Old 28th September 2015, 21:55   #9406

Re: Ford EcoSport : Official Review

Originally Posted by Blow Horn Ok View Post
I use drinking water (RO) for this purpose.
Ha! Simple idea and I never thought of it!

I use the garden hose (at least up to reading your post!), but the worst thing was when we had a clear hose, and I didn't realise there was all green growth inside it. It completely clogged the pump on my Swift, and I had to have it replaced.
Old 28th September 2015, 23:21   #9407

Originally Posted by Blow Horn Ok View Post
I avoid filling the washer fluid tank with normal tap water as it gradually blocks the spray nozzles due to the hardness and various other substances which collect at the tip of the nozzles. I learnt it the hard way when the borewell water completely blocked the nozzles of my previous car. I use drinking water (RO) for this purpose.

For the leakage, it seems the connector is dislocated or the tank is damaged. Get it addressed the service centre.
Whaaat? Petrol/diesel not enough for these creatures? Now they want mineral water, too?
pgsagar is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th September 2015, 12:14   #9408

Originally Posted by civic-sense View Post
Did you say somewhere that the car was 2 month sold when you bought it? I hope that delay is not attributable to the time they took to repaint the door. Didn't you spot it during PDI? Smell hard on that panel to check whether it smells fresh paint.
It was two month old and it wasn't apparent in PDI. I checked another Ecosport in blue and it too had a contrast in plastic parts like OVRM,bumper and mirror so I guess I'm good here.
Actually, the phones camera made it more apparent, not that noticeable in real life. Here's another picture where it's a lot less noticeable :Ford EcoSport : Official Review-img_20150928_105302.jpg
Edit: I don't know why are all my pictures going up side down?

Last edited by Doge : 29th September 2015 at 12:16.
Doge is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2015, 12:42   #9409

Originally Posted by Doge View Post
I checked another Ecosport in blue and it too had a contrast in plastic parts like OVRM,bumper and mirror so I guess I'm good here.
Your earlier post made me check my EcoSport y'day - there's a very subtle difference between the bumper and body, and I suspect that its as you've stated - a subtle difference between plastic and metal. My EcoSport was delivered to me just 10 days after it was built, so I'm pretty confident its not been touched up. I've not been able to spot any difference with the mirror, but that's probably just my rubbish eyesight.

Originally Posted by Doge View Post
I don't know why are all my pictures going up side down?
It's pretty simple Peter Parker/Spiderman - stop hanging off the roof and take pictures the normal way around!
arunphilip is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th September 2015, 14:00   #9410

I am looking for this type of cladding for my aunt who is a new driver and every few weeks she hit her EcoSport one side or other with something! Came across these black side claddings in another thread and thinking this might serve as a good alternative to expensive paint job. Does anyone has idea where we can get it in Delhi NCR or elsewhere or even online? Thanks.

Old 29th September 2015, 14:05   #9411

Back from Leh trip. The Ecosport logged around 8-8.5K KM's.
Though i did not face with even a single tire puncture, the car is now in service centre for a thorough check-up.
From Chandigarh onwards, there is a noise in 5th gear. The service centre people are checking on same. Any idea guys what the noise could be? It appears only in 5th gear, slotting of all other gears is perfectly fine. The clutch also seem to work fine.
To me it sounds as if the gear is running without oil, however I could not see any oil leakage.
Old 30th September 2015, 02:40   #9412

Interesting read!
Do you guys agree with this?

Jalopnik article Link
Ford EcoSport : Official Review-captureeb.jpg  

johannskaria is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 30th September 2015, 09:05   #9413

Originally Posted by johannskaria View Post
Interesting read!

Jalopnik article Link
This reminds me of a very old Godrej refrigerator ad which said "Isme PUF hai" (This has PUF). Godrej saw a good boost in sale because of this supposedly "new" feature. Only later it came to light that all fridge brands had PUF. Godrej was able to market it. Its not Ford's problem that other car manufacturers did not market their version of Ecoboost as much as Ford did. It would have been a problem if Ecoboost is not what Ford promises it to be.
amit.s is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th September 2015, 09:38   #9414

Interesting read!

