(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
Originally Posted by hellmet
(Post 5764835)
Does anyone have the update file for the Smartplay Studio of S-Presso? The service center folks keep skipping this when my father takes it for service, and I'm wondering if I can just do it myself when I'm here with the car. |
Search for any available updates on
this portal, and follow instructions to install via USB.
Originally Posted by Chetan_Rao
(Post 5764927)
Search for any available updates on this portal, and follow instructions to install via USB. |
Hi, I believe that portal does not serve the S-Presso since my model is "MD" and I couldn't find it in the dropdown.
Hello Everyone!
Looking to fit a fog light on the S-presso. Can anyone guide me with this? We have asked Maruti ASS. They say LED DRLs are available for a cost of ₹12.5k. I guess from road illumination perspective they are of no use.
The reason for going for Fog light is for better visibility driving through a few village roads during rainy and winter season. We travel these roads between 2AM to 6AM when there is chance of Fog.
Originally Posted by mm_shen
(Post 5784429)
Hello Everyone!
Looking to fit a fog light on the S-presso. Can anyone guide me with this? We have asked Maruti ASS. They say LED DRLs are available for a cost of ₹12.5k. I guess from road illumination perspective they are of no use.
The reason for going for Fog light is for better visibility driving through a few village roads during rainy and winter season. We travel these roads between 2AM to 6AM when there is chance of Fog. |
As we all know there is no proper place to fit fog lamps in s presso, I have found a way around. When there is fog or heavy rain, turn the headlamp to high beam and rotate the headlamp leveller to lowest setting. It will not work like a dedicated fog lamp but improves visibility a lot in poor weather condition without hampering visibility for oncoming traffic. You can try it and give feedback on this jugaad method. :)
Hello Everyone,
Looking to change Horn in my S Presso, MS showroom guys are saying that Warranty will be void in that case. I don't think that's right, any suggestions?
Just thought I'd provide a short update on my S-presso which has completed 4 years now.
As a first-time owner, it's been a very satisfactory experience overall. This little guy may not wow you with many features but what it does - it does with aplomb.
The car has covered about 25k km and except for wiper blades/filters nothing else is replaced. The battery is still stock and the car still cranks on the first try. The key is also still on its stock battery. I guess the upside of having a basic car is that there are fewer components that could go wrong and create a bad taste in ownership. The tires are also stock and they are adequate if you are not very enthusiastic in your driving. The car is parked in covered parking, so the paint/plastics are as good as new except for the few scratches it has picked up in traffic. Luckily there are still no rattles(I've babied the car over bad patches of roads) and the engine seems to be getting more silent with each service.
The plastic bumpers also have their advantages. I was rear-ended multiple times by two-wheelers and once I expected major damage on hearing a loud bang. But what could cause a dent/ paint scrape in metal, leaves no traces of collision in the bumper plastic at city speeds.
As others have pointed out, the car is a breeze to drive within the city because of its narrow dimensions. Reduce the tire pressure to 28PSI for city drives and you can have a compliant ride too even when the car is not loaded. Out on the highways, the jittery and lightweight nature of the car is well-masked once it's fully loaded and it feels relatively solid and planted. The upright seating position also helps in keeping us fresh on long drives. It is easily possible to drive 12+ hours on a single day in this car. If you keep the speeds at around 85 you can cruise along on our highways all day long. Of course, anything more, and it quickly gets nervous.
Because of its lightweight nature and narrow width, it has decent offroading capabilities too. Although never intentional, there were tricky situations multiple times on dirt roads during the monsoons and this little guy just managed to glide through without any drama. It does not dig into mud like bigger cars and it does not run out of steam on steep inclines either.
On the mileage front, I get about 12 to 18 within the city depending on traffic, and about 23 to 26 on highways depending on the load (all MID figures). The AC is ON always and it chills the car in no time even during the peak summer.
Before I bought this car, I was a Fastrack/Ola/Uber person despite loving cars and following team-bhp regularly. In a city like Chennai I thought driving was not a sensible option. However, covid forced me to buy this little guy and I have totally fallen in love with driving ever since. A car - however basic, gives a great deal of freedom in our journeys and a degree of safety from the elements. It makes traveling joyous and brings together family and friends like nothing else. And in our country, where personal spaces are a joke and basic civic sense is zero on our shared public spaces, it makes sense to put a barrier of metal and glass to reclaim a bit of that personal space. I loathe to take public transport nowadays even for long distances and that's precisely the reason why I'm looking at Brezza/Exter as an upgrade. The S-presso can do highway rides occasionally but with the increasing intensity of rashly driven bigger cars post covid, I believe it's time to move on.
Originally Posted by darkfantasy
(Post 5849496)
Just thought I'd provide a short update on my S-presso which has completed 4 years now. |
Such a wonderful write up! Thanks for this.
I would need a beater car about 5-6 months down the line, and the S-Presso and Alto AMTs are the top contenders as of now. Though the WagonR/Ignis are more practical options, I don't really think I would need a car as big to run errands and a couple of occasional long drives.
Originally Posted by darkfantasy
(Post 5849496)
On the mileage front, I get about 12 to 18 within the city depending on traffic, and about 23 to 26 on highways depending on the load (all MID figures). The AC is ON always and it chills the car in no time even during the peak summer.
|
Thanks for sharing the detailed feedback. I agree on most points having owned the Vxi+AMT for last 9 months. However, the FE in my case (100% city driving with AC on most of the time) has never crossed 12 on MID and real figure is 10.5-11. This is perhaps because most are short trips and in bad traffic on potholed roads. Add to that, the AMT downshifts to 1st gear early even when it could have managed in 2nd gear. In slightly downward inclines it tends to hold on to 2nd gear till 35kmph. Even then this FE is much better than the 7-8kmpl I used to get with my Santro AT in same driving conditions.
