Old 5th November 2018, 16:19   #3541

Re: Ford Endeavour : Official Review

Originally Posted by anumod View Post
Is anyone facing issues with Horn of endeavor. My horn (High tone) stopped working in the month of May . They replaced it and it stopped working again from last week.
In my case the issue was related to the connector which connects to the Horn. There is some updated level part available which was replaced under warranty. If your vehicle does not have the updated part, then do insist on getting both the connectors replaced under warranty (as per the procedure which is documented in the packet of updated part) even if one of the Horn is working.
A.G. is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th November 2018, 16:29   #3542

Originally Posted by A.G. View Post
In my case the issue was related to the connector which connects to the Horn. There is some updated level part available which was replaced under warranty. If your vehicle does not have the updated part, then do insist on getting both the connectors replaced under warranty (as per the procedure which is documented in the packet of updated part) even if one of the Horn is working.
Thank you for the tip. Last time when I reported the issue they checked the connector and found out that the connector was fine. But they haven't replaced the connector though. They just replaced the horn. This time I will pay extra attention on this.

Last edited by Jaggu : 5th November 2018 at 17:29. Reason: Changed "check to checked", thanks.
anumod is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th November 2018, 09:49   #3543

Finally, a car I might love to drive to my own funeral! Let me explain.

As a car enthusiast, I like to change my cars every 5 years or so. Also, I like to be in relationship with only one car at a time. My last car was a Mahindra XUV-500 W6 which I bought in October 2012 and sold off in March 2018. I replaced it with a Ford Endeavour 2.2L Titanium last week. For the first time in my life, I have this feeling that I may not want to change this car, ever. Let me explain a bit more.

Firstly, I am 66 years old and not sure how much longer would I continue to be able to indulge in my favorite hobby of long-distance driving. Secondly, this Ford Endeavour ticks all my checkboxes and it is difficult for me to imagine, at least at this point in time, what more could I possibly want out of a car. Needless to say, there is nothing like an 'ultimate car' because however competent a car may be, there would be some other car with greater capabilities and features. So one needs to draw a line somewhere depending on one's requirements and budget.

I am a reasonably tech-savvy person and like my car to have modern features which I consider useful. My new Endeavour is loaded with such features and gizmos. That’s why it seems that this is THE car which I would like to spend the remaining years of my life with. This is what I meant by my wisecrack about driving the Endy to my own funeral.

What was I looking for in my new car? :

My ownership experience with the XUV-500 was mostly positive. I have been writing about it here, a thread which has received about 2,60,000 views to date. I started looking for a worthy successor to my XUV a few months ago primarily due to the ‘5-year itch’ and also due to some reliability issues with my XUV. I decided that my new car should fulfil most of the following requirements :
  1. Should be a strong and sturdy SUV with high ground clearance, big wheels and enough power / torque to take me anywhere. Since I never did any serious off-roading during my life (and arguably too late to start now!) the ‘take me anywhere’ capability does not include lunar surface like terrain which can be negotiated only with an ATV or a blue-blooded 4x4 SUV.
  2. Should have a refined and modern diesel engine with adequate power / torque on tap but does not guzzle fuel.
  3. Should have very high reliability.
  4. Should have a good suspension which can absorb the craters and speed-breakers of Indian roads (I was far from satisfied with the XUV suspension).
  5. Should have enough space, comparable with XUV, for passengers as well as cargo.
  6. Should have modern features like ABS+EBD, traction control, electronic stability program, hill hold, airbags all around, high-tech MID, large display, navigation, good audio system, voice commands, multi-zone climate control, Android Auto, motorised tail gate, electrically adjustable seat (at least driver’s), electric parking brake, sunroof, etc.
  7. Should have front parking sensors in addition to rear parking sensors and camera.
  8. Should not have less street presence than XUV.
  9. Service costs should not be exorbitant.
  10. Should be within Rs 30 lakh to 50 lakh on-road price bracket. I was mentally prepared to pay upto 30% premium for Audi / BMW / Jaguar / Land Rover / Mercedes.
  11. And last but not the least, should be at least twice as good as my XUV-500 (otherwise why sell off my XUV which ran only 51,000 km and was virtually as good as new).

