Old 8th February 2021, 10:56   #3766
Tgo

Re: Tata Nexon : Official Review

Originally Posted by Ujjwal Bakshi View Post
Do the service centres treat the cars brought from other dealers earnestly, with same amount of intent? Any experience to this end will be very useful to hear...
Of course they do. Not speaking from experience with TATA in particular. Unlike the car sales outlet of the dealer who aim at killing the hen that lays the golden egg to get their hands on all the gold at once, the service centers aim at collecting the golden eggs as they are laid. You will be a repeat customer for them so they should deal with you nicely.

Originally Posted by naveenp View Post
I got a quote of 48K from the dealer for XZA+ (O). I tried bargaining but they aren't ready to cut down further.
Insurance for XZ+(O) cost my brother 31k back in December 2020. Quote outside was 30k. so decided to go with the dealer's offer. 48k is too high.

Originally Posted by SPM View Post
Friends, Finally my Nexon XZA+(D) got delivered on 3rd feb after waiting of almost 1.5 months, that too after rigorous follow-up.

5. ...there was a strong burning smell coming out of the bonet but could not find anything wrong visibly inside. This has left me a little worried.

6. ... tried to restore the cruise control (after attaining speed of 35 KMPH) but then the vehicle suddenly revved to 6000 rpm with strong noise (revving, of course) and cruise was not restored.
Congratulations on the new car.
5. Seems like he half clutched it.

6. Did the vehicle pick up speed too while it was revving?

Originally Posted by gmhossain View Post
Finally the long wait ends.
Turning out to be quite a popular colour. Congratulations on delivery.
Tgo is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th February 2021, 10:58   #3767

Originally Posted by J_K_A View Post

This got me confused. Pretty sure that skinning the wire will void the warranty. But then how do the ASC install these things?
I told them that the ASC fits them without cutting the wire. To which they said that the ASC also skin the wire. It's just that since they do it, they do not make a fuss when it comes warranty claims.

Funnily enough, he gave the example of a rat to prove his point: "Sir parking mein khadi car mien chuha wire kaat gaya, ASC usme bhi warranty nhi dega xD"

People who have installed these (front parking sensors and/or illuminated scuff plate) can you please shed some light on this?

Were wires skinned/cut in your case too? If not then what's the other way? And does anyone has any ided how does the ASC do it if there's no other way?

Even TASC fits them by skinning the wire.
sagarpadaki is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 8th February 2021, 11:24   #3768

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
Even TASC fits them by skinning the wire.
So if i get it done from outside, they won't really create a fuss in warranty claims, right?
Old 8th February 2021, 12:44   #3769

Originally Posted by J_K_A View Post
So if i get it done from outside, they won't really create a fuss in warranty claims, right?
It all comes down to how well you build your relationship with the ASC and staff that works with you. Its a give and take. You take care of the people & they'll take care of you in future. Get the drift.
Reinhard is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th February 2021, 13:06   #3770

Originally Posted by Ujjwal Bakshi View Post
Thanks to all the Gentlemen here for the great discussions which give some very useful insights to ones eyeing a Nexon.

-how is the reponse of Tata motors service centres to a car which is bought from Tata motors dealers other than the one which run that particular centre. Do the service centres treat the cars brought from other dealers earnestly, with same amount of intent? Any experience to this end will be very useful to hear...
Of course they should! Servicing cars ensures a constant inflow of money for any dealership. I do not see a reason you or your car not experiencing the same treatment vs a car bought at the same showroom. Maybe you can meet the Service center manager once and tell him that you prefer to get your car serviced here as you have heard good things about the quality of service offered

-also still not sure if I should just spend those extra 2 lacs for the ZXA+. I am not a sucker for the gizmos/bells and whistles that are being offered in the top end— apart from automatic climate control, height adjustablity of driver’s seat, rear seat split, rear defogger— perhaps one or two more that just add to the drivability/utility of the vehicle. Thanks everyone in advance for knocking in some sense— cheers!
Well I was in the same dilemma before I finally made my choice and booked XMA (S) variant for Bangalore location. I will list down the reasons for the same:
Choosing XMA (S) over XMA:
  • Auto Sun-roof
  • Steering Mounted controls
  • Auto Head Lamps
  • Auto Wipers
The above additional features seemed to justify an additional cost of 50k for me. (My home minster wanted the sun-roof!)

