Old 17th October 2024, 07:13   #5341

Re: Mahindra Thar : Official Review

Single channel tuning box and a DPF makes me a little uncomfortable.
Though I've never had to do DPF regen in my entire 45k kms, i want it to stay like that. If there was a dual channel tuning box i might have taken a plunge, but with the single channel ones i want to stay clear.
Traxxrc1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th October 2024, 20:41   #5342

After waiting for almost 4 months, we got our Thar 4X4 Petrol AT "Desert Fury". Even though the wait was long, it was worthwhile as we got 1.5lac discount with the Thar Roxx launch.Mahindra Thar : Official Review-20241005_075036066.jpg
harish_K is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 20th October 2024, 04:37   #5343
SGK

All,

I have booked my Red Rage Thar LX AT, and the intended usage will be purely for local drives between my wife and me, with occasional highway trips to test its off-road capabilities. I will be using my Crysta for regular highway driving.

Now, my kid is very keen on getting the CT, which looks cool, but the problem is that none of the dealers have it in stock, and they are quoting anywhere between 1-3 months for delivery (which might result in losing the ₹1.5 Lakh discount). After reading a few reviews, I wanted to confirm how bad the wind noise is in the CT and how the materials hold up with long-term usage. I feel that after a point, we might not use features like the sunroof as regularly as we do in the initial few months.

Please share your feedback on the CT.
SGK is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th October 2024, 10:31   #5344

Originally Posted by SGK View Post
All,
Now, my kid is very keen on getting the CT, which looks cool, but the problem is that none of the dealers have it in stock, and they are quoting anywhere between 1-3 months for delivery (which might result in losing the ₹1.5 Lakh discount). After reading a few reviews, I wanted to confirm how bad the wind noise is in the CT and how the materials hold up with long-term usage. I feel that after a point, we might not use features like the sunroof as regularly as we do in the initial few months.

Got D AT CT in Apr 22. CT is unlimited fun and cool if you use it the way its supposed to be. I think you are from Bangalore and there are many places around for using CT.
Wind flap noise is there but you can reduce it to great extent by using jugad ( please refer older posts).
Material is very good, no leaks, cracks etc so far.
But CT noise insulation is poor ( even for higher end cars as well), cooling is not an issue with Mahindra chilling AC.
yadavsid21 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st October 2024, 10:28   #5345

Question to fellow Thar owners,

How capable is the Thar without MLD? I am planning to buy the Thar Manual, but I am torn between choosing the Petrol vs Diesel engine.

The price difference between the 2 is not really that big but I am more keen on the Petrol engine as this is my second fun car and my daily drive is a Slavia. So the Thar will not see more than 10k kms a year at best.

The only major con is the lack of MLD in the petrol Thar. I really don’t understand Mahindra’s logic here, but wanted to know how much does the lack of an MLD affect the off-road capability of the Thar ?

BTW am getting great discounts on the Earth Edition and will be buying the same. Wish those decals were removable though.

Last edited by Shanksta : 21st October 2024 at 10:29.
Old 21st October 2024, 16:50   #5346

Originally Posted by Shanksta View Post
Question to fellow Thar owners,
Could you please share your experience with the braking of the vehicle and the deal you're getting on the Earth edition (I'm in Chennai)? I took two test drives but found the brakes to be weak.

Last edited by Turbanator : 24th October 2024 at 19:24. Reason: Quote only relevant part wile replying.
brute_forz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st October 2024, 18:56   #5347

Having owned a (Petrol AT) CT Thar for 3 years now, I can vouch for the fun factor, provided you use the convertible top the way it is supposed to be. Very few automobiles can provide the same level of enjoyment as that of an open-top SWB jeep

Mahindra Thar : Official Review-thar.jpg

Moreover, in my opinion, the form factor of a convertible top jeep is much sexier compared to a hard top one, but that is just a biased me, having owned soft top jeeps/Gypsys for over 2 decades now

Mahindra Thar : Official Review-thar2.jpg

The convertible top is of excellent quality - have not have a single instance of leakage or wearing out over the last 3 years. It is quite easy to take off and get back on - with practice, it can be done in less than 10 minutes flat!

That said, it comes with its shortcomings like wind noise, flapping (can be controlled to an extent by damping the side flaps, but can be an irritant for some) and ambient noise, not to mention potential security concerns if parked in unsafe areas for long durations.

Net-net, if your intended usage is long hauls with day-long highway drives then think twice about getting a CT as not everyone can bear the flapping over extended hours. If you plan to use it for short trips like me (<300-350 km a day) then it is livable, again depending on your 'appetite' for the nuances it comes with. Good luck!

Originally Posted by yadavsid21 View Post
Wind flap noise is there but you can reduce it to great extent by using jugad ( please refer older posts).
Material is very good, no leaks, cracks etc so far.
But CT noise insulation is poor ( even for higher end cars as well), cooling is not an issue with Mahindra chilling AC.
Spot on! Agree with all your feedback there.

