Old 3rd September 2024, 19:29   #751

Re: Hyundai i20 Review

Reposting from another thread to check re pricing:

We test drove the i20 IVT today, and I was quite surprised at how smooth it was. My reference was the 2018 Elite i20 CVT my dad drives, and the 2018 i10 Sportz automatic my wife drives. This looked much more premium inside, and felt more easier to drive (except from a complete stop).

We booked the i20 Sportz IVT at 11 Lakhs OTR in Bangalore, which includes 4th year warranty (no kits etc). The discounts available this month were 20K from Hyundai side and around 30K from Dealer. Car is available in <1 week timeframe.

Would love to know if anyone got a much better/different deal in Bangalore recently?
singleton is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 13:31   #752

Originally Posted by singleton View Post

We test drove the i20 IVT today, and I was quite surprised at how smooth it was. My reference was the 2018 Elite i20 CVT my dad drives, and the 2018 i10 Sportz automatic my wife drives. This looked much more premium inside, and felt more easier to drive (except from a complete stop).

We booked the i20 Sportz IVT at 11 Lakhs OTR in Bangalore, which includes 4th year warranty (no kits etc). The discounts available this month were 20K from Hyundai side and around 30K from Dealer. Car is available in <1 week timeframe.

Would love to know if anyone got a much better/different deal in Bangalore recently?

What was the On Road price quoted, i booked same car in Mumbai. Was quoted a price of 11.43 (No extended waranty, no Kits, No RSA) , provided a Overall discount of 53K and got the Car at 10.90.
Awaiting the car to come at stockyard incouple of days.
Old 4th September 2024, 16:53   #753

Originally Posted by I20Newbie02 View Post
What was the On Road price quoted, i booked same car in Mumbai. Was quoted a price of 11.43 (No extended waranty, no Kits, No RSA) , provided a Overall discount of 53K and got the Car at 10.90.
On road price quoted for Sportz IVT was 11.85 which includes all kits, RSA and 4th year warranty.

Attached the imageHyundai i20 Review-screenshot-20240904-4.52.138239pm.png
Old 8th September 2024, 18:49   #754

On road price quoted for Sportz IVT was 11.85 which includes all kits, RSA and 4th year warranty.
That's a good deal for Bangalore. I booked Sports O IVT. I took the quote from Acko drive and asked them to match, which they couldn't but provided me extended warranty, RSA and Accessories.
I20Newbie02 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th September 2024, 17:07   #755

I am able to get 15K in addition to the 20k consumer offer. Plus dealer has added in the free accessories. My price does not include insurance, which is where almost 30k of margin in available to the dealer.

Do you think I can do better? I have spoken to 3 of the big dealers in Bangalore and this is the best deal so far.

Hyundai i20 Review-20240917_170424-4.jpg

Last edited by graaja : 17th September 2024 at 17:53. Reason: Inserting picture
Old 27th September 2024, 09:25   #756

Is all 1.2l engine weak?

Firstly, this would be my first thread. So, excited and apologies in advance for any error. I would try to keep it short and crisp. I own Honda city 1.5l NA petrol mt and Hyundai i20 Na 1.2l petrol mt. I20 Is the one which I have purchased for my wife last month. She will learn driving on i20 and drive it for next 4-5 years I assume. I also wanted her to learn driving through manual so purchased one. So, until she learns and starts using it, I am using it.

I find i20 to be refined, no nvh coming into the cabin, easy to use, smooth. In city usage, the car is good. No problem whatsoever, but on highways, I have felt the engine to be underpowered. After reaching 80 kmph, I find it crawling in highways. It is so difficult to cross 80 kmph and reach 100 kmph. Is it the characteristics of 1.2l of i20 or all the cars of 1.2l na petrol engine?

I came to know 1.2 Kappa engine is old. Hyundai has been using it for a while and haven't updated. Is it also due to that it is not powerful?

I also have told to myself that I will never buy a 1.2 l engine again. 1.5l na is the one right for me for overtaking and quick pickup.

I20 struggles to reach three digit mark. I have to drive with heavy foot to reach that mark. Do all the cars with 1.2l na petrol share the same traits?

Last edited by Aditya : 27th September 2024 at 21:52. Reason: Fixing spacing after punctuations. Please leave a space to help with readability.
Old 30th September 2024, 19:32   #757

Originally Posted by I20Newbie02 View Post
I booked the Sportz IVT in Amazon Grey colour for 10.33 on road. This also included one year extended warranty and some good accessories. This was one month back.

Hi all, this is my first post on Team BHP. I have been lurking here since ages and have finally bought my first car, the i20 in Amazon Grey colour. It's been a month since I got my baby home and I have just driven around 400 kms.

The car set me back by 10.33 lacs on road Mumbai. This includes dealership insurance, one year extended warranty and accessories. The accessories included were leather wrapped steering, floor lamination, 3d Mats, mat for the boot, and other small accessories that one generally gets. I believe I got the car for a good price as Acko drive had the car for a similar price.

The car is incredibly smooth, no NVH at all. I am a sedate driver, my friends joke that I drive like a 70 year old. So the slow moving, high revving IVT does not bother me much. I like how the car is effortless in Mumbai traffic.

The interiors are really well put together. People generally are surprised when they get into the car seeing how spacious it is. It also looks premium and the leather wrapped steering (free of cost from the dealership). A huge miss is adjustable headrests for rear passengers, it's a shame in my opinion to exclude them. Otherwise it's a good place to be.

