Old 17th October 2024, 15:01   #301

Re: Maruti S-Presso : Official Review

Also, there seems to be one difference in the suspension of S-presso CNG and normal models.

For normal Spresso, front suspension is "MacPherson Strut with Coil Spring"
For CNG Spresso, it is "MacPherson Strut with Coil Spring and Stabilizer Bar"

Rear suspension is same in both.

Is the better ride quality due to this stabilizer bar?

MODS: Kindly merge this post with my previous post as I could not edit the previous post.
Old 18th October 2024, 10:15   #302

Originally Posted by mohan41 View Post
After having travelled in few S-presso cabs, I felt the ride quality is noticeably better than my S-presso in these cabs even while in rear seat.

I dont think the cabbies reduce the tyre pressure. And difference of sidewall thickness between 145/80 and 165/70 tyres is not significant, it is just 0.5mm difference.

So I think the reason is the heavy CNG kit in these cabs whose weight in rear boot area helps to keep the ride plush.
Also, there seems to be one difference in the suspension of S-presso CNG and normal models.

MODS: Kindly merge this post with my previous post as I could not edit the previous post.

All the CNG cabs I have taken ride on, when compared to the ICE only variant, have had noticeably better ride quality at the rear.

I think its only because of the CNG tank at the boot and differently tuned suspension.

I have noticed this on WagonR / S-Presso / Xcent and DZire.
Old 20th October 2024, 16:41   #303

S presso Dualjet 2 year, 30k km update.
Many points are already elaborated in this thread, I will post my observations/ experience.
-Bought this small car out of compulsion but ownership experience panned out way more pleasant than expected.
-My previous car was ecosport diesel and we also have ignis at home, so any comparison in this thread will be with these two cars
-Extremely compact dimension from outside without feeling lack of space from inside. I never have a feeling that I am driving a small car.
-Front seat comfort is acceptable. Ignis seats are way more comfortable in comparison.
-Short first and second gear provide accelerator free drive in city and enthusiastic performance in hills.
-Fourth and fifth gear are extraordinary tall. Engine is happy when shifted to fifth gear @ 60 kmph. Tall fifth gear makes no downshift overtakes possible.
-The real gem of Spresso is its K10C Engine. Its poweful, refined and efficient. Ignis performance feels blunted in comparison.
-Engine noise has decreased to nil with time but judder can be felt sometime during engine lugging.
-AC is wonderful with no toll on engine performance. Ignis AC takes noticeably longer time to cool the cabin.
-Touch screen head unit is trouble free and has thrown no tantrums so far.
-Rear speakers in this small car make whole experience complete. I never miss my Ecosport music system.
-T2T fuel efficiency has never decreased below 22 kmpl. This is when driven with 3 passengers, full AC, 70% highway drive @ 70-80 kmph. Without AC it goes to 24 kmpl. Ignis T2T mileage is 19 kmpl in similar conditions.
-Stock tyres are puncture prone and noisy although fuel efficient. At 22k kms after suffering 5-6 punctures, I changed the tyres to Apollo Amazer 4G life in stock size. New tyres have reduced noise, improved ride and braking with a slight toll on fuel efficiency.
-Boot door is not centrally locked. So boot has to be unlocked with key from outside. Remember not to keep the key on parcel tray while loading/unloading luggage, otherwise key can get locked inside the car if forgotten to take it out before closing the boot door.
-Road noise is the cars achillies heel. I have got the floor and doors damped but still the experience is far from serene. Ignis nvh are way ahead of Spresso.
-You have to pat Maruti Suzuki guys for not giving up the small car segment, even though sales have decreased with time.

Scope of Improvement
-make Day/Night mirror standard.
-Focus on car NVH levels. This is 2024 when car is driven with AC on and windows rolled up, emphasizing the cars refinement quotient.
Dr.Abhi is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 20th October 2024, 19:02   #304

Originally Posted by Dr.Abhi View Post
Road noise is the cars achillies heel. I have got the floor and doors damped but still the experience is far from serene. Ignis nvh are way ahead of Spresso.
-Focus on car NVH levels. This is 2024 when car is driven with AC on and windows rolled up, emphasizing the cars refinement quotient.
Hello Dr. Abhi, thanks for the comprehensive feedback.