Originally Posted by Shanksta View Post
How capable is the Thar without MLD?
Depends on your intended usage. Thar without MLD is highly capable in itself. MLD comes handy in case of extreme off-road scenarios.
cool_dube is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2024, 19:17   #5348

Originally Posted by cool_dube View Post

Moreover, in my opinion, the form factor of a convertible top jeep is much sexier compared to a hard top one, but that is just a biased me, having owned soft top jeeps/Gypsys for over 2 decades now

[.
Totally agree, the sloping rear 1/2 of the soft top totally changes the way it looks as compared to flat hard top.
Mahindra Thar : Official Review-0599df4cb137478b9aaf96e2634d7540.jpg  

Mahindra Thar : Official Review-55c4d846b78648bbac67767c8c218eae.jpg  

yadavsid21 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2024, 23:37   #5349
SGK

Originally Posted by yadavsid21 View Post
Got D AT CT in Apr 22.
Originally Posted by cool_dube View Post

The convertible top is of excellent quality - have not have a single instance of leakage or wearing out over the last 3 years. It is quite easy to take off and get back on - with practice, it can be done in less than 10 minutes flat!
Thanks for your detailed response @yadavsid and @cool_dube. CT looks more cool and fun to drive around. But the rear sear comfort is not that great for family and we decided to try 5d variant. After test driving the Thar 5d we were totally in love with that variant, so I am proceeding with 5D variant. Thank you for your input.

Last edited by SGK : 22nd October 2024 at 23:39. Reason: additional details
SGK is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 16:48   #5350

I was looking for aftermarket suspension fitment in my hometown and came to know about Autostarke in Kochi. Anoop is heading the Kochi outfit and he offered me few suggestions AVO, ARK, Ironman suspension kits and Tein (only springs). He connected me to few customers who went for Tein spring alone upgrade and all of them were happy which gave me confidence to go with the Tein setup. I would say the best upgrade that I have done on the Thar so far. Ride quality has improved a lot, steering feels less heavy when compared to stock. Earlier on the stock springs I could feel the vehicle getting unsettled when you hit a bump, edge marking reflectors or passing through bridge expansion joint. I would recommend Tein springs upgrade if you are on tight budget.

Mahindra Thar : Official Review-thar-tein.jpg

Mahindra Thar : Official Review-thar-tein-front.jpg

Mahindra Thar : Official Review-thar-tein-rear.jpg.

Last edited by harish_K : 24th October 2024 at 16:59.
harish_K is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 18:47   #5351

Originally Posted by harish_K View Post
I would recommend Tein springs upgrade if you are on tight budget.

[
Thanks for sharing this. While I have always thought the newer Thars didnt need a suspension upgrade, this is interesting. Could you share the cost for the full set of springs?
Old 24th October 2024, 21:08   #5352

Originally Posted by Dippy View Post
Thanks for sharing this. While I have always thought the newer Thars didnt need a suspension upgrade, this is interesting. Could you share the cost for the full set of springs?
Echo this thought! After 24k kms in less than a year I certainly feel the steering heaviness but the rest of the things, i have probably got used to them or navigate around them. It would be interesting to know the cost of just the springs and if it is a value proposition, then no harm in actually trying them. Also I always thought it was the shocks that was the problem and not the springs so it is interesting to note that there is a significant difference with just changing the springs.
Old 24th October 2024, 21:19   #5353

Originally Posted by Dippy View Post
From a personal perspective I felt the ride to be bouncy especially when you hit bad patch or any bumps on the road. I was informed that the springs are custom made by Tein specifically for Thar. Cost is 35k including GST, installation was free of charge. Tein dampers might be available by year end I am told. Autostarke is a subsidiary of Nippon (Toyota dealership in Kerala), please excuse if I am proven wrong on this.

Last edited by harish_K : 24th October 2024 at 21:21.
harish_K is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th October 2024, 23:40   #5354

Now, my kid is very keen on getting the CT, which looks cool, but the problem is that none of the dealers have it in stock, and they are quoting anywhere between 1-3 months for delivery
Good luck getting the Thar Convertible Top in 3 months if you are keen on a particular color. Your best bet would be to be flexible on the colors, fuel type and transmission if you want the Convertible top Thar.

My booking for a Red Petrol AT convertible top took nearly a year from booking until the dealer said it was available (the booking was done in July last year). However, by then I had changed my mind to get the Thar in the green Deep Forest color . Now the waiting game has begun again, and it will be 5 months in November since booking the Thar Convertible Top Automatic in Deep Forest.

The Convertible Thar is a vehicle that Mahindra 'sells', but customers cannot buy.
nishsingh is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 25th October 2024, 22:42   #5355
SGK

Originally Posted by nishsingh View Post
Good luck getting the Thar Convertible Top in 3 months if you are keen on a particular color. Your best bet would be to be flexible on the colors, fuel type and transmission if you want the Convertible top Thar.

true @nishsingh , I also initially booked red thar CT D AT, dealership offered black immediately for same variant , but I wanted red. Eventually I converted my booking to Roxx and now I am waiting for the delivery.
SGK is offline   (1) Thanks