Old 3rd June 2022, 14:25   #841

Re: Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review

Originally Posted by akshye View Post
Congrats on your purchase! Can you share photos of these mats? Where did you buy them - online/shop?
Here it is : https://www.amazon.in/Drome-Soft-Rub.../dp/B0773PRCZ9

I also edited my post to add the link.
vivek.ks is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th June 2022, 07:55   #842
ais

Originally Posted by k491 View Post

Too late, already got the Stanley leather seats today. Will get the CR70 tints soon as all the funds have dried up. (65k for PPF, 7.5k for the mats and 60k
Was this Nappa or regular leather? I'm considering Nappa from Stanley, but thenquote is 1.32 lakhs, which is too much for a 9 lakh car. Saddles India is quoting around 80k.
Old 5th June 2022, 11:10   #843

Originally Posted by ais View Post
Was this Nappa or regular leather?
I got the Classic leather seats. i got quoted 1.5L for the nappa which is too much.
They had 3 grades of leather, forgot the name of entry level one which would cost 45k for the Polo.
k491 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th June 2022, 11:21   #844
ais

Originally Posted by jijivishu View Post
Once cruising you'll notice the seats and comfort and that is one thing you do not want to notice in this car you love.

Mine have turned really stiff lately. I've VW seat covers which came with the Turbo Edition but do seat covers affect seating comfort to a fair extent? Covers are nice, I guess the seat material is the culprit.
:
The hump at the rear of the seat base is killing me.

Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-20220531_135709.jpg

I'm thinking of having the fabric opened and slicing off this hump. The tail bone goes directly on it. Even otherwise, it makes the seat so uncomfortable that I've resumed using my Baleno till this is sorted. Under thigh support also needs to be raised on the front edge by 2".

Another issue is a husky creaking from the windows. When rolled down a couple of millimeters, the sound stops. I had the same issue in a new BMW 330i M Sport, which was resolved by pasting a special tape on the glossy trim. The tape is expensive at 15-20k, but Krishna Motors Chandigarh put it free under waranty. I wonder how VW will resolve this issue. 1st inspection becomes due soon.
ais is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th June 2022, 22:25   #845

Polo GT TSI Legend 1 month, 3500 kms Update.

34 days to date since I got the delivery of Polo GT TSI Legend, it's been a busy month travelling in this 4 wheels of fun.
I have covered a variety of roads in the past month which includes the peak Bangalore traffic, empty highway stretches, steep hill climbs, twisty hairpin bends, windy and narrow roads, unpaved mud roads, unsafe roads with big pot holes and much more.

One with the nature
Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-coorg.jpg

I was expecting it to be like the Skoda Rapid 1.6 TDI in terms of handling and acceleration minus the pushback from massive torque, but was I in for a surprise, the Polo TSI is just insane. There is never a dull moment with this car.

First 1,000 KMS.
I drove the car sedately under 2000 rpm for the most part, occasionally touching 110 kph.
Got the first free checkup within 10 days of delivery, the diagnostics was done within an hour and good to go again. The SA asked me to drive sedately for another 1000 kms and I obliged.

1k to 2k KMS
This is the first time I'm drove an automobile sedately post 1k kms, but post 1k KMS I kept the revs ceiling at 2500 rpm.

Post 2k KMS
Let's just say I have a heavy right foot and I have put it to good use, love the engine noise when the turbo kicks in.

1. Fuel Economy
I'm getting an average of 11 kmpl, I've tried different kinds of fuel starting with Shell V power, Shell regular, Regular Indian oil, Indian Oil XP95, Bharath Petroleum, yet to try HP power.
IOCL XP95 returned the highest FE on my early morning highway run at 17 kmpl, but also the full tank of IOCL XP95 which I refueled at Mysore returned the lowest FE at 8 kmpl. The later one didn't feel like 95 octane petrol at all.

I knew what I was buying into, low FE and lots of fun. What I heard about the car is what I got and I won't complain about it.

I use fuelio app to keep track of my FE.

Stats from fuelio app
Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-fuelio.jpg

2. Performance
There is nothing to complain about performance of this car, one of the most rev happy engines I have driven. There is some turbo lag in D mode but it almost disappears in S mode.
There is soo much power on demand for quick overtakes.
I'm using S mode to overtake then switching back to D mode after.
Other cars will get going faster due to the transmission protection measures which makes you slower off the line but once the car is in motion never felt like anyone else got upper hand over me.

