Team-BHP - Ford Endeavour : Official Review

-   Official New Car Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/)
-   -   Ford Endeavour : Official Review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/173334-ford-endeavour-official-review-174.html)

Originally Posted by el lobo 6061 (Post 4302237)
The oil used is either MINERAL or SEMI SYNTHETIC as per the HSN Code in Bill. 27101980.

With GST and HSN Code, one can understand the sham ongoing.

As per post shared by bhpian AJ-got-BHP, link

Bill Screenshot: For engine oil HSN Code
Attachment 1694091

1st 4 digit of HSN code 2710 mean either
Attachment 1694087

The oil barrel says fully synthetic but contains mineral or semi-synthetic oil.

Fully synthetic oil cannot be cheaper than Rs. 900 per litre. Also HSN Code would be 3403.

I was wondering how fully synthetic can cost less that Rs.800 to Rs.900. Anyway it was too good to be true. During last service of my Crysta the oil was changed and this time i asked them to put mineral oil instead of synthetic. They filled with TGMO 5W30 oil and the price per liter was Rs.261/- excluding CGST & SGST 9% each. HSN code on the bill is exactly the same as the one posted above.

Originally Posted by ecosport rules (Post 4302259)
We had a similar confusion for the Ecosport too and later came to know that it was semi synthetic

Even I recall that the Oil changed during the service for my Endeavour was Castrol Semi-Synthetic. That is the one prescribed by Ford. I was told that Ford does not recommend fully synthetic oil for Endeavour.

http://m.drive.com.au/new-car-review...ve-116256.html

2017 Drive Car of the Year: Best Four-Wheel Drive

Just How Far Can A Stock-Standard Ford Everest 4WD Take You? Ford Took Me To Tasmania To Test My (Very Basic) Off-Road Driving Skills And Find Out.

https://practicalmotoring.com.au/car...-4wd-take-you/

I’m trying to book a 2.2 Titanium and am being told by dealers here in Hyderabad that production has stopped or the model is undergoing upgrades might be delivered in Feb 2018. They are saying that they haven’t received a single 2.2 Titanium in the last two months. Is a facelift imminent or is the sales of the 2.2 poor? Thanks in advance for any feedback you are able to provide.

Originally Posted by wannabelean (Post 4309002)
I’m trying to book a 2.2 Titanium and am being told by dealers here in Hyderabad that production has stopped or the model is undergoing upgrades might be delivered in Feb 2018. They are saying that they haven’t received a single 2.2 Titanium in the last two months. Is a facelift imminent or is the sales of the 2.2 poor? Thanks in advance for any feedback you are able to provide.

Just checked with dealers, whatever you heard is right about the stock. The forecast from dealers were given for each quarter. There was no projection for 2.2 for this quarter and as a reason there was no cars available in plant as well. But as per the dealers now there are lot of enquirers for 2.2. As this is CKD from thailand , if they project for next quarter, the plant will be ready by February (Optimistic) .

Originally Posted by wannabelean (Post 4309002)

I also checked and was told the same by two Ford dealers in HYD. However 3.2 titanium is available. You may also want to check out Vasant Motors - they have a 20k driven pre worshipped 3.2 titanium on sale at a new 2.2 price... if pre worshipped is an option for you.

I was in the market for an Endeavour a month ago and took a test drive. I subsequently put the decision on hold and was planning to re open discussions in December.

I go a call from the dealer I had spoken with, Talera Ford in Pune, saying that the price of the 3.2 Titanium will be increasing by 2 lakhs from the 1st of December.

Normally I would think that it is just a sales tactic, but going by Ford's past behaviour, an arbitrary hike is entirely possible.

Has anyone else heard anything about an imminent price hike?

Originally Posted by awarty (Post 4310587)
I go a call from the dealer I had spoken with, Talera Ford in Pune, saying that the price of the 3.2 Titanium will be increasing by 2 lakhs from the 1st of December.

Currently for 3.2L, dealers are offering a discount of 70k in Chennai & was told this would be increased as we step into the month of Dec :)

Originally Posted by awarty (Post 4310587)
I was in the market for an Endeavour..

Normally I would think that it is just a sales tactic,

Has anyone else heard anything about an imminent price hike?

