Team-BHP - Volkswagen Polo 1.2L GT TSI : Official Review

-   Official New Car Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/)
-   -   Volkswagen Polo 1.2L GT TSI : Official Review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/135550-volkswagen-polo-1-2l-gt-tsi-official-review-236.html)

Originally Posted by rohn52 (Post 3872353)
bhargavd, I just checked and I have this in the insurance particulars:

Add:*Depreciation*reimbursement*(TA01) 2,423.68

I am not really sure this is the actual zero dep cover, experienced people can add on here.

Originally Posted by rohn52 (Post 3872353)
I am guessing this is the zero dep clause. Can someone please confirm this?

petrol_power seems to be of my view here

Originally Posted by petrol_power (Post 3872375)
I took delivery of GT TSI last month. No discounts or freebies (just some mat and mudflap as free). The insurance quoted was 33k + 7k for that zero dip or B2B or nil depreciation or I don't know what its exactly called.

I have been told the same from my dealer- however after searching the Bajaj site (which provides the insurance to VW) the drive assure package is for add ons other than zero dep.

Originally Posted by differential (Post 3872398)

I am taking delivery of my GT TSI tomorrow and have opted for insurance from Hdfc ergo. Not sure they have a cashless with Vw, but the difference was too much.

What was the quote? Would be good to understand the differences.

Originally Posted by bosporus (Post 3872410)
So, the only real benefit of 16" is aesthetics - and I'm sure the car will look a lot smarter. Now, if that matter a lot, go for it by all means :thumbs up

Thanks a lot for the inputs. But unfortunately these alloys start only from 16" and they are bring gifted by my brother who has already placed an order.
While aesthetics is important, I don't want to ruin my ride if they are going to be as noisy as you say. The other option in 16" is 195/55. Here Bridgestone B290 and continental MC5 are available. Are they better? If yes, which one should I go for?

Originally Posted by Raghzz GT (Post 3872480)
Thanks a lot for the inputs. But unfortunately these alloys start only from 16" and they are bring gifted by my brother who has already placed an order.
While aesthetics is important, I don't want to ruin my ride if they are going to be as noisy as you say. The other option in 16" is 195/55. Here Bridgestone B290 and continental MC5 are available. Are they better? If yes, which one should I go for?

That is a smart alloy, so congratulations! 195/55 R16 is not a bad option; rolling circumference is within 3% of the original, which is considered acceptable. While the B290 is an average tyre, the MC5 should be a good bet: from what I hear, the MC5 offers a good mix of performance & comfort / silence, so I'd say go for it.

Also, do take noisy tyre comment with a pinch of salt. The perception of noise is a very relative thing and you need to see how much it matters to you. I rarely listen to music in my car, and do a fair bit of highway travel, so noise is a big deal for me. And I love how my Yokohama AVS db v550 have just silenced the cabin, while offering spectacular grip. But I digress here: the S-Drives are a popular choice for a lot of people on their TSI's because of the grip offered, and a lot of people don't mind the noise, so you need to draw your own list of priorities and choose a tire accordingly.

Originally Posted by bhargavd (Post 3872429)

My company bought zero dep for new GT TSI in Nov from Bharti Axa. Following is the premium paid for an IDV of 8.4 lakhs.:

Own Damage Premium: 11019/- (27547/- minus 60% discount)
Zero Dep Cover: 3356/-
Liability Premium: 1848/-
Total: Rs. 16,223/-
Service Tax: 2271/-
Final Premium: Rs. 18,494/-

There is a 60% discount on own damage premium, maybe due to the fact that my company buys all insurance from them. So I guess for an individual, the total premium might be a bit higher.

Originally Posted by bhargavd (Post 3872429)

My quote was 26700/-, nil dep with bumper to bumper cover.