The elimination process :

For a guy like me who grew up seeing mostly Fiats, Ambassadors and Standard Heralds, the sheer range of cars available in the Indian market today is mind-boggling. Choosing a car, therefore, needs lots of homework. I started my homework and test driving about 3 months ago.

I do not wish to write a detailed comparative analysis of all the models I test drove because, firstly, I do not claim to be an authority on cars and, secondly, enough comparative studies have been done by Gurus here in Team-BHP and elsewhere. Let me just share my personal process of elimination :
Quarter finals : Tata Hexa, Mercedes GLA, Hyundai Tucson, BMW X1, Ford Endeavour, Jaguar F-Pace, Jeep Compass, Land Rover Discovery Sport.

Semi finals : Jaguar F-Pace, Ford Endeavour, Land Rover Discovery Sport, Hyundai Tucson.

Finals : Hyundai Tucson, Ford Endeavour.

And the winner was : Ford Endeavour 2.2 Titanium (newly introduced 2018 model with panoramic sunroof).

Other cars which I test drove but did not even make it to quarter finals : Toyota Fortuner, Isuzu MU-X, Volkswagen Tiguan, Mitsubishi Pajero Sport.
Car enthusiasts would note that all cars I considered are not exactly in the same segment. But I test drove all cars that excited me, and more importantly, I intended to buy if excitement turned to delight. I never test drive cars which I have no intention of buying.

Additional comments on some of the cars I test drove :
Hyundai Tucson GLS AWD : I was so enamoured by this car that I almost bought it. It has such a fantastic power to weight ratio (183 BHP and 400 NM torque pushing just 1497 Kg!) that it can give Mercedes GLA, BMW X1 or Audi Q3 a run for their money. I took three test drives on this car and when I pushed pedal to metal on a straight and empty stretch of road the car shot forward like a rocket! Additionally, the Tucson has an awesome array of modern and high-tech features and looks sweet too. Hyundai is also offering an incredible 3 years of FREE service on the Tucson!

The Tucson reached the ‘finals’ inside my head & heart but finally lost out to the Endy due to the following reasons :
  1. Low on space.
  2. Low on ruggedness.
  3. Poor ground clearance.
  4. Looks cute, but not macho. Furthermore, it looks almost identical to the Creta. Why do I need to keep explaining to my friends that my new car is not a humble Creta but a much more capable and costlier Tucson?
  5. Seems to have flopped in the Indian market so far. So resale value could be very low.

Toyota Fortuner : After a long test drive on all kinds of roads I was left wondering how on earth is it the hottest selling SUV in India in this segment. I found the ride quality very bad and the body roll unacceptably high. Additionally, the engine and many features are dated and haven’t been updated for ages. IMHO, Toyota is able to sell the Fortuner in large numbers in India only because its customers belong to a third world country and have limited choice of models. Would anybody buy a Fortuner today in the US or even in Thailand?
Car delivery experience at Jayshree Ford, Jamshedpur

Though the overall experience was not too bad, considerable improvements are required in the following areas :
  1. Product knowledge of marketing executives was unsatisfactory. They were unable to explain some features / operations of the car.
  2. There was no check-off list for my specific variant listing the items I was supposed to be getting along with the car (such as spare key, tools, user manual, fuses, bulbs, etc.). I had to merely accept whatever was handed over to me and had no way of knowing whether I didn't get something I was supposed to.
  3. The process of delivery took much more time than necessary.