I absolutely hate these tactics played by the dealers. You must say that you will go for the competition and that it’s perfectly ok for Ford to increase prices. I truly prefer dealers who play it straight. You cannot trust a sales man who tries to arm twist you by saying next month prices will go up by 2 lacs.. avoid that dealer and the sales person.

Originally Posted by Sathya_sc (Post 4310798)
I absolutely hate these tactics played by the dealers. You must say that you will go for the competition and that it’s perfectly ok for Ford to increase prices. I truly prefer dealers who play it straight. You cannot trust a sales man who tries to arm twist you by saying next month prices will go up by 2 lacs.. avoid that dealer and the sales person.

Yes, I dislike these tactics too. In fact my response was along the lines of "thanks, if it gets too expensive and goes outside my budget I will look at other vehicles"

Originally Posted by Surprise (Post 4310691)
Currently for 3.2L, dealers are offering a discount of 70k in Chennai & was told this would be increased as we step into the month of Dec :)

Thanks, both the Ford dealers in Pune claim that there are no discounts. :Frustrati

I have strong connects with Chennai/Bangalore Ford dealers and can source the vehicle from there, but am wary of buying the car out of state and trying to register it in Pune.

Originally Posted by awarty (Post 4310845)
but am wary of buying the car out of state and trying to register it in Pune.

No use actually, as you would end up paying additional 8 percent as entry tax to be registering in your home state.

December usually has maximum discounts and the Endeavor isn't really flying off the shelves. In fact, save for Fortuner, I am seeing discounts for all Toyota vehicles below 25L.

On other note, I do get to drive the 3.2 and how I wish, it came with a proper MT. That manual mode isn't helping much.

Originally Posted by awarty (Post 4310845)
I have strong connects with Chennai/Bangalore Ford dealers and can source the vehicle from there, but am wary of buying the car out of state and trying to register it in Pune.

I do not think the entry tax comes into play with GST being implemented. There should not be any additional expense apart from TR charges at Chennai/Bangalore and the cost of driving the vehicle to Pune.

Originally Posted by Sheel (Post 4310847)
On other note, I do get to drive the 3.2 and how I wish, it came with a proper MT. That manual mode isn't helping much.

I had a very revealing drive on a friend's 3.2 Titanium today and here is the lowdown:

1. My biggest grouse with the Endy has always been its AT gearbox, which was never able to satisfy me on the highway and during medium-high speed overtakes. However, my friend insisted I drive his Endy and analyse it because he had something to tell me, and after a 90km drive on all kinds of roads, I came out pleasantly surprised.

His GB shifts almost seamlessly, downshifts promptly, and most importantly, holds its revs at around 1400 even if the throttle is released, which makes highway driving an overtaking such a blissful experience. clap:

When I asked him, he told me that there is PCM update by Ford which made all this difference to the vehicle's performance.

For the benefit of all of us here, the PCM update # is: EB3G-12A650-ANK

2. I've always advised against Korean tires mainly because my experience with them (have used Hankook and Kumho) hasn't been great in terms of their performance. Today, the Endy that I drove was shod with Nexen Roadians (285/60/18) and they are simply outstanding. We drove over a mix of trails, highways and undulating, potholed roads and these tires excelled everywhere.

They are super silent, grippy, stick to the line like a leech and are so comfortable, all at the same time. I had suspected the tire pressure to be 30 PSI and was astonished when my friend told me that it is actually 32 PSI.

This prompted me to do some research on them and that is when I came to know that they are trail certified by Jeep, and are amongst the top 5 AT tires in the world.:thumbs up

Here are a few links for reference.

Nexen Roadian AT Pro RA8 Wins Top Score in Jeep Test

A related video

Just like VCDS for VW/Skoda/Audi cars, Ford has FORScan for its own models. If you're lucky, you may be able to enable 'Auto folding ORVM' for your Endeavour.

https://www.tsikot.com/forums/ford-c...verest-103779/

http://www.2gfusions.net/showthread....4573&pid=80488

If anyone wants to check the default values on each modules on your Endeavour, you can verify it by VIN on the below link.

https://www.motorcraftservice.com/AsBuilt

It looks like Ford is using the same control modules on Endeavour/Everest, Ranger & F150

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...#gid=815852466