Choosing XMA (S) over XZA+

Difference of ~3 lakhs OTR in Bangalore

Key Features missing in XMA (S)
  • Infotainment - Aftermarket available from 10k onwards
  • Alloy Wheels - Can live without it
  • TPMS - Aftermarket available from 6-7k
  • Driver Height Adjustment - A major miss. Can buy a good seat cushion which can amplify the height by a couple of inches for better view
  • Rear AC Vents - No replacement! but have inquired for sub 4m cars, rear AC vents can be skipped
  • Rear Wash+Wipe - No replacement! Have to rely on after market infotainment unit for reverse cam + side mirrors
  • Internal and external aesthetics - Does not justify the extra price tag
The OTR pricing for your location won't be as messed up as Bangalore so the extra price tag might be justified in your case. Nexon being my first car, the extra 3L was a bit too rich for my blood

All the best for your Nexon!

Last edited by Varun_G : 8th February 2021 at 13:10.
Varun_G is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th February 2021, 13:29   #3771

Bengaluru folks, what kind of discounts are being offered on Nexon currently? One of my friend is planning to book a Petrol XZ+. Any inputs will be appreciated.
Old 8th February 2021, 13:43   #3772

Originally Posted by Funny View Post
Bengaluru folks, what kind of discounts are being offered on Nexon currently? One of my friend is planning to book a Petrol XZ+. Any inputs will be appreciated.
Hey Funny, Don't expect any kind of discount on Nexon. Even if you book the top model, there is nothing that you get. I didn't even hear the word "complimentary" from the dealership yet. I asked the SA and his manager a few times and there was nothing on offer even during December-20 when you usually have offers on all models. Tata had offers on other models but nothing on Nexon.
naveenp is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th February 2021, 13:51   #3773

Highway ride in my Nexon

I recently drove from Bangalore to Salem and back, first highway ride in my new Nexon, and I would like to share my experience .

The driving experience was great. This is my first automatic car. I was used to only manual cars before. I was quite apprehensive after reading many comments on how jerky AMTs are and how they are not comfortable. Well, I didn't feel the jerk all that much. I test drove other cars in the segment that offer other automatic transmission options and they were indeed smoother than Nexon. Since I was not used to automatics at all, I chose Nexon as it ticked other boxes. I was very satisfied with the performance during the trip and did not feel tired at all. I had to hold back a lot and not rev high during the running-in period of the car.

I used the sport mode predominantly on the highway and switched to city mode while traveling in the city. The effects are noticeable, and the modes are not just gimmicks. I found the Eco mode too lethargic and of little use except when cruising on open highways. As mentioned in the reviews, there were some flat spots at all speeds and in higher gears even. The car did feel a bit strained on ghat sections even in the sport mode, and I had to work the gas pedal a bit. That was the only complaint if any.

Fuel efficiency

As soon as I took delivery of the car, I filled up the tank till auto cut-off. I had traveled about 100 Km before this highway trip, and the actual tank-to-tank method fuel efficiency was around 8kms. I filled up my tank again for this trip. The average fuel consumption for the 427 km trip is 16.3 kms according to MID. Distance to empty reading is 158. If the MID value is reasonably accurate, and given the fact that Nexon tank capacity is 44l, I would have run out of fuel if I had continued traveling for another 158 km. This gives a highway mileage of roughly 13.3 km/l. I haven't filled my tank yet to know the actual fuel consumption. This figure seems to be low compared to the figures reported by other members for their petrol automatic. Perhaps it is a new car, and the efficiency will improve after first service. Keeping my fingers crossed.