In front of Jayshree Ford, Jamshedpur
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc_4590-medium.jpg

Love that macho face!
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc_4594-medium.jpg

Everything in this car is big except the battery which appears to be half the size of the XUV battery.
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc_4610-medium.jpg

Dressed to kill!
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc_4612-medium.jpg

Ceremonial handing over of the car.
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc_4617-medium.jpg

ODO : 0014 KM / 05 Apr 2018

The very next morning after taking delivery at Jamshedpur, I needed to drive down to Kolkata. Prior to this trip I had driven the car only 05 KM (showroom in Adityapur to my house in Sonari). I looked forward to the 300 KM drive to Kolkata with great anticipation and excitement and could barely sleep in the night.

Though test drives give you a fair idea about a car, one gets a real in-depth feel only after driving it on different kinds of roads over a few hundred kilometers at least. Furthermore, none of the dealers in Jamshedpur and Kolkata had a 2.2 litre version as a test drive car. So my TD had been done on 3.2L version and my only source of information on the performance of 2.2L engine were the ownership reports on Team-BHP and other such fora.

Massive 4-laning work is in progress on the stretch of NH33 and NH6 between Jamshedpur and Kharagpur. About 50% of the work is still remaining and so there are many 'diversions' and rough stretches. The stretch from Kharagpur to Kolkata is a superb 6-lane dual carriageway, being part of the Golden Quadrilateral between Kolkata and Chennai. Thus I got the opportunity to try out my Endy on different kinds of roads during my maiden drive itself.

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc_4624-medium.jpg

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc_4627-2-medium.jpg

My overall experience, in two words, was mindblowingly awesome! Here was a SUV I had only dreamed of before. I found it so much more competent and luxurious than my XUV that a comparison between the two is like comparing apples to oranges. Specifically :
  1. The Endeavour simply glides over bad roads. Ability of the suspension to handle rough roads is awesome. There is a wee bit of body roll, which is probably inevitable in a heavy and tall SUV like this, but it is far far less than, say, the Toyota Fortuner.
  2. Ride, handling, steering and the overall feeling for the driver is excellent. I always drive my cars myself and so this is very important for me.
  3. Engine felt nice and punchy and never under-powered. Acceleration is obviously somewhat less than the 3.2L but my 2.2L exceeded my expectations. Not once did I feel that I made a mistake buying the 2.2L. My personal driving habits are such that I never accelerate (or decelerate) rapidly. But just to try it out I did floor the pedal a couple of times for a few seconds and the engine response put a broad grin on my face. I must emphasize that this 300 KM drive was on flat roads at almost sea level. Also, I was alone in the car with minimal luggage. The real test of the engine would come when I would be driving up steep inclines in rarefied air above 13,000 feet with a loaded car.
  4. The automatic transmission worked superbly. I kept it in Drive mode throughout and never tried the Sport mode. As per the User Manual one is supposed to run-in for 1600 KM (1000 miles) and I don't intend straining the engine or doing high speeds during this period.
  5. There was not a single body noise or any irritating khit-khit sounds from anywhere inside the car. The cabin was super silent, apparently due to the Active Noise Cancellation system.
  6. For the first time in my life I felt that I was now the proud owner of a luxury car. The stitched leather wrapped dashboard, comfortable leather seats, electrically adjustable driver's seat, plush interiors, high-tech MID, instrument displays, multi-zone climate control, 10-speaker music system, moonroof, etc, made me feel like a king. And I was not complaining about the acres of real estate inside!
  7. I got mileage of 12.3 KMPL during this trip. Pretty good I think, considering 2.3 tonne weight of the car. Inside Kolkata I'm getting around 8 KMPL.
  8. Doors are really solid and the car on the whole has a tank-like feel. Motorised tailgate is a boon.