The only thing that is bothering me is the mileage. One particularly bad drive in traffic gave me 4.3 kmpl/L, which is scary as traffic is going to be the natural habitat for the car. The car achieved 13 km/L on a short highway run. Will these numbers change as the engine runs in, or after the first service?

Misses - Rear Adjustable headrests, Hill Hold!!!!!, Rear wiper.

Hits - TPMS, Electronically Foldable and Adjustable ORVMs, Cruise control.

Looking forward to sharing more experiences with the car in the coming days.

Last edited by KarthikK : 30th September 2024 at 20:38. Reason: Back to back posts merged
Substantialact9 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th September 2024, 21:14   #758

Originally Posted by Substantialact9 View Post
I booked the Sportz IVT in Amazon Grey colour for 10.33 on road. year extended warranty and accessories. achieved 13 km/L on a short highway run. Will these numbers change as the engine runs in, or after the first service?
Congratulations on your first post and new i20.

Is the engine 1.0 turbo or 1.2 Na?

FE is so totally dependent on traffic and personal driving habits that it's very difficult to comment on the "car fe". it's more pertinent to compare "my fe" in x car vs y car in similar traffic environment.

My fe in my 1.0 turbo is 15 kmpl in city (Mysore) and 20 kmpl on highway. Heavy traffic like Bangalore orr in the evening can reduce it to single digit.
Old 4th October 2024, 00:03   #759

Originally Posted by Substantialact9 View Post
I booked the Sportz IVT in Amazon Grey colour for 10.33 on road. This also included one year extended warranty and some good accessories. This was one month back.
Which city you the price, also sports IVT does have hill hold assist

Last edited by libranof1987 : 13th October 2024 at 18:14. Reason: Trimming quoted post; kindly quote only relevant sections of the post.
Old 13th October 2024, 18:01   #760

This is on road Mumbai.

Originally Posted by goandude View Post
Is the engine 1.0 turbo or 1.2 Na?
I don't think they sell the turbo engine anymore. Mine is the 1.2 ltr NA. I achieved 20 kmpl today on a morning drive on city highways. Normal city roads 8 to 9.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 13th October 2024 at 18:14. Reason: Merging back-to-back posts.
Old 22nd October 2024, 16:00   #761

Originally Posted by Potenza View Post
This is a review of our i20-1.0 T-GDi DCT Asta (O), all 25,000Km of it.
4th Year Annual Service Update

The last year has seen the addition of another car to the family (a very senior-citizen friendly Ertiga!), and hence the already low use i20 Turbo was used even sparingly. Between the 3rd year service and 4th year service the car did only 4236 Km. The annual service was due in October and I got it done around a week before it was due.

So the car went to Shreenath Hyundai with the following to-do list:

1. 4th Year service- Oil change strictly as per Owner's manual-ACEAC2/0W30

2. Vibration at idle- Distinct vibration felt at idling even after warm up.

3. Very very mild left side pull.

4. Rubberised part of the boot opener switch was worn out and tearing apart.

Here is what the boot opener switch looked like:

Hyundai i20 Review-95215fcf2fdd4473be6d04af380d9c70.jpeg

Reached Shreenath at 830 am and the car was ready at 5pm.

Highlights of the work done:

1. Engine Mount replaced under warranty.

Hyundai i20 Review-img_6088.jpeg

2. Boot opener switched replaced.

Hyundai i20 Review-img_6091.jpeg

The total bill was Rs. 9712/- which I think was not bad.

Post service, the car is super smooth as expected, it tracks straight and the irritating vibration that was felt at idle has completely disappeared. Overall a pretty good service experience.

Last edited by Potenza : 22nd October 2024 at 16:03. Reason: Image not attached properly
Old 21st November 2024, 01:06   #762

Hello Everyone,

Happy to share that my i20 will complete 11 years in January 2025.
It is iGen i20 1.2 VTVT bought in white colour.
The Journey has been good so far and the car is still holding strong. I can safely say that this version of i20 is very strong and built to last.
Many will be surprised to know that even after 10+ year I have not changed the headlights bulb.
There are many good things to write about this car and my 11 years journey with i20 will soon be ready to post.

Recently I my car met with a small accident, where an auto rickshaw hit my car in the left front door.
The bang was loud I and immediately assumed the damage will more. However upon checking it had hardly any dent marks on the door but the door handle took all the beating and broke apart.

I immediately took it to Hyundai service station where they ordered the part and after a week I got it installed.

Total part including base cost 4800/- however I have replaced only the outer handle so I have to pay 2300/-

The fit and finish is not as expected but it is working fine.
Hyundai i20 Review-4f4f00aff01a41dab3d70853a30a3a98.jpeg  

Hyundai i20 Review-img_3715.jpeg  

ShreeUKale is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 11th December 2024, 19:40   #763

The wireless charging on the new i20. Does it work for all phones?

My iPhone 15 and a Nokia android basic phone is charging without issues. However some other phones are not charging. How does it work? Or is there something wrong with it?
Old 13th December 2024, 22:41   #764

Originally Posted by beejay View Post
The wireless charging on the new i20. Does it work for all phones?

My iPhone 15 and a Nokia android basic phone is charging without issues. However some other phones are not charging. How does it work? Or is there something wrong with it?
It should work as long as the phone supports wireless charging, and not all phones do, you can find out if your phone supports it by simply googling it. Also, the wireless charging is only enabled after all doors are closed.