Old 30th May 2022, 19:02   #436

Re: Maruti Swift : Official Review

Is this your first service or third service?
There is no oil change on first service. Only after 10000 kms or a year oil change is necessary. Please confirm with your service advisor.

Last edited by Sheel : 30th May 2022 at 19:06. Reason: Please capitalize where required. Thanks.
Old 3rd June 2022, 12:15   #437

Was looking for compact city beater car, picked up Swift ZXi AMT last week. Was scouting for cars in range of 6-8L, this one costed a bit more, thanks to availability.

After shortlisting few cars, test drove some of them and had booked Nios( and a soft one for Baleno before Nios). Delivery time quoted was about 1 month but started getting delayed. Swift was initially dropped owing to longer waiting period and for being pricier. While waiting for Nios, was glancing through Swift brochure and few things stood out- ESP and hill hold. While both had poor safety ratings, Swift variant I was looking for scored better thanks to ESP, Hill hold, tethering for child seat, adjustable headrests. Nios has a smoother AMT and better features.

After the Kwid, was determined to not pickup 3 pot again. While Tiago and Punch were nice, engine left a lot to be desired. Baleno/Glanza were good but the variant I wanted was costing a Lac more(10L+). Amaze appeared good, however did not like how it drove(Soft suspension), price and wanted something that was easy to drive.

Had taken car to hometown and ODO now stands at 950KM. Few quick observations:

1. Engine is easily the best among competition. Almost EV levels of NVH on idle and has a good note at higher revs. Revv happy and tractable. Has good mid range and low end also is quite good. Have not tested high end but appears to have enough juice.

2. AMT is a head banger for sure. If AMT is your first automatic, may find decent, but if you are used to conventional automatic, definitely not smooth. However is quite convenient in city, Decided to let my head bang than knee pain. On the positive side, letting go off A pedal when gear shifts leads to a much smoother experience. On highway M mode was lot of fun. Once you understand characteristic of engine and gearbox, shifting is instant and lets you revv higher. Able to reduce the jerks the more I drive. Despite being a automatic, needs to be driven quite differently.

3. Ride is on stiffer side just as I prefer. That said its not unbearable stiff, is quite good for city. Even though GC is low, stiff suspension ensures car doesnot bottom out even with 4 people on board.

4.Has period correct features and interior quality is average at best. Nios appeared to have slightly better interiors and more features.

5. Front seats are very supportive and comes with adjustable head rests. ZXI also gets adjustable ones at rear which is a welcome move.

6. Hill hold is a boon, my other two AT have these hence could observe the benefit when I drove an AMT without one. While booking Nios, hadn't checked uphill driving in start/stop traffic. Took for another drive and had to juggle between Brake/Accelerator and Hand brake.

7. At 80-100KM/Hr, car is stable at highway, being new did not drive faster and doesnot feel confident either. Picks up pace quickly and there is enough heft to steering.

8. Twisty roads like say Charmadi- Hassan was super fun. Steering has some weight and you can push though corners. Holds line quite well and there is not much body roll, thanks again to stiff suspension.

9. Body panels as expected are super light and not confidence inspiring, especially with 2 star safety rating. That said was just wondering, do added kit like ESP, hill hold, passenger SBR, speed warnings improve safety? May be, I don't know. Will continue to remain 2 star car in my books until tested.

10. Headlights are poor, barely enough for low speed drives. Foglamps helps a bit but will see to upgrade bulbs. Rear lights are funky and gets nice LED treatment.

11. Car came with Bridgestone Ecopia, probably better than Apollos, but is still a bit noisy. Offers good grip on dry surface.

12. Expect rattles(None so far), Some of the renowned solid cars have developed rattles during my usage, I am sure Swift will rattle to glory.

13. Bad bits are in plenty but few bits surprised me in good way. Car came with hood insulation, engine guard/protection underneath, insulated wheel well, 60:40 split seats, decent 6 speaker music system. I was not expecting these in a budget car.

14. Too early to judge overall efficiency but with Petrol price hitting roof, is one of important factors for a beater car. On highway drive got overall 20.5 KMPL tank to tank. Drove at speeds of 80-100KM/Hr and included ghat sections. In city as per MID, i guess will return about 12-13KMPL or lesser in B2B traffic.