Despite all the positive attributes of my new Endeavour, there are a few negatives too as compared to my last car (XUV-500 W6) :
  1. The XUV has a nice illuminated ring around the ignition switch which makes it easy to locate the switch in the dark, especially for someone who hasn't yet got used to its location. This simple but useful feature is missing in the Endy.
  2. No steering activated cornering lamps in the Endy.
  3. The XUV 2.2L mHawk engine appears a bit quieter than the Endy 2.2L engine when one is standing outside next to the car. However, once inside the car, the Active Noise Cancellation system of the Endy makes things much quieter than XUV.
  4. My middle-row passengers (especially one sitting in the center) used to love the completely flat floor of the XUV. The flat floor also helps when one has to keep some luggage between the front seats and middle-row seats.
  5. XUV has red hazard lights on doors which come on when doors are opened and caution vehicles coming from behind. This useful feature is missing in my Endy.
  6. Access to the 3rd. row is much simpler in the XUV. To enter the 3rd. row, one needs to fold and flip a seat on the 2nd. row and then a fully flat passage to the 3rd. row becomes available. In the Endy, the 2nd. row seat only folds and doesn't flip. So passengers trying to get into the 3rd. row seats have to climb over the big hump of the folded seat. This is very inconvenient and almost impossible for elderly or physically unfit passengers.
  7. In my Endy I miss the door recesses of my XUV which were perfectly shaped to hold 1-litre water bottles tightly in place without rattling.
  8. The stepney in my XUV was a full-sized one and therefore I could carry out 5-tyre rotation every 10,000 km and make sure that all 5 tyres were used equally over a period of time. The Endy stepney being smaller sized with a 80 kmph speed limit, will hardly ever be used and I shall have to carry out 4-tyre rotation.

My 7 months old granddaughter takes over the driver's seat after I reach Kolkata!
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc_4637-medium.jpg

Many friends have been asking me the reasons for my buying 2.2L (as compared to 3.2L). Broadly, the reasons are as follows :
  1. I neither do off-roading, nor racing. I always accelerate and decelerate gently. But even for those 'once in a while' occasions when I need very fast acceleration (say, to quickly overtake, or just to show off) the 2.2L has good enough punch.
  2. The 2.2L is lighter than the 3.2L -- the engine itself is lighter and absence of 4x4 mechanicals means less unnecessary weight to lug around. So the power to weight ratio is not very much less.
  3. Apart from lower buying price, maintenance and repair costs are also lower on the 2.2L.
  4. Though both the Ford Duratorq 2.2L and 3.2L have been around for more than a decade, the 2.2L has received many more tuning upgrades (and maybe some hardware upgrades too). An important upgrade, i.e., ramping up of the peak power by 10 PS and peak torque by 10 Nm took place just about 3 years ago. Furthermore, earlier the peak power of 118 KW used to come at 3,700 RPM. A very recent (a year or two) upgrade / re-tuning resulted in availability of peak power at 3,200 RPM only. On the other hand, the peak power / torque of 3.2L and characteristics have been the same for many years.
  5. The 2.2L is a more refined and quieter engine as compared to the 3.2L.
  6. The 2.2L is not a gas guzzler.
  7. The 2.2L has a rear wheel drive. I like RWD because it is better for steep uphill climbs when weight of the car tends to shift more towards the rear giving better traction to rear wheels.
  8. With the recent introduction of sunroof on the 2.2L Titanium, the actual differences from the 3.2L are minimal except the 4x4 and off-road capabilities.

BTW, I test drove the 3.2L version only. 2.2L TD car was neither available in Jamshedpur, nor in Kolkata. I decided upon the 2.2L going purely by my own instinct, engine specifications (power, torque and RPM's where max power and max torque are available) and reviews on Team-BHP and and other fora. Thankfully, my actual driving experience of the 2.2L has been even more positive than I anticipated. To be honest, I could not find much difference between the pick-up / punch of 2.2L and 3.2L till 100 KMPH, which is the max speed I have taken my new Endy to as running-in is in progress.

