:50   #2239

Originally Posted by ShreeUKale View Post
Very interesting!
I am considering Skoda Slavia 1.5 MT, however I took a lot of time to come to a decision and unfortunately it is now discontinued. Thinking of Virtus as it is now the only 1.5 MT option left from VAG sedan!
Got a chance to drive my friend’s Taigun Topline 1.0 TC for good 100+ Km’s and the combination is impressive as well.
My confusion is increasing as I inch towards my final decision.
What are you confused about? Maybe I can help.

Old 7th December 2024, 23:46   #2240

Hello bhpians, after years of wait here comes the time to upgrade to a new drive for my Dad. My dad is a petrol head, he loves to drive. We currently own an Amaze with 99bhp under the hood. But it's a 2013 car, so it started showing age. Now on to the point, we are looking at a 2023 Taigun GT 1.5L DCT which has done some odd ~25KMs at the dealership. We were offered a deal for 20.8L on road while a MY2024 costs 24L. But the dealership says according to their rules, from the date of retailing it(atleast that is what the salesman told my dad) the warranty starts. So, we will be losing a year of warranty from the standard 4 year warranty. But they change the engine oil according to the time line say once a year as theres no running. I'm a bit worried because even with the extended warranty all we get is 3+2, so 5 years. But DCT is known to fail or atleast I believe it coming from Japnese and Korean cars, so not sure whether to go ahead. Give me some gyaan.

Last edited by Thatautoguy46 : 7th December 2024 at 23:49.
Old 8th December 2024, 08:55   #2241

Originally Posted by Thatautoguy46 View Post
We were offered a deal for 20.8L on road while a MY2024 costs 24L.

But the dealership says according to their rules, from the date of retailing it (atleast that is what the salesman told my dad) the warranty starts. So, we will be losing a year of warranty from the standard 4 year warranty.
The warranty should start after the car is registered with the first owner.
Both of my cars had couple of months difference between retailing date and registration date. The car was with dealer for at least 2 months or so when i got them. The warranty date started when the cars were registered under my name.

I sense that the dealer is trying to pull fast one on you. Ask for VIN and engine number to make sure the car is not registered.

MY23 variants did not get electric and ventilated seats if I remember correctly. VW official site shows discount of ₹2 lakh on GT+ Sport DSG and ₹2.5 lakh on GT+ Chrome DSG variants. I would suggest reaching out to another dealer in your city and possibly you can get MY2024 car with somewhat lesser discount as MY23. If you are going to keep the car for 7+ years, then it is better to get MY24 car as compared to MY23 from my perspective.
kgt.v8 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 8th December 2024, 09:18   #2242

Originally Posted by kgt.v8 View Post
I would suggest reaching out to another dealer in your city and possibly you can get MY2024 car with somewhat lesser discount as MY23. If you are going to keep the car for 7+ years, then it is better to get MY24 car as compared to MY23 from my perspective.
My dad is in Vizag, so we are looking for a car in Vizag. The dealership for this city and nearby towns is the same. I'm in Australia right now, so can't really enquire with other dealerships at different places. Is there a chance you can ask the dealership that you've been to regarding this? That would be of great help, thanks in advance.
Thanks for the info!
Old 12th December 2024, 13:19   #2243

Hi everyone! Need some major pearls of wisdom and advice from all you veterans and wise ones!

I'm looking for my 3rd car (1st Renault Kwid, 2nd Tata Tiago JTP), and after testing a lot of CSUVs, I'm sold on the VW Taigun and I love the 1.5 DSG, but it's going a bit out of budget. I'm willing to compromise and go for a 1.0 MT, however, given the end of the year stock clearout and what not, dealers are offering supposed 'mega deals'.

Here's the price list I've recd. I was told to expect a 2L reduction on the ex-showroom price, a 30K bonus for exchange, and a 10K corporate/govt. employee bonus, so roughly a 2.5L decrease.

(all on-road prices)
1.0 MT highline+ 16.4L
1.0 MT topline 18.9L
1.5 MT 19.3L
1.5 DSG 19.8

The safer/saner option but very un-fun option would be the highline, after discounts et al it's coming within my budget range. However I really really want to stretch for the 1.5 DSG. I reckon if I can get the guy to come down to about 15/16, it'd work out for me.

Note, my JTP is pure ecstacy. I love the 1.2 3-cyl engine, little lag but the turbo and nimbleness due to its size. It has my heart and more. However, Tata unreliability and pathetic service has me wanting a replacement. Hence a slightly bigger and more dependable car with a much better brand.

I'm also being offered the demo car (27K mileage), with 4 free services and 20% off the ex-showroom price (roughly 2-3L). It's a 2023 model and obviously severely abused by god knows who all and how. Is it worth the risk? It's an option if I want a top variant and/or the DSG.