15. Lastly dealer experience was simply superb and among the best. Bought from Suraksha Koramangala and even though I was dealing for first time, felt like we knew for long time. Delivered everything as promised and had a memorable experience.

I had mentioned this in another thread, there is no perfect car in any budget that meets all your requirement. Under 10L now, you have to pickup a car that is reliable/efficient/refined but Unsafe or pickup something that offers poor driving experience but is safe. And more than all, most dealers don't have car to offer! I will stick to other cars in garage for highway duties and Swift for B2B traffic, school drop and weekend shopping. For the intended usage Swift so far feels perfect.

First ever Grey car. Not a color I generally prefer but looks ok now.
Maruti Swift : Official Review-img20220529wa0027.jpg

Last edited by Sheel : 3rd June 2022 at 14:43. Reason: Spaced out the post and picture for better readability & visibility. Thanks.
PrideRed is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 15:04   #438

Mod note: Post trimmed, please avoid quoting entire large post for short replies. Affects readability. Thanks.

Originally Posted by PrideRed View Post
Was looking for compact city beater car, picked up Swift ZXi AMT last week. Was scouting for cars in range of 6-8L, this one costed a bit more, thanks to availability.
======
First ever Grey car. Not a color I generally prefer but looks ok now.
Attachment 2315950
Congratulations on your purchase, swift is a perfect city car with decent features and good petrol engine although looking at what the competition is offering maruthi should have added some more features in the recent facelift. All in all swift is still one of the best buy under 8l rupees. Would love to see some more pics of your new ride.

Last edited by Jaggu : 8th June 2022 at 15:19.
zaid qazi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 15:45   #439

Congrats on your car.

Amaze appeared good, however did not like how it drove(Soft suspension), price and wanted something that was easy to drive.

AMT is a head banger for sure.
Does Swift's ride quality override the superior transmission in Amaze? I liked Amaze's CVT much more than the Swift AMT.

I found Amaze to be better value since it's mid variant is almost the same price as the Swift top variant at around 9lakh (automatic). Amaze has more space and a much bigger boot (think it counts as a higher segment).

Also, Amaze was easier to drive since the bonnet does not slope. But Swift would be more fun to drive for sure.

Last edited by naru80 : 8th June 2022 at 15:54.
naru80 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 16:09   #440

Originally Posted by zaid qazi View Post
Congratulations on your purchase, swift is a perfect city car with decent features and good petrol engine although looking at what the competition is offering maruthi should have added some more features in the recent facelift. All in all swift is still one of the best buy under 8l rupees. Would love to see some more pics of your new ride.
Thank you, yes feature wise Nios trumps and that too at a lower price point. I swapped and bought Swift primarily because of the engine, additional safety kit, fun to drive and quicker delivery.

Originally Posted by naru80 View Post
Congrats on your car.
Does Swift's ride quality override the superior transmission in Amaze? I liked Amaze's CVT much more than the Swift AMT.
I found Amaze to be better value since it's mid variant is almost the same price as the Swift top variant at around 9lakh (automatic). Amaze has more space and a much bigger boot.

Also, Amaze was easier to drive since the bonnet does not slope. But Swift would be more fun to drive for sure.
Thank you. I personally prefer stiffer suspension on my car and found Amaze a bit too soft for my liking. CVT is miles ahead interms of smoothness and AMT of Swift is no match. I wanted a compact car for city duties and extra space on offer did not matter much and actually was a negative. K Series engine is better too. There were few other reasons which worked against Amaze- poorer economy, boring to drive, waiting period, honda's future, poorer resale etc. That said biggest draw towards Amaze was safety rating. The S CVT is about 1.3L more than VXI swift and about 40K more than ZXI. Plus I need to add few things like HU/Camera/Alloys/Foglamps etc. I would have still given a thought but then Honda was quoting a 2-3 month waiting period.

Though I picked Swift, I don't think this is the best value for the price but then car met my requirements and got hold of one quickly.

Last edited by PrideRed : 8th June 2022 at 16:12.
PrideRed is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 18:16   #441

Thank you, yes feature wise Nios trumps and that too at a lower price point. I swapped and bought Swift primarily because of the engine, additional safety kit, fun to drive and quicker delivery.