In another thread (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...-explored.html (The Art of Silence and Thunder | Car cabin decibels explored)), you have mentioned "Maruti s presso at 100 kmph, music off, ac blower at speed 1- 85 decibel"

Is that after the tyre change or before the change?

I rarely take my S-presso to highway as I have the Ertiga. But the 12 year old diesel engine of my Ertiga is noisier than S-presso's refined engine. So I am tempted to take S-presso on highway rides if Ride quality can be improved and reduce the noise, and somehow add headrest for rear seat.

(I am ok with speed < 80kmph.)

To improve ride quality and noise, which tyre would be best? I was reading some reviews about Continental CC6 which apparently has soft sidewalls and also low noise. Any idea about it?
mohan41 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st October 2024, 09:52   #305

Hello Dr. Abhi, thanks for the comprehensive feedback.

In another thread (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...-explored.html (The Art of Silence and Thunder | Car cabin decibels explored)), you have mentioned "Maruti s presso at 100 kmph, music off, ac blower at speed 1- 85 decibel"

Is that after the tyre change or before the change?

I rarely take my S-presso to highway as I have the Ertiga. But the 12 year old diesel engine of my Ertiga is noisier than S-presso's refined engine. So I am tempted to take S-presso on highway rides if Ride quality can be improved and reduce the noise, and somehow add headrest for rear seat.

(I am ok with speed < 80kmph.)

To improve ride quality and noise, which tyre would be best? I was reading some reviews about Continental CC6 which apparently has soft sidewalls and also low noise. Any idea about it?
Noise levels post tyre change and floor damping @ 70-80 kmph is 70-72 db.

Regarding tyres, I have been using apollo tyres since last 12 years (2 sets of apollo apterra on ecosport) and they never gave up on me, thats why I didnt consider any other tyre brand. You can consider Apollo Amazer XP whose main emphsis is on tyre noise, ride comfort and fuel efficiency. I went for Apollo 4g Life mainly for its puncture resistance.
Dr.Abhi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2024, 14:03   #306

Hi Folks. I am aware that this has been discussed earlier, but just wanted to be sure about Spresso's steering on the latest 2024 model. After driving the Nano for 10 years, my dad now wants to upgrade. We have a unique requirement combo:
- SUV-like View and Ground Clearance
- AMT
- Hill Assist
- Light Steering
- Budget could be stretched up to 10 lakhs if justified

So I have shortlisted the following cars.

1st Preference: Spresso AGS VXI+ (No learning curve. It is compact, and my dad is confident about driving this. AGS is far better than the Tata's. The only drawback is the steering not returning to its original position without manual intervention. Tatas might not be refined, but the EPS they have on all their cars are the best on the market)

2nd Preference: Hyundai Exter AMT (not too big. Not too small)

3rd Preference: Magnite CVT Turbo (I will sell my Tigor and buy this instead. Get the Nano restored. I just love the fun of driving this on all terrains! But, this means forcing my dad to drive the bulky Magnite)

Appreciate the genuine feedback about the Power Steering on the Spresso. And no, if the steering is not retuning to its original position, then it is a big problem. There is no getting used to it. I am happy to live with the head-nod on the less refined AMTs instead, rather than injuring the shoulders of my old man.

