Old 18th December 2023, 00:46   #12856

Re: Ford EcoSport : Official Review

Hi Everyone,

I have an Ecosport (2019) titanium which came with a FlyAudio WinCE 6 headunit. I have managed to run Carplay/Android Auto on the headunit and it is surprisingly smooth. I am using a Carlinkit dongle to do this. There are a few tutorials on YouTube, but all of them involve putting another Chinese app to redirect to the AutoKit app which seemed needlessly complicated to me, so I wrote a simple script using MortScript to launch the AutoKit app on startup and voila.

The big pro for this setup is that I did not want to replace the factory headunit and wanted to spend the minimum amount (spent just 2.6k for the Carlinkit adapter). I have the process well documented so if anyone wants to do this on Ecosport/Aspire/Figo that has a FlyAudio unit, let me know. I can make a separate post for this.

Ford EcoSport : Official Review-img_4553.jpg
typlo is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 18th December 2023, 22:46   #12857

That's really interesting!
PLease do document it.

I would love to read more
How did you flash the script?
Originally Posted by typlo View Post
Hi Everyone,

I have an Ecosport (2019) titanium which came with a FlyAudio WinCE 6 headunit. I have managed to run Carplay/Android Auto on the headunit and it is surprisingly smooth. I am using a Carlinkit dongle to do this. There are a few tutorials on YouTube, but all of them involve putting another Chinese app to redirect to the AutoKit app which seemed needlessly complicated to me, so I wrote a simple script using MortScript to launch the AutoKit app on startup and voila.

The big pro for this setup is that I did not want to replace the factory headunit and wanted to spend the minimum amount (spent just 2.6k for the Carlinkit adapter). I have the process well documented so if anyone wants to do this on Ecosport/Aspire/Figo that has a FlyAudio unit, let me know. I can make a separate post for this.

Attachment 2545368
Old 21st December 2023, 11:55   #12858

Hello everyone,

Hope everyone is in the best of health.

I would like your advise with respect to my 2014 Ecosport Tdci (purchased it in August 2021 at 83,000kms currently at 98,700kms) and the abysmal experience I am having due to repeated service center visits as well as decreased fuel efficiency to the extent that we are thinking of selling it and moving on due the amount of headache. I won't be laying down each and every issue here (I will upload a detailed review in the near future) but rather one specific issue with respect to coolant leakage which I am have been facing rather regularly. The car has experienced 3 times coolant leakage in 2.5 years (this time is the 4th one, yet to send it). The issues were:

1st time- The coolant reservoir had a leak.
2nd time- Thermostat had a leak
3rd time- A rubber hose near the reservoir had a leak and now the 4th time. Besides these, there were several issues like horns (2-3 times), fan issues (2-3 times), A/C, extremely low efficiency (8 kmpl the car is being driven quite sedately) and more.

What maybe the reason behind so many coolant leakages? Furthermore, do you think we should sell it and move on for the sake of our sanity or hold it for some time. Every opinion is welcome. Also we have spent around 2L in the 2.5 years.

PS- The car has been sent to Bhavna Ford, Kalina for almost all services. (barring 1-2 times). I will upload a detailed review, it may be quite negative in the heap of positive reviews this vehicle has/had been getting.

Last edited by Sheel : 21st December 2023 at 12:26. Reason: Formatting.
skillaft is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st December 2023, 12:59   #12859

Originally Posted by skillaft View Post
What maybe the reason behind so many coolant leakages?
PS- The car has been sent to Bhavna Ford, Kalina for almost all services. (barring 1-2 times).
Has all the troubleshooting for the coolant leakages been done only at Bhavna Ford? If yes, then they are inept and not looking at the whole system.

I would recommend that you try another dealer, or even a good friendly neighbourhood garage (the TBHP directory can help), so that they can properly troubleshoot the issue.

For the first two instances, what were the reasons given for the leakage? Mechanical failure, age, rat damage, etc.? Is there a common thread to it? Likewise, what were the causes of the fan/horn issues? If it was something like wiring, I'd be thinking it is rat damage.

How was the service history prior to you purchasing it? Are there indications of coolant-system related issues even back then? Or did the problems surface only after you purchased it?

extremely low efficiency (8 kmpl the car is being driven quite sedately)
Given the mileage of nearly a lakh kms, it might be prudent getting the EGR system cleaned.

Furthermore, do you think we should sell it and move on for the sake of our sanity or hold it for some time. Also we have spent around 2L in the 2.5 years.
Does the car give you peace of mind? Would you consider it reliable for your needs? At the end of the day, a car is a tool meant to do a job, and you have to assess if the time and money you're having to spend on it is acceptable for the benefit you get out of it.

If this were my only/primary car, I would definitely look at selling it and getting something that gives me peace of mind.
arunphilip is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th December 2023, 12:24   #12860

Hello Arun, thanks a lot for the reply. I have some updates regarding the same.