Thank you. I personally prefer stiffer suspension on my car and found Amaze a bit too soft for my liking. CVT is miles ahead interms of smoothness and AMT of Swift is no match. I wanted a compact car for city duties and extra space on offer did not matter much and actually was a negative. K Series engine is better too. There were few other reasons which worked against Amaze- poorer economy, boring to drive, waiting period, honda's future, poorer resale etc. That said biggest draw towards Amaze was safety rating. The S CVT is about 1.3L more than VXI swift and about 40K more than ZXI. Plus I need to add few things like HU/Camera/Alloys/Foglamps etc. I would have still given a thought but then Honda was quoting a 2-3 month waiting period.

Though I picked Swift, I don't think this is the best value for the price but then car met my requirements and got hold of one quickly.
I don't know about you but I personally don't like how the amaze looks I mean I still find swift and as well as dzire more attractive than the amaze although the CVT offered in the amaze is way superior than the AMT of maruti twins, but if I want to go in sedan segment then I would go for the dzire because Hyundai aura is also not a car which you would purchase for looks.
zaid qazi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th June 2022, 08:46   #442

13. Bad bits are in plenty but few bits surprised me in good way. Car came with hood insulation, engine guard/protection underneath, insulated wheel well, 60:40 split seats, decent 6 speaker music system. I was not expecting these in a budget car.

Congratulations on buying one the most stable cars on the road.
BTW the 7 inch Entertainment system in Marutis is a genuine Harman Unit. Enjoy the music.
harbinder_s is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th June 2022, 09:38   #443

Originally Posted by harbinder_s View Post
Congratulations on buying one the most stable cars on the road.
BTW the 7 inch Entertainment system in Marutis is a genuine Harman Unit. Enjoy the music.
Thank you, didn't know the make of HU. Its slick, has basic functionality and easy to use. No fancy stuff and just what I would expect in car HU. Connecting to Android Auto was breeze and works every time.
Old 15th June 2022, 11:43   #444

It seems that we are in the same boat. I also had been using kwid last 3 years. Apart from kwid I also used to drive Beat diesel which belongs to my father but unfortunately had to sell because GM shuts down (Also Delhi NCR 10 years age limit was nearing). So, to compensate one less car I was looking for a hatch which fulfils these requirements:
-Good fuel efficiency
-Low maintenance
-Good engine
-AMT
Since buying kwid i was craving for these above factors since kwid had rough 3-cylinder engine; is quite ok on maintenance I wouldn't say low and kwid mileage is bad in city considering its weight. So, I zeroed on few options like Punch, Nios, Ignis and swift.

Had to drop off punch since it was too costly for a 3-cylinder and average efficiency. Nothing new for that price point except for the off-roading capabilities which I would be rarely doing except I am in mountains. Also AMT was pricier and offers lot of jerkiness.

Nios was great and Hyundai dealers were offering me great discounts on diesel too but then there was nothing new in this car and the price point was just 40k away from swift and 5k difference with ignis. Also the mileage was downside in this despite sharing same engine with maruti. TBH, if swift and ignis weren’t present i would have bought it right there.

Now comes the most important decision between Ignis AMT and Swift AMT. I was swayed by ignis since it had good GC, maruti reliability, same engine as its sibling and at 7 lacs and few thousand I was getting fully packed Zeta version which had alloys, rear wiper, company fitted touch screen android/apple play, 6 speakers(2 complimentary), Push start, and a free rear view camera. Also, the dealer was ready to offer me mouth-watering discounts/ free accessories.

On the other hand, my father was adamant on swift due to product recognition, high resale value (even the 2018 models were selling for 6 lacs), and most importantly the looks. I too was in agreement with him, but my heart was craving for ignis due to the features it was offering. But then what turned me off was firstly the real-world mileage of ignis, which was quite lower than swift and secondly unlike swift and baleno, 2021 ignis didn’t get any engine updates. Maruti, are you listening!!

So, without thinking a bit I enquired some dealers and finally booked the swift through a dealer who was offering me a good deal. I booked AMT vxi which as per dealer promise which be there within 30 days.

Can someone guide me what components can be negotiated with the dealer while making full payment at the time of delivery?