Last edited by virajvroom : 22nd October 2024 at 14:06.
virajvroom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2024, 14:19   #307

Originally Posted by virajvroom View Post
Hi Folks. I am aware that this has been discussed earlier, but just wanted to be sure about Spresso's steering on the latest 2024 model. After driving the Nano for 10 years, my dad now wants to upgrade. We have a unique requirement combo:
- SUV-like View and Ground Clearance
- AMT
- Hill Assist
- Light Steering
- Budget could be stretched up to 10 lakhs if justified
Exter should be your pick. As you can go upto 10L don't settle with S presso. Exter will provide a much better ownership in the long run especially it's AMT being the best one I've driven. Don't bother with Renault Nissan. Ignis is a great car but will not give that SUV driving feel. Looking at your requirements Exter is perfect. Great AMT, very light steering, hill assist though it slightly rolls back when I tried it, and it's Hyundai so it will be a fuss free ownership for the most part.
venukrithish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2024, 16:53   #308

Originally Posted by virajvroom View Post

Appreciate the genuine feedback about the Power Steering on the Spresso. And no, if the steering is not retuning to its original position, then it is a big problem. There is no getting used to it. I am happy to live with the head-nod on the less refined AMTs instead, rather than injuring the shoulders of my old man.
If your criteria is of steering return to its original position, then you should not go with spresso. Even though with time the steering return function of Spresso has improved but still it will never return fully to the centre position.
Dr.Abhi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th November 2024, 09:37   #309

Test rode the Exter last week. It is a good product overall. However, that is its biggest negative as well. You can't drive it carefree like an SUV nor does it have the fun factor of smaller cars. I got the feeling that it is specifically made for customers who have decided to buy a Hyundai but don't like the Santro or i10 NIOS and don't have the budget for a Venue or Creata.

After a lot of reservations and the Renault sales guys pushing me to come down to the showroom once and have a test ride of KWID and KIGER. I couldn't say no. And it was a good decision. Often we just get carried away with a lot of negativity from people who haven't even tested a product.

KIGER is simply big, so it is out of question now. KWID is a gem of a machine! Except for the screaming engine (similar to Nano) everything else is well sorted and of good quality.

BIG THING in bold which I am going to keep propagating from threads to forums from now on is it's a better product than Marutis overall (keeping after sales aside). None of the Marutis from Alto to Wagon R have a self centering steering. Maruti is got to be kidding. The KWID's steering feels as if it comes from one segment above. It also gets a TPMS and power windows on all four doors.

One might argue that the TIAGO AMT makes sense if I stretch my budget a bit. But TATAs have been kidding as well, without giving it a HILL HOLD.

So KWID it is!
virajvroom is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th November 2024, 11:09   #310

I need suggestions for a good reversing Camera for S-Presso VXI(O) AGS based on your first hand experiences. Please note this version is not the highest end, thus doesn't come with a central touchscreen panel.

Also I'm not looking for dashcam model that also has backside camera. My wife is a novice driver, and I don't want anything that blocks her windscreen viewability at this point. For the utility am looking at, a good reversing camera would do. Don't want to go for Maruti Suzuki's MSGA camera either. Thank you!
Old 26th November 2024, 22:20   #311

I am also facing this issue of stiff suspension and looking for permanent remedy to it. Otherwise this is one of the best city car to zip through the traffic.

I have been thinking about some aftermarket solutions if available but since this car is at bottom of the budget segment, there are none available.
Old 16th December 2024, 10:56   #312

I test drove Exter over the last week and i thought i would share my feedback with respect to S-presso which i currently own. While the Exter without doubt is the better car, there are a few points where the S-presso holds its own.

1. Seating position of both front and back seats.
S- presso has more upright seats. Exter has hatchback like seats with the seatbase angled towards the rear which caused back pain even during the short test drive.Increasing the seat height to maximum makes the Exters seating position realatively better but it still feels hatch like .The S-presso has no such problem. Similary, the rear seat back is inclined way too much which will cause back pain during long rides for rear seat occupants. The S-presso's back seats are better in this aspect.

2. Space.
There is no considerable legroom increase for the Exter. Heck, there isn't much legroom increase for even the Brezza. This gave me a new appreciation for this little guy, whom I've been trying to replace for the better part of the ownership.