Originally Posted by arunphilip View Post
Has all the troubleshooting for the coolant leakages been done only at Bhavna Ford? If yes, then they are inept and not looking at the whole system.
Firstly, yes. All the coolant checks have been done at Bhavna Ford only. The two times car was sent to other centres were- Complete front suspension overhaul at Bhpian @noelnelly's garage in October 2023 and got horns replaced at Rudraa Ford, Goregaon in August 2023. I am sending the car to Rudraa Ford, Goregaon tomorrow for the coolant leakage but at this point I don't even trust any FASS to fix it. They will just replace some part and some other part will leak 2 months later.

For the first two instances, what were the reasons given for the leakage? Mechanical failure, age, rat damage, etc.? Is there a common thread to it? Likewise, what were the causes of the fan/horn issues? If it was something like wiring, I'd be thinking it is rat damage.
Only the reason of general wear and tear and age was given. When I asked them that how is some or the other part is "wearing and tearing" and leaking coolant, they just kept repeating that it happens and its general wear and tear and what not. I don't think its rat damage because they never mentioned any wiring being damaged and also they never said anything about rat damage explicitly or implicitly.

How was the service history prior to you purchasing it? Are there indications of coolant-system related issues even back then? Or did the problems surface only after you purchased it?
The service history prior to purchasing was clean. Furthermore, it was a car of a very near and dear client who I am sure wouldn't hide anything if they knew of any such issue. Although, the first issue with respect to coolant did arise just after purchasing the car from them. There was leak in the reservoir. Got the reservoir changed and that was the end of it or so I thought. When asked about issues in the car which need to fixed, the coolant issue wasn't mentioned. I think that they were honestly unaware of it themselves.

Given the mileage of nearly a lakh kms, it might be prudent getting the EGR system cleaned.
No one is doing it. I asked around various FNGs and even Authorized Service Centers. FASS is saying there is no need to do it and at this point I don't even want them to do it. The FNGs are saying that it is an extremely delicate job and to only do it when required. I told them that it is required now due to extremely low efficiency, they are stuck at "it depends on driving" and blah blah. The car is being driven so sedately that I am not even having any fun driving it. Basically, they are not doing it. I am not even sure who to ask now.

Does the car give you peace of mind? Would you consider it reliable for your needs? At the end of the day, a car is a tool meant to do a job, and you have to assess if the time and money you're having to spend on it is acceptable for the benefit you get out of it.
I love this car a lot and I don't want to sell it but again the issues are a headache. Furthermore, we got all the tyres changed in September 2023 and complete front suspension overhaul in October 2023. These are major works on the pocket as well and selling it right now feels like this expense is just going to get "wasted". Correct me if I am wrong here but this is what I feel.
skillaft is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2024, 09:50   #12861

Hi Fellows,

Need advice for buying a second hand petrol EcoSport in 2024. Its an Dec 2019 model. 20K driven. I intend to keep it for atleast 10 years.

I am not a car enthusiast and need a safe car just to commute from point A to B. Need a maintenance free car.Till now i have got good feedback of Ford service after their exit from India. My concern is higher maintenance cost and availability of spare parts 6-8 years down the line.

OpenEXit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2024, 17:51   #12862

I love this car a lot and I don't want to sell it but again the issues are a headache. Furthermore, we got all the tyres changed in September 2023 and complete front suspension overhaul in October 2023. These are major works on the pocket as well and selling it right now feels like this expense is just going to get "wasted". Correct me if I am wrong here but this is what I feel.
That's fine, follow your heart. At the same time, don't end up throwing too much good money after bad (i.e. the various repairs). Maybe set an amount mentally towards these coolant repairs, and when you hit that, you take a hard decision on whether you keep the car or not.

Originally Posted by OpenEXit View Post
I am not a car enthusiast and need a safe car just to commute from point A to B. Need a maintenance free car
If you're not an enthusiast, and just want a car as a tool for 10 years, I'd advise you to stay clear of the EcoSport.

The positive service experiences reassure us current owners that we don't have to do a distress sale of our beloved vehicles. But that shouldn't be the basis for you going in for a 10-year investment, particularly when you just want a car to commute.

If you were an auto enthusiast, who didn't mind getting your hands dirty, or running around to source spares 6-10 years later, then you can consider a Ford.

Hyundai and Maruti get a lot of stick online, but there's a reason they dominate the sales charts - they are able to cater to the large group of customers who just want a car that works, and looks good.

Now that safety ratings in India are a lot more transparent, you have that information to hand to narrow down a safe car.

I would suggest you put up a thread in the "What Car?" section with your requirements, and see the suggestions that come in. Over there, you can also mention the details of the EcoSport you've shortlisted, as a possible contender.
arunphilip is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th January 2024, 14:24   #12863

Hi Everyone,

Happy New Year to all the TeamBhpians ��

I own 2018 model Ford Ecosport Titanium± Diesel.

A few days back while driving a small pebble hit my windscreen and it had made a small but visible crack.

I decided to claim it using my insurance from Acko. My claim is approved and they are asking me to take the car to Windshield Expert. They will finish the work in 2-3 hours.

I need your opinion if at all anyone got a chance to avail service from them with respect to the part quality and other related stuff. They say that they will use AIS windscreen and will provide one year of written warranty.

I am a bit unsure whether to get the windscreen replaced at FASS or by Windshield experts.

