Old 19th December 2016, 09:59   #1426

Re: Ford Endeavour : Official Review

Originally Posted by nareshtrao View Post
1. Yes. There is Underbody coating of higher spec suitable for off-road. When I took the car to 3M when it was new, I was told that the underbody treatment is not needed given the quality of coating provided by Ford

4. LED Side Mirror Puddle Lamps

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/2x-f...608.0.0.WxS0Pm
Thanks Naresh for the info. When I checked the underbody, at least I couldn't see the kind of rubber coating which is available with EcoSport.

For fixing the puddle lamp for Trend, are the wiring and provision available?
Old 19th December 2016, 10:15   #1427

Originally Posted by anumod View Post
Thanks Naresh for the info. When I checked the underbody, at least I couldn't see the kind of rubber coating which is available with EcoSport.

For fixing the puddle lamp for Trend, are the wiring and provision available?
Yes. Both of these (License Plate and Puddle lamps) are plug and play and take a minute each to fix. DIY.

Just need one screwdriver to remove the lamps by pressing the clips.
nareshtrao is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2016, 11:05   #1428

Originally Posted by ruzbehxyz View Post
Ideally you should get 1 lac exchange bonus and 1 lac discount on price from ford. Other discounts are totally showroom based and you should negotiate that personally. With loads of 3.2 titanium being sold till now the dealers want to get off with the trend models till 31st Dec to clear the trend stock. Select your best variant as per your needs and go for it. IF they are too adamant on discounts then negotiate on some accessories.
Thanks for the advice ruzbehxyz! You make a good point about the variants. I am now pondering the best variant. I mostly have an office commute and planning to take the car out for few family outings a year to hill stations. 4*4 in my case would be useful in only edge scenarios when say there is a broken section of mountain road, etc. Trying to weigh this against a lower FE and probably higher maintenance cost.
Old 19th December 2016, 11:10   #1429

Just need one screwdriver to remove the lamps by pressing the clips.
I don't think Trend has puddle lamps or the wiring. Titanium has one but OE is yellowish so no wonder you changed this. BTW as per manual this is not user serviceable

I mostly have an office commute and planning to take the car out for few family outings a year to hill stations
2,2 4x2 Auto should be the one to go far in Trend variant in that case.

Last edited by Turbanator : 19th December 2016 at 11:13.
Old 19th December 2016, 11:40   #1430

I don't think Trend has puddle lamps or the wiring. Titanium has one but OE is yellowish so no wonder you changed this. BTW as per manual this is not user serviceable
Yes. I noticed that in the Manual too while looking for the bulb specs in the first place. Not sure why it is mentioned that way. Found it rather surprising as the fitting is same as the side clips type as in the rear license plate lamp. Perhaps it says so because the bulb is in a sealed unit so entire unit needs a change. It is a standard incandescent automotive bulb. However, the replacement I bought comes with the full set hence direct plug in.

Surprising that Trend does not have it. Not sure how much cost saving that can bring to Ford. It should have been standard across all variants instead of going for different type of mirror cases for different versions.

Last edited by nareshtrao : 19th December 2016 at 11:43.
Old 19th December 2016, 11:45   #1431

Would like to understand the service costs involved for 3.2 AT.

Also would request feedback on the dealers in Chennai especially on after sales service.
TIA
Old 19th December 2016, 12:30   #1432

Originally Posted by mayjay View Post
Thanks for the advice ruzbehxyz! You make a good point about the variants. I am now pondering the best variant. I mostly have an office commute and planning to take the car out for few family outings a year to hill stations. 4*4 in my case would be useful in only edge scenarios when say there is a broken section of mountain road, etc. Trying to weigh this against a lower FE and probably higher maintenance cost.
Thanks mayjay.
In 4x4 you have 3 variants
2.2L 4x4 trend manual
3.2L 4x4 trend auto (which I booked)
And
3.2L 4x4 titanium auto (top most model)

My choice was between the first two but finally went for 3.2 because of auto. And price difference of 2.5 lakhs.

By the way the 2.2L trend 4x2 auto is same price as the 2.2L trend 4x4 manual.
The 2.2 trend 4x2 auto is also a good option if you have 90% on road driving and by the way even 4x2 is also much powerful to do highest sector in India - Ladakh. Some of the members here have reported a good average for the 2.2. The only negative being that after 120 kmh the car is little sluggish but that's not a problem because how many times are you going to go above that speed. For me cruising speed is max. 100. The choice is totally yours but make sure you are adamant and crack a good discount. Weigh all the pros and cons and decide.
These cars have 0 Dep. Insurance which is 1.2 lac plus. So make sure you bring it down to 70-80.
Old 19th December 2016, 14:33   #1433

Originally Posted by ruzbehxyz View Post

These cars have 0 Dep. Insurance which is 1.2 lac plus. So make sure you bring it down to 70-80.
When you negotiate down from 1.2 lacs to 80k, is there a change in the insurance company? My concern is - are the dealers providing us some 3rd rate insurance company at 80k, which will create hassles later?
Old 19th December 2016, 15:13   #1434

Originally Posted by couswheels View Post
It seems only the first part of the question was noticed and not the related second part.

