Old 14th June 2021, 20:00   #2461

Re: Jeep Compass : Official Review

Originally Posted by Dhananjay_Desai View Post
I’m only worried on the long term Jeep commitment to India and their service (approx cost for a diesel). Can someone please guide me on this and if it would be a good decision.
Can you throw some light on below
  1. How long did you keep your current vehicle??
  2. How long do you plan to keep the new vehicle for?

I ask these questions because, before we dive in to commitment of Jeep in India, I would like to understand your commitment to the new Compass. Are you planning to keep it for 5-10 years or more than 10 years? If you plan to keep vehicle for less than 5 years then blindly go ahead. If you are looking for long term commitment, then I do not blame you for having this concern. Especially when you are putting 25-30 lakhs. For your piece of mind, please see below and then you can decide
  1. Stellantis (FCA) has invest around 250 million dollars in India.
  2. Citroen is also under FCA.
  3. Jeep is bringing Renegade (Sub 4M SUV) to pick up sales. Even though it is going to be priciest in it's segment, it will be loaded with 4X4.
  4. Made in India Wrangler is another step taken by Jeep to showcase their commitment towards India. This will be a crowd puller to their showrooms.
  5. 7 seater Commander is on it's way. Jeep is clearly increasing its portfolio.
  6. In 2017 Jeep started with approximately 55 showrooms I guess. Currently there are 85+ in India and still growing.
  7. Jeep already opened few showrooms in Tier-2 cities. They are clearly targeting mass market.

Diesel Compass regular service will cost anywhere from 10-15k for each service. If you are carefull and ask them to strictly stick with mandatory work then easily it will cost less than 10k. Spares are costly no sugar coating here, again this is expected from Jeep. Apart from battery drain issues, I have not heard any issues from the new facelift version. That too only in a fragment of new owners.

Originally Posted by lamborghini View Post
In my opinion, Jeep is going to be here to stay. Despite it's poor sales, Fiat didn't pack up and leave - I don't expect Jeep to make that error either given its in a much better position than Fiat.

Routine maintenance shouldn't be much more expensive, but parts would be more expensive should something go wrong / wear and tear given its a segment higher in terms of pricing and positioning.
+1 totally agree.

Last edited by ramnaresh_2000 : 14th June 2021 at 20:09.
ramnaresh_2000 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th June 2021, 20:15   #2462

Originally Posted by ramnaresh_2000 View Post
Can you throw some light on below
  1. How long did you keep your current vehicle??
  2. How long do you plan to keep the new vehicle for?
  3. Are you going for Diesel or Petrol?
Thank you for clearing my doubts.

My current vehicle which is the elite i20 diesel is 4.2 years old. 4-5 years usage was what I had planned with this. The Jeep I plan to keep for at least 9-10 years. Since this is a bigger car and a costlier one, I do not have any intention of replacing this earlier than that. It’s a diesel that I’m looking to buy.

Last edited by Dhananjay_Desai : 14th June 2021 at 20:16. Reason: Added missing text
Dhananjay_Desai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th June 2021, 20:36   #2463

Since this is a bigger car and a costlier one, I do not have any intention of replacing this earlier than that. It’s a diesel that I’m looking to buy.
Since you are planning to keep it for around 10 years, you should ideally go for Compass as its a much superior product. Personally I dont think Hyundai's age well and Creta with its design in particular. Compass is definitely a keeper for a longer time.
sunikkat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th June 2021, 21:45   #2464

Can someone please confirm on the ground clearance for the Compass? Someone mentions it as 178mm, someone says 208mm
Old 15th June 2021, 12:49   #2465

Can someone please confirm on the ground clearance for the Compass? Someone mentions it as 178mm, someone says 208mm
208 mm is unladen, while 178 mm is laden ground clearance.
achyutaghosh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th June 2021, 16:12   #2466

Hi fellow jeep owners, cross-posting from The "USED" Car Price Check Thread to get feedback.

I have been looking out for a less run Jeep Compass casually for some time and came across this few days back.

Jeep Compass
Limited, Diesel, Manual
2019 mid made
Done 6k kms only
Seen the pics and seems to be in pristine condition

What could be the ideal price and what are important points to be looked into ?
Old 15th June 2021, 16:22   #2467

Thank you for the clarification. I’ve been using Hyundai cars for the last ten years and to be honest their spares are also quite costly. So is the service. My i20 diesel service comes to around 12k a year. Is it worth spending the extra 6 lakhs on the Jeep if we look at the bigger picture? Would a longitude variant be a good option? Only reason for me to check on the limited variant was due to the 6 airbags. Sorry if these sound like noob questions but I’m new to the Jeep area
I would expect routine service of the compass to be in the range of 15-17K.

Keep in mind that bigger tyres, etc. will cost a lot more to replace than those on the i20, etc.

The extra 6L depends on your budget flexibility : the Jeep is nicer to drive with it's 2.0MJD, solid ride & handling, etc.

Regarding the variants : I personally would suggest to not compromise on safety, especially if you hit the highways often. That being said, it is an individual call : if it's mainly city driven, and rear passengers may not be as inclined to wear a seat belt - then you could justify the 4 airbags given you are probably getting a safer body shell (assumption as the Sold in India variant of both Creta & Compass hasn't been NCAP tested, but the Made in India Compass has fared fairly well v/s untested Creta which could be watered down like the Seltos judging from various threads on the forum).

