Old 18th September 2022, 17:42   #3886

Re: Jeep Compass : Official Review

Originally Posted by yashg View Post
Had a word today with Landmark Worli. No discounts except the 50K exchange bonus, which he acknowledged after I pointed it out because I saw it on the Jeep website.

@neeravp were you at least able to get the 20K documentation charges waived?
Unfortunately, no. Documentation charges were not reversed.
neeravp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th September 2022, 22:37   #3887

Looking for some suggestions on buying a Jeep Compass vs Volkswagen Tiguan. Usage out of city drives, Offroad (mild) and long drives.
Listing down pros and cons for both below and hoping owners of Jeep Compass can help out. Do not see a Tiguan ownership thread. Jeep Compass model is specifically Trailhawk.

Works for both:
++ Great Build. However I found the Jeep to be marginally 'heavier'
++ 'Electronics' controlled 4x4
- Both have a waiting period of 3-6 months

Jeep Compass Trailhawk:
++ 'Legendary' 2L Multijet diesel
++ True SUVish 'stance'
- Doubtful Jeep Service
- 9 speed torque convertor

Tiguan
++ Similarly legendary 2L TSI
++ 9 speed DSG
- The 'refined' look and stance
- No TD in Bangalore
- VW service a known devil having owned a Polo

Bhp to bhp Tiguan may be a better car but the Jeep Diesel just pulls at certain heartstrings.

Please do share your thoughts as Jeep Compass owners/if you have made this decision.

Both are priced around 40L OTR in Bangalore.

Last edited by Aditya : 26th September 2022 at 19:31. Reason: Abbreviations
Old 18th September 2022, 23:30   #3888

Originally Posted by dot_tsi View Post
Do not see a Tiguan ownership thread. JC model is specifically Trailhawk.

Tiguan
++ Similarly legendary 2L TSI
++ 9 speed DSG
Here is the thread for the face lifted 2021 Tiguan. You will find reviews and comparisons to various cars at this price point.
Also the Tiguan has a 7 speed DSG and not a 9 speed.
EaurougeatSpa is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th September 2022, 09:54   #3889

I am nearing first service and around the time I complete I am likely to be in Kerala.

I wish to seek input on good service centers among Calicut, Thrissur, and Cochin. Please advise.
Old 22nd September 2022, 16:15   #3890

Originally Posted by techfreak View Post
Does anyone facing the same issue as mine, my Infotainment Screen doesn't switch on automatically when I start the car, I have to switch it on physically. However all other functionality is perfectly fine.

Am I missing any settings or something, couldn't find anything.

Any remedy or clues to solve it.
I checked this in my car and it defaults to the "previous" state. As in - If the infortainment was switched off before I powered off the engine - it does NOT switch on during the next engine power on. However, if the infotainment system was ON when I switched the engine off, it powered back on automatically.

While there are few "auto" settings for headlights, radio and other equipment I did not find something specific for the Uconnect system.

Here are the links: essential guide, user manual, uconnect manual.

Thank you
parthdmaniar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2022, 10:19   #3891

Just a few quick queries. Are the present facelift petrol Jeep compass vehicles already compliant with the upcoming BS6 stage 2 norms?

I read on the Internet that to be compliant with the new norms the vehicles will have to have OBD sensors which detect engine misfire etc.

Since the present vehicles already have engine malfunction warning indicators does that mean that present lot of vehicles are already compliant with the new norms?

If not what will happen to the existing cars? Will it be required for the manufacturer to start fitting the OBD sensors in existing vehicles?
Old 23rd September 2022, 12:18   #3892

Originally Posted by dot_tsi View Post
Looking for some suggestions on buying a Jeep Compass vs Volkswagen Tiguan. Usage out of city drives, Offroad (mild) and long drives.
Listing down pros and cons for both below and hoping owners of JC can help out. Do not see a Tiguan ownership thread. JC model is specifically Trailhawk.
To be honest, as vehicles - you cannot go wrong with either car. Both of them will keep you happy and are good to drive. Unless you're extremely serious about off-roading, I'd save a few lacs and go for the Model S variant of the Compass.

Last edited by ampere : 23rd September 2022 at 14:50. Reason: Trimmed quoted post
sid3091 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th September 2022, 08:09   #3893

Guys, can anyone suggest good wipers for the Jeep Compass? My 10 month old OEM wipers have already gone bad. Very noisy and leaves a lot of marks on the windshield.
Old 25th September 2022, 07:17   #3894

Originally Posted by tyler_drives View Post
Hi Folks,

I have a Jeep Compass Magnesia Grey (2018) Limited Plus model.However, I don't like the chrome. So I was thinking of getting matt black on that grill.

1. Shall I get a wrap or paint done, on the grill and sides wherever chrome is. I am thinking of matt black but I am open to suggestions from you experts.
2. Where can I get this done in Bangalore and how much would it cost(approx is fine). Also , if there are places close to HSR/Kormangala - it would really be comfortable.