3. Ground clearance.
Even though the Exter has 5mm advantage over S-presso, it scrapes on the ramp with more than 1 person in the car. The S-presso scrapes only when its fully loaded. Advantage - S-presso.

After test driving the Exter/Brezza back to back only the Brezza feels like a proper upgrade to S-presso and so we have decided to book Brezza.
darkfantasy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2024, 10:36   #313

Originally Posted by darkfantasy View Post
test drove Exter over the last week and i thought i would share my feedback with respect to S-presso which i currently own.
After test driving the Exter/Brezza back to back only the Brezza feels like a proper upgrade to S-presso and so we have decided to book Brezza.
Thanks. My dad was hell bent on buying the Exter and Not the Kwid. A few of his old colleagues gave him the feedback that the Kwid's metal quality is inferior and the car ages faster that it is supposed to. He being a metallurgist working for suppliers of Bajaj and Tata, there was no way I could have won an argument. So we bought the Exter SX (O) Connect AT.

After driving for some time there has been a minor perception change.

Point 1: is valid however no back pain experienced on long drives. In fact the rear passengers used to the upright position of WagonR sand Tata Nano simply loved Exter's natural recline and support. It can be a bit uncomfortable in city drives though since you are not in a mood of resting on short commute. For the front you need some time to get used to. The tiltalble steering is a boon. The view however is fantastic in comparison to the i10 Nios.

Point 2: Maybe. Felt similar on moving from the Nano to Exter. But the space on Exter is better than that of my Tigor. So no complaints.

Point 3. No issues whatsoever. Driven on kaccha roads and mall ramps with 5 people seated. Never experienced scraping. I guess this is just a perception that arises due to the soft suspension on the Exter and the rear wheel arches being pushed down towards the wheels.

Coming back to Marutis. The SPresso and Brezza have some serious steering self centering issues. Drove my neighbours XL6 a day ago. And seems it has the same issue as well. Reviews of the new DZire suggest the issue persists but with marginal improvements. The first time drivers and people who have only owned the Maruti's will never notice this. But we are spoilt by our Nano's smooth EPS due to which the steering can be rotated using just fingers

I still love the butter smooth engine of SPresso and AGS gearbox. Most of all the mind boggling fuel efficiency. However the steering is a huge turn off and played a vital role for us in ignoring the 'Kitna Deti hai' syndrome and focusing on the overall driving experience

Last edited by virajvroom : 22nd December 2024 at 10:48.
virajvroom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th December 2024, 01:59   #314

2 years 15000 KMs with SPresso VXI AGS

This car spoiled us so much that I sometimes get tempted to sell my Hector. Driving it in city is like go-karting & zipping through traffic.

We bought it in 2022 Oct for my wife, it was her first car after learning to drive & getting driving license. It has been 24+ months with 15000+ kms on odo in city and we absolutely love driving SPresso for city commutes.

Its small footprint, ease of driving due to AMT & high upright sitting posture has helped to make my wife pro driver. She handles the worst traffic scenarios with confidence and ease.

Lets start with positives in order of priority for us:-

1. Small footprint: You can squeeze her through where an auto can go & its big advantage in city like Pune.

2. Automatic: AMT is seamless for relaxed driving with option of manual shifts. We don't feel head-nods as we are sedate driver in city with avg speed between 25-35 kmph.

3. Tall boy / High upright sitting posture: Its boon, gives good visibility of road ahead, bonnet is visible and it helped my wife in her early days of driving to estimate the gap in front comfortably.

4. Auto hold: Its works each time as expected. It was again good for my wife as she never had the worry of rollback of car on inclines specially as the very first red light from our home is on incline.

5. Kitna deti hai (mileage): We drive mostly in bumper to bumper traffic with gears 2 or 3 and occasionally 4 when speed is around 40 - 45 km/hr. 5th is rare in city. We get between 14 to 17 KMPL in city & if at all she gets on to highway (its rare as Hector's steals those rides) mileage is easily north of 20 KMPL minimum.