Got my GT TSI just now. Smooth delivery experience from VW Coimbatore

Originally Posted by differential (Post 3873142)
Got my GT TSI just now. Smooth delivery experience from VW Coimbatore

Awesome! Wishing you a fantastic ownership experience with the GT, and tens of thousands of niggle free miles with smiles :)

Hi Folks
Had my first service done two weeks back. The only complaint aye had was moisture in one of the taillights. Though the SA never advised me, asked for replacement under warranty.
Well, car promised by 1630 was handed over to me at 1830. At the time of billing, i noticed cost of taillight added which i refuted and hence same deleted. Further the replaced filters were missing as normally the old ones are returned. When i enquired the SA disappears for another 10 minutes and returns with a sorry response. As i had to rush paid off, however have expressed my reservations to the dealer and VW. I know old filters are returned as done with my previous cars, hence this hangs on onto my mind if they were ever changed. I now have doubts if the taillight was replaced, though the moisture is no more. Is it possible ??
How can i ascertain if the oil was changed??
What do i need to check and demand for now.
Thanks for your inputs.

Originally Posted by drpudhi (Post 3871535)
Hi, this is the same deal that he provided me too. You can go ahead. Mine was also a pre-facelift 2013 model and the padddles work flawlessly so far (But GTI and not GLI). But i don't think that will cause any difference. Only thing to make sure is ask for a wheel without cruise control controls as am not sure if it will throw errors. The seller vwrtuning is also very knowledgeable and nice. You can ask him to confirm if there will be any issues.

Hi drpudhi,

What was the payment option used by you while placing the order? Did you send money directly to his Paypal account?

My opinion about VW was never too positive from my previous interactions, but they disproved it.

I got my GT TSI delivered within 10 days of booking the car. And all the requests during the booking phase were carried out to the dot.

The VIN was promptly conveyed, so that I could give my nod to the proceedings after checking on team bhp. No fuss over insurance from outside.

Accessories thrown in by the dealer:

1. Mud flaps
2. Full floor mat and boot mat in black
3. VW rubber cut mats in black
4. Dual tone horn
5. corporate discount of Rs. 3000

After PDI, gave a nod for registration. I had requested them to finish delivery formalities as soon as possible. Got a call from SA at 3 pm and the delivery was scheduled at 4. Reached the showroom by 4.15. A walk around and features demo followed by paper work and pooja in about 30 min. Left with a smile!

The car was delivered with 24 km on the odo and about 15L of fuel.

I was contemplating a tyre swap. But considering that that the car will be used 99 % within the city, I deceided to try the alnacs for a while. I would swap it if they were really troublesome, the only downside will be the scrap value after use. But I am happy with them for the 170 odd kms I have driven. They are reasonably quiet.

No other mods planned for now. Am not happy with the headunit, esp. the telephone functions. radio is ok and SQ is average.

The fog lamps and low beams are good, but the high beams are really lacking. I have just got 4 H7 xtreme visions and need to get them fixed over this week.

A few queries:
1. How long is the run in?
2. Is it advisable to do a hillly terrain run during the run in period?
3. How do I swap the headlight bulbs? The manual says I have to remove the headlight unit. Did I understand it right?
4. Head unit options with good BU/ Telephone connectivity. Not really bothered about camera, navigation etc.
5. What is the real life kmpl I can expect? Mine seems to hover around the 7.5 to 8 kmpl on one screen and 13 kmpl on the other. Need to fiddle around with the MFDs and understand what each stands for.

Overall, very happy with the car.

Originally Posted by aditya9567 (Post 3873740)
Hi drpudhi,

What was the payment option used by you while placing the order? Did you send money directly to his Paypal account?

Sent it directly to his paypal account. Everybody who had bought from him have done the same and i think there should not be any issue.

Originally Posted by differential (Post 3873742)

The fog lamps and low beams are good, but the high beams are really lacking. I have just got 4 H7 xtreme visions and need to get them fixed over this week.

A few queries:
2. Is it advisable to do a hillly terrain run during the run in period?
3. How do I swap the headlight bulbs? The manual says I have to remove the headlight unit. Did I understand it right?
4. Head unit options with good BU/ Telephone connectivity. Not really bothered about camera, navigation etc.
5. What is the real life kmpl I can expect? Mine seems to hover around the 7.5 to 8 kmpl on one screen and 13 kmpl on the other. Need to fiddle around with the MFDs and understand what each stands for.

