Old 16th August 2024, 10:17   #6346

Re: Tata Hexa : Official Review

Originally Posted by anandtheleo View Post
And, here I am thinking of selling my XTA and replace it with a XUV700. I am exploring a decent price to ask for it. Have gone for a Spinny evaluation today, have put it on the FB Hexa group and Classified section here. I went with the price mentioned in Orange Book Value of about 9.8 lakhs. Let me see if I am able to let it go. Have so much fond memories of highway trips with it.
If you have budget, Hycross will be a much better alternative than XUV700. It is almost the spiritual successor to Hexa. The hybrid version will be faster than Hexa, can seat 7 in comfort and even looks like a Hexa from some angles. I test drive one recently and found it almost similar to my erstwhile Hexa.
padmrajravi is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 12:30   #6347

Originally Posted by mally2 View Post
UPDATE - ATF and AT cooler change

5. Be careful what grade of oil you use. The HEXA needs Dexron 6 ONLY, some FNGs will say DCT oil is good enough but do not do that.
Am sure, Sehmbi must have asked you to use DCT oil . They did that with me for a Creta. While you seemingly had a good experience with them, mine was contrary and is detailed out here https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...-anything.html (ATF change for my Automatic gearbox | How no one seems to know anything)

I don't mean to hijack your thread but as rightly pointed out, Sehmbi seems to specialise in Hexa transmission repairs. Even during my visit, there was one Hexa which had come in for AT repair.
Joli is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 13:05   #6348

Originally Posted by Joli View Post
Am sure, Sehmbi must have asked you to use DCT oil . They did that with me for a Creta. While you seemingly had a good experience with them, mine was contrary and is detailed out here https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...-anything.html (ATF change for my Automatic gearbox | How no one seems to know anything)

I don't mean to hijack your thread but as rightly pointed out, Sehmbi seems to specialise in Hexa transmission repairs. Even during my visit, there was one Hexa which had come in for AT repair.
Yep you are accurate. They did say to use the DCT oil. I refused and made sure they stick to the OEM specs. Now I don’t know if using the DCT oil is better or worse. I just wasn’t willing to risk it. They claimed to have done it on other Hexa’s and they work fine. Well I don’t want find out
mally2 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 08:46   #6349

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post5817499 (My travails and tribulations of buying a used Tata Hexa at Gurugram)

I request one of the mods to kindly post my above article in the 'Hexa' thread. A lot is being discussed about a few popular transmission assembly specialist and hence I feel what happened to me shouldn't happen to other Hexa owners. Hence kindly post in Hexa thread if you feel my request is fair. Thank you.

PS. My article was written in a series of 4 parts.
krishbvmk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 12:29   #6350

Originally Posted by krishbvmk View Post
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post5817499 (My travails and tribulations of buying a used Tata Hexa at Gurugram)

I request one of the mods to kindly post my above article in the 'Hexa' thread. A lot is being discussed about a few popular transmission assembly specialist and hence I feel what happened to me shouldn't happen to other Hexa owners. Hence kindly post in Hexa thread if you feel my request is fair. Thank you.

PS. My article was written in a series of 4 parts.
Brother I have been following your 4 part series with utmost curiosity. Really saddened by the ordeal you had to go through. I feel cars are not worth being bought from dealers as only those that do not get sold via known circles and problematic ones end up with them. Not talking about proper players like Spinny etc. Hexa has a huge fan base and selling one to a known person is not a challenge at all. Somehow I feel end of the day you could have got a nice XTA from Bangalore itself. I am part of the Hexa Thor group and some senior members sell their well maintained steeds due to upgrades etc. recently a fellow member sold his 2020 XTA 75k for 12L.

Coming to the AT specialist (I won’t name them because you haven’t). Your experience has been sour and your feelings are perfectly valid. My experience with them was a routine preventive AT cooler and ATF fluid change which most TASS refuse to do. In that context my experience has been good. Several other Thor members have gone to them for same work and satisfied as well. No one unfortunately has a repair experience with the said AT specialist.

Last edited by mally2 : 19th August 2024 at 12:40.
Old 19th August 2024, 14:51   #6351

Originally Posted by mally2 View Post
Brother I have been following your 4 part series with utmost curiosity.

I am part of the Hexa Thor group and some senior members sell their well maintained steeds due to upgrades etc. recently a fellow member sold his 2020 XTA 75k for 12L.

Coming to the AT specialist (I won’t name them because you haven’t). No one unfortunately has a repair experience with the said AT specialist.
Hey, thanks brother, wish I were a member of Hexa Thor group, i would not have faced the ordeal. Anyways, whether it's service centres like Sehmbi or guys like Deva, etc, once they know they're the only guys in the trade, they tend to take advantage and exploit the hapless owners. My Hexa is still running on the OE transmission unit, performance almost can say flawless, but for the 3sec lag. I shudder to get it tampered with or for the matter someone opening it and repairing, including Sehmbi guys. Why can't these guys be honest, there's lot of business coming to them as ATs are here to rule in India too.
Old 19th August 2024, 18:18   #6352

And, here I am thinking of selling my XTA and replace it with a XUV700.
Originally Posted by padmrajravi View Post
If you have budget, Hycross will be a much better alternative than XUV700. It is almost the spiritual successor to Hexa. The hybrid version will be faster than Hexa, can seat 7 in comfort and even looks like a Hexa from some angles. I test drive one recently and found it almost similar to my erstwhile Hexa.
+1 to HyCross, moved from an Aria to HyCross Hybrid, found the second row of XUV700 to be too claustrophobic (perhaps due to the higher seating position / theater seating. Compare Aria/Hexa, XUV700 is indeed an upgrade for tech, but was surely a downgrade in terms of space for me.