3. Transmission
Had to talk about this absolute gem of a torque converter. My colleague said he was disappointed when he heard VW was taking away DSG from polo, so he went with I20 Asta (comes with 1 liter turbo and DCT). I had to show him what this single clutch VW TC can do and oh boy was he impressed after a 5km drive with me.
The aggressive crawl is also awesome in stop move traffic, all I have to do is let go off the brake gently to move. Funnily I drove my colleagues I20 and I was expecting it to move after depressing the Brake pedal but it just stood still

Visited Yercaud after first check up, initially I thought I have to use manual mode during the climb but D mode is enough for that. It holds the gear perfectly(longer than regular driving) during inclined climbs, doesn't randomly shift gears like many other auto transmissions.

it's not all wins though, there was this one moment in a two way road when I was overtaking a slow moving auto with another vehicle oncoming. I floored the accelerator in D mode but for a moment there was nothing, felt like it stalled and I was a sitting duck, but once the revs increased and turbo kicked in, the car just slingshot back into our side of the road. After that incident, most of the time I use S mode for overtakes.

S mode is addictive, the jerky aggressive downshifts, the eagerness to rev hard is just insane and get's to your mind quickly. It also doesn't care about FE, just chugs petrol like a thirsty elephant.

4. Braking
It's better than many of the cars I've driven but it's not exceptional. The braking power is turned all the way to max in S mode but it also heats up the brakes quickly and one can feel the braking power fading away after braking from high speeds a couple of times.
Upgrading brakes is in top 3 of my to do list.

5. Comfort
Not the thing you discuss when buying such a car, but it's super comfortable for 2 people, and moderately comfortable for 2 people in the back who aren't that tall.
We did 200 kms on narrow windy roads to coorg with 4 people, 2 x 5'11 in the back (including me), 1 x 6ft and one giant 6 feet plus friend who sat in co-driver seat infront of me. It's doable but not for super long road trips.
Also during this trip, everyone thought we would hit the speed breakers or pot holes due to such high load but everyone were surprised not once did the bottom of the car touch to any kind of surface.
Thank you VW for this increased ground clearance whose benefit is increased with short wheel base.

The Stanley leather seats just made the car much more comfortable.

Stanley Black (noir) Leather seats with red stitching.
Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-stanley.jpg

6. Handling
There isn't much to talk about it, it's perfect. Never felt I didn't have enough group, can do much higher speeds in twisty roads than any other regular car.
I was pulling away from all the other cars during our trip to yercaud.
Friends also commented that I weave around traffic way easier compared to their cars.

Things that frustrate me.

1. My only gripe with this car is the skinny steering wheel, I want a chunky steering wheel. They could have used the ones they had in Vento and Rapid or even the ones they have in Taigun and Virtus.

Can anyone suggest me how to make the steering wheel a bit more chunkier without replacing with an aftermarket one?

2. There are blind spots in rear view mirrors due to my seating position, I have eliminated most of it with fiddling around the seat height and ORVMS but there is still a blind spot.

3. Headlights, the throw isn't good at all, upgrading to LED bulbs or Aftermarket projector headlmap units is top of my to do list.

4. Cost cutting, it's soo much noticeable since I still own 2014 Skoda Rapid.

Other than these few things I don't have anything to complain about, what you see is what you get.

All my friends are envious, all of them have better cars (cough cough costlier cough cough). One of them is even pestering me to sell him for 1 Lakh over the on road price. Each and everyone who drove the car is super impressed with it. That's all one can expect from their car.

Few more pics:

Love this pic
Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-coorg-2.jpg

Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-coorg-3a.jpg

Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-coorg-4a.jpg

Will be back for a 7.5k Kms update.
k491 is offline   (35) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 09:49   #846
ais

For headlight upgrade, simply go for a 4300k LED. Ive used DHC LEDs in both low and high beam, and I'm delighted. Excellent in rain too. Plug and play. 7500 each pair.