This Ford Ranger brochure of 2013 specifies 2.2L peak power / torque as 110 KW (@ 3,700 RPM) / 375 Nm and 3.2L as 147 KW / 470 Nm.
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-ranger-jan-2013.jpg

This Ford Ranger brochure of 2015 specifies 2.2L peak power / torque as 118 KW (@ 3,700 RPM) / 385 Nm and 3.2L as 147 KW / 470 Nm.
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-ford-ranger-uk-2015.jpg

The incremental 10PS power and 10 Nm torque was prominently highlighted in Ford brochures. But peak power came at 3,700 RPM.
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-engines.jpg

As recently as 2017, Ford brochures started specifying 2.2L peak power coming at 3,200 RPM only. 3.2L peak power / torque and characteristics have remained static for years.
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-engines-philipines-may-2017.jpg

Disclaimer : I have not done an exhaustive study on the history of Ford Duratorq 2.2L and 3.2L engines. I have merely searched the internet for old Ford Ranger / Everest sales brochures and some Wikipedia articles on Ranger, Everest and Duratorq engines. The timelines I have given may not be accurate despite my best efforts not to provide erroneous information.

225 mm of ground clearance is good enough for most practical purposes. But my 8 month old granddaughter apparently found it inadequate!
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-dsc_4805-large.jpg

Last edited by Aditya : 6th November 2018 at 09:51.
debuda is offline   (34) Thanks
Old 6th November 2018, 10:20   #3544

Originally Posted by debuda View Post

A big shout for you to select a rugged SUV like Endeavour in your 60's. I am glad that you didn't fall for the overrated reliability, resale, service etc. of Fortuner. This segment demands much more than that and Fortuner simply lacks the finesse and upmarket feeling of Endeavour.

Congratulations and wishing you safe motoring.

Here is my little munchkin, who is on a mission to destroy my car.
Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20181024_123055.jpg  

Last edited by Eddy : 6th November 2018 at 11:49. Reason: typo
roby_dk is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 6th November 2018, 14:18   #3545

Congratulations on buying the truck. That’s a powerful sentiment.
There was no check-off list for my specific variant listing the items I was supposed to be getting along with the car (such as spare key, tools, user manual, fuses, bulbs, etc.). I had to merely accept whatever was handed over to me and had no way of knowing whether I didn't get something I was supposed to.
Did you get spare bulbs or am I misunderstanding something?
The Endeavour simply glides over bad roads. Ability of the suspension to handle rough roads is awesome
Would suggest a tyre swap to better but same sized rubber. I was totally disappointed by the MRF’s with their grip on tarmac and road noise. When I swapped, the new tyres elevated the ride quotient as well while addressing these issues.
No steering activated cornering lamps in the Endy.
I have activated fog lamps as cornering lamps which work with turn indicators at speed below 40 KMPH.

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-cornering_fogs.jpg

In the Endy, the 2nd. row seat only folds and doesn't flip. So passengers trying to get into the 3rd. row seats have to climb over the big hump of the folded seat. This is very inconvenient and almost impossible for elderly or physically unfit passengers.
To access the 3rd row, I pull the lever on top of the 2nd row seat back to tilt the seat back forward and then pull the seat forward. This opens-up a more convenient access to 3rd row where you can walk on the floor rather than climb over the seat. Another tip would be use the access from side with 40% 2nd row seat as it slides forward more due to no obstruction from the central console which houses the Rear AC controls. Link to image of how the passage should look like from my Ownership review: https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attac...ience-s4_7.jpg
A.G. is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 6th November 2018, 18:18   #3546

Did you get spare bulbs or am I misunderstanding something?
No, I did not get spare bulbs. I just mentioned it as an example of the customer not being sure of what items / accessories he is supposed to get free along with the car.

I have activated fog lamps as cornering lamps which work with turn indicators at speed below 40 KMPH.
How did you do that?
Old 7th November 2018, 09:45   #3547

Finally, a car I might love to drive to my own funeral!
Same pinch and Hearty Congratulations...!!!

