Old 28th December 2015, 17:54   #2791

Re: Maruti S-Cross : Official Review

If I were you, I wouldn't use the cruise control for long stretches.
Old 28th December 2015, 18:54   #2792

Originally Posted by procrj View Post
Wow that is expensive! Did you not get CQ Finest? Is this the protection for skid plates and other body plastic panels? Will they top this up for free after 8 months or is there a cost involved?
Yup! Indeed. Bit it is holding up well and cleaning has become easy. I got the CQ Finest done.

Yes, the plastic protection is for the skid plates as well as plastic panels.

No, you could have it redone if needed. Not sure what the cost is.

Originally Posted by procrj View Post
If you use a charger that draws 2A and the car charger fuse rating is 1A, it could blow. But I am not sure if any of the new cars use a 1A fuse. Fuse diagram in the owners manual should clear this doubt.
I checked with the accessories team in Bimal Showroom (Bangalore). Was about to buy a car charger from them. They said we could use 1A as well as 2A for Scross and no concerns whatsoever.

Originally Posted by mankumar View Post

Can you please ping me the variant (is it 1.6 Alpha?) and RM detail at Bimal Nexa? I am also evaluating to buy between 1.3 & 1.6, hence the query.
The RM is Harikrishna from Bimal.

Dropped in at Bimal and picked up a Tyre Inflator. There were 2 models available. I picked up one with a digital tyre pressure indicator and costed me Rs 2000. Also a retractable phone charger. Yet to use the inflator, will share review soon.
Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-20151228-18.49.43.jpg  

kd_maximus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th December 2015, 19:44   #2793

PDI done

Delivery in Jan 1st week

Maruti S-Cross : Official Review-imag24620101.jpeg
Mi10 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 28th December 2015, 19:49   #2794

Well folks just got a confirmation that my S Cross Delta 1.3 has arrived and will be going tomorrow armed with the Team-BHP PDI checklist.

A lot of you have sqappwd tyres and I see a lot if complaints about the road noise of the stock JK's. Other than road noise are there any other issues? I am on a tight budget and getting new tyres will be a stretch. My driving is going to be. 90% city and 10% highways. I am a rather sedate driver and might top 100 kmph on the highway at the most.
Old 28th December 2015, 22:23   #2795

In Chennai the price difference between 1.3 Alpha and Zeta is close to 2lacs. I would like to know the opinion of BHPians whether it is worth going for Alpha? The differences (HID Projector, Rain sensing Wiper, Leather seats, Auto IRVM) appear to be too few for such a price difference. I understand that the different tax slabs is the culprit here.
Old 28th December 2015, 22:44   #2796

Originally Posted by SafeDrive0107 View Post
Well folks just got a confirmation that my S Cross Delta 1.3 has arrived and will be going tomorrow armed with the Team-BHP PDI checklist.

A lot of you have sqappwd tyres and I see a lot if complaints about the road noise of the stock JK's. Other than road noise are there any other issues? I am on a tight budget and getting new tyres will be a stretch. My driving is going to be. 90% city and 10% highways. I am a rather sedate driver and might top 100 kmph on the highway at the most.
Hi SafeDrive0107,
Congratulations for the S Cross Delta 1.3; wish you happy motoring.

My SX4 came with JK Vectra tyres in 2011. I have clocked around 52000 km on the odo with these tyres and I am happy with them.

Even after 52000 km, the treads are still 40% left. When I measured the tread depth (I have a vernier caliper to do that), the calculation showed that they can last till 85000 km!

Like you, I am a sedate driver too, I never cross 100-110 kmph for the reasons of safety and fuel efficiency. Mostly I drive at 80-100 kmph. I rotate the tyres (all five) at every 5000 - 6000 km and carry out balancing at every 10000 km.

I did not feel that the tyres are noisy. As it is, there is some engine noise creeping in the cabin. Plus, there will be some music being played. So the cabin is not going to be fully silent anyway. On any road 80 - 90 kmph won't produce much noise.

So, I am happy with the tyres. Good value for money. No troubles faced. No issues with the grip.

I clock around 10000 - 12000 km every year. So, I will not wait for 7 - 8 years till my tyres run for 85000 km. I plan to change them after 5-6 years. I guess, I would have completed 70000 - 75000 km by then. Compared to some of the car owners, its double the life. A big saving.

If you are tight on budget, stick to JK Vectra (I assume it is Vectra). Sedate driving, regular alignment and rotation will give you long life.

For your information, the tyres (all) run quieter on the tar roads compared to the concrete roads.

Last edited by Rahul Bhalgat : 28th December 2015 at 22:47.
Rahul Bhalgat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th December 2015, 23:30   #2797

Originally Posted by bijujj View Post
In Chennai the price difference between 1.3 Alpha and Zeta is close to 2lacs. I would like to know the opinion of BHPians whether it is worth going for Alpha? The differences (HID Projector, Rain sensing Wiper, Leather seats, Auto IRVM) appear to be too few for such a price difference. I understand that the different tax slabs is the culprit here.