Pls give me your thoughts and feedback. The VW plant shuts today and the dealer is chasing me so he wrangled the 11K refundable booking amount, but I'm yet to tell him which freaking model to book :/

please help!
Old 12th December 2024, 15:18   #2244

Originally Posted by joyistheworld View Post

I'm also being offered the demo car (27K mileage), with 4 free services and 20% off the ex-showroom price (roughly 2-3L).
Suggest to stay away from the demo car, 27k mileage means approx. 50k KMs of abuse. Since you own a JTP already, you should go with the 1.5 MT new variant and try to get the deal closed for 16.5 if they can.

Last edited by Turbanator : 12th December 2024 at 19:58. Reason: Quoted post trimmed, please quote only relevant part.
Old 12th December 2024, 19:30   #2245

Originally Posted by tsi_niks1989 View Post
Suggest to stay away from the demo car, 27k mileage means approx. 50k KMs of abuse. Since you own a JTP already, should go with the 1.5 MT new variant and try to get the deal closed for 16.5 if they can.
'Settling' for the top variant DSG since the wife isn't all that comfy with MT yet. They're offering it to me at approx 20L on-road. If I were to exchange the JTP (w/ 29K kms in 5 years, 2019 model), I get another 3.2L discount. I was hoping for them to value it at 3.5L at least, but it seems the 2nd hand market is quite brutal and TATA has poor resale value, despite this JTP engine which is a stunner. I'm going to Spinny to see how much they value it for and then take a call. I'm also considering selling the JTP and finding a Polo GT 1.2.

arghhh, decisions decisions!!
Old 30th December 2024, 12:51   #2246

Got the dreaded EPC error and check engine light at 31114 kms of running in 2 years and 5 months right in the middle of a 400km highway run. We were on the Palakkad- Bengaluru route after Christmas holidays yesterday (Sunday) and the vehicle lost power while cruising around 90kmph. This happened between Erode and Selam. I was able to park in limp mode, and then call for RSA, and eventually tow it to Ramani Cars in Selam who were working. We spend 7 hours stranded, waiting for RSA pickup and servicing the car and finally reached home at 10.30PM instead of the planned 2.30PM after starting at about 6.30AM

I have got the funniest of all RCA from Ramani Cars - Fungus in spark plugs causing misfires. During the ODIS scan, the following errors where thrown:

P030000 - Random misfire
P030200 - Cylinder 2 Misfire
P036300 - Random misfire
PID7400 - Catalyst - damaging combustion misfire

After clearing the error codes, the misfires were random in all three cylinders. A temporary fix of replacing all sparkplugs were carried out and we were able to reach home. The Thoppur - Krishnagiri ghat road was a pain yesterday and the mental toll it took on me while driving and anticipating another error was terrible.

I'm not convinced with the RCA or the resolution and have lost my trust in the car to carry us to places. We mostly drive through the ghat roads to reach both our homes. I cannot really think about what would happen if we encounter this error where we don't even have network coverage, or even getting rear ended the car loses power and i lose control.

I have dropped an email to the VW customer care with details fl the ordeal. I have been made to pay both for the RSA and for the temporary fixed and I believe this is unjust for a known issue that's been plaguing the SAVWIPL 2.0 cars since launch. I will make a detailed post of our struggle in a while as I want to give VW the benefit of time and doubt to fix this and make things merry.

The RSA experience has been subpar as well.

Experts in the forum - please advice what my next course of action should be.

Last edited by drive.helios : 30th December 2024 at 12:54. Reason: Added detail.
drive.helios is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 17:28   #2247

Hi BHPians,

A Very Happy New Year!

Need help, suggestions, recommendation ��

Have been using VW Ameo Comfortline for 8+ years. Now planning to upgrade. Except for another VW no other cars are pleasing me from build quality and drive pleasure perspective, economically too. Took test drive of Creta, Seltos, Verna, Grand Vitara, UC Hyryder, Venue, Carens, XUV 700, Curvv, Virtus and Taigun. Realised that it is finally between either Virtus or Taigun. Looks like Taigun would make the final cut although driving enthusiast in me tells it is Virtus.

From experts standpoint, I request you all to share your experience on Taigun and Virtus. Are there any known errors that I should be worried such as EPC error, etc which can later become a major ache. I am planning to buy the topend 1.5 Turbo DSG.

I can make one more seperate post in detail on the process of my shortlisting.

Thanks and Regards...
Old 2nd January 2025, 18:31   #2248

Originally Posted by drive.helios View Post
We spend 7 hours stranded, waiting for RSA pickup and servicing the car and finally reached home at 10.30PM instead of the planned 2.30PM after starting at about 6.30AM

The RSA experience has been subpar as well.

