Old 23rd March 2016, 19:34   #1546
BHPian

Re: Hyundai Elite i20 : Official Review

Quote:
Originally Posted by vpillai View Post
Thanks Rahul.
My car is about to complete 11000 KMS.
Hey,
I'm facing the exact same issue. And as you suspected, the ASC failed to identify the root of the problem and returned the car saying they have tuned the engine. I could not reproduce the "Knock" or "Jerk" in the trial with the ASC. My car is nearing 10k on the ODO and i've been facing this issue for over 5 months now.

The problem seems to be random, at times it has occurred when you decelerate to take on a speed breaker or at high speeds. There is a very audible "Tock" sound followed by a jerk and noticeable deceleration, kind of when you panic brake for a fraction of a second and let go.

This worries me a lot as this has happened twice on a highway at speeds exceeding 80kmph and also at speeds under 30kmph in the city.

Have you found a proper solution to this yet? Has the ASC been able to identify the issue or are you still facing the problem?

Perhaps there is anyone else who's facing such issue ? Any help regarding this would be appreciated.

Mod Note: Please avoid quoting the entire post

Last edited by ampere : 30th March 2016 at 21:44.
Old 23rd March 2016, 20:59   #1547
RSR
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by vpillai View Post
Experts, if you are able to identify the issue from my description (or atleast a clue on which parts to be checked), please provide your inputs and suggestions.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hakunabatata View Post
Hey,
I'm facing the exact same issue.

Any help regarding this would be appreciated.
vpillai & hakunabatata, do your cars run on petrol or diesel?

If they are petrols, then there is a possibility if the issue being caused by a (partially) clogged O2 sensor. You may run the car temporaraily with a disconnected O2 sensor to check if this is indeed causing the issue.

Last edited by RSR : 23rd March 2016 at 21:03.