Jalopnik article Link
Well first of all Ford never said other manufacturers don't have Turbo Petrol technology. When Hyundai launched their first CRDi in India, they were all gaga about the technology, only later to realise there are TDCi,TDi,TCDi etc and all are same.
Just like what TSi range is to VW, Ecoboost is to Ford. Branding is a marketing exercise and I don't see anything wrong in that.
PrideRed is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th September 2015, 09:50   #9415

I had been to Mount Abu in my Ecosport TDCi a couple of weeks back. The car performed brilliantly over the 2.2K which it clocked. No issues to report except that the clutch has firmed up a lot. I took sufficient breaks enroute (approx. 30 mins after every 200km drive).
Any specific reason why the clutch would firm up? When i drove the car again after a couple of days, the feel of clutch is back to how it use to be before the drive.
Old 30th September 2015, 10:16   #9416

Interesting read!

Jalopnik article Link
Nice article. Ford is probably doing the right marketing in the States for the Ecoboost.

Hardly matters here given the low volumes of the Ecosport Ecoboost and the fact that the average buyer here also looks at engine capacity. Selling a 3 cylinder 1.0L engine in India for 10 lakhs is not the same as selling one in europe or USA.

Secondly, if anyone doesn't want to get swayed by the marketing guys, they just have to read page 1 of this thread where in the first line of the engine post it is mentioned that Ford is not the first to bring this technology to India.

It's the average buyer who maybe swayed by marketing not the Team-BHPians.

If it works and is not a lie like VW then hats off to the marketing team for a job well done.
Vid6639 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th September 2015, 12:15   #9417

Interesting read!

Jalopnik article Link
The comments section on that article made my day
Old 30th September 2015, 13:37   #9418

Ford is not the first to bring this technology to India.
It ain't a new technology, but compared to the TSi, the Ecoboost squeezes more out of a smaller engine. 125PS/L against the TSi's 87PS/L.

Ford EB : 999cc, 125PS, 175Nm, 18.9kmpl, 125BHP/L
VW TSi : 1197cc, 105PS, 175Nm, 17.2kmpl, 87BHP/L

Smaller engine means it is greener (look at the ARAI ratings), still the Ecoboost delivers more power. TSi is just a regular turbo petrol.
civic-sense is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th September 2015, 14:22   #9419

Originally Posted by civic-sense View Post
It ain't a new technology, but compared to the TSi, the Ecoboost squeezes more out of a smaller engine. 125PS/L against the TSi's 87PS/L.

Ford EB : 999cc, 125PS, 175Nm, 18.9kmpl, 125BHP/L
VW TSi : 1197cc, 105PS, 175Nm, 17.2kmpl, 87BHP/L

Smaller engine means it is greener (look at the ARAI ratings), still the Ecoboost delivers more power. TSi is just a regular turbo petrol.
Not necessarily true. Ford have gone aggressive on the tune of the 1.0 Ecoboost whereas VW is probably more conservative.

Then the figures though on paper look better for the Ford it's not really the case. Ford publishes power figures at the crank which is common practice for all manufacturers except VW. VW's power figures are at the wheels.

If you ever put a VW/Skoda on a dyno you will see the power output is very close to the specs on paper. However other manufacturers you see a 20-30% delta vs the on paper specs.

Then there's the VW 1.0TSI 3 cylinder which has 115BHP and 200NM torque. Plus it's more efficient than the 1.0 Ecoboost in the Focus vs the Golf.
Vid6639 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st October 2015, 21:41   #9420

Originally Posted by ravishankar999 View Post
Hi ,
As far as i ve been checking for the new SYNC version available, all the updates currently are only for system improvements. They are not adding on the new "Applink" feature which lets the vehicle communicate with ford approved phone apps.
I too believe there is no need for any hardware upgrade as this looks like only a firmware feature added on to the new systems.. Any XDA experts here who can throw light on the software upgradation on Sync to catch up with the new features? Also if you check the Ford US websites on sync you can read articles on upgrading the old sync my ford systems to the new Ford Sync with Applink. Any such possibilities in India or are we looking at these improvements too early from Ford in India? Also why do my Coke cans still sweat inside the "cooled glove box" ??
If you happen to follow this forum, someone had mentioned that ford said its not possible to upgrade Sync to applink due to lack of "hardware". This hardware may be the extra ROM size needed to install the applink version of Sync.Coming to the glovebox, are you sure the cooling vent is turned on? There is a airflow vent inside the glovebox which controls the level of cooling just like you do with AC vent. Try to locate this and make sure its turned on.