1. Wrapping front grills are not a good idea. It will peel off very soon.
2. Get the grill painted by a decent shop. It shouldn't cost more than 5K. For 2021 Compass front grills are available in 3 colors, you could easily get them changed at service center in around 4K rupees (Grill 2500 + Labour 1500).

I have myself replaced by silver color grills to chrome at PPS.
RealAbhinavRajp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th September 2022, 07:24   #3895

Originally Posted by RealAbhinavRajp View Post
1. Wrapping front grills are not a good idea. It will peel off very soon.
2. Get the grill painted by a decent shop. It shouldn't cost more than 5K. For 2021 Compass front grills are available in 3 colors, you could easily get them changed at service center in around 4K rupees (Grill 2500 + Labour 1500).

I have myself replaced by silver color grills to chrome at PPS.
Hey Abhinav - I called the PPS HSR showroom fellas but they did not even understand my query and never got back. However, I will check with the service centre folks.
Old 26th September 2022, 14:52   #3896

So pleased to join this forum after reading it for a long time!

I am awaiting my Magnesio Grey Compass Limited Petrol later this week. Wanted to take quick feedback on the following -
1. Is PDI critical? Any handy checklist I should refer to? I have never done PDI for my cars in past.
2. Any suggested list of Jeep accessories I should take from the dealer?

Kunal

EDIT: Just got the accessory price list from Mumbai dealer. Cargo mat is priced at 4565/-.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 26th September 2022 at 16:55. Reason: Merging back-to-back posts. Kindly use the Edit functionality to add content.
Old 26th September 2022, 18:39   #3897

Potential roof/door rubber beading leak??

One of those times when your heart sinks especially when it’s a 10 month old new car. I noticed these water marks today on the left side of the roof liner. Look closely and you can see the dried water marks. It covers almost the entire length of the 2 doors on the left side. It has been raining like crazy in NCR for the past 6-7 days.

What could this be? Anyone else faced similar issues?
Jeep Compass : Official Review-dcaec0fafc74432193f75388b1516c02.jpeg  

Jeep Compass : Official Review-773e3c703db24003b54c0119d6103f77.jpeg  

Last edited by Pancham : 26th September 2022 at 18:43.
Pancham is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th September 2022, 21:37   #3898

Originally Posted by iKKK View Post

So pleased to join this forum after reading it for a long time!

I am awaiting my Magnesio Grey Compass Limited Petrol later this week. Wanted to take quick feedback on the following -
1. Is PDI critical? Any handy checklist I should refer to? I have never done PDI for my cars in past.
2. Any suggested list of Jeep accessories I should take from the dealer?

Kunal

EDIT: Just got the accessory price list from Mumbai dealer. Cargo mat is priced at 4565/-.

Hello Kunal,

Congratulations! and I would suggest going for the PDI. I got my Jeep 2 weeks ago, and since you're from Mumbai, the dealer has to be Landmark. I found three paint defects on my new car in the stockyard. The only reason I accepted the car was that almost every other vehicle in the stockyard we had came with minor paint defects. I took a detailing specialist during my visit.

Besides the pain, I found two panels that were displaced which I recorded a video of and sent to the SA. Since the panels were displaced and not broken, the stockyard in charge promised to have them fixed and send a video of the same.

This is my first car, so I reckon if nothing the excitement of seeing my car was the reason followed by the paranoia of getting something defective.

2. A. I took mats for the car (7D) but I do recommend rubber mats as opposed to what I took.
B. Rubber mat for the dickey
C. Mud flaps
D. Key Fob cover (x2)

I've uploaded the accessories and price list I was offered (the car was invoiced in last week of August). Hope it helps.
File Type: pdf Accessories Price List-Compass Jan 2022.pdf (82.9 KB, 578 views)
File Type: pdf accessories-brochure-2021.pdf (11.00 MB, 427 views)
parthdmaniar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th September 2022, 13:08   #3899

Thanks. I am very confused between Jeep mats vs 3M Nomad mats. I have been using Nomad mats in my Pajero for last 6 years and fairly satisfied with the same. Any suggestions?

Attached is the latest accessories price list from Jeep dealer in Mumbai.
Jeep Compass : Official Review-jeep-accesories-sep-22.jpg  

Old 28th September 2022, 17:40   #3900

Originally Posted by iKKK View Post
Thanks. I am very confused between Jeep mats vs 3M Nomad mats. I have been using Nomad mats in my Pajero for last 6 years and fairly satisfied with the same. Any suggestions?

Attached is the latest accessories price list from Jeep dealer in Mumbai.
I got the floor mats at 8,500, cargo mat at 5623, spash guard at the same rate you have (3334), license plate (I am not sure if they're giving it to you for free but I was mandated to buy it) 356, key fob cover at 246 (x2).

Overall the prices check-out! No overpricing for you.