Looking at GPNE 3000k/6000k switchable LEDs for fog lights.
ais is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 10:09   #847

Congrats @K491 on your new car! Although it may not seem like it now, this car is a true gem and it is sad that VW bid it a farewell in the way that they did. The Legend edition should have had way more hype than it got, of course needless to mention the absolutely miniscule efforts by VW India. The 'Legend' edition owners should have got some special treatment since it is the last of the lot. I have no doubts in my mind that this car will serve you faithfully for the years to come and also cement a grin on your face every time that you drive it!

As a fellow VW owner, here is my take on a couple of doubts that you posted:

1) With regards to the headlights, upgrading the bulbs should be on the top of the list for every owner, the OEM Yellow Halogen bulbs are absolutely horrible. Would suggest you opt for LED bulbs over an aftermarket unit.

2) There is no way to make the steering chunkier without replacing the steering to a newer one to the best of my knowledge. But One possible way of doing this is giving to to a modifier who is experienced with stitching etc, they may be able to help you albeit I wouldn't modify the steering wheel much.

Do you have any mods planned?
AKSarkar1 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 22:11   #848

For headlight upgrade, simply go for a 4300k LED. Ive used DHC LEDs in both low and high beam, and I'm delighted. Excellent in rain too. Plug and play. 7500 each pair.

Looking at GPNE 3000k/6000k switchable LEDs for fog lights.
I was told that the headlight has to be removed in order to access the bulbs and there is a chance that moisture might get in while doing this. Can you please confirm? The stocks lights are pathetic and would really like to upgrade them if there are no risks.
Old 12th June 2022, 22:45   #849
ais

Originally Posted by sid_deb View Post
I was told that the headlight has to be removed in order to access the bulbs and there is a chance that moisture might get in while doing this. Can you please confirm? The stocks lights are pathetic and would really like to upgrade them if there are no risks.
The headlights have to be removed to access the bulbs. However, there is a removable rubber dust cover behind the headlight assembly. Removing it after removing the full assembly from the car allows access and change of bulb.

Moisture ingress happens only if the glass seal at the front is removed (as done for projector installation), which is not done in bulb change. That's why I went for LEDs within reflectors. Go for these with full confidence. I drove in pouring rain last night and found illumination excellent. Mine are DHC, but I think GPNE also has 4300k LEDs. Cost was Rs.7500 per pair from Arihant Motors, near Milan Subway.

Today I got the GPNE R2 (3000k and 6000k switchable) LEDs installed in fog reflectors through Motorsounds, Lokhandwala. Simple plug and play. Good result, especially with the yellow light. Cost is Rs.6500.

Last edited by ais : 12th June 2022 at 22:48.
Old 13th June 2022, 06:08   #850

Polo GT TSI Legend 1 month, 3500 kms Update.

Things that frustrate me.

1. My only gripe with this car is the skinny steering wheel, I want a chunky steering wheel. They could have used the ones they had in Vento and Rapid or even the ones they have in Taigun and Virtus.

Can anyone suggest me how to make the steering wheel a bit more chunkier without replacing with an aftermarket one?
You can swap the steering wheel for that of a GTIs. Bhpian Gannu sir has done that in his 1.6 TDI Polo. Wishing you a lot of miles of happiness with this cute beast
Happy Motoring
DevSunit is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 13th June 2022, 06:54   #851

Mine are DHC, but I think GPNE also has 4300k LEDs. Cost was Rs.7500 per pair from Arihant Motors, near Milan Subway.
Ais, Would VW Service Station do the swap, or does it has to be done in a garage outside. Also, possible to share where to procure the bulbs from - internet or offline shops.

Last, Does this swap, void the warranty ?

Took my car post 1st service for a long drive yesterday. I drove to Rocky Ridge Cafe, which is around 65km from Bangalore. The drive has a mix of 4-lane and 2-lane roads with both smooth and broken roads. Driving the car in 2 lane narrow twisting village roads was real fun.

Got an overall mileage of 14.1 kmpl. Car is fun to drive, No complaints. The car has done around 900km, so kept the speeds under 80 and within 2k RPM.

Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-img_0781.jpg
vivek.ks is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th June 2022, 10:25   #852
ais

Originally Posted by vivek.ks View Post
Ais, Would VW Service Station do the swap, or does it has to be done in a garage outside. Also, possible to share where to procure the bulbs from - internet or offline shops.