Toyota Fortuner : After a long test drive on all kinds of roads I was left wondering how on earth is it the hottest selling SUV in India in this segment. Would anybody buy a Fortuner today in the US or even in Thailand?
Except third world markets, Toyota is going through troubled times anyway, however, countries like ours keep their counters rolling because the brand continues to be premium for us, for various reasons/misconceptions.

Car delivery experience at Jayshree Ford, Jamshedpur

Though the overall experience was not too bad, considerable improvements are required in the following areas:
Bang on, product feature explanation needs to be way more passionate and knowledgeable across dealerships.
Documentation process too needs to be improved.

The Endeavour simply glides over bad roads.
Indeed does, in fact, it is this ability that impressed me the most over the competition.
Ride, handling, steering and the overall feeling for the driver is excellent.
The steering is a boon in the city and weighs up nicely on the highways, the one thing I wish it offered was slightly more feel at high speeds.
The real test of the engine would come when I would be driving up steep inclines in rarefied air above 13,000 feet with a loaded car.
The 2.2 is a potent engine and a group of 5 friends had been to Ladakh last year in a 2.2 Titanium from Hyderabad. They came back satisfied with the vehicle performance.

The automatic transmission worked superbly.
It will improve over time and as it learns your style.

There was not a single body noise or any irritating khit-khit sounds from anywhere inside the car.
Tell me about it, the cabin is dead silent and nothing feels loosely put together. In fact, after travelling in the Endy, one tends to suddenly sense a l-o-t of noise in many other premium cars.
For the first time in my life I felt that I was now the proud owner of a luxury car.
Yes, the vehicle gives you a very Range Rover-ish feeling when you are inside it, it kinda cocoons you very well.

I got mileage of 12.3 KMPL during this trip. Pretty good I think, considering 2.3 tonne weight of the car. Inside Kolkata I'm getting around 8 KMPL.
This is great, I get around 10.5 on the highways and 8 in the city on a 3.2.

Doors are really solid and the car on the whole has a tank-like feel. Motorised tailgate is a boon.
I m still trying to close them softly, they indeed close like a vault.

8 month old granddaughter apparently found it inadequate!
She is so adorable, God Bless...!!!

Nandi Update:-

Nandi has been steadily munching a few miles here and there and the recent sojourn was from Bangalore to Ooty and back.

TBHPian 4x4_addict suggested we take the Bangalore-Salem-Avinashi-Annur-Mettupalyam route instead of the traditional Bangalore-Mysore-Masinagudi route and we did that for the onward journey. This route increases the distance by a good 70km and is tolled for the most part. There was traffic at most places being a Diwali weekend.

We maintained speeds of 90-105 kmph till Mettupalyam and the FE was a delightful 12.7kmpl till Mettupalyam.

Then began the climb and by the time we reached our place of stay, it was 11.5kmpl, am still very happy.

On the way back, we took the usual route via Gudalur-Mudumalai-Mysore and the FE settled down at 10.5 kmpl including some driving in the infamous Bangalore traffic.

At Coonoor, had the chance to sample a brand new LR Discovery for a few km and here are a few inevitable comparisons: -

1. The Disco feels smaller, inside and out. The dash, seats, steering and a lot of other components on the the Disco feel smaller.
2. V6s are of course smoother than inline 5s and one can clearly feel it on the outside. Inside though, the fantastic Active Noise Cancellation makes the Endy quieter, at idle and on the move.
3. The Disco handles slightly better due to its 20" low profile tires and air suspension which lowers the CG on good roads. On mountain twisties though, they felt pretty much the same, big, burly trucks.
4. The fit and finish on the Crore plus Disco is definitely way better, however, the interiors now look dated. The touchscreen isnt as fluid as the Sync3, the door pads look old and the doors, especially without footsteps, look too big.
5. The Disco has a lot of features and everything is motorised so that's some money well spent.
6. This is the most interesting part - On a potholed/pockmarked road, the Disco's suspension, inspite of being air sprung, was noisy and was crashing into potholes, significantly when compared to the Endy. This resulted in the Endy feeling more premium on that bad road and abuse friendly as well.