Last edited by suhaas307 : 18th June 2021 at 00:36. Reason: Spacing for improved readability
lamborghini is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th June 2021, 11:41   #2468

Originally Posted by northstar* View Post
Hi fellow jeep owners, cross-posting from The "USED" Car Price Check Thread to get feedback.

I have been looking out for a less run Jeep Compass casually for some time and came across this few days back.

Jeep Compass
Limited, Diesel, Manual
2019 mid made
Done 6k kms only
Seen the pics and seems to be in pristine condition

What could be the ideal price and what are important points to be looked into ?
If the conditions is good with no accident history, then 15-16L will be a very good price. You can check the below thread in which Bhpian ramnaresh_2000 picked a 2019 Limited variant for 16.5L.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-...-review-2.html (Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review)
arun_josie is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th June 2021, 11:35   #2469

I am not sure if this is already posted here. I received this in our Jeep owners whatsapp group. Good gesture from FCA.
Jeep Compass : Official Review-img20210617wa0000.jpg  

ramnaresh_2000 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th June 2021, 17:17   #2470

Need some advice ..

I am interested in buying Sport DCT. But I have an issue with the grey fabric inserts in the dash and in the doors. Is there any way to replace them to a material of our choice ( of course after market). I am not much bothered about the fabric seats. Somehow have an aversion to the fabric in door and dash.

I searched in many forums including our own. Unfortunately couldn’t find a solution.

Can anyone direct me in the right direction please?
Old 17th June 2021, 18:43   #2471

Originally Posted by sheelapratosh View Post
Need some advice ..

I am interested in buying Sport DCT. But I have an issue with the grey fabric inserts in the dash and in the doors. Is there any way to replace them to a material of our choice ( of course after market). I am not much bothered about the fabric seats. Somehow have an aversion to the fabric in door and dash.

I searched in many forums including our own. Unfortunately couldn’t find a solution.

A couple of people in the facelifted compass review thread (1 (My Facelifted Jeep Compass S Diesel Automatic 4x4 (Galaxy Blue)), 2 (My Facelifted Jeep Compass S Diesel Automatic 4x4 (Galaxy Blue))) said that their dealership had offered them to change the leather from one colour to the other, not sure about the fabric to leather changing. Did you speak to your dealership about this?
jeeplife_newbie is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th June 2021, 18:53   #2472

Originally Posted by jeeplife_newbie View Post
A couple of people in the facelifted compass review thread (1 (My Facelifted Jeep Compass S Diesel Automatic 4x4 (Galaxy Blue)), 2 (My Facelifted Jeep Compass S Diesel Automatic 4x4 (Galaxy Blue))) said that their dealership had offered them to change the leather from one colour to the other, not sure about the fabric to leather changing. Did you speak to your dealership about this?
Thanks. Yes I checked. The dealer refused to do that. It’s not a difficult job. But for some reason they are declining. Hence the need to look for other options

Theoretically all models are of the same size and these parts should match. What would they do if there is an accident related replacement? They can offer it for a charge. But not sure why they are reluctant.
Old 17th June 2021, 20:42   #2473

Need some advice ..

Fabric on the door can definitely be replaced, I believe can be done for dashboard too if it is not obstructing the functioning of airbags. For my Fiesta 1.6s in 2010 I had replaced the fabric seats and door pads with Ovion leather.
sunikkat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th June 2021, 00:28   #2474

Thanks. Yes I checked. The dealer refused to do that. It’s not a difficult job. But for some reason they are declining. Hence the need to look for other options

Theoretically all models are of the same size and these parts should match. What would they do if there is an accident related replacement? They can offer it for a charge. But not sure why they are reluctant.
Check this video out.

Pancham is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th June 2021, 10:54   #2475

Dear All,

I’m considering cancelling my Creta booking and going for the Compass limited variant. I’m only worried on the long term Jeep commitment to India and their service (approx cost for a diesel). Can someone please guide me on this and if it would be a good decision to go with Jeep. My EMIs would be a bit higher that that of Creta but at least I’d be getting a better vehicle. I’m totally confused. I’ve been waiting for the Creta for more than 4 months now and the sales experience has been very apathetic.

Hello sir!

We were in the exact situation around August last year. We were in the market for the two Korean cousins or the Tata Harrier. The Jeep wasn’t even on our radar because it crossed the budget we had in mind by around 50%. Since we were visiting Nagpur to look for above mentioned cars, we also decided to take a look at the Compass, even though we were sure about not getting one due to budget constraints.

To cut the story short, we ended up getting the Jeep Compass longitude plus (Diesel MT) because my father absolutely loved the Jeep. Everything from the built quality to the engine to its handling. We were not interested in getting an automatic anyway since my father and I both love driving and decided to stick to a manual at least for this upgrade (we live in a tier 2/3? city so the traffic is practically a non issue). We also ended up getting a sweet deal since the facelift was due and they were pretty eager to clear the stock. Since you’ll be getting the facelift with much better interiors, to me it seems like a no brainer!

Incidentally, yesterday one of my close friends took delivery of his Creta (Petrol MT) and the only thing I think it has over the Compass is space, especially in the rear.

Note: Technically this is my first post on a thread. Sorry if it’s hard to read or confusing. I absolutely do not have good writing skills which was affirmed by reading all beautifully written reviews, ownership experiences and travelogues. I love reading ALL of it though.

Adding a pic of the car:
Jeep Compass : Official Review-0a84d70a821e45a88dddded2c222c34b.jpeg  

dr_petrolhead is offline   (12) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com