Experts in the forum - please advice what my next course of action should be.

Several members on the forum while evaluating VW cars have opined in the past that they are willing to take a chance on DSG problems or similarly EPC error problems.

But I think that when the moment of truth comes, the pain is too much.
Also after the problem arises one unwillingly gets in the stanglehold of mechanics and workshops and customer is always in doubt whether he is being fleeced or not.

Keeping in mind that even though the most reliable of cars can turn out to be problematic, I think one should never take a chance on reliability.

My advice will be to evaluate your priority regarding peace of mind vis a vis the finanacial hit that you will take on this car. Or keep the car as a beater car for local use.
neeraj0272 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 20:59   #2249

Originally Posted by neeraj0272 View Post
Several members on the forum while evaluating VW cars have opined in the past that they are willing to take a chance on DSG problems or similarly EPC error problems.
I'm indeed one of those who took a chance on the EPC problem assuming that by the time Taigun came out, EPC issues that started with Kushaq would have been ironed out. I have been happy with the car until this incident happened, 2 years and 5 months and 31,000 kms. Clearly, I have been wrong and have had this harrowing experience now.

I have also been slightly lucky, I had the vehicle under control, there was a service centre that was working on a Sunday and provided a temporary fix albeit all their explanations silly and childish at best. These technicians and staff shouldn't be near the cars if they can find fungus among a mix of oil and lubricants. I've also been made to spend out of pocket for something that's been plaguing these cars. The RSA was unempathetic and their solution was to tow the car to the nearest service centre regardless of its working or not. This is text book RSA policy. Ideally the towing should be to the nearest operational service centre. There goes Rs 1995 for additional kms.

At the service centre, the only good thing that came out was that we could get the car to driving condition, and reach home safe , even though it was very stressful to constantly gaze over the console to watch for the EPC popping up every time the gear shifted. The anticipation was a pain. I have again been misinformed and billed (Rs 3764) stating sparkplugs are to be changed every 30000 kms. I wasn't in the state of mind to validate it then. I took the car for another inspection on 31st afte formally logging a complaint with VW and having them reassign the ASC to Bengaluru instead of Selam and verified from the Bengaluru service center that this claim isn't right and the correct interval is 60000 kms.

I spent the whole day at the Bengaluru service centre and they couldn't reproduce the error or provide a reasonable explanation for this. We have agreed that the car will be picked up for further inspection early next week. I am still willing to give VW the benefit of doubt and a chance to make it right and ensure the car is road worthy again.

I have been live tweeting my experience so far, tagging the VW account which was informed to the DGM by them. He asked me and I said as much as I spread the good word, i would also record my negative experiences and there's nothing that he could do than righting the wrong. However, he had the audacity to state that regardless of which medium, channel and platform (including T-BHP), he is the only intermediary between the company and I. I have also had a run in with one of their staff who wrongly filled their detailed evaluation checklist which I pointed out. A formal complaint is logged for this behaviour. The ASC has been losing me so far and they have their chance until early next week.

If not, I'll have to think about cutting my losses and find a different car. More on this at the end.

Also after the problem arises one unwillingly gets in the stakeholder of mechanics and workshops and customer is always in doubt whether he is being fleeced or not.
So bloody true. I think I'm getting into this, but I have tried to put all my cards on the table with them and see how it goes, saves time and money on both sides.

My advice will be to evaluate your priority regarding peace of mind vis a vis the financial hit that you will take on this car. Or keep the car as a beater car for local use.
I'm waiting until this detailed inspection and everything associated with it comes. Folks like me - who are salaried, spend about a years or even more than that of earnings on buying cars that we hope will serve us and our families without such untoward incidents do not enjoy the luxury of being able to afford another car or use the primary car as a beater immediately. I'd leave out the rheortic about earning vs spending aside for this. A home and a car are some of the things that we put our hearts in than our brains and assume that our jobs will sustain to ensure it is paid for in due course.
drive.helios is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 20:49   #2250

I need help in fixing rattling and squeaking issues in my brand new vw Taigun. Till 1000 kms I had a rattle free and silent car. Things went south after I installed sunfilm. I went with solar shield who offered home installation. They sent some road side shop installer who does cheap films I suppose who mishandled door panels and was very rough leading to these problems. I went to VW ASC thrice and they managed to fix 90% of noise on the right side. But on both left doors they are not able to do anything. They refit the panels and claim all is good but lot of rattling still exists.If ASC is not able to fix it what should I do next? I need your help on this and if any existing owners have faced this and solved it please guide me

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com