Last edited by khan_sultan : 8th July 2022 at 10:38. Reason: formatted for better readability
sabi_swat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th June 2022, 23:23   #445

Hi guys. I have booked Swift VXi AMT this April, and delivery time was quoted 16 weeks. I want to upgrade the stock 165/80 R14 tires to 185 size.
Can you let me know what will be the correct side profile size for this? 185/70 R14 or 185/65 R14? Has anyone upgraded? I’m thinking to upgrade them as soon as I get the car delivered. Any idea how much will I get for stock tires(buy back)?

Actually I sold my 2014 Swift ZXi which had 185 /65 15” tires, as we wanted an Automatic. So I’m getting bit uncomfortable thinking that I’d be driving on 165/80 R14 wheels.

Last edited by Brigadier : 16th June 2022 at 23:26.
Old 24th June 2022, 13:25   #446

Originally Posted by Brigadier View Post
Hi guys. I have booked Swift VXi AMT this April, and delivery time was quoted 16 weeks. I want to upgrade the stock 165/80 R14 tires to 185 size.
Can you let me know what will be the correct side profile size for this? 185/70 R14 or 185/65 R14? Has anyone upgraded? I’m thinking to upgrade them as soon as I get the car delivered. Any idea how much will I get for stock tires(buy back)?

Actually I sold my 2014 Swift ZXi which had 185 /65 15” tires, as we wanted an Automatic. So I’m getting bit uncomfortable thinking that I’d be driving on 165/80 R14 wheels.
Kindly refer to the tyre section of this very thread. 185 65 R15 is the factory size for the upper end models (ZXI+). You should be good. Not sure if they will fit the existing rims of your car since they are for 14 inchers.

Maruti Swift : Official Review-size.gif

Last edited by sumeethaldankar : 24th June 2022 at 13:26.
Old 7th July 2022, 16:22   #447

I really wonder how families with the Swift manage with luggage space. Been doing a lot of road trips in the Swift over the past 2 years thanks to all the remote work opportunities offered due to Covid and even though it's just 2 of us and we pack light, been feeling the boot space is really inadequate. Might be imagination but I think our old Alto had a deeper boot and could hold more. Certainly understand why families would prefer the Baleno over the Swift.

As far as driving goes- no issues, the car remains fun to drive even after almost 4 years. Love the engine and steering response on the highways. (Though how flimsy the metal is does remain at the back of the mind when we reach higher speeds!)
am1m is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th July 2022, 19:38   #448

My swift ZDI has 100000 service over. I feel, the power is lacking for overtaking. Even the SA said power is lacking and he suspects since the clutch is almost over, should change it and see if any improvements happen. Is it because clutch is finishing OR any other reason to see.
Also, Service advisor says Timing kit may be replaced in 1.25 Lakhs since the car sounds OK.
deepclutch is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th August 2022, 11:16   #449

I believe, yesterday (07 Aug) there was an attempt to steal my Swift VXi AMT car from the basement parking lot of India Habitat Centre - which is a popular convention center located in the heart of the city! I had parked my car in the basement parking after taking the parking slip at the point of entry. After enjoying my afternoon coffee with a friend when I was walking over to my car I noticed that the hazard lights were blinking and the driver's door was ajar. I immediately realized that there was an attempt to break in and drive away with the vehicle. I informed the private guards who were of not much help. I believe that only reason the car was not stolen was because I was carrying the parking slip - without which exiting the premises is not possible.

This incident was shocking. It's worth mentioning that this break in attempt happened around 3pm-4pm in the basement parking lot of a popular convention center located merely 3 kms-4 kms from the Prime Minister's residence!

Since then, I have been searching for ways to secure my Swift VXi AMT. I have asked two local shops for a gear lock. However, both have told me that it's not possible to get a gear lock installed in the Swift AMT. Is this true? If yes, what other devices can prove to be effective deterrents for thieves?

Thank you very much.
Old 29th August 2022, 00:05   #450

I have booked the Swift ZXI AGS. During PDI today noticed that the Idle start-Stop button was missing. As per the brochure, recent review videos on Youtube and couple of other dealers, I got confirmation that the feature exists. But the dealer I have booked from and the PDI suggests otherwise. Can someone confirm if this feature has been silently removed from the feature list by Maruti? I have written an email to the customer support, but would appreciate if the folks here can advice?
Brochure attached for reference, check page number 16.
File Type: pdf Swift_Brochure.pdf (4.61 MB, 312 views)
pankajn1702 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com