Overall, very happy with the car.

Congratulations on your pocket rocket! I'm hoping you got the new one (with CC) & not the old stock which the dealers are trying to clear out. Answering your questions:

1. There's no run in. Start redlining!
2. See point 1 :P
3. Are you going to DIY or take it to an electrician?
4. You may want to check out frankmehta's thread about the android HU. It's really good for a landed price of approx 25k. Gives you everything & then some. Other options are the RCD 510 & Blaupunkt Philadelphia. Do check out AliExpress for the HU.
5. On the MFD, you will see "1" & "2" written next to the time, distance, average display. The "1" stands for your current trip & "2" is the average since you last reset. Real life FE would be about 10 (atleast) with a mix of sedate & hooligan driving.

In other mods, you may want to check out getting paddles! They completely transform the car. Have fun with her.

Originally Posted by polo_ankit (Post 3873901)
Congratulations on your pocket rocket! I'm hoping you got the new one (with CC) & not the old stock which the dealers are trying to clear out. Answering your questions:

2. See point 1 :P
3. Are you going to DIY or take it to an electrician?
4. You may want to check out frankmehta's thread about the android HU. It's really good for a landed price of approx 25k. Gives you everything & then some. Other options are the RCD 510 & Blaupunkt Philadelphia. Do check out AliExpress for the HU.
5. On the MFD, you will see "1" & "2" written next to the time, distance, average display. The "1" stands for your current trip & "2" is the average since you last reset. Real life FE would be about 10 (atleast) with a mix of sedate & hooligan driving.

In other mods, you may want to check out getting paddles! They completely transform the car. Have fun with her.

Yes, it's the new one with CC and auto fold RVMs. And to add to the forum, the RVMs do fold backwards.

Planning to keep the revs in check for the first 1500 kms.

Need to figure out the 1 and 2 in the MFD.

planning on leather or art leather covers. Like the OE ones, but it's terrible if you get in to the car after a run.

Originally Posted by differential (Post 3873742)
A few queries:

My SA also told me that there is no running in for GT or any VW car. However the owner's manual clearly states 2 step running-in for 0-1000 km and 1000-1500 km. See the image below.
Volkswagen Polo 1.2L GT TSI : Official Review-gtrunin.jpg

What have other owners followed - run-in or not? BTW it is very difficult to run-in this car lol:

Originally Posted by manish84 (Post 3874002)
What have other owners followed - run-in or not? BTW it is very difficult to run-in this car lol:

For any new car, it is advisable to do the run-in. Most of the SA I have come across are not very knowledgeable in aspects like these so need to take their comments carefully. I suggest following the manual. After all who better knows about the engine than the guys designed it. This will benefit the car in the long run with increased engine life, better fuel efficiency etc. Any googling you do you always end up with run in recommendation. I have followed the run-in period for my Vento TSI. The fuel efficiency increase was there but not appreciable. May be 0.5-1 kpl more.

MFD "2" mode actually resets itself after certain time is elapsed. I have observed it but was unaware of the duration and recently Gannu had clarified the duration in another thread. It is 99 hrs 99 mins. Another fact about MFD "1" mode is for your current trip it will reset if the car ignition is switched off for more than 2 hrs in between.

My Vento TSI (facelift) gives me consistently 11 to 13 kpl in city depending on traffic with full AC. I expect GT TSI to give more. Interestingly Vento facelift ARAI FE has increased from 16.93 to 18.2 kpl (by aerodynamic changes I guess). I think for GT it still remains at 17.2 kpl. May be that helps for Vento. Not sure why VW have not touched Polo's. Guess they are reserving it for its facelift.

Yes Manish. I've seen this. I've also seen the way the cars are treated at chakan & when you see them drive to test, you'll forget about running in. I tried running in for the first 200-300kms & then I couldn't control myself.