Hello guys, I am putting up this post on the behalf of a friend called Anubhav Lamba. It's a classic example of how poor after sales and their bad attitude can spoil a brilliant product like Hexa. Here are some details about the car and the owner:
- Car name: Tata Hexa XT 4x2
- Dealer: Oberoi Motors, Dehradun, Uttarakhand
- Booking: First week of January 2017
- Delivery: 2nd April 2017
- Owner Name: Mr. Manoj Rai
- Owner Residing at: New Tehri, Uttarakhand (Around 120 kms from the dealer location)
So after booking in the first week of January 2017, they were promised a delivery in the month of February. Come February, and still the dealer was clueless over when the car is reaching them. Finally after a lot of calls and e-mails, the car had finally reached the dealership stockyard in March end and was delivered to the customer on 2nd April 2017.
Clutch Plate Replacement
Hexa owners may be knowing of a small whoosh whoosh noise that comes while backing off the throttle while changing gears etc. Since this is a strange noise, so they complained of it right on the day of delivery itself. Now either out of their lack of experience or their incompetence, the dealership guys called him back for and inspection and zeroed down on the faulty clutch plates. On 5th April, after the owner gave a go ahead and the clutch plates of his brand new car which didn't had even 1000 kms on odo, were replaced.
A quick small test drive and it was observed that they have worked really hard on a wrong diagnose.
The noise was still there. So, this was the situation, in the words of owner himself:
On 5th April, they changed the clutch plates but at the time of test drive the voice was again heard, now their statement was "Its a EURO-4 engine and this noise comes from them, its a feature of the car". Then I said, "If it was a feature then why you guys changed the clutch plate and the pressure plate", now they had no answer. |
Mr. Ankur, State Head In - Turbo Out!!
Now the customer dropped an e-mail to Tata motors customer care and Mr. Ankur, who happens to be the person appointed to take care of this issue. We really appreciate this step from Tata motors. So, Mr. Ankur, along with his teams (Incompetent?) had zeroed down on the turbocharger as being the culprit. So the new turbocharger was ordered and the older one was replaced with it - in fact, both were new as the car itself 'was' new then (They haven't left any newness in the car).
The noise was still there!!
Incompetence and Humiliation of car owner by field service manager
Now since the issue was as it is. Customer simply told Tata guys to show the same noise in other cars too, if it is at same level. If it is so, he will sit quietly. Now his car was called again for inspection and he was told that he can drive with heavy foot as there is no such noise at high engine speeds. Now Mr. Ankur started driving and he drove everywhere and at varying speeds, all in third gear itself, telling the owner that yes sound is there but see, now it is either zero or very less. On this, owner asked him to drive like we do normally - same situation again. Now Mr. Ankur agreed that many cars have this noise but this particular car has it a bit higher. Then
he gave his unique idea that drive with music volume higher!
Anyhow, the owner returned back home. Now yesterday evening, he called the
Field Service Manager Mr. Vikas Rana (Dehradun) to express his concern. And Mr. Rana was furious over him. His words in the owner's words:
"Aap chup raho, gaadi bilkul theek hai. Ab hum aapki koi baat entertain nahi karenge".
"Oh shut up, we will no entertain anything you say now"
And cut the call |
He called him again and this is how it went on:
Owner: I want to meet you.
Vikas (Tata Motors Field service Manager): I don't have time to meet you. I won't entertain any of your complaints. You can do whatever you can. Also I own an XUV and it's plagued with issues, still I am happy because one doesn't get more for 18 lac. |
Finally the phone call was cut after the customer had a minor argument with this person. Now the frustrated customer is even planning to sell off his Hexa.
Concern(s)- Is a field service adviser authorized to talk to a customer in this manner?
- After a customer buys a car, A.S.S. is the place he has to visit for any complaints, where will this customer go, when the service manager himself is against the customer?
- If they didn't knew the right issue, why change clutch plates and turbo and spoil the actual factory settings of the vehicle?
The video below is the weird engine noise the car is making. Please notice the rubbing noise coming in time and again:
The call history below shows the time calls were done with 2 repeated calls back to back, and Mr. Vikas not picking any calls of the customer.