Happy Diwali Everyone...!!!

Last edited by n.devdath : 7th November 2018 at 10:08.
n.devdath is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 7th November 2018, 11:32   #3548

Originally Posted by n.devdath View Post
At Coonoor, had the chance to sample a brand new LR Discovery for a few km and here are a few inevitable comparisons: -

1. The Disco feels smaller, inside and out. The dash, seats, steering and a lot of other components on the the Disco feel smaller.
2. V6s are of course smoother than inline 5s and one can clearly feel it on the outside. Inside though, the fantastic Active Noise Cancellation makes the Endy quieter, at idle and on the move.
3. The Disco handles slightly better due to its 20" low profile tires and air suspension which lowers the CG on good roads. On mountain twisties though, they felt pretty much the same, big, burly trucks.
4. The fit and finish on the Crore plus Disco is definitely way better, however, the interiors now look dated. The touchscreen isnt as fluid as the Sync3, the door pads look old and the doors, especially without footsteps, look too big.
5. The Disco has a lot of features and everything is motorised so that's some money well spent.
6. This is the most interesting part - On a potholed/pockmarked road, the Disco's suspension, inspite of being air sprung, was noisy and was crashing into potholes, significantly when compared to the Endy. This resulted in the Endy feeling more premium on that bad road and abuse friendly as well.
So you're saying the Endeavour is more modern, refined, and comfortable than the Discovery 5? I find that a bit hard to believe. Apart from point number 6, which is due to the same reason as point number 3, I have to disagree.
Akshay1234 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th November 2018, 08:20   #3549

How did you do that?
Using FORScan which is a free software and requires a modifed OBD2 adapter. There are many other features which can be enabled / disabled.
A.G. is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th November 2018, 20:10   #3550

Using FORScan which is a free software and requires a modifed OBD2 adapter. There are many other features which can be enabled / disabled.
I wonder whether use of OBD adapter for enabling / disabling features would have any impact on warranty.
Old 9th November 2018, 12:10   #3551

I wonder whether use of OBD adapter for enabling / disabling features would have any impact on warranty.
The first thing I did before I started to modify stuff using ForSCAN was to take a complete backup of all the module settings (known as "As-built").

I then started making the mods and when I was satisfied, took another backup which I stored as "as-modified".

Whenever my vehicle goes to the ASS, I flash it back to "as-built" and when it comes back, I flash back my "as-modified".

So far, no issues.
krishsreedharan is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 13th November 2018, 10:32   #3552

Had an incident this morning which has left me kicking myself for a momentary lapse in concentration.

I was proceeding to drop my son at school when I decided to take a slight diversion to beat some traffic. As I was turning back into the main road, I did not notice that there was a metal police barricade that was laid horizontally on the road.

I only realized it was there when it got dragged under the left side step of the Endy. And the result is this.

Ford Endeavour : Official Review-img_20181113_100938.jpg

While on one side I was glad that this has only impacted the side step and that this can be replaced with a new one, does not take away the guilt that I was not paying enough attention to the road an what was on it.

So goes life. Note to self - be more attentive to what lies on the road in addition to what travels on the road.
krishsreedharan is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 13th November 2018, 19:15   #3553

How much peak Torque does the 3.2 Endeavour produce in 4x4 Low mode?

I couldn't find an answer to this question on the forum, so asking it here. Pardon me if this is a technically incorrect question to ask
Old 14th November 2018, 07:36   #3554

Originally Posted by Touringlawyer View Post
I imagine the exact same as it does in "normal" gearing - 470NM.

The torque produced by an engine at any point is a function of the engine's speed (RPM), which the torque curve is plotted against. RPM refers to the number of revolutions per minute of the crankshaft attached to the engine, which in turn is attached to the transmission/gear box via a clutch/torque convertor (engine-transmission interface device, basically).