The question was not on a kitna deti hai perspective. Was more of planning fuel refill stops for 1000km drive in a day. Also have not noticed such low FE being reported by the owners here- hence wanted to validate the statement of SA.
If driven spiritedly you might need 1 extra stop on 1000KM trip to be on the safer side. But to be realistic, tank full in the beginning of the trip and 1 stop over in between should easily get you to the destination.
I think the low FE you heard is in pure city, bumper to bumper drive where even a C segment sedan would give about 8-10KM/L. In highway you can expect 10-11KM/L from the 3.2 . Just to compare, the Innova 2.8 delivers just 6-7 in bumper to bumper traffic and 10-12KM/L in highway despite having 1 cylinder less and being much lighter than Endeavour.
PrideRed is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 19th December 2016, 15:42   #1435

Originally Posted by Czarcarsm View Post
When you negotiate down from 1.2 lacs to 80k, is there a change in the insurance company? My concern is - are the dealers providing us some 3rd rate insurance company at 80k, which will create hassles later?
I had option of Bajaj Allianz , New India and one more which have cashless facility with their Ford service . I went for Bajaj Allianz which is standard and good.
All dealers have a big margin somewhere in the range of 20 to 40% depending on the cost of the car. I also read somewhere here that some of the guys have got their 3.2 titanium insurance done from outside in 80000 or so. My is 3.2 trend which is 5 lakhs less so insurance amount is around 70000. Well it all depends from showroom to showroom and your bargaining skills. But I think around anywhere 70000 to 80000 zero dep. POLICY is good for this monster.
ruzbehxyz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2016, 15:55   #1436

I have finally booked the 3.2 trend with Bhavna ford today in white colour.
It is a fresh December 2016 manufactured car.
I got a 2.5L discount including exchange bonus.
Did not choose the titanium because the difference in price was close to Rs 8.5L, which is a LOT of money.
Now if someone could help me in sourcing the F150 grill for my truck.
kedarwalke is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2016, 17:08   #1437

Originally Posted by kedarwalke View Post
Did not choose the titanium because the difference in price was close to Rs 8.5L, which is a LOT of money.

Congrats Kedar.
I too have booked the same except for colour. Did you book it from Kalina or Nerul ?
What was the insurance amount ?
Nonetheless congrats again and good choice.
Old 19th December 2016, 17:13   #1438

Here we go -

F150 Raptor Grill

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/FREE...b-f96de3bd8be2

This one with LED too

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/FREE...9-d2be8e5fbb9c
nareshtrao is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2016, 17:27   #1439

Hi guys,
Finally a decent comparison between Endeavor and the new Fortuner by Zigwheels.
https://www.zigwheels.com/reviews-ad...-review/27089/
Hands down winner is Endevour pretty much in all departments, vindicated!!!

"The Endeavour is also quicker in terms of roll-on acceleration. it took 6.54 seconds to accelerate from 20kmph to 80kmph, as compared to the Fortuner’s 7.2 seconds. All this despite the Endeavour being 250kg heavier at 2394kg, as compared to the Fortuner which weighs 2135kg. Ford’s six-speed automatic transmission deserves credit, as it is the quicker of the two gearboxes to shift gears and adds to the performance. The Fortuner’s six-speed unit feels slower to shift, robbing the engine of some of its performance."

Enjoy!
sknair is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 19th December 2016, 17:34   #1440

Congrats on your car. But 8.5L difference between the Trend and Titanium 3.2 ? That's a big difference and I hope Ford will not surprise us with another price reduction in future confusing the market and customers.

Originally Posted by sknair View Post
Hi guys,
Finally a decent comparison between Endeavor and the new Fortuner by Zigwheels.
https://www.zigwheels.com/reviews-ad...-review/27089/
Hands down winner is Endevour pretty much in all departments, vindicated!!!
Enjoy!
Thanks for sharing, the review did some detailed talking and gives a good idea about the capabilities of Toyota and Ford.

Now what all can make Ford a reliable car (some endurance tests, ownership reports, analyzing service bills of vehicles to find the pattern etc. ? )

Last edited by sunishsamuel : 19th December 2016 at 18:00.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com