I have never taken it on a highway so far as I have the ertiga for that.
Hello everyone, I own an spresso MT Dec 2021 model and it has done less than 5000kms. My wife insisted that we buy the spresso as she liked the upright seating position though I did not like the car's looks. The problem is my wife is having vertigo issues and because of this she says that she gets the dizziness after travelling in the spresso every time because of the stiffer and hard suspension however she does not have the dizziness while travelling in a sedan or even a hatchback though. Because of this reason I am forced to take her in a cab rather than in my car most of the time. I am a bit hesitant to reduce the tyre pressure to 28psi as it may damage the tyres because of bad roads in chennai especially the interior roads where I live. I would like to know if changing the stock tyres to a softer ones will help in improving the ride quality and if so kindly suggest the tyre brands and the sizes. I welcome any kind of advice regarding this from BHPians. Thanks in advance.
Originally Posted by Joeboy
(Post 5853951)
Hello everyone, I own an spresso MT Dec 2021 model and it has done less than 5000kms. My wife insisted that we buy the spresso as she liked the upright seating position though I did not like the car's looks. The problem is my wife is having vertigo issues and because of this she says that she gets the dizziness after travelling in the spresso every time because of the stiffer and hard suspension however she does not have the dizziness while travelling in a sedan or even a hatchback though. Because of this reason I am forced to take her in a cab rather than in my car most of the time. I am a bit hesitant to reduce the tyre pressure to 28psi as it may damage the tyres because of bad roads in chennai especially the interior roads where I live. I would like to know if changing the stock tyres to a softer ones will help in improving the ride quality and if so kindly suggest the tyre brands and the sizes. I welcome any kind of advice regarding this from BHPians. Thanks in advance. |
Spresso low speed ride on bumpy surface is quite berable IMO. However you can definately decrease the tyre pressure till 28 psi as it will have no major effect on tyre longevity apart from slightly lower fuel efficiency.
Does your wife drive Spresso? If yes, make her drive another car. If the vertigo come back, she might be suffering from cervical symptoms.
Originally Posted by Oxy
(Post 5849627)
I would need a beater car about 5-6 months down the line, and the S-Presso and Alto AMTs are the top contenders as of now. Though the WagonR/Ignis are more practical options, I don't really think I would need a car as big to run errands and a couple of occasional long drives. |
Slightly OT, but I would say if you can, please go for the Ignis.
Not saying that S-presso is inferior, but the fact that Ignis is equally nimble and compact to drive in city, and it makes perfect sense as a city beater car. I have been using the same as city beater and in my 25 odd years of driving it is the Ignis that has been the most easy to drive car in city traffic, given its small size, light controls, superb visibility, high ground clearance, light clutch, precise gearshift, near perfect ergonomics, spacious legroom and kneeroom and all.
But that is not the main reason. The fact that Ignis still comes with old Swift's K12N engine, which is 4 cylinder unit, it holds an edge over the 3 cylinder units on the Alto/S-Presso/WagonR. The refinement, engine response, fuel efficiency and smoothness is just spot on.
Originally Posted by DCEite
(Post 5854331)
Not saying that S-presso is inferior, but the fact that Ignis is equally nimble and compact to drive in city |
We have both ignis and spresso at home and I can say there is no comparison in compactness between them. I can go to the extent and say that Spresso is a hybrid between car and a two wheeler. If you also go by the dimensions, than ignis is 1690 mm wide, whereas spresso is 1520mm wide and that is a difference of 17 cms.
But yes ignis is far more refined than spresso. So if a person who lives or frequently visits the inner/old areas of a city, than spresso will definately be far more accomodating and forgiving in those tight lanes.
Originally Posted by DCEite
(Post 5854331)
|
While the Ignis trumps S-presso in almost all aspects (the Ignis being from a higher segment), I can think of the following advantages for S-presso,
1. S-presso is narrower as other BHPians have mentioned.
2. It also has a slightly higher seating position and feels more upright.
3. The S-presso has better ground clearance for all practical purposes because of the very short front and back overhangs. Ignis kisses the ground more easily than S-presso, especially on ramps.
4. The AC of S-presso felt slightly more powerful and the air throw a little bit better from the blowers. Would suggest you check them out back to back.
5. Better mileage and less price of course.
However, if you are looking at Ignis, you should check out the Exter which is a far better product overall IMHO.
Hi everyone, I am very happy to inform you all that I purchased Espresso vxi. I purchased it in month of September 2024, covered 1200 kms so far. My other cars are
1) Innova Crysta 2.8
2) Fortuner 2.8 Sigma 4 AT.
3) Duster Rxl AMT.
4) Honda City.
Purchased this car for primary reason being sending kids to school. Attending grocery duties.
Off late I am feeling comfortable driving espresso within the town. It's very easy to manuovre in tight spaces. Surprisingly I am getting a decent mileage of 13.5 to 14 kmpl within the town.
I purchased this car with very minimal expectations and every one in my family are satisfied with the space and prefer to go for shopping and attend local house hold duties in this small car itself.
Overall a good package from Maruti stable for short trips and city usage. Will upload pics soon.
After having travelled in few S-presso cabs, I felt the ride quality is noticeably better than my S-presso in these cabs even while in rear seat.
I dont think the cabbies reduce the tyre pressure. And difference of sidewall thickness between 145/80 and 165/70 tyres is not significant, it is just 0.5mm difference.
So I think the reason is the heavy CNG kit in these cabs whose weight in rear boot area helps to keep the ride plush.