Please help.

Anupam
Old 5th January 2024, 14:36   #12864

Originally Posted by Anupam1024 View Post
Hi Everyone,

Happy New Year to all the TeamBhpians ��

I am a bit unsure whether to get the windscreen replaced at FASS or by Windshield experts.

Please help.

Anupam
Hi Anupam,
I got my Ecosport's windshield changed at Windshield Experts (BTM Layout branch) early last year. They did a fine job and I have not noticed any deficiencies or issues. AIS owns Windshield Experts so they will only use AIS but I think their work quality is good.
chaksjr is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th January 2024, 14:09   #12865

Hi everyone,

I am quite new to this forum and I needed some advice from some of the experts here.

I have a Ford Ecosport (2015) that has run for ~70K KMs.

Given that I am almost near 1L KMs, are there any recommended servicing/maintenance that I should do? We do not intend to get rid of the car anytime soon, and plan to have it with us for at least the next 5 years. It is primarily driven by my dad (who is ~60).

Appreciate any suggestions/advice.

Old 6th January 2024, 15:59   #12866

Originally Posted by prawesome View Post
Hi everyone,

I am quite new to this forum and I needed some advice from some of the experts here.

I have a Ford Ecosport (2015) that has run for ~70K KMs.

Given that I am almost near 1L KMs, are there any recommended servicing/maintenance that I should do? We do not intend to get rid of the car anytime soon, and plan to have it with us for at least the next 5 years. It is primarily driven by my dad (who is ~60).

Appreciate any suggestions/advice.

Apart from periodic 1 year/10K maintenance and replacement of wear & tear components like battery, tires, suspension, clutch etc make sure to change the engine timing belt every 5yrs / 1L km as recommended by Ford. You can also opt for EGR cleaning once your car passed 1L mark.
Samfromindia is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th January 2024, 16:49   #12867

Originally Posted by prawesome View Post
I have a Ford Ecosport (2015) that has run for ~70K KMs
Is this petrol or diesel, manual or AT?

Sam has mentioned the usual items; I'd also recommend getting the radiator serviced from a dedicated radiator servicing shop. If the car is in Bangalore, you'll see a few shops in BTM Stage 1 (in front of the BTM Watertank bus stop). The radiator would have accumulated a lot of dirt over the years, and a cleaning will do wonders in a/c effectivity; these shops specialise in refurbishing them. Top it up with Ford OEM radiator fluid. Also get the a/c system checked for leakages and topped up. Avoid the "radiator flush" that ASC offers and instead get the radiator serviced from outside - it'll be as good as new.

If you have the DCT, wonder if Ford ASC would replace the transmission fluid.

Not a lot else to be honest. Just follow the service guidelines.
libranof1987 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th January 2024, 22:43   #12868

Originally Posted by typlo View Post
Hi Everyone,

Attachment 2545368

Hi Typlo,
Thanks for sharing the information. I also have an Ecosport (2019) with FlyAudio. Before reading your post, I was planning to replace the HU. I think what you have done is better option as I also don’t want to change the original HU. would you pls. share the complete “how to do” process. I would be grateful. Thanks in advance !
Old 7th January 2024, 05:41   #12869

Originally Posted by Samfromindia View Post
Apart from periodic 1 year/10K maintenance and replacement of wear & tear components like battery, tires, suspension, clutch etc make sure to change the engine timing belt every 5yrs / 1L km as recommended by Ford. You can also opt for EGR cleaning once your car passed 1L mark.
We are changing the tyres now. I feel that the battery has started to get a bit weak now as the lights flicker while I am switching the car on. Haven't done anything on the suspension front for quite a while now. Will have to get it checked with Ford. EGR cleaning is also something I wasn't aware of. Will get it done once the 1L mark is done.

Originally Posted by libranof1987 View Post
Is this petrol or diesel, manual or AT?

Sam has mentioned the usual items; I'd also recommend getting the radiator serviced from a dedicated radiator servicing shop. If the car is in Bangalore, you'll see a few shops in BTM Stage 1 (in front of the BTM Watertank bus stop). The radiator would have accumulated a lot of dirt over the years, and a cleaning will do wonders in a/c effectivity; these shops specialise in refurbishing them. Top it up with Ford OEM radiator fluid. Also get the a/c system checked for leakages and topped up. Avoid the "radiator flush" that ASC offers and instead get the radiator serviced from outside - it'll be as good as new.

If you have the DCT, wonder if Ford ASC would replace the transmission fluid.

Not a lot else to be honest. Just follow the service guidelines.
It's a diesel MT. The car is not in Bangalore. Will see what I can figure out in my area.

Thanks both!
Old 7th January 2024, 11:46   #12870

I have a 2016 Ford Ecosport (Pre facelift) model which comes with stock fog lamps & Halogen headlamps. I have already upgraded the headlamps to LED(My Mistake) but illumination hasn't improved much since LED's aren't much useful with reflectors and light is getting scattered. Now i wish to upgrade fog lights to projector ones since i can't experiment with LED's anymore. Kindly suggest good projector fog light's in a decent budget.