Old 14th September 2019, 22:32   #391

Re: Skoda Kodiaq : Official Review

Just curious if anyone has compared the Tiguan vs the Kodiaq? I need to replace my Endeavour with something a little easier to use in the city. Really liked how compact the Tiguan felt while driving it. Almost gives you a car-like feel. Does the Kodiaq feel similar since its the same platform?

Also the Tiguan was showing some great mileage results. 11-12 in Bangalore city traffic and around 17-18 on a shorter highway run. Does the Kodiaq compare?
Old 15th September 2019, 14:29   #392

My ride quality issues I feel are due to the 18 inch alloys with 235 55 tyres with rubber thickness being a compromise for Indian roads. I wish 17 inch rims were provided with thicker profile tyres. _ Though would have made it look uglier a trade of between comfort and looks.
I will surely try for thicker profile tyres during my tyre change. Has anyone tried swapping tyres for better comfort , please share details and opinion on uprading tyre profile on the kodiaq.

Last edited by sag_kv : 15th September 2019 at 14:33.
sag_kv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th September 2019, 17:56   #393

Kodiaq style cheaper by 2.38 lacs.

Old 16th September 2019, 20:35   #394

Originally Posted by sdp1975 View Post
Kodiaq style cheaper by 2.38 lacs.
A month back, Skoda launched the Corporate edition of Kodiaq @ 32.99L ex-showroom. I was then told by the dealer that its the same Style variant. Now they announce that they reduced the price of Style. Actually, nothing changed from Aug to Sep. They could have very well announced it as Style price reduction back in Aug itself. May be they were too embarrassed to announce a price cut

Hope to see others too following this path this year. High time for price adjustments in India in auto sector
Old 17th September 2019, 14:37   #395

Style variant in my opinion is already overpriced as per the market sentiment. Still the features and safety on offer is way ahead of its competitors. If someone looks at the L&K variant, they're just paying 4 LAKH EXTRA for virtual cockpit, body coloured mouldings, a few L&K Badges here and there and 360 camera set up. Absolutely every other feature is already present in the Style.
adi_petrolhead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th September 2019, 18:44   #396

Originally Posted by showboat View Post
Just curious if anyone has compared the Tiguan vs the Kodiaq? Really liked how compact the Tiguan felt while driving it. Almost gives you a car-like feel. Does the Kodiaq feel similar since its the same platform?

Also the Tiguan was showing some great mileage results. 11-12 in Bangalore city traffic and around 17-18 on a shorter highway run. Does the Kodiaq compare?
In terms of FE, I expect the Kodiaq & Tiguan to be similar.

Last year before buying the Tiguan, we compared it with the Kodiaq. The Kodiaq has a nicer backseat + better luggage space (with the 3rd row folded down). The 3rd row is also a boon on those rare moments when it is required.

That being said, we picked the Tiguan over the Kodiaq for it's nicer interiors, better pricing, and the compact size made it that much more city friendly, especially while parking.

That being said, coming from an Endeavour - you may prefer the roominess and practicality of the Kodiaq over the Tiguan.
lamborghini is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th September 2019, 19:33   #397

Originally Posted by lamborghini View Post
In terms of FE, I expect the Kodiaq & Tiguan to be similar.

Last year before buying the Tiguan, we compared it with the Kodiaq. The Kodiaq has a nicer backseat + better luggage space (with the 3rd row folded down). The 3rd row is also a boon on those rare moments when it is required.

That being said, we picked the Tiguan over the Kodiaq for it's nicer interiors, better pricing, and the compact size made it that much more city friendly, especially while parking.

That being said, coming from an Endeavour - you may prefer the roominess and practicality of the Kodiaq over the Tiguan.
Totally agree with all the statements. Kodiaq would be an easier transition to a soft roader, but the Tiguan has been pulling at my heart strings. It felt fantastic in the crawl that is Bangalore traffic and really feels two sizes smaller while in motion.
showboat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th September 2019, 12:48   #398

but the Tiguan has been pulling at my heart strings.
The Tiguan felt the same when I drove it, and I love driving it around! At the end of the day, if you can live with the smaller boot space and passenger space - it does make a strong case for itself especially with the discounts on offer.
Old 19th September 2019, 20:14   #399

Just curious if anyone has compared the Tiguan vs the Kodiaq? I need to replace my Endeavour with something a little easier to use in the city. Really liked how compact the Tiguan felt while driving it. Almost gives you a car-like feel. Does the Kodiaq feel similar since its the same platform?
Agree that Tiguan is car like. But I felt Kodiaq too is good on that front. But where Kodiaq scored higher was on the overall feel inside - the interior design and feel, space and of course the 3rd row though it is a little cramped.

Somehow, I didn't consider Tiguan thereafter though I am not sure what discounts they are offering!. Its interesting that you are coming from an Endy. I am considering between the new Endy and Kodiaq for sometime now

On your 'little easier to use in the city' part - My Endy friends say that its easier to drive in city than even hatchbacks, which is what my wife refuse to believe!
motorhead5 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th September 2019, 21:37   #400

Originally Posted by motorhead5 View Post
Agree that Tiguan is car like. But I felt Kodiaq too is good on that front. But where Kodiaq scored higher was on the overall feel inside - the interior design and feel, space and of course the 3rd row though it is a little cramped.

Somehow, I didn't consider Tiguan thereafter though I am not sure what discounts they are offering!. Its interesting that you are coming from an Endy. I am considering between the new Endy and Kodiaq for sometime now

On your 'little easier to use in the city' part - My Endy friends say that its easier to drive in city than even hatchbacks, which is what my wife refuse to believe!
You definitely get used to something so big, but can't say it's easier than a hatchback. And I've always had a big suv, so it's 2nd nature for me. You do get to bully your way better, but it's a chore in peak traffic.

My take. I test drove the Kodiaq day before and feel I
If you are going to be in the city 80% of the time, go with the Kodiaq. Anything else and it's the Endy no doubt.
Old 19th September 2019, 23:19   #401

My take. I test drove the Kodiaq day before and feel I
If you are going to be in the city 80% of the time, go with the Kodiaq. Anything else and it's the Endy no doubt.
Now that takes me to another question - which one is better with bad roads.. including the ones in Bangalore

Especially with a little lower back pain + bad roads, which of these 2 will make it more comfortable for back, especially protect from jerks in bad roads - incl seats, ride etc.
Old 20th September 2019, 21:51   #402

Now that takes me to another question - which one is better with bad roads.. including the ones in Bangalore

Especially with a little lower back pain + bad roads, which of these 2 will make it more comfortable for back, especially protect from jerks in bad roads - incl seats, ride etc.

Comfort wise if your sitting in the front seat, it's very very close but I'd say the Endeavour.

Back seat I felt the Endeavour was noticeably better. But was also comparing my car to a test drive car.

Ride wise the Kodiaq (and the Tiguan for that matter) just shrink around you and feel much more car like. It's a real boon navigating Bangalore's typical narrow lanes, IMO.

Fuel economy is way better on the Kodiaq if that matters. I get 5-6 in the Ford.

Last edited by showboat : 20th September 2019 at 21:52.
Old 21st September 2019, 10:33   #403

Endeavour is easily the better riding SUV of the two especially at low speeds with deep potholes & you are well protected from jerks in bad roads.

Where Kodiaq shines is the high speed ride and stability.

Anyway, take a test drive of both and decide.

P.S. - I was also in a Endeavour vs Kodiaq battle and realized that Endeavour is the better one to live with in our roads and traffic conditions. Can genuinely seat 7 and fun to drive on any roads. No regrets so far.
I get around 7.5 to 8 in city and 11 on highways.
Aniket6 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2019, 12:47   #404

Guys, with the style coming in at almost 4.5lacs lesser than the L&K, is the L&K worth an upgrade or would u go with Style? Was always sure on the L&K when the difference was only 1.5lacs. Not now.
Old 21st September 2019, 16:45   #405

Originally Posted by Sachin Bhatt View Post
Guys, with the style coming in at almost 4.5lacs lesser than the L&K, is the L&K worth an upgrade or would u go with Style? Was always sure on the L&K when the difference was only 1.5lacs. Not now.
4.5lac is quite a significant price you save by getting style variant which has all the necessary goodies needed or are present in the suv.Going for L&K version makes only sense if you have surplus cash lying around or a complete sucker for top end features.