If the price difference would have been close to 2L in my case I would have definitely gone for zeta. But it was a little less than 1.2L here in Ahmedabad when I bought s cross in the first week of December. The additional features in alpha surely are good to have but price difference is too much.
I wouldn't mind the price difference if following things are my top priority:
1. Night driving: Projector lights do make life easier during those late evening and/or night drives on highways.
2. Auto IRVM also helps in above case.
3. Hassle free interior cleaning. When you have leather seats, again life is comparatively easier in maintaining the interiors.
These features will spoil you for sure. 😂

Apart from Hid projectors I think auto dimming irvm and leather seats will be available in market. Also there were reports of projectors being available as accessory for zeta and lower trims. The current status is still confusing.
All the best for choosing the best variant that suits you.
Drive safe!
Old 28th December 2015, 23:32   #2798

Originally Posted by Rahul Bhalgat View Post
Hi SafeDrive0107,
Congratulations for the S Cross Delta 1.3; wish you happy motoring.

My SX4 came with JK Vectra tyres in 2011. I have clocked around 52000 km on the odo with these tyres and I am happy with them.

Thanks a lot Rahul, feels better after reading your post. The S Cross comes with JK Elanzo Nxt tyres. Not sure how different they are from JK Vectra. Overall everything that I read about JK's was not very encouraging. But yeah, I do understand that the needs vary as per driving style and conditions.
Old 29th December 2015, 00:26   #2799

In Chennai the price difference between 1.3 Alpha and Zeta is close to 2lacs. I would like to know the opinion of BHPians....
I would definitely say Zeta, the additional features are definitely not worth 2 lacs, you may only miss the HID lights at the most, but I think it should be fine for most of the folks have settled for lower variants and no major complaints on the lights without HID.

As for leather seats you can always have it installed later and choose any color to your liking.

Also even if you install HID or leather seats later, its not going to cause any rattles later. So my take is Zeta. Absolute value for money especially with cruise thrown in

Last edited by Chillout : 29th December 2015 at 00:28.
Chillout is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th December 2015, 07:38   #2800

For all those who think that the higher discounts and ownerships will translate into higher number of sales of Scross in December: mostly it is stock clearance from dealers and not from manufacturer, so, not much to add to the sales figures, imo.
Old 29th December 2015, 09:00   #2801

The difference in Bangalore is 1.8 lakhs. The best feature in Alpha is the HID headlamps, everything else is just an add on. If you don't mind spending the extra 1.8 or 2 lakhs as in your case, go for the Alpha. You don't want to regret later when you see another Alpha with those fancy head lights.

Having said that, Zeta is an absolute VFM package. You can always add the leather seats & auto IVRM. However, based on previous posts looks like Nexa is not offering the HID projector headlamps as an add on. The deciding factor has to be whether you really need the HID lamps or not.
SafeDrive0107 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th December 2015, 11:58   #2802

With 90% city driving and a tight budget, you can stick to stock JK Elanzo. But as compared to other tyres available, of course the JKs are no where close. But then it's always about how much you are ready to pay for something.
Aston Singh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th December 2015, 12:35   #2803

Originally Posted by sathya_g_m View Post
This probably due to the dip in mileage while climbing up. It extra polates based on current mileage for the range. While coming down the mileage increases hence range increases. I observed similar thing in my ciaz.
IMO the calculation is correct. While going uphill, you would be on lower gears using lot more power as a result consume more fuel. On the other hand while coming downhill you have gravity helping reducing the effort of the engine and the FE will definitely be higher.

It could be due to how they place the sensors. I had noticed this in my old Santro as well. While going uphill the fuel level used to show a slight drop and once you are on the plains it used to climb up a little. However never noticed any changes while driving downhill.
Thanks for your inputs guys. I agree that the readings could be because of the placement of sensors. But, I do not agree that less fuel will be consumed when climbing down a hill (thus resulting in a higher range) as I use either the 2nd or 3rd gear for engine braking depending on the road. I think the range downhill may be increasing because of the sensor placement again.
Old 29th December 2015, 13:16   #2804

Originally Posted by Satishtv View Post
Thanks for your inputs guys. I agree that the readings could be because of the placement of sensors. But, I do not agree that less fuel will be consumed when climbing down a hill (thus resulting in a higher range) as I use either the 2nd or 3rd gear for engine braking depending on the road. I think the range downhill may be increasing because of the sensor placement again.
It is both due to fuel level varying as well as change in fuel consumption while driving.

Fuel level in the tank is not displayed at an instantaneous rate. If that was so, the fuel guage would move up and down due to movement of fuel within the tank during acceleration, deceleration, humps and potholes. Hence, this is in most cars an average level, or refreshed at periodic time intervals. Taking this into account, during uphill climb, there will be places where the road will momentarily turn flat and then the slope resumes. Hence, the uphill effect will not do much of a change in the fuel level indicated, unless you are continuously going on an upramp for a long time, say around ten minutes. Only then there will be a change in the level indicated.

Coming to fuel consumption, you will have to agree that you use more of the throttle while going uphill and less or no throttle while going downhill. Range indicator will take into consideration the demanded power by the driver through the accelerator pedal inputs. Along with this, the instantaneous fuel consumption is also considered. When you go downhill, especially in a diesel, I am told that fuel flow is almost nil when you are decelerating or engine braking.

This is why you will see that the instantaneous FE jumps up to insane figures, usually 30kmpl which is the hard limit for the display. Now the system can take the instantaneous FE of the last two minutes to predict what the range will be, along with the remaining fuel. Hence, the range will definitely increase while going downhill than going uphill.

Last edited by audioholic : 29th December 2015 at 13:17.
audioholic is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th December 2015, 16:21   #2805

Hey Guys,

Is it true that the 1.6L version of S-Cross comes with a super charger ? I observed that in car (v)ale dot com and just read the official review here to confirm it. But, I could not find any mentioning about a super charger. Did anybody else notice that ?!!

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com