This (transmission/gear box) is the part that transfers this revolution/rotation of a shaft to the wheels in order to get a vehicle moving.
It's known by these two interchangeable terms - "transmission" and "gearbox". As the first name suggests, its function is to "transfer" the power from the engine (going into the crankshaft) to the wheels.
The second name is there, basically because it's a bunch of strategically arranged gears (and dogs and synchromeshs and what not) on a pair of shafts (one of which is movable, usually anyway) enclosed in a box.

If it were a question of only transmitting power produced by the engine to the wheels, we wouldn't need multiple gear "ratios". But since we need the wheels to be spinning at different speeds at a number of power output levels from the engine, we have multiple gear ratios (or gears). You might need peak torque from start (engine at speed of peak torque, wheels/car at zero) to begin an ascent when you're parked at the middle of a steep slope, or you might need it to overtake a car travelling at 100kph by increasing your speed (car's/wheels) to 120kph (engine speed at peak torque yet again). In the first case, you'll be in first, and in the latter, you'll likely be in 5th. Your engine however would operate in the same RPM range - i.e. where it gives you peak torque. The amount of torque has changed in no way, but you are allowed to access your engine's varying torque levels at varying wheel speeds thanks to multiple gear ratios.
Another example would be cruising at 80kph in 6th, and doing a second gear start on a flat surface - your car might be at the same, low RPM (relaxed engine state) in both cases (same torque). Wheels speeds however are wildly different.

And what does low-range do? It adds an extra set of ratios even below first. So, quite simply, your torque doesn't increase at all, it's just that you can now access it at a lower speed. I'm sure you must've heard (for "normal cars"), that "reverse is the most powerful gear", at some point in your life. What they mean is, it's more torquey at a much lower speed, because it's much "lower" (usually between L1 and L2). Anyhow, in low range, you can now access your peak torque at even lower speeds. So, if your slowest speed with which you could get 470nm on an Endeavour is 5kph. You can now get it right from <1kph (near zero actually) - allowing you to slowly and carefully crawl over obstacles that require peak torque for the giant fatty to clamber over, but allowing you to do it slowly with more ease, precision and much much much less risk of "trail damage". The other big advantage is, it can allow you to crawl down "standard" hill-type ghats/slippery, snow covered, lethal mountain dirt trails at sane speeds that won't require you to use your brakes at all, perhaps (for both negotiating sharp corners, and keeping speed capped despite steepness) - thereby countering brake wear+overheating in dry areas where grip is not an issue (the former, say), and, where grip is an issue (the latter), not sending you veering off the road and down into a gorge to your death thanks to the wheels locking up due to braking.

In summary:
Torque delivered at crank (or at wheels less transmission losses) is a function of engine speed.
Gear ratios (that ratio being literally that of wheel speed to engine speed) define what wheel speed will be achieved for any given engine speed - i.e. what torque at what speed of the car (or rather, what engine speed at what wheel speed) - the gear ratio cannot in any way alter the torque curve, it can only change where you are situated in said torque curve for any given wheel speed.
It follows that, a low ratio gear box, in turn, operates on the same principle. All it does is, add a bunch of ratios even below first, allowing you to access the full torque curve at speeds from near zero up to whenever 1st "normal" starts allowing you to subsequently do so.
No change in peak torque.

Note: For the limited purposes of this post, speed, wheel speed and the car's speed are used interchangeably. Engine speed always refers to RPM.

Last edited by Mu009 : 14th November 2018 at 08:02. Reason: Semantics
Mu009 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 14th November 2018, 21:05   #3555

Originally Posted by Touringlawyer View Post
While torque at the flywheel is irrespective of the of the gearing, the torque at the wheel depends on the gear ratio.

It should ideally double in 4L 1st gear which should take it to around 800NM which is also what the GB is designed to handle.
n.devdath is offline   (4) Thanks