6. Android / Apple Car play: Though wired but it helps a lot as my wife relies on maps.

7. Steering mounted controls: Picking up phones, browsing through music is easy for her. Again, being a new driver, it was easy for her.

8. Headlights: They are good, lights up the road sufficiently, don't feel the need to upgrade.

What we don't like, again in order of dislikes:-

1. Suspension:
We feel the bumps on the road on slow speeds and think that suspension is not soft. We are spoiled by soft suspension of Hector. We don't use rear seat much but ride is not settled on rear seat in case road is not good. We have not experienced the dynamics in high speed as we don't use the car for highways. I don't mind spending some money to make ride better but guess there are no options except may be tyre change.

2. No day/night mirror: Not even the manual one provided in stock vehicle. I plan to get it installed in next service.

3. Cubby holes around gear leaver are placed very low as comparted seat height hence one has to bend and stretch arm to pick up anything kept there.

4. Auto start / stop: Its irritating in stop-go traffic (we disable it then) but we also found it useful for long red lights.

5. Rear parcel tray reminds me of my 2006 Wagon R. Somehow Maruti is not able to crack the sound fitting formula for rear parcel trays. It used to fall down or create noise while driving hence we have removed it permanently.

Changes / mods:-

We added considerable set of accessories to stock vehicle, mostly OEM & few local.

1. Alloy wheels: Got the original steel wheels / caps replaced with Maruti OEM alloy wheels.

2. Wheel cladding: Got the wheel claddings (OEM) installed for all wheel arches. It saved the fenders couple of times in traffic however since this cladding comes in multiple pieces & is sticked with adhesives so if any piece is lost then complete wheel cladding for all the wheels is to be purchased which is odd.

3. Since our car is red, so my wife got the OEM interior decoration OEM parts installed for door garnish, AC vents & central screen kit of red colour which actually changed the look of the car from inside in positive way.

4. Rear camera from OEM

5. Rear spoiler in black from OEM

6. Air deflector on windows from OEM

7. Seat covers and driver hand rest from local market.

Niggles: None. One of the cheapest automatic ICE car in India and is extremely reliable with no niggles encountered till date.

Service: 4 scheduled service visits have been done and all were fuss free except one where I noticed a minor paint damage on front bumper after service which was corrected (repainted) by service station without any arguments. Rather than disappointment, it increased my faith in processes of Maruti.

The specific service station I visit is India's largest car service facility spread over 2,50,000 sqft of Maruti Suzuki dealer Wonder cars in Pimpri Chinchwad in Pune (as per the claim by dealer and I also find it very huge almost like a factory permises). I guess they have approx 50+ bays for service, 15-20 for car wash & cars continue to pour in throughout the day despite that I always get my car back in max 4-5 hours. They are efficient and quick!!

Our on-road price of this car in 2022 was Rs6.4 lacs + we added accessories worth approx 60K. Initially I was slightly concerned about 3 cylinder engine & overall reliability of car however it has turned out to be perfect fit for our requirement.

Below are few pics of our Spresso:-

Maruti S-Presso : Official Review-front-view_1.jpg
Maruti S-Presso : Official Review-inside_front.jpg
Maruti S-Presso : Official Review-inside-rear.jpg
Maruti S-Presso : Official Review-dicky.jpg
boot enough for weekend grocery big shopping bags
Maruti S-Presso : Official Review-inside.jpg
Maruti S-Presso : Official Review-light_throw.jpg
low beam spread
Maruti S-Presso : Official Review-wheel-cladding.jpg
scratches on wheel cladding
Maruti S-Presso : Official Review-front_2.jpg
FiatDiesel is offline   (37) Thanks
Old 30th December 2024, 11:15   #315

Tastefully done interiors which are looking great with that red color! Surprised to hear your complain around rear parcel tray. My 2020 Wagon R has no issues what so ever and fits perfectly without any noises or rattles. In fact it's such a necessity in Delhi where we need to keep our boot safe from prying eyes of anti-social elements.
Maverick Avi is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com