Last edited by LobsterB : 19th August 2024 at 18:20.
LobsterB is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th August 2024, 13:33   #6353

Originally Posted by vijaysrk View Post

Any reason for going for manual? It is quite clunky and a chore to drive compared to the beautiful TC AT! Just make sure you go for one where the ATF cooler and ATF replacement are already done, else do a thorough check of the AT functioning and replace cooler+ATF the moment you buy the car, and you're sorted!

That apart, the car is as easy to maintain as any old Safari since a lot of the parts are common. It is a 2.4 ton beast that's built like a tank and weighs as much as one, and is supremely comfortable and confidence-inspiring at both city and highway speeds. Not much more you can ask from a car, unless you want supercar-like performance or Maruti-like fuel efficiency, in which case you wouldn't be on this thread in the first place!

I think 12-13 Lakh would be a good price in Bangalore for a supremely maintained XTA, perhaps 1 lakh less for an XMA. Stay away from poorly maintained ones - the cost and effort of bringing it back to ship-shape may not be worth the outcome.
Thanks for the super tips Vijay!

As for picking the Manual variant, I never enjoyed any of the recent automatics in the market (Polo GT Tsi) being an exception and ofcourse I haven't tried the Hexa automatic even. Probably should try, but given the horror stories about the AT variant issues I was bit skeptical
unni246 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th August 2024, 21:37   #6354

Originally Posted by unni246 View Post
Thanks for the super tips Vijay!

As for picking the Manual variant, I never enjoyed any of the recent automatics in the market (Polo GT Tsi) being an exception and ofcourse I haven't tried the Hexa automatic even. Probably should try, but given the horror stories about the AT variant issues I was bit skeptical
As a Polo GT TSI owner as well, I can vouch for the stupendous engine + gearbox on it. Nothing else comes close.

The Hexa gearbox is very competent in its own right, and is a pedigreed one that does duty on a host of BMW and Cadillac models.

It is let down by a sub-optimal design of ATF cooler which is prone to internal corrosion resulting in engine coolant mixing with the ATF, resulting in damage to the torque converter. The solution is to proactively replace the ATF cooler every 5 yrs/60k km and change the engine coolant every 10k km or so.

Tata's ludicrous "lifetime sealed" guidance for the gearbox doesn't help either. Nothing is "lifetime sealed" and this gearbox is no exception.

I changed my XMA's ATF and cooler at 60k and many thousands of km later, it runs like clockwork as earlier.

Last edited by vijaysrk : 27th August 2024 at 21:40.
vijaysrk is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 28th August 2024, 20:03   #6355

Yes the Hexa AT is pretty unmatched. Just get the regular ATF replacement every 60k kms and cooler change every 1L and you are sorted. It’s one of the best ATs out there on SUVs.
Old 1st September 2024, 10:51   #6356

[quote=mally2;5815199]Update on Previous post

Kabir from IM suspension work was very honest, did not overcharge and suggested exactly what needs to be done and I highly recommend him

Thanks a lot, useful contact.
Wish can contact you. If don't mind sharing your contact, plz send a pvt message Mr Mally
krishbvmk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2024, 22:21   #6357

Hi team, facing an issue with my Tata Hexa XTA 2017. 2 days ago I checked, the Coolant level in the reservoir tank was zero. I took it to TASS, who says it could probably be a leak from the coolant tank, and have ordered for a replacement of tank. I’m not fully sure since I don’t find any traces of leak. Anyone faced such an issue before? Could this possibly be the coolant mixing with the AT transmission fluid?
Blue Express is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2024, 23:59   #6358

Originally Posted by Blue Express View Post
Hi team, facing an issue with my Tata Hexa XTA 2017. 2 days ago I checked, the Coolant level in the reservoir tank was zero.
In my case there was some defective head gasket. Replaced under warranty.
4x4addict is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th September 2024, 16:17   #6359

Originally Posted by Blue Express View Post
Hi team, facing an issue with my Tata Hexa XTA 2017. 2 days ago I checked, the Coolant level in the reservoir tank was zero. I took it to TASS, who says it could probably be a leak from the coolant tank, and have ordered for a replacement of tank. I’m not fully sure since I don’t find any traces of leak. Anyone faced such an issue before? Could this possibly be the coolant mixing with the AT transmission fluid?
Hi, there could be multiple reasons for this.

1. Head gasket issue/leak
2. Coolant tank leak, pipes leak
3. Radiator leak
4. Transmission cooler leak (mix of the oil and coolant), if this is an issue the coolant won't disappear. Past experience with others has been oil showing up in the coolant tank.
5. Check for increase of engine oil in the oil sump, which indicates that coolant has mixed within the AT cooler and engine oil level has increased coz it now includes the coolant volume. The color of oil in the dip stick will be brown gooey instead of black.

Let us know how it goes, all the best.
anandtheleo is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 5th September 2024, 12:21   #6360

Hi, there could be multiple reasons for this.

1. Head gasket issue/leak
2. Coolant tank leak, pipes leak
3. Radiator leak
4. Transmission cooler leak (mix of the oil and coolant), if this is an issue the coolant won't disappear. Past experience with others has been oil showing up in the coolant tank.
5. Check for increase of engine oil in the oil sump, which indicates that coolant has mixed within the AT cooler and engine oil level has increased coz it now includes the coolant volume. The color of oil in the dip stick will be brown gooey instead of black.

Let us know how it goes, all the best.

Thanks a lot, This is definitely helpful. Will be visiting TASS as soon as the coolant tank is available, and will run through this checklist too!
Blue Express is offline   (1) Thanks