Last, Does this swap, void the warranty ?

The car has done around 900km, so kept the speeds under 80 and within 2k RPM.

Attachment 2319827
WV may not do it. Any local accessories shop handling lights would. DHC is a popular brand. You could order online. Model is F55 4300k. 1 year warranty. Warranty won't be affected.

Be sure to use the correct Polo bulb holder clips available at aftermartket headlight stores. DO NOT let the installer modify your original clips.

Now running in after initial babying period of 800kms, till 2000kms it will entail taking each gear through each RPM incrementally higher up to full capability as odometer KMS add up.
Old 15th June 2022, 11:27   #853

Had a check engine warning come up last week. Took my car to VW OMR Chennai. The error code was related to fuel pump.
The conclusion was, if it's fuel quality related it would go away after the remaining fuel is used up, if it happens again they would have to look at fuel injectors.
Coincidentally, I filled at a BP petrol station after a very long time just the previous day.
They reset the warning and asked me to drive away the remaining fuel.
It's been a week I've refilled fuel from another station and completed a 300km one day trip.
No warning so far.

Although this experience was rather smooth, while I was there, I asked the service person to see if the Hill Hold feature is enabled on my car. The car moves back immediately when I lift my foot off the brake when in drive mode.
The service person is so out of touch with the features. He categorically rejected that HL plus AT model has Hill Hold. I downloaded a brochure from Volkswagen website and showed him and he still said Hill Hold is not supported in my car.
I went to the sales department, they agreed with me. I told them the feature is disabled and can be activated via an OBD device.

I was told that the service can't perform any coding without VW's approval.

The sales spoke to the service, and it was lunch time already.
The service person asked me to wait and didn't give any timeline on when a technician will be available to test drive the car. I was told that everyone would be busy with the delivery in the afternoon session.
It was 2 pm and I hadn't had my lunch yet plus I had to go back to work. I left without addressing the Hill Hold issue.

It was pathetic that VW's service is so out of touch.

Oh by the way, the infamous air vents of VW got broken within 15 months of ownership, both driver's and passenger's side are damaged.
When asked about the quality, the service person agreed that the air vents quality isn't up to the mark, and a lot of customers keep complaining about the vents.
He also gave me a heads-up saying that the mirror knob is another part that keeps failing for a lot of customers. So much for Volkswagen quality.

Sigh!
PacmanBegins is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th June 2022, 14:48   #854

Thanks for the suggestion, I'll try to source two sets asap. Can you kindly share some pics of the light beam throw? it would help me make up my mind.

Originally Posted by AKSarkar1 View Post
Would suggest you opt for LED bulbs over an aftermarket unit.
I am split between LED bulbs or the UU projector headlamp unit that's widely used by Polo owners.

2)But One possible way of doing this is giving to to a modifier who is experienced with stitching etc, they may be able to help you albeit I wouldn't modify the steering wheel much.
That was my initial thoughts, the polo steering wheel is not round but oval, so even getting thicker leather wrap would just make it more awkward rather than chunky

Do you have any mods planned?
Just a small incremental list.
1. Headlamp unit replacement or just LED bulb upgrade, along with the smoked Audi inspired tail lights (later on).
2. Some visual mods, searching for unique and subtle pattern for roof top.
3. Awesome steering wheel replacement, currently pondering between the GTI OEM and SKL carbon GTI wheel, (not sure if they make one for GT)
3. Stage one tune either after 50k kms or 1L kms depending on how fast I put on the mileage.
4. Stage 2 tune strictly after I cross the extended warranty mileage.
k491 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th June 2022, 16:03   #855
ais

Thanks for the suggestion, I'll try to source two sets asap. Can you kindly share some pics of the light beam throw? it would help me make up my mind
One can understand the initial confusion between so many options!

Pics may take time, and they may not represent the exact lighting. But trust me- I've checked out a lot and done several experiments, including for the poor LED reflector setup in my ex BMW 330i F30. Just got IHP 3 colour projector in Baleno fog lights (and Osram Rally 90/100W for headlight). For Polo double barrel headlight, just go for DHC 4300k LED as even adjustments are not needed for beams.
ais is offline   (1) Thanks