PS. The tyre pressure was set to 30 on all four wheels. Perhaps it should have been more for better fuel consumption figures?
alphasri is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th February 2021, 17:12   #3774

Alternatively, I suggest you go through the searches and find other threads which might align with your interests. We have excellent threads on Photography, Artwork, Watches, Phones, Gardening, Computers, DIY, Home improvement... you name it.

The community is much more diverse than its name suggests.

Thanks for the suggestion. I would seek more specialist sites if I was interested in Photography, Artwork etc. I am on this website for info related to cars.

The direction of the website depends on the editorial group. Make no mistake about that. I have been involved with many such ventures. I am only thinking aloud about the direction it is heading.

My focus was brought to it today when I read comments about how the Altroz Turbo should have had higher engine bhp. I would like to understand the logic of why Tata Motors should do this.
ashokabs is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th February 2021, 18:05   #3775

Originally Posted by alphasri View Post
PS. The tyre pressure was set to 30 on all four wheels. Perhaps it should have been more for better fuel consumption figures?
Check tyre-pressure details on the sticker provided in the car.

For FE measurement:
1. MID is not very accurate. Other Tata owners who have MID equipped vehicles have reported optimistic numbers.
2. Auto-cut-off also not accurate. Sometimes false cut-offs do happen.

At least once in a way, do a top-up to top-up check. This will give you the guidance on the FE for your car. Top-up is not an issue since after about a km of driving, the fuel will settle into the tank.

The only accurate measurement of FE better than top-up method is the rig they use - this needs the fuel line to be diverted to the rig and then to the fuel filter.

Top-up give you a visual confirmation on the level of fuel filled into the tank.

A recent example was on the Storme thread - there member PrasannaDhana said he got better numbers than the Auto cut-off method. Better = more accurate.

p.s: I always do top-up.
condor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th February 2021, 19:48   #3776

Highway ride in my Nexon

I recently drove from Bangalore to Salem and back, first highway ride in my new Nexon, and I would like to share my experience .
Thank for sharing this alphasri. Few questions
1. What is the official run-in KM's for Nexon Petrol as suggested by TATA manual/ASC?
2. Are there any restrictions on the speed/rpm suggested by ASC/Tata for Nexon Petrol until the run-in is done?
3. How many KM's has your vehicle run by the way?

Naveen
Old 8th February 2021, 20:33   #3777
SPM

xza+ does not have cruise control. I guess you mean xza+ (o) optional variant.
I have XZA+(S) and it does have cruise control.
SPM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th February 2021, 20:45   #3778

I have XZA+(S) and it does have cruise control.
Oh yes, I forgot that the sunroof version comes with it. I have xza+, without sunroof, and it doesn't have cruise control.

Last edited by alphasri : 8th February 2021 at 20:45. Reason: spelling
Old 8th February 2021, 21:33   #3779
SPM

Originally Posted by Tgo View Post

Congratulations on the new car.
5. Seems like he half clutched it.

6. Did the vehicle pick up speed too while it was revving?
Thanks Tgo

No option for half clutch as i have AMT.

No, Car did not pick up speed during that time.
Old 8th February 2021, 21:50   #3780

there was a strong burning smell coming out of the bonet but could not find anything wrong visibly inside.
I too felt mild burning smell on the Day 1 when it was delivered at our home. However, I no longer smell it. I think, this smell is not very unusual given many of the coatings within the engine compartment, exhaust system got heated up for the first time during the longer drive.

Originally Posted by Tgo View Post
Turning out to be quite a popular colour. Congratulations on delivery.
Thank you Tgo. Indeed, the colour appears quite nice.

In the weekend, we removed all plastics covers, ribbons and took our Nexon for a refueling drive. Also, we got a PUC test done from a test center by paying Rs. 100, as was suggested by a friend. In mParivahan app, now I can see PUC validity status. In the weekend, we also did the first DIY mini mod by spray painting the wheel cap, following some Youtube videos.

Spray painted wheel cap for XM
Tata Nexon : Official Review-nexon3.jpg

Last edited by gmhossain : 8th February 2021 at 22:01.
